--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/DynamicCatholic As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:04:28 PM UTC

Showing posts with label DynamicCatholic. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DynamicCatholic. Show all posts

Thursday, 10 September 2020

I Heard God Laugh - Matthew Kelly - A Practical Guide to Life's Essential Daily Habit

I Heard God Laugh
A Practical Guide to Life's Essential Daily Habit
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635821383
eISBN 9781635821390
ASIN B088TRCVMV


Over the last 6 years I have read books by Matthew Kelly 29 times, and that does not count some of his children’s books that have been read many times over.  I am always excited when a new volume from Matthew is coming out, and eagerly await its release. This was the second of two that released around the same time, the other being Coach 365 Days of Inspiration for Coaches and Players. Next to Rediscover the Saints, this is my favorite book by Matthew Kelly, that I have read to date. This is one of those books that every Catholic, nay every Christian could benefit from reading. It is a fantastic read, and as soon as I finished it, I put but in my 'to be read pile'. It will be a book I know I will return to again and again. The description of this volume is:

“Is Your Life Working? Most of us are trying to put together the jigsaw puzzle we call life without a very important piece. Over time this becomes incredibly frustrating. In this extraordinary book, Matthew Kelly powerfully demonstrates that we cannot live the life we have imagined, or experience the joy we yearn for, unless we learn to tend the soul. From there, with his classic style of practical wisdom, he teaches us how to remedy this problem.

When our bodies are hungry, our stomachs growl. When our souls are hungry, we become irritable, restless, confused, overwhelmed, exhausted, anxious, discontent, and tend to focus on the things that matter least and neglect the things that matter most.”

I highlighted several passages on my first reading of this volume and some of them are:

“We cannot live without the hope that things will change for the better, and we are not victims of our circumstances.”

“You are who and what you are still capable of becoming. You are your realized and unrealized potential. God sees you and all your potential, and he aches to see you embrace your best, truest, highest self. He yearns to help you and to accompany you in that quest.”

“Wherever you are, whatever you’re feeling, however life has surprised and disappointed you, I want to remind you of one thing: The best is yet to come! There are times in life when this is easier or harder to believe, but the best is truly yet to come.”

“The essential piece most people are missing is a vibrant spirituality.”

Nothing will change your life so completely, absolutely, and forever like learning how to really pray. In prayer we learn who we are and what we are here for, what matters most and what matters least. Through prayer we discover the-best-version-of-ourselves, and are given the courage to celebrate and defend it in each moment of each day. In prayer we learn how to love and be loved, because we discover that we have been loved, are loved, and will continually be loved by God.”

“If you truly want to seek and find these answers, this is work for the soul. These are matters that are between you and God.”

“The essential practical virtue of prayer is patience—which is also the essential practical virtue in all relationships.”

“I am often asked: “Why do you pray?” I pray because I cannot thrive without it.”

Those few samples will give you an idea of the worth of this volume. This is a book about making prayer central to your whole life. It teaches, it encourages, and it challenges it. Matthew outlines:

The Prayer Process:
1. Gratitude
2. Awareness
3. Significant Moments
4. Peace
5. Freedom
6. Others
7. Finish

The book also contains the prayer of surrender. The chapters in this volume are:

Part One: The Unexpected Life 
A Question to Begin 
The Missing Piece 
The Habit 
The Promise of This Book 
Finding Your Reason 
Habit and Potential 
The Challenge 
Soul Note 

Part Two: My Spiritual Journey 
The Invitation: Ten Minutes a Day 
The First Surrender 
The Day My Life Changed Forever 
My Hope for You 
Soul Note 

Part Three: Life’s Essential Habit 
Teach Us to Pray 
Sharing the Joy 
The Prayer Process 
Your Best Days 
The Basics What Is Your Image of God? 
There Is Power in a Name 
Begin Today 
Soul Note 

Part Four: Six Powerful Spiritual Lessons 
The Longest Journey 
Six Seismic Shifts 
The First Shift: Begin the Conversation 
The Second Shift: Ask God What He Wants 
The Third Shift: Give Yourself to Prayer 
The Fourth Shift: Transform Everything into Prayer 
The Fifth Shift: Make Yourself Available 
The Sixth Shift: Just Keep Showing Up! 
Six Life-Changing Awakenings 
Soul Note 

Part Five: The God Who Gave Us Laughter 
Does God Have a Sense of Humor? 
I Heard God Laugh 
The Deep Waters 
The Delight of God 
Busy Is Not Your Friend 
Soul Note 
Epilogue: Do You Hear That?

