--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/EssentialOils As it appears live September 19, 2020 4:00:38 PM UTC

Showing posts with label EssentialOils. Show all posts
Showing posts with label EssentialOils. Show all posts

Saturday, 21 September 2019

Fall Tomato and Mushroom Stew

Fall Tomato and Mushroom Stew


I was home on the first PD day of the school year with my three kids and an extra one. We had both mushrooms and tomatoes in the house that needed cooking. I just started and this is what developed. I love cooking with doTerra essential oils, I find that the flavors really pop. So this was my stew for a fall day.

Ingredients:


1 large baked potato 2 cups cubed mushrooms
3 cups Tomatoes: if using cherry cut in half, if other types cube.
1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp pink salt
2 tsp Italian seasoning
2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
½ cup milk

Seasoning:

1 drop cilantro essential oil
1 drop ginger essential oil
1 drop oregano essential oil
3 drops turmeric essential oil

Note: I use oils, but you can use fresh or dried to taste.

Directions:


In a large saucepan melt butter and add oil. Sauté mushrooms until reduced, add salt and pepper and Italian seasoning. Once mushrooms are fully cooked add the cooked potato and the tomatoes. Simmer until most of the tomatoes are popped and sauce is thickening. Add the essential oils at this point or add dried herbs. Reduce heat to simmer and simmer until desire consistence stirring occasionally. Add the milk and simmer another five minutes and serve.
 

 Finished Product
 In Progress
Simmering down.
The oils I used.

Saturday, 5 May 2018

Product Review Ninja CT815C Chef DUO

Ninja CT815C Chef DUO
Ninja
ASIN B077ZMNK95



When it comes to blenders there seems to be three main camps: The Vitamix gang, by far the most vocal and biggest fanboys. The Blendtec crew, the device most often used commercially think Starbuck’s or Booster Juice. Less confrontational than the first group. Know they have a good product and just enjoy it. And then there are the Ninja’s.

I am pushing 50 and am not as healthy as I should be. But I love juicing and smoothies. I have owned a Bullet and a NutriBullet; and dreamed of a larger machine along the lines of this one. I know so many people with Vitamix’s, but when my wife asked me about it, I was leaning towards and had a preference for the Blendtec. And then I had the change to get a Ninja CT815C Chef DUO to test and review.

I have been putting this through it’s paces for a few months now. I have used it often and tested it in various ways. And I must admit for the price it is way better than I expected. This device has really impressed me. This is less than half the price of a Blendtec of Vitamix and yet it does an amazing job.

I have used this mainly to make smoothies. Both in the large mixing pitcher 72oz capacity. Or the smaller personal cup with the 24 oz. capacity. I use the smaller cup when making stuff just for me. But if I am blending up a batch for the kids and I the larger one does an excellent job. I have also used this to make soup, and a for some other cooking projects. There is not a single thing I have tried to do with this that has not worked. It does come with a tamper but even my thickest smoothies or soups have never needed it because of the wide base and blade design the job just gets done. I have even used this to make bullet proof coffee. And lastly, I have used it to blend essential oils to make infused waters.

This machine has a 1500-watt motor which should be more than enough for most home use cases. It has a smart sensor and detects which of the two blending container is in use. It has preset programs for each of the two, and it has 10 manual speeds. The preset settings are:

Ice Cream
Soup
Dressing
Puree
Nut Butter
Flour/Mill
Extract
Smoothie
Frozen Drink
Dip/Salsa

I have not yet used all 10 but the 8 I have tried all worked wonderfully. The Ninja Chef has suction cup feet. And they do a fantastic job. To move the product around on the counter takes a bit of effort to get it up. They are also thick and provide a lot of cushion when blending. There is not rattling of the whole counter even with the power of this device going at max blend speed. And it still fits under the counter in an older house.

I can honestly state that I was planning on saving up and getting a much more expensive appliance; but am more than satisfied with this one. Looking forward to years of smoothies and soups and experimenting with other uses!


Note: my current favorite smoothie recipe can be found here









Thursday, 15 March 2018

Ginger Raspberry Squeeze Smoothie

Ginger Raspberry Squeeze Smoothie

Ingredients:
The juice of:

1 lemon
1 lime
1 orange
1 grapefruit


and

1 cup frozen raspberries
3 drops doTerra Ginger Essential Oil
1 tbsp maca powder
1 tbsp goji berries

Hand juice the citrus fruit and add to blender. Add all dry ingredients, then add the frozen raspberries, and 1-5 drops of ginger essential oil. (Start low and add each time you make it until you find your perfect taste.

