--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/EncounterTheSaints As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:22:02 PM UTC

Showing posts with label EncounterTheSaints. Show all posts
Showing posts with label EncounterTheSaints. Show all posts

Monday, 17 December 2018

Prayer of the day a prayer to Saint Anthony of Padua

Prayer to Saint Anthony of Padua



Saint Anthony, God was always first in your life. You loved him so much that you wanted all people everywhere to come to know, love and serve him too. You used your special talents for teaching and preaching to bring people closer to God, and to help those who were doubtful or confused. 

There were many times in your life when things didn't work out as you had hoped for or expected, Saint Anthony. But you always trusted in God and in his love for you. 

It's not always easy for me to put God first in my life. Would you please help me, Saint Anthony? Show me how I can use my gifts and talents to help the people around me. Help me to know and follow God's will and to trust that God never stops watching over and loving me. 

I want to follow Jesus as you did. Pray for me, Saint Anthony.
Amen.

This prayer is taken from the Encounter The Saint Series book on Anthony

Saint Anthony of Padua:
Fire and Light
Encounter the Saints Series
Margaret Charles Kerry
Mary Elizabeth Tebo
Ray Morelli (Illustrator)
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819870193
eISBN 9781306806688
ASIN B005F1Q79M



Relates posts and links:
For other "Prayer of the Day" posts.
...

Friday, 23 November 2018

Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord - Susan Helen Wallace & Barbara Kiwak - Encounter the Saints Series Book 24

Saint Teresa of Avila
Joyful in the Lord
Encounter the Saints Series Book 24
Susan Helen Wallace
Barbara Kiwak (Illustrator) 
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819871169


I need to state clearly again that this series is amazing! Between my three children and I we have now read 29 of the books in this series. Either by myself, or with one or more child. My children ages 12, 10, and 8 love these books. My son wants to have the complete set in his room, so he keeps asking to buy his own set, because he loves these books so much. And as soon as we finish a book, he wants to begin on another. With each of the books we read we appreciate this series more. And to be honest hope there will be even more books in the future. But now back to this specific book on Saint Teresa of Avila. 

This book is moving. As we were reading my son often asked for one more chapter when we should have been done reading for the night. The story of Katharine and her nuns really encouraged and challenged both of us.

The chapters in this volume are:

1. Teresa's World 
2. Teenage Temptations
3. A Vocation at Last
4. The Surprising Recovery
5. Listening for the Chime
6. A New Beginning 
7. Possible? Yes!
8. Friars of the Reform 
9. The Movement Grows 
10. A Convent in Toledo 
11. A Surprise Assignment
12. On to Seville 
13. The Journey Continues 
14. Home to the Lord 
Prayer 
Glossary

Often when I read about saints I am encouraged and challenged. While reading this specific book, my son and I both were challenged to listen to God more closely. We are both praying about vocations, mine to the diaconate and his to the priesthood. The example of Teresa of Avila following her vocation inspired both of us. Saint Teresa of Avila was known for both her wit and for her reform of the Carmelite order. She was the first woman Doctor of the church. She exhibited joy in serving God, even as her health declined. My son was specifically fascinated with all the new convents she opened. The hark work just in travelling, let alone starting new work. He was amazed by this vibrant saint.


The prayer in this volume is:

"Saint Teresa of Avila, you are often called great, and that's truly, with God's help, what you became. When you were young, you were ordinary, like me. You wanted to be popular and have fun. Who doesn't? But as time passed, you became more aware of the value of your life and the gifts you had been given by Jesus.

You had the courage to open your heart to listen to the Lord. You thought about and prayed over the way he suffered and died for each of us. You wanted to thank him by the way you lived.

You became a Carmelite nun and began a spiritual reform of the order you loved. Thank you for leaving your example of courage and love for Jesus for all of us to learn from. You show us that, with prayer and sacrifice, we can try to imitate you in our own daily lives. Please help me to be as generous and caring as you were.
Amen."