This is one of those books I wish I could put in the hands of all my friends. A book I would love to have given to my daughter’s grade 8 graduation class last year. And especially in 2002 it is a book many of us would benefit from reading. I strongly encourage you to order 2 copies of this book, one for yourself and one to pass on.

This book is one of Kelly’s best and one all Christians should read!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
I Heard God Laugh: A Practical Guide to Life's 

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality
...



Thursday, 3 September 2020

Coach 365 Days of Inspiration for Coaches and Players - Matthew Kelly

Coach 365 Days of Inspiration for Coaches and Players
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635821499
eISBN 9781635821482
ASIN B087JXQ738
Over the last 6 years I have read books by Matthew Kelly 28 times, and that does not count some of his children’s books that have been read many times over.  I am always excited when a new volume from Matthew is coming out, and eagerly await its release. This was the first of two that released around the same time, the other being I Heard God Laugh: A Practical Guide to Life's Essential Daily Habit. In some ways this book reminds me a lot of Kelly’s books In A World Where You Can be Anything ... and The Book Of Courage. All three are collections of quotes. This volume has a quote a day for the year, including February 29th.

Both May 29th and 31st have the same quite:

“If everyone in my locker room is bright, smart, motivated and a team player, we have a chance to beat anyone that we play.”
     -David Shaw
     -Head football Coach

And the quotes on January 7th and September 23rd are almost identical:

“Today, do what others won’t so tomorrow you can accomplish what others can’t.”
     -Simon Biles
     -U.S. Olympic Gymnast

and 

“Today I will do what others won’t, so tomorrow I can accomplish what others can’t.”
     -Jerry Rice
     -NFL Player

So with the duplicate and the near identical you end up with 364 motivational quotes. The quotes are great. There are a few sources that surprised me. With his fall from grace a quote from Lance Armstrong was surprising to encounter. But assuming it is the whole speck and log thing. There is a great introduction by Matthew Kelly that ends with:

“An adequate coach teaches. A good coach leads. A great coach inspires. The best coaches love.
     You are a coach. What kind of coach will you be?”

And that introduction begins with:

“You are a coach. Weather you’re aware of it or now, you are a coach. How do I know? Because everyone is a coach. You may not wear a uniform and give signals from third base. You may not draft up plays and give post-dame interviews. You may not even follow sports. But You are a coach.
     Everyone is a coach.
     And everyone needs coaching.”

And this book provides some great motivation. This is one of those books that can be given to new graduates. Found in a business library. Or even as a bathroom reader. But I feel is falls just short of the mark. It is a good book but it could have been a great book. The two things I feel it was missing to make it great, would have been a conclusion by Kelly tying it back together for us as those being coached and coaching. And an index. It could use an index of contributors.

It is a good read. My son who is only 13 has already asked me to read it when I finish. It will be popular. And a great gift book for years to come. Another excellent motivation volume compiled by Matthew Kelly!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
I Heard God Laugh: A Practical Guide to Life's 

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality
...



Monday, 20 January 2020

In A World Where You Can Be Anything … - Matthew Kelly

In A World Where You Can Be Anything …
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635820928


Over the last 5 years I have read books by Matthew Kelly 25 times, and that does not count some of his children’s books that have been read many times over.  I am always excited when a new volume from Matthew is coming out, and eagerly await it’s release. The last one I read as a new release was Rediscover the Saints, and it was an incredible read. This one reminds me in some ways of Kelly’s The Book of Courage. Some of Kelly’s works are for business and some are for Catholics.  This one feels like it is trying to split the difference. I feel that there are many great points and some that miss the mark. 

The text on the back cover is the beginning of the introduction. The introduction ends with:

“We are people of possibility. Most possibilities are unseen and unexplored, but it’s time to change that. In a world where you can be anything … be…”

What follows is 148 pages of facing pages with “In a world where you can be anything …” on one side and on the other a word of phrase. The book is printer on heavier stock paper. The pages alternate between a white, and aqua and a navy. This is one of those books that will become popular for grads of high school and university. It will be given as gifts. It will sit on coffee tables and offices, and bathroom reading racks. In Some ways it reminds me of the H. Jackson Brown Jr’s Life’s Little Instruction Book’s my dad had many of them in the washroom over the years you could flip them open anywhere and start reading. You can read from beginning to end. With this one you could even read from end to beginning. It only took about 15 minutes to read through it the first time and that was with reading the whole back cover, the introduction and the afterword.