This smoothie has amazing flavor and taste. Fit is the first time that I have added oils to a smoothie but will not be the last. Up until now I had just been adding them to room temperature water, or in my favorite hot drink, Lemon Lime Peppermint Water.

I love making smoothies and the wonderful thing about a simple one like this is it is so easy to make variation. Below are some optional ingredients to add or swap out.

Optional Ingredients:
Dry Ingredients:

1tbsp Chia Seeds
1tbsp Flax Seeds
1tbsp Hemp Hearts
1tbsp coconut flakes

Frozen Ingredients:
1 cup frozen peaches
1 cup frozen blueberries
1 cup frozen kale
1 cup frozen mixed berries

You could also swap out one or more of the citrus fruits for juiced carrots. I have so many new smoothies I want to try and many doTerra oils to experiment with. I will continue to post new recipes from time to time as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. I also have another notebook for my essential oils research and notes.

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Product Review - Personal Humidifiers Cool Mist Oil Diffuser from hysure

Baby Humidifier, Personal Humidifiers Cool Mist Oil Diffuser
300ml
hysure
ASIN B01I1H54OA




We currently have 4 diffusers in the house, I have tried 3 other models and given a few away as gifts to family. I really had high expectations for this diffuser then it arrived. This product is marketed as both a humidifier and a diffuser. I have no way of testing but comparing it to other models and brands we have tried I am not sure how the claim it is a humidifier, especially for babies. Comparing the amount of water it consumes over time it seems on part with the other models and brans I have tried that do not make that claim.

Pros:
Cover over water basin less likely to spill by bumping
Study base with good clearance for intake fan
Intermittent mode, 2 minutes on 30 seconds off
Auto shuts off when water gone

Cons:
It is either On, Intermittent or Off
No Option to set for set length of time
Only auto shutoff is when water is gone
Twist lock lid
Lack of any kind of lighting feature

This diffuser does the job. It has a much narrower opening than many of the models I have tried. It works at about the same pace. I really struggled with the twist lock lid. Every time I took it off or put it on it took multiple attempts. And when checking was always worried about it tipping and any water left getting in the intake manifold.

Of the seven different diffusers I have tried I would put this in the middle of the pack. Which based on its price point is where I would expect it. My biggest complaint is the difficult getting the cover on or off. But I love the internal cover on the water basin, that is a brilliant design feature. This is a good product for the price, and I would be willing to give other diffusers from Hysure a try






Saturday, 2 September 2017

Lemon Lime Peppermint Water

Lemon Lime Peppermint Water

I have read for a number of years now about the benefits of drinking warm or hot water with Lemon in it, especially first thing in the morning. And I have been experimenting with adding Essential Oils into my daily routines. This is my current favourite drink. And I wanted to share the recipe and some variations.

Lemon Lime Peppermint Water

Juice of half a lemon
Juice of half a lime
Touch of honey (if desired)
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Peppermint Oil
Water to the top of the mug

This drink is super refreshing and I love the taste. But I also have a few variations that add on this base recipe.



Citrus Peppermint Water

Juice of half a lemon
Juice of half a lime
Touch of honey (if desired)
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Peppermint Oil
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Wild Sweet Orange Oil
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Grapefruit Oil

Other variations I make also include adding a sprinkle of cinnamon, and or sprinkle of turmeric. You can also add between 1-3 tsp's of Apple cider vinegar.

Ultimate Hot Drink

Juice of half a lemon
Juice of half a lime
Touch of honey (if desired)
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Peppermint Oil
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Wild Sweet Orange Oil
1-3 drops of dōTERRA Grapefruit Oil
1-3 tsp of Apple Cider Vinegar
1-3 shakes of Cinnamon powder
1-3 shakes of Turmeric Powder

But you should experiment and have fun with it. I love the fresh cooling sensation of sipping the peppermint infused water no matter what else accompanies it. So play have fun and drop a note with what your favourite ends up being.



I will continue to post new recipes from time to time as I experiment with Sessential oils. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. I also have another notebook for my essential oils research and notes.