This is one of the eight books in the series that is written by Susan Helen Wallace. Also it is one of seven illustrated by Barbara Kiwak. And the two collaborated on this volume and the volume on Saint Katharine Drexel. It follows the format of the series in that there are 5 illustrations sprinkled throughout the book. They appear to either be pencil drawings or charcoal sketches. My son and youngest daughter were both fascinated by the sketches and went over them almost every time we read the book. 


I have read this book three times, first by myself, second with my son, and now I have finished it with my youngest daughter. Each time I have read it I have been encouraged and challenged. My children and I loved this book, and all three children and I love this series! We have now read 28 of the books in the Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media. And everyone has been a gem. Another amazing read in a wonderful series!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!


Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media:
Blessed James Alberione Media Apostle
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady
Saint André Bessette Miracles in Montreal
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light
Saint Bakhita of Sudan Forever Free
Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi A Light for the World
Saint Damien of Molokai Hero of Hawaii
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America
Saint Faustina Kowalska Messenger of Mercy
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream
Saint Francis of Assisi Gentle Revolutionary
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life
Saint Ignatius of Loyola For the Greater Glory of God
Saint Isaac Jogues With Burning Heart
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants
Saint John Paul II Be Not Afraid
Saint John Vianney A Priest for All People
Saint Juan Diego And Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith
Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift
Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque And the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle
Saint Pio of Pietrelcina Rich in Love
Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord
Saint Teresa of Calcutta Missionary of Charity
Saint Teresa of Kalkota Missionary of Charity
Saint Thérèse of Lisieux The Way of Love
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth
Saint Thomas More Courage, Conscience, and the King
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto: Shepherds of Fatima
The Saints Pray for Us


Sunday, 21 October 2018

Twenty-Ninth Sunday of Ordinary Time 2018

Twenty-Ninth Sunday of Ordinary Time 2018

The readings for this weekend's mass are:

First Reading Isaiah 53:10-11
Responsorial Psalm 33:2-4, 18-19, 20, 22 Response 22
Second Reading Hebrews 4:14-16
Gospel Mark 10:35-45

The response this week is:

“Let your love be upon us, Lord, even as we hope in you.”

That is the piece from all the readings this week that has stuck with me most. In the spring we had seen a surgeon because our son had developed scoliosis. This is on top of or because of his neurofibromatosis. In the spring it looked like surgery was immanent. He expected surgery to be within the next 8-12 months. As a preventative measure our son was given a back brace to wear 23 hours a day. After reading a book this summer about Lourdes, Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes by Anne Eileen Heffernan, Elizabeth Tebo and Mari Goering Encounter the Saints Series Book 2, he wanted to know if we could go so he could bathe in the waters there. As much as I would have loved to have done that it was just not an option. But a priest, Father Edward Looney sent us some Holy Water from there, and we have been praying asking the intercession of Emil Kapaun, and blessing his neck and spine with the water from Lourdes. This is what my wife shared before coming home from the hospital in Hamilton on Thursday:

“Sometimes you don't know you've been holding your breath until you exhale. That's how today felt - another trip to McMaster to check in on Liam's scoliosis. The curve was at 52 degrees in the spring and surgery seemed imminent. He got his brace 3 months ago and today they checked him without the brace and the curve was at 46 degrees....and...with the brace ON it was at 36 degrees!! Such good news! Surgery is no longer necessary right now. We will keep up with the brace and begin some physio to help improve his flexibility and gain some strength in his core and check back again in 3 months. Feeling relieved. Thank-you for all of your prayers and support - God is so good!”

The interesting things is the brace was not going to make anything better, it was only to help it from getting worse. God’s goodness is the unifying theme in this week’s readings. From the prophecy in Isaiah about Jesus bearing our inequities. To the end of the second reading:

“Let us therefore approach the throne of Grace with boldness, do that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

When I pray with him before bed I pray “If it is god’s will that his spine will heal and he not need surgery, but if he needs surgery that God would guide the surgeon’s hands and strengthen us as a family to get through it.” And He loved praying with the special holy water. A few times he has even asked for it and blessed my eyes for healing. And that brings us to the end of the gospel passage:

“For the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

That is our hope, and in whom we hope. Jesus, we trust in you!