I love most of the books from Kelly that I have read. And I did enjoy this one. I was just expecting a little more. But as mentioned this book will make a great gift, and can be flipped through from time to time as a reminder, to become the best version of yourself, and to be open to the possibilities.








Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
...

Rediscover Books by Matthew Kelly:
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose
Rediscover Advent
Rediscover Lent
Rediscover Jesus: An Invitation
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer
Rediscover the Saints

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality







Saturday, 30 November 2019

The Advent of Christmas - Matt Maher and Mercè Tous

The Advent of Christmas
Matt Maher
Mercè Tous (Illustrator)
Wellspring
ISBN 9781635820515



My children and I have been big fans of Matt Maher’s music for years now. My youngest goes to sleep every night with ‘Lord I Need You’ Playing on repeat. And my son goes to bed with the Advent of Christmas album playing. And both are currently learning to plan songs from the album either on piano or ukulele. Their eyes popped when they saw this book sitting on the kitchen table when they came in from school. They were so excited. They could not wait to read it. So I read it to them whole they had a snack, and then my youngest read it to me.

This book was an instant family favorite. In fact, there was some debate over ownership as the boy wanted to keep it in his room, and the girls wanted to keep it in theirs. For now, it sits on the bookshelf in the living room. But I will likely pick up some more copies, one to donate to our school library and one so they can each have it in their rooms.

This book is wonderfully done. The illustrations by Mercè Tous are excellent. The pictures are stunning. Some are full two pages spreads with text over the artwork. Others are one page with a facing page of text. A few of them would make wonderful posters or prints for the children’s room. I particularly like the ones of the nativity and ancient scenes. My youngest loves the modern ones, the families, the crowds, and the holiday decorations.

The story goes back and forth, between a family celebrating advent now, and the first advent scenes. I was expecting something more lyrical from Matt Maher. But maybe it is much better that it does not read as a song put into a book.

This is a wonderful book that will be treasured by our family, and I am certain yours for years and years to come. A wonderful addition to our advent traditions.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!







Thursday, 7 November 2019

How to Make Great Decisions - Father Mike Schmitz

How to Make Great Decisions
Fr. Mike Schmitz
Wellspring Publishing
ISBN 9781635820669
eISBN 9781635820805
ASIN B07WDS11GV



I have been a fan of Father Mike’s videos through Ascension Presents for a few years now. And I enjoyed his contributions to Beautiful Hope and Beautiful Mercy. And have been waiting for a book by him. And it was worth the wait. I had this book on my wish list from the movement it appeared. And I picked up the eBook the day it released. I read the book slowly over three days. Each of those three days I attended mass and at some point, later in the day read two of the chapters. The sections in this book are:

The Cure For Expressive Individualism
Three Levels Of Vocation
Decisions And Discernment
Three Questions
The Door
Questions And Answers

And it was so worth the wait. I highlighted 37 passages in this volume the first time I read it through. There is so much valuable advice in this book. It is one of those books I will read over and over again. I will likely reread this book each year for at least the next few years. And it is a book I would love to see put in the hands of every Catholic High School graduate. This is a book I would have benefit greatly from reading in my teens, 20’s, and even 30’s. And as I approach 50 I still consider the lessons valuable and life changing. The first passage I highlighted was:

“Now, that word my is a really interesting word. It implies some sense of ownership. But in a deeper Christian sense, even my life is not really mine.”

Right from the beginning of this second paragraph of the book I knew it was not only going to meet expectations but exceed them. I will share some of the passages I highlighted to give you a feel for some of the knowledge and wisdom in this volume.

“True discernment is more than just thinking about something. Discernment involves action. It also involves a decision. And the very first decision is whether it’s about my life and my vocation or whether it’s about God’s will for my life and my vocation.”

“Vocation means that we are called out of ourselves. We’re living our life, and at some point, God steps in and says, “Okay, I’m calling you out of yourself. Calling you out of your life. I’m calling you to participate in my life. I’m calling you to look up from yourself and look at others.””

“The point is, no matter what God calls us to, there will be sacrifices. I always say that the vocation of marriage and family is where bad people go to die. Marriage is the vocation where bad people go to die to themselves out of love for their spouse and their kids.”

“That’s what your vocation is, and that’s also what holiness is. St. Maximilian Kolbe explained holiness this way to the novices in his community. On a chalkboard he would write this equation:

w (your will) + W (God’s will) = S (Sanctity)

Sanctity is when my will conforms to God’s will. That’s sanctity; that’s holiness. That’s it. That’s the whole thing. Holiness is not a matter of not sleeping because you’re praying all night. It’s not a matter of fasting all day. It’s never a matter of serving this way or that way or the other way. It’s all about your will conforming to God’s will. That’s holiness. That’s sanctity. That’s what it is to be a saint. That’s what your vocation is about. There’s nothing less and nothing more than that.”


