--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/FernandoOc%C3%A1riz As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:25:28 AM UTC

Showing posts with label FernandoOcáriz. Show all posts
Showing posts with label FernandoOcáriz. Show all posts

Monday, 11 March 2019

God as Father: In the Message of Blessed Josemaria Escriva - Fernando Ocáriz

God as Father: 
In the Message of Blessed Josemaria Escriva
Fernando Ocáriz
Scepter Publishers

ISBN 9780933932753
eISBN 9781594712991
ASIN B07H5VRJ43


This is the second book by Father Ocáriz that I have read. It appears he has several that are not available in English, but after reading this one and also Love in Action: Loving God and Neighbor A Twofold Commandment, I know that I will be tracking down and reading all that is available to us. This is a small volume but one that is an excellent read, and that any Christian would benefit from reading.

The contents of this volume are:
Introduction
Being a Child of God
Being Christ Himself
Through the Holy Spirit
Children of Mary (and Joseph)
Children of the Church (and the Pope)
Brothers and Sisters to All
Filial and Fraternal Spirit
A Child of God Everywhere
The Freedom of God’s Children
Working as God’s Children
The Prayer of God’s Children
The Apostolate of God’s Children
Joy, Sorrow and Death for God’s Children
The Conversion of God’s Children
Conclusion: The Father’s little Children
Notes

The introduction begins with these words:

“Since his death on June 26, 1975, countless people the world over have testified to the benefits they attribute to St. Josemaría Escrivá. Among them are those who prize Escrivá’s contributions to theological development. This, despite the fact that Opus Dei’s founder wrote no treatises. Rather his was a pastoral activity that led him largely to preach and to pen letters and instructions, mostly for members.”

And later Ocariz clearly defines his purpose for the volume.

“The following pages offer a preliminary attempt at analyzing and collating the truly impressive theological richness the founder’s teachings contain on divine filiation. Such a task is both easy and difficult. Easy because the texts, while profound, possess an extraordinary clarity and spiritual keenness; it’s not necessary to interpret them and even less to dissect them, perhaps thereby draining them of life. Difficult, on the other hand, because in fact divine filiation pervades everything in both his spirit and his writings, not being limited to just some passages, however numerous. Thus, one can’t merely study pages where divine filiation or its equivalents and derivatives appear. If Escrivá speaks or writes on faith, he deals with the faith of God’s children; so too with fortitude or conversion and penance, he calls for courage or conversion of God’s children. In his life, speech and writings, every virtue, every aspect of Christian existence, and even human existence itself, is stamped with the seal of divine filiation. Hence all this teaching by itself (and even more so when gleaned from contemplation rather than simple speculation) escapes any rationalistic systematization.”

This book helps us to truly understand our call as children of God. It helps us see that in both the biblical and historical perspective. And through that We are told that:

“St. Josemaría as a child learned to turn to God with the trust of one backed by a loving and all-powerful Father. But it was in Madrid in 1931, while on a streetcar, that God indelibly and more loftily engraved in his soul a consciousness, practically an instinct, of divine filiation.”

And we are told that:

“The following pages are essentially a commentary (largely from Escrivá’s writings) on this compact, rich text, which is not only ascetical and mystical but theological and dogmatic as well. And one also can’t help seeing God’s gift to a soul singularly privileged and most faithful in corresponding to love.”

And through that we can learn and grow into that truth through this volume. This book is listed as 56 pages in length. And yet it contains 144 quotes. Of those quotes 6 are from Alvaro Del Portillo, 6 are from church documents, the Bible or saints, and 122 are from Saint Josemaria Escriva. This book brings us to a deeper understanding of divine filiation, and through that understanding to grow in fullness of our life in Christ as God’s children. 

This book is an excellent read. It is a book that all Christians should read! I doubt any believer could read this book and not come away changed. 

Father Fernando ends the volume with these words:

“On the other hand, the direct reading of the texts that weave these pages together will make even clearer the capital importance of the unitary vision of Christian existence rooted in divine filiation. This was effectively demonstrated in the life of St. Escrivá in all its ineffable depth: as the direct connection of the supernatural order with the divine life of the holy Trinity; as identification with Christ; as root of authentic freedom; as the foundation for all Christian life, even its most aspects.

This supernatural radicalism gives a profound sense to all the other great themes—sanctifying one’s work, family and social life, and so forth—where Escrivá has made theological contributions. These pages are also a testimony of filial thanksgiving to one who has not only been a master of theological understanding of the highest mysteries, but also a Father who has cleared this great path God has given us: recognizing our divine filiation.”

I strongly encourage you to give this a read your life will be changed!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Fernando Ocáriz:
The Mystery of Jesus Christ
Love in Action
God as Father
Fundamental Theology
The Canonical Path of Opus Dei: The History and Defense of a Charism
God, the Church, and the World: An Interview with the Auxiliary Vicar of Opus Dei
Opus Dei In The Church: An Ecclesiological Study Of The Life And Apostolate Of Opus Dei





Friday, 28 December 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2018

My total books this quarter is down a bit from last quarter, but my page count is actually up. Just variations in the length of material read. And I am finishing the year at just under a book a day with 359 books read over the year, down a bit from the 380 last year. The Quarter by the numbers: 

78 books read
49 received 5/5 stars
8 of those had been read before
25 were non-Fiction
24 were fiction