Related Posts:

Saturday, 29 September 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2018

My total books this quarter is down a bit from last quarter, but my page count is actually up. Just variations in the length of material read. The Quarter by the numbers:

91 books read
59 received 5/5 stars
8 of those had been read before
48 were non-Fiction
11 were fiction

The Fiction was pretty easy to narrow down to a simple top ten list. The non-fiction on the other hand was a very, very, very difficult. But this is what I managed to come up with. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1. The booklets by Helena Scott and Ethel Tolansky:
2. Encounter the Saints Series
3. How to Think Like Aquinas: The Sure Way to Perfect Your Mental Powers - Kevin Vost
4. Last of the Romantics: St. Josemaria in the Twenty-First Century
5. The Eight Doors of the Kingdom: Meditations on the Beatitudes - Jacques Philippe
6. Saxum: The Life of Alvaro del Portillo - John F. Coverdale
7. Catholic Truth Society booklets:
8. Footprints of the Northern Saints - Basil Cardinal Hume
9. A Soldier Surrenders: The Conversion of St. Camillus de Lellis - Susan Peek - God's Forgotten Friends Lives of Little-known Saints Book 2
10. The Cries of Jesus from the Cross: An Anthology - by Reverend Fulton J Sheen 

Bonus:
11. Foundations of the Faith: God, Christ, and the Church - Jeff Vehige - Find the Faith Book 1
12. Love's True Meaning: The message of Humanae Vitae 50 Years On - Fr. Anthony Doe
13. The Way of the Christian Samurai: Reflections for Servant-Warriors of Christ - Paul E. Nowak

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. Roland West Outcast - Theresa Linden - A West Brothers Book
2. Down Time - Barry Lyga - An I Hunt Killers Prequel
3. We Are All Jacob's Children: A Tale of Hope, Wisdom, and Faith - Noah benShea
4. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
5. The Story of Job - Regina Doman and Ben Hatke 
6. Where You Lead - Leslea Wahl 
7. Birthday Secrets - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Short Story
8. The Mystery at Midnight - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 4
9. The Whisper in the Ruins - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 3
10. In Front Of My House - Marianne Dubuc and Yvette Ghione

If you give some of these a try I am sure they will be with the read! But unfortunately, two of the fiction books have yet to be published. Number s 1 and 4 will be published later in the fall. I also had a conundrum about number 9 non-fiction and number 5 fiction. These could have been either fiction or non depending on your interpretation. But this is where the chips fell.

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

284 - January to September 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Friday, 28 September 2018

Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift - Susan Helen Wallace & Barbara Kiwak - Encounter the Saints Series Book 15

Saint Katharine Drexel
The Total Gift
Encounter the Saints Series Book 15
Susan Helen Wallace
Barbara Kiwak (Illustrator) 
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819870681


This series is amazing! Between my three children and I we have now read 29 of the books in this series. Either by myself, or with one or more child. My children ages 12, 10, and 8 love these books. My son keeps asking to buy his own set so he can keep them in his room. And as soon as we finish one book he wants to begin on another. With each of the books we read we appreciate this series more. And to be honest hope there will be even more books in the future. But now back to this specific book on Saint Katharine Drexel.


I must admit I was familiar with the name Katharine Drexel but beyond the name I knew little of her story. My son and I were amazed as we worked out way through this book. About her devotion, her faith, her generosity, and her service. My son was particularly fascinated by her family's prayer room their house. She travelled so far and wide in an age when travel was not nearly as easy as today. She was friends with numerous bishops, and met Popes. But her greatest achievement was founding an order of religious sisters that specialized in schools for black and natives. Whenever there was a request for her nuns she found a way. She worked hard, she travelled to each school and each house of the order every year. She gave of her own inheritance and supported the ministry of others also. 