Wednesday, 23 August 2017

Product Review - Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser Ash Zen Model

Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser
Ash Zen Model
Viva Naturals
ASIN B01N6HAB2D




This is the last of three diffusers from Via Naturals that I tested. My family fell in love with the Tranquil Model's that we tested. I am comparing this product to the other model from Viva Naturals and to 3 other models from other companies. This one now resides in our bedroom and we use it nightly to diffuse as we go to bed. Most of the other diffusers other than the Tranquil Model from viva that I have tried have either a 100ml or 200 ml basin for diffusing. This one has 300 ml. I can set it to diffuse for 6 hours and not empty the basin. This model is also easier to clean than any of the non Viva Natural diffusers that we have tried. It is easier to fill, easier to clean and has a greater capacity than many of the diffusers on the market. And those three things make it a winner in our books!

The features the product boasts are:

Helps You Experience Aromatherapy's Health-Boosting Benefits
Enhance your mood, fight mold and pathogens, relieve sinus ailments, improve energy and focus and savor other wonderful benefits that aromatherapy has to offer.

Elegant Wood Grain Finish
Ash-grey, vase-like design looks beautiful and enhances any room

Whisper-Quiet
The diffuser is extremely quiet with very little operating noise. You'll never be disturbed at work or while sleeping.

Sensory-Boosting Lights
Choose from 7 different LED modes to match your mood and create a powerful experience that soothes all your senses.

Automatic Shut-Off
The diffuser automatically shuts off once all the oil is dispersed. So you'll never have to worry about forgetting to turn it off.

4 Mist Modes
Diffuse and unwind at your own pace. Viva Naturals' Ultrasonic Diffuser disperses cool, aromatic, energizing, and calming oil droplets at 1-, 3- and 6-hour intervals, and includes a continuous mist cycle that runs up to 12 hours.

90-Day, 100% Money Back Guarantee
We offer a full 90-day, 100% money-back guarantee. If you are not completely satisfied with your diffuser for any reason during the first 90 days, simply return it and we'll refund you 100% of the price you paid. You risk nothing.

It lives up to those claims; or at least the ones I can verify. I appreciate this diffuser but prefer my other model from Viva Naturals. This one does all that it says it will but I prefer the aesthetics of the other model. But this is a great product and I can highly recommend it. 

It works well. And the kids love that there are 7 colors to choose from or you can  allow it to transition through them, when it is transitioning because of shades it is closer to 21 colors that it rotates through. A slight drawback is that the lid does not firmly affix, it just sits in the basin, so if it is knocked there is usually a bit of a mess. Our way of dealing with this was selective placement. Because of this we had to put ours up on a mantle so it would be less of a temptation for the children to keep switching the lights. It is a really good product, at a good price point. And I appreciate the Ash finish on this model, you actually need to pick it up to confirm that it is not real wood, but I prefer the Espresso or Pine finishes more. But that is a matter of personal taste.

Viva Naturals products are now available in Canada currently through the Amazon Marketplace. 


Viva Naturals Reviews:
Supplements and Nutritional:
Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, 16 Ounce
Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, 32 Ounce
Organic Ground Flax Seed
Organic Goji Berries
Maca Powder
Coconut Flour: Non-GMO and Gluten-Free
Royal Quinoa Whole Grain

Chia Seeds
Organic Raw Cacao Nibs
Cacao Powder
Krill Oil 1250 milligram
Sweet Almond Oil 16 fl oz
Argon Oil 4oz
Maca Root 500 milligram 
Glutathione 500mg

Vitamin C 1000 milligrams



Essential Oil Difusers:

Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser 300ml, Ash Zen Model
Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser 400ml, Pine Tranquil Model
Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser 400ml, Espresso Tranquil Model





Saturday, 29 July 2017

Product Review - Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser Pine Tranquil Model

Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser
Pine Tranquil Model
Viva Naturals
ASIN B01MRXUVKA





I recently picked up three different diffusers from Viva Naturals to try. This one my mother in law loved so I gave it to her. And I had this model in the Espresso color. I already had two makes at home but was attracted to the design and style of the Viva diffusers and this specific style. It took my mother-in-law a while to figure out the settings because of the light lettering on the light wood finish. But other than that she loved it and we as a family love ours. 

One of the things  that we really like about this one model  is the larger capacity. Most of the other diffusers I have tried have between 200-300ML basins and this one has a 400ml basin. After filling it the first time I ran it for almost 18 hours before having to add water.

The features the product boasts are:

Helps You Experience Aromatherapy's Health-Boosting Benefits
Enhance your mood, fight mold and pathogens, relieve sinus ailments, improve energy and focus and savor other wonderful benefits that aromatherapy has to offer.

Elegant Wood Grain Finish
Espresso-brown, flower vase-like design looks beautiful and enhances any room

Whisper-Quiet
The diffuser is extremely quiet with very little operating noise. You'll never be disturbed at work or while sleeping.