So here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the fourth quarter 2018. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1. Inspiration from the Saints - Maolsheachlann O Ceallaigh
2. Father Damien's Letters - Joseph Damien De Veuster
3. Finding Our Way Home: A family's story of life, love, and loss - J Damon Dagnone
4. Footprints of the Northern Saints - Basil Cardinal Hume
5. Love In Action - Fernando Ocáriz
6. Overcoming Lukewarmness: Healing Your Soul's Sadness - Francis Fernandez-Carvajal
7. Wisdom from Pope Paul VI - Pope Paul VI and Mary Leonora Wilson FSP
8. Call Him Father: How to Experience the Fatherhood of God - Fr. Edward Maritany
9. To Raise the Fallen: A Selection of the War Letters, Prayers, and Spiritual Writings of Fr. Willie Doyle, S.J. - Edited by Patrick Kenny
10. Catholic Christianity: A Complete Catechism of Catholic Beliefs Based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church - Peter Kreeft 

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. Lives of the Early Christians in Rome Trilogy - Father Michael E. Giesler
Junia - Marcus - Grain of Wheat
2. Thanos Titan Consumed - Barry Lyga - MARVEL's Avengers
3. The Absence of War - Amy Welborn
4. Siege of Reginald Hill - Corinna Turner 
5. Treachery and Truth - Katy Huth Jones 
6. Ornamental Graces - Carolyn Astfalk
7. Charlotte's Honor - Ellen Gable - Great War Great Love Book 2
8. Guarding Aaron - T.M. Gaouette - Faith & Kung Fu Book 3
9. David Vining Short Stories Collections:
A Boy and His Satellite
Shoes for Two Soldier Sons
10. Death by Airship - Arthur Slade - Orca Currents

If you give some of these a try I am sure they will be with the read! 

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Thursday, 22 November 2018

Love in Action Loving God and Neighbor A Twofold Commandment - Fernando Ocáriz

Love in Action:
Loving God and Neighbor A Twofold Commandment
Fernando Ocáriz
Scepter Publishers
ISBN 9781594172915
eISBN 9781594172922
ASIN B07H69HQV3



Sometimes when I am reading a book, I find it so good, that I start researching other books available from the author, and often purchasing them and adding to my ‘to be read’ pile. This was one of those times. I could hardly put this book down. And know it is a book I will return to again. Bit in that initial research, I found that a total of three books by Fernando Ocáriz are available as eBooks in English, and another four are currently available in English. And there are a few that are not available in English, as of yet. Fernando Ocáriz currently serves as the Prelate of Opus Dei and has since January 2017. Which could explain the expanding availability of his books in English.

Fernando Ocáriz Braña was born in 1944, ordained in 1971. Since 1986 he has served as a consultor of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. He has been a professor of Theology. This book is a result of his life of service, his passion for the Church, and his personal holiness. This book is accessible and would be a beneficial read for someone in their teens until their death. The sections in this book are:

By Way of Introduction


Part I THE TWOFOLD PRECEPT OF CHARITY
Chapter 1. God’s Love for Mankind
 God is the fullness of reality, infinite perfection
 Everything depends totally on God in its being and activity
 Divine presence, a presence of Love
 At the beginning of human history, sin entered the world
 The fullness of time: Christ
 God’s love, mercy, and justice
Chapter 2. Our Love for God
 Love and law
 Loving God, neighbor, and oneself
 God in us and we in God
Chapter 3. Risk of Adulterating Christianity
 Confronting modernity and post-modernity
 Utopia of a future earthly paradise
 “The death of God” and the worship of man
 True human greatness
 Christianity is not reducible to any humanism
Chapter 4. The Newness of Christianity
 The primacy of the love for God over the inseparable love for neighbor
 Love for the world
 Unity between love for God and love for neighbor

Part II LOVING GOD
Chapter 1. The Theological Virtues and Christian Life
 Life of faith
 Christian hope
Chapter 2. Consequences of the Secularization of Christianity
 Faith and being faithful
 Christian truth is life and way
 Moral life: love and freedom
 Secularization of moral life
Chapter 3. What Loving God Requires
 We can’t love God too much
 Love for God: worship and prayer
 Love for God and obedience to his commandments
 Love for God and personal conversion
 Idolatry
 Worship of God and human fraternity
 Service to God and service to neighbor

Part III LOVING OUR NEIGHBOR AND THE WORLD
Chapter 1. The Divine Precept
 The measure of charity
 Root and foundation of Christian love
 Every person is worthy of being loved
 Beyond any “horizontal” humanism
Chapter 2. Requirements of Christian Fraternity
 The order of charity
 Charity and unity in the faith
 Learning to love by contemplating Jesus Christ
 Love for others and apostolate
 Charity and justice
 Mankind’s deepest hope
 Sowing peace and joy
Epilogue

Fernando in the introduction states:

“Parts of this book were published for the first time several decades ago. They are now offered in an updated and expanded form. The result is practically a new book. Like the first work, it is not meant to be a treatise on charity, but rather a collection of reflections, with no attempt to be exhaustive, about love for God and for our fellow men and women.”

And also:

“My intention here is to contribute to this understanding of charity’s central role, while striving to listen to God in Holy Scripture. We will do so guided especially by the Church’s Magisterium, the teachings of St. Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer, and, for certain topics, the teachings of the Fathers of the Church and St. Thomas Aquinas.”

As stated, this book is not a theological treaty, it is more of a conversation. Reading it feels more like a conversation with a spiritual director, or close friend. It is engaging and compelling. This book will not just help us grow in knowledge, but provides the tools to help us fulfill the commandments to love and serve God and to love and serve mankind.

In the Epilogue Fernando states:

“The faith that has been lived in the Church for twenty centuries is not open to substantial change. However, there is certainly room for constant progress in better understanding the immense wealth contained in the Gospel, and above all for greater personal faithfulness to Christ.”

And finally:

“If we truly want to serve mankind and the world, and thereby fulfill our