The chapters in this book are:
Hannah's Gift 
Life on Walnut Street 
Learning to Help 
Happy Memories 
The Grand Tour 
Fireworks! 
Peace in Suffering 
Unexpected Sorrow 
Friend of the Missions 
"Why Not You?"
No Turning Back 
A Share in the Cross 
Growing Pains 
Southern Beginnings 
To the Navajos 
A Dream Come True 
Louisiana Adventures 
When Saints Meet 
So Much to Do 
A Matter of the Heart 
"Do You See the Children?"
Prayer
Glossary

This book is deeply moving. Often my son asked for one more chapter when we should have been done reading for the night. The story of Katharine and her nuns really encouraged and challenged both of us.

The prayer in this volume is:

"Saint Katharine, there's so much I can learn from you.  Even though many persons today act as if money is the most important thing in the world, you show me that it isn't.  It's people who are more important than anything else.  And you teach me how to treat them with care, compassion and love, just as Jesus would.

I want to become as unselfish as you were, Saint Katharine.  It's not always easy, so I need your help.  Ask Jesus to show me how I can use the gift of my own life to make the world a better place for everyone.  Thank you, Saint Katharine.

Amen."

This is one of eight books in the series written by Susan Helen Wallace. And one of seven illustrated by Barbara Kiwak. It follows the format of the series in that there are 5 illustrations sprinkled throughout the book. They appear to either be pencil drawings or charcoal sketches. My son was fascinated by the sketches and went over them almost every time we read the book. 


Reading this book you will find out many details about Katharine's life. About her sisters. The loss of her mother at a young age. About her step mother. And her fathers and step mothers devotion. You will find out a lot about this second US born saint. But what will move you most is her commitment to following Jesus. Where ever God led she followed. And that is what we took away most from the book. Our personal need to live for God and follow where he leads.


My son and I loved this book, and all three children and I love this series! We have now read 28 of the books in the Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media. And every one has been a gem. Another amazing read in an wonderful series!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!


Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media:
Blessed James Alberione Media Apostle
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady
Saint André Bessette Miracles in Montreal
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light
Saint Bakhita of Sudan Forever Free
Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi A Light for the World
Saint Damien of Molokai Hero of Hawaii
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America
Saint Faustina Kowalska Messenger of Mercy
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream
Saint Francis of Assisi Gentle Revolutionary
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life
Saint Ignatius of Loyola For the Greater Glory of God
Saint Isaac Jogues With Burning Heart
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants
Saint John Paul II Be Not Afraid
Saint John Vianney A Priest for All People
Saint Juan Diego And Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith
Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift
Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque And the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle
Saint Pio of Pietrelcina Rich in Love
Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord
Saint Teresa of Calcutta Missionary of Charity
Saint Teresa of Kalkota Missionary of Charity
Saint Thérèse of Lisieux The Way of Love
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth
Saint Thomas More Courage, Conscience, and the King
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto: Shepherds of Fatima
The Saints Pray for Us




Wednesday, 5 September 2018

Saint Juan Diego and Our Lady of Guadalupe - Josephine Nobisso and Virginia Esquinaldo - Encounter the Saints Series Book 14

Saint Juan Diego 
and Our Lady of Guadalupe
Encounter the Saints Series Book 34
Anne Eileen Heffernan, FSP
Mary Elizabeth Tebo 
Mari Goering (Illustrator) 
Pauline Books and Media
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819870643
eISBN 9780819872746
ASIN B00AEYP0QG


My children and I loved this book and love this series! We have now read 28 books in the Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media. I started by reading them myself, they were books I stumbled upon about saints I wanted to know more about. But soon started reading them to and with my children. Now, my children and I are working our way through the whole series. Of the 28 book I have read the majority have been reread with one of more of my children. My Oldest and I read these books together, alternating pages. And I read them with the youngest. The middle child and I will now often read alternating pages also. I read this book with my son, after he was given a small statue of Juan Diego that was shipped to us for his prayer corner in his room. We both really appreciated the book.