Sensory-Boosting Lights
Choose from 7 different LED modes to match your mood and create a powerful experience that soothes all your senses.

Automatic Shut-Off
The diffuser automatically shuts off once all the oil is dispersed. So you'll never have to worry about forgetting to turn it off.

4 Mist Modes
Diffuse and unwind at your own pace. Viva Naturals' Ultrasonic Diffuser disperses cool, aromatic, energizing, and calming oil droplets at 1-, 3- and 6-hour intervals, and includes a continuous mist cycle that runs up to 12 hours.

90-Day, 100% Money Back Guarantee
We offer a full 90-day, 100% money-back guarantee. If you are not completely satisfied with your diffuser for any reason during the first 90 days, simply return it and we'll refund you 100% of the price you paid. You risk nothing.

It lives up to those claims; or at least the ones I can verify. A number of friends and family have comment on the style and design of it since we got it. It works really well. The kids love that there are 7 colors to choose from or you can  allow it to transition through them. The only real drawback is that the lids does not firmly affix, it just sits in the basin, so if it is knocked the is usually a mess. Because of this we had to put ours up on a mantle so it would be less of a temptation for the children to keep switching the lights. It is a really good product, at a good price point, that was immediately a favourite with the nuclear and extended family. And I love the pine finish on this model, you actually need to pick it up to confirm that it is not real wood. 

Viva Naturals products are now available in Canada currently through the Amazon Marketplace. 


Viva Naturals Reviews:
Supplements and Nutritional:
Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, 16 Ounce
Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, 32 Ounce
Organic Ground Flax Seed
Organic Goji Berries
Maca Powder
Coconut Flour: Non-GMO and Gluten-Free
Royal Quinoa Whole Grain

Chia Seeds
Organic Raw Cacao Nibs
Cacao Powder
Krill Oil 1250 milligram
Sweet Almond Oil 16 fl oz
Argon Oil 4oz
Maca Root 500 milligram 
Glutathione 500mg

Vitamin C 1000 milligrams



Essential Oil Difusers:

Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser 300ml, Ash Zen Model
Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser 400ml, Pine Tranquil Model
Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser 400ml, Espresso Tranquil Model






Saturday, 15 July 2017

Product Review - Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser Espresso Tranquil Model

Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser
Espresso Tranquil Model
Viva Naturals
ASIN B01MRXUVKA




I recently picked up three different diffusers from Viva Naturals to try. I already had two makes at home but was attracted to the design and style of the Viva diffusers and this specific style. I have been using this at home for over a week now, and it is a hit. My kids love this one. One of the things I really like about this one is the larger capacity. Most of the other diffusers I have tried have between 200-300ML basins and this one has a 400ml basin. After filling it the first time I ran it for almost 18 hours before having to add water.

The features the product boasts are:

Helps You Experience Aromatherapy's Health-Boosting Benefits
Enhance your mood, fight mold and pathogens, relieve sinus ailments, improve energy and focus and savor other wonderful benefits that aromatherapy has to offer.

Elegant Wood Grain Finish
Espresso-brown, flower vase-like design looks beautiful and enhances any room

Whisper-Quiet
The diffuser is extremely quiet with very little operating noise. You'll never be disturbed at work or while sleeping.

Sensory-Boosting Lights
Choose from 7 different LED modes to match your mood and create a powerful experience that soothes all your senses.

Automatic Shut-Off
The diffuser automatically shuts off once all the oil is dispersed. So you'll never have to worry about forgetting to turn it off.

4 Mist Modes
Diffuse and unwind at your own pace. Viva Naturals' Ultrasonic Diffuser disperses cool, aromatic, energizing, and calming oil droplets at 1-, 3- and 6-hour intervals, and includes a continuous mist cycle that runs up to 12 hours.

90-Day, 100% Money Back Guarantee
We offer a full 90-day, 100% money-back guarantee. If you are not completely satisfied with your diffuser for any reason during the first 90 days, simply return it and we'll refund you 100% of the price you paid. You risk nothing.

And to be honest it lives up to them. Or at least the ones I can verify. A few people have comment on the style and design of it since we got it. It works really well. The kids love that there are 7 colors to choose from or to allow it to rotate through them. The only real drawback is that the lids does not firmly affix, it just sits in the basin, so if it is knocked the is usually a mess. A good product, at a good price point, that was immediately a favourite with the whole family. 

Viva Naturals products are now available in Canada currently through the Amazon Marketplace.