The Three Levels of Holiness:

“When it comes to vocation, there are three levels. The first is the universal call to holiness—your will conformed to God’s will. Every human being on the planet is called to be a saint.”

“The second level of vocation is what we typically think of when we think of vocation: the call to the priesthood, to married life, to consecrated single life, to religious life.”

“The third level of vocation is: What is God calling me to today? What task has he given me today? What is the season he’s placed me in today? How is he calling me to say yes on a moment-by-moment, day-to-day basis? This sense of vocation changes a lot over the course of our lives.”

“The point is when we are discerning our vocation, what we’re really discerning is the primary relationship God is calling us to focus on. This kind of vocation might change once or twice in our lifetime.”

“That’s why this is a secondary vocation. Your primary vocation is to be a saint. Knowing that, where is God leading you right now? What will lead you closer to that? That’s what we discern. That’s why we get to make decisions.”

The two truths and three questions sections are amazing. And ones I will come back to frequently. Father Schmitz states:

“If you make it a habit to ask these three questions, I can absolutely guarantee you will never, ever, ever miss your vocation. You’ll never ever miss God’s call for your life. The channels will be open and connected to him. You’ll say yes on a regular basis. And by giving him at least twenty minutes every day, you’ll be giving him time to say, “Hey knucklehead, wake up—here’s what you need to do.” You will never, ever miss out on discerning God’s will for your life.”

This is an incredible read. And no matter what stage of life you are in you will benefit from reading it. And while you are at it pick up a few extra copies to be able to give away to friends and family.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books By Father Mike Schmitz:
Made for Love: Same-Sex Attraction and the Catholic Church
How to Make Great Decisions
Quick Catholic Lessons with Fr. Mike


Contributed to:
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
Pray, Decide, and Don't Worry: Five Steps to Discerning God's Will
Don't Be Afraid to Say Yes to God! Pope Francis Speaks to Young People


Audio Talks by Father Mike Schmitz:
Living Life by Design, Not by Default
Love - Sacrifice - Trust He Showed Us the Way
From Love, By Love, For Love
True Worship
The Four Last Things
Jesus Is …
Changed Forever - The Sacrament of Baptism
We Must Go Out - The Sacrament of Confirmation

 




Tuesday, 27 August 2019

Rediscover the Saints - Matthew Kelly - Twenty-Five Questions That Will Change Your Life

Rediscover the Saints:
Twenty-Five Questions That Will Change Your Life
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781929266630
eISBN 9781635821147
ASIN B07T7X9BKP


I have been waiting two years for this book to come out. This book was mentioned in passing in Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer, and I have been anticipating it since then. It has not let down. This is the 21st book by Kelly that I have read over the last four years. And It is one of the best! There are currently 6 books in the Rediscover series and 5 of the six are still in print. 

Rediscover Catholicism 
Rediscover Advent
Rediscover Lent
Rediscover Jesus
Rediscover the Rosary 
Rediscover the Saints

This book was an excellent read that I could hardly put down. In fact, I read it twice back to back. My first time through I read the book over 2 days. And then I went back and reread it slowly over a week. Highlighting and making notes. I highlighted 71 passages on that second read through. The sections in this book are:

Prologue: The First Saint 
Getting Started: Amazing Possibilities 
1. Augustine: You Have A Future 
2. Walter: An Overwhelming Love 
3. Irenaeus: Fully Alive 
4. Benedict: Life-Giving Daily Routines 
5. Teresa Of Ávila: The First Routine 
6. Ignatius: Emotional Intelligence 
7. Francis Of Assisi: Dissatisfied 
8. Thomas More: The Gentle Voice Within 
9. John: Friendship 
10. Martha: Our Longing For Belonging 
11. Vincent De Paul: God Feeds Us To Feed Others 
12. Harry: With Your Whole Heart 
13. John Vianney: Disoriented 
14. Thomas: We All Have Doubts 
15. Bernard: In Search Of Excellence 
16. Thérèse Of Lisieux: It’s The Little Things 
17. Maximillian Kolbe: I Will Take Your Place 
18. Mother Teresa: Truth, Beauty, And Goodness 
19. Mary Mckillop: Troubled Times 
20. Anthony Of The Desert: Be A Rebel 
21. Nicholas: Holding Christmas In Your Heart 
22. Mary: Beautiful Surrender 
23. Ralph: Love Of Learning 
24. James: Do Not Be Afraid 
25. All Saints: Now Is Your Time

The subtitle of the book is ‘Twenty-Five Questions That Will Change Your Life’ but in reality, the book has far more then 25 questions. And many of them are deep and penetrating and will stir your heart, your soul, your spirit. Toward the beginning of the ‘Getting Started’ section We are asked: 

“Are you satisfied with the direction the world is moving in? Are you satisfied with your life?”