I was very familiar with the name Juan Diego, and of the tilma with the image of Our Lady of Guadalupe prior to reading this book. I know a number of people with a deep devotion to this image of our Lady and have seen numerous prints, paintings and photos of this image over the years. But I was unaware of the incredible story behind it. 

The chapters in this book are:
1. Back from the Dead
2. God's Great Plan
3. Serious Troubles
4. The Good News
5. Enter the Spaniards
6. A Prayer for Help
7. Aztec Life
8. The Emperor's Error
9. Tragedy!
10. The Miracle at Last
11. Mary's Second and Third Visits
12. The Sign
13. The Lady Gets Her Wish
14. Hidden Messages
15. Our Lady's Title
16. Science Proves the Miracle
Prayer
Glossary



The first part of this book is history, to set up the story. It gives a very clear and concise overview of the history of the Aztec people and the coming of Christianity to their lands. We are told:

"Many of the Aztecs' religious rituals resembled the sacraments of Catholicism. The Indians practiced a form of baptism, initiated (confirmed) young people, performed marriage ceremonies, and held death rites. Their very concept of offering sacrifices to their gods echoed the Eucharistic sacrifice, the Mass, in which Jesus offers himself to the Father on our behalf.

As much as the Indians' rituals made them open to learning about the sacraments, they were only shadows, signs of things to come. Once the Indians, like Juan Diego, had experienced the grace that the true sacraments bring, they were willing to suffer anything to receive this grace. Juan Diego had to walk for hours just to attend catechism classes. Many other Indians had to face the opposition of their friends and families when they converted to Christianity."

It is the tenth chapter of the book before we actually get to Juan Diego. The story is set of suffering and hardships but also of faith. It was on Saturday, December 9, 1531 that Juan first encountered out Lady. She appeared to him three times. And she asked for asked for a chapel to be built upon the hill she appeared on. And thus began the devotion to Our Lady of Guadalupe that has spread around the world.



This book follows the format of all the books in the series. There is the story, a prayer and a glossary. The prayer in this book is:

"Thank you, Mary, for having visited Mexico so many years ago. Because of that visit you are the Patroness of the Americas, and we give you the title Our Lady of Guadalupe.

I know that the messages you gave Saint Juan Diego are also for all of us, your children. Help me not to be sad or disturbed by anything. Help me not to be afraid, even when bad things happen. You have told us that you are our Mother. You have promised that you will protect us. I know that you always pray to God for us.

Saint Juan, I want to love Jesus and Mary as you did. Ask God to make my faith strong. Help me to imitate you. I want to be always ready to do what God wants. Pray for me, Saint Juan. Amen."

This is the only book to date in the series written by Josephine Nobisso. It is illustrated by Virginia Esquinaldo who illustrated three other volumes. There are 5 illustrations in the volume as is the standard for the series. The illustrations are pencil sketches. The final illustration is wonderful and I would love to be able to get a print of it for my son's prayer corner. 



This book surprised both my son and I. The history was an important lesson. And the appearance of Mary to a simple farmer was heartening. We both loved this book and look forward to reading more in the series together.

A great book in an excellent series as a family we love them and recommend them to all who read to or with children.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media:
Blessed James Alberione Media Apostle
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady
Saint André Bessette Miracles in Montreal
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light
Saint Bakhita of Sudan Forever Free
Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi A Light for the World
Saint Damien of Molokai Hero of Hawaii
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America
Saint Faustina Kowalska Messenger of Mercy
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream
Saint Francis of Assisi Gentle Revolutionary
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life
Saint Ignatius of Loyola For the Greater Glory of God
Saint Isaac Jogues With Burning Heart
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants
Saint John Paul II Be Not Afraid
Saint John Vianney A Priest for All People
Saint Juan Diego And Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith
Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift
Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque And the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle
Saint Pio of Pietrelcina Rich in Love
Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord
Saint Teresa of Calcutta Missionary of Charity
Saint Teresa of Kalkota Missionary of Charity
Saint Thérèse of Lisieux The Way of Love
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth
Saint Thomas More Courage, Conscience, and the King
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto: Shepherds of Fatima
The Saints Pray for Us




Wednesday, 22 August 2018

Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes - Anne Eileen Heffernan, Elizabeth Tebo and Mari Goering - Encounter the Saints Series Book 2

Saint Bernadette Soubirous: 
And Our Lady of Lourdes 
Encounter the Saints Series Book 32
Anne Eileen Heffernan, FSP
Mary Elizabeth Tebo 
Mari Goering (Illustrator) 
Pauline Books and Media
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819870209


I have now read 28 books in the Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media. I started reading them myself, because they were books I stumbled upon about saints I wanted to know more about. Now, my children and I are reading the whole series. Of the 28 book I have read the vast majority have been reread with one of more child. My Oldest and I read these books together, alternating pages. And I read them with the younger two. Though the middle child will now often read alternating pages also. My first time reading this book was with my son, our middle child, for his reading challenge time. It has really left an impact upon him.


 This book was a surprise on many levels. I doubt you could find a Catholic who is not familiar with the name of Our lady of Lourdes. In fact, I doubt you could find someone who was raised in the western world who does not know at least the name. But this is the incredible story of God choosing a poor small girl to bring a message though Mary, first to a small town and then to the whole world. I had recently read another book on Saint Bernadette Soubirous, but was still taken by surprised by her humility, and servants heart. For my son it was an introduction to this story.


The chapters in this book are:
Poor and Small 
The Wonderful Day
A Fantastic Story
More Excitement
Promises
Three More Apparitions
Interrogation
A Mysterious Force
The Miraculous Spring
Another Summons
The Request
The Chapel and the pastor
Annunciation Day
A Temporary Farwell
Decision
Still Poor and Small
Lourdes Today
Prayer 
Glossary

This book follows the same format as the others in the Encounter the Saints Series. It contains the biography of the saint, a prayer to the saint, and a glossary of terms specific to this volume. It also contains 5 illustrations, the drawings are by Mari Goering, this is the first of 4 volumes she illustrated in the series. The illustrations are wonderful pencil sketches. They have a great deal of detail and my son has spend a lot of time examining the pictures. 



My son was drawn to this book in a way that he has not been drawn to many others. Currently he is wearing a back brace and preparing for spinal surgery within the next year. As soon as we finished the book, he wanted to know if we could go to Lourdes and he could bathe in the spring. It was hard to explain to him that a trip there is out of the picture, but we can pray and trust God. And that is one of the big lessons we both took from this book, pray and trust.


This book does an amazing job of portraying the life of this saint in a way that can be enjoyed by any reader. Readers of all ages. The book and series are written for children but honestly anyone can read these books and have their faith encourages and challenged by the saint presented in that volume. This series is among our favorite Catholic books to read, and from 50 years of age through to 7 we love these books. Currently there are only 10 titles we have not read in the series, but we have reread some books up to four times now. So even once we finish them all we can go back and reread them again and again. 

This book is an amazing book in a wonderful series as a family we give them our highest recommendations. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media:
Blessed James Alberione Media Apostle
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady
Saint André Bessette Miracles in Montreal
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light
Saint Bakhita of Sudan Forever Free
Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi A Light for the World
Saint Damien of Molokai Hero of Hawaii
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America
Saint Faustina Kowalska Messenger of Mercy
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream
Saint Francis of Assisi Gentle Revolutionary
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life
Saint Ignatius of Loyola For the Greater Glory of God
Saint Isaac Jogues With Burning Heart
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants
Saint John Paul II Be Not Afraid
Saint John Vianney A Priest for All People
Saint Juan Diego And Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith
Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift
Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque And the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle
Saint Pio of Pietrelcina Rich in Love
Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord
Saint Teresa of Calcutta Missionary of Charity
Saint Teresa of Kalkota Missionary of Charity
Saint Thérèse of Lisieux The Way of Love
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth
Saint Thomas More Courage, Conscience, and the King
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto: Shepherds of Fatima
The Saints Pray for Us