And those are some pretty huge questions. This section actually begins with these words:

“We are capable of so much more than we think. You have no idea what you are capable of. None of us do. God is constantly trying to open our eyes to the amazing possibilities that he has enfolded in our being. The saints continue this work, encouraging us to explore all our God-given potential, not with speeches but with the example of their lives.”

This and the end of the prologue, The First Saint’ both hit me immediately, and hit me both times I read the book. That section is:

“They say every saint has a past and every sinner has a future. If I could lean in close to you and whisper something in your ear, it would be this: “If there are pieces of your past that are weighing you down, it’s time to leave them behind. You are not what has happened to you. You are someone unimaginably greater than you have ever considered, and maybe it’s time to consider all the possibilities that are within you.””

Each of the 25 numbered chapters in this book follow a similar format. The name of a saint, a chapter title, and then a question. The chapter then expands upon that saint and the question. And ends with a prayer. The book is wonderfully written. It is one of those book I will likely reread every year for a season. 

This book shows us how God has worked in the lives of the saints. But also, how God is calling us to be saints in the world. The focuses are on becoming the best version of yourself, on recognizing the opportunities to create holy moments, and looking at how God worked through the saints, and can work through us. Not all of the 25 examples are canonized saints. Some are people who were named after saints. But there are lessons we can take from each chapter. And the prayers at the end of the chapters are wonderful. I copied 7 of the 25 to my OneNote prayer collection. And have started praying a few of them daily. The book concluded with these words:

“In every place and time God raises up people to create holy moments. In your place and time, God wants to raise you up. The question is, are you ready to collaborate with him, or are you comfortable letting life continue to pass you by?”

And that is the challenge it will leave withal readers. This is my favorite of the books by Matthew Kelly that I have read. And I know that anyone who reads it prayerfully with an open heart will benefit from the read.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
...

Rediscover Books by Matthew Kelly:
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose
Rediscover Advent
Rediscover Lent
Rediscover Jesus: An Invitation
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer
Rediscover the Saints

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality










Thursday, 21 February 2019

Why I Love Being Catholic - Matthew Kelly - Dynamic Catholic Ambassadors Share Their Hopes and Dreams for the Future

Why I Love Being Catholic: 
Dynamic Catholic Ambassadors Share Their Hopes and Dreams for the Future
Matthew Kelly (Forward)
Wellspring Publishing
for Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635820454
eISBN 9781635820638
ASIN B07GXN8ZRH


This book is part of an ever-growing genre of books about why people are catholic. I have read a few books along this line over the last year. Titles such as:

Why I Am Catholic (and You Should Be Too) by Brandon Vogt
Why We're Catholic: Our Reasons for Faith, Hope, and Love by Trent Horn
Forty Reasons I Am a Catholic by Peter Kreeft

And a slew of other books I have not considered reading yet. And yet this book is something very different from those three and the others in the genre at large. For this book is a collection from numerous contributors. There is no index, so I am not sure f some of the contributors offered answers in more than one section. But overall this book is an interesting read. There are moments that will make you smile, a few that might pull tears, and a lot that are inspiring. The book is broken into three sections:

Foreword 
One Why Do You Love Being Catholic? 
Two What Is Your Favorite Memory as a Catholic? 
Three As a Catholic, What Are Your Hopes for the Future?

The answers rand from a single sentence, to several paragraphs. And the answers as a diverse as you would expect from asking a hundred people such open-ended questions. It was a great book to read through, at times I felt inspired, at times encouraged and at times just empathy for the story being shared. 

I could see this book being used in the recruitment of Dynamic Catholic Ambassadors. I could also see it as a bathroom reader, just pick it up every time you are there and randomly read a story or two. Or keep it by your bed site table or prayer corner for when you need a little inspiration or motivation. This is a book I could not see myself reading through from beginning to end again but could see my self flipping through and reading a story from time to time. Overall a good read but definitely a niche market.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
...

Rediscover Books by Matthew Kelly:
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose
Rediscover Advent
Rediscover Lent
Rediscover Jesus: An Invitation
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer
Rediscover the Saints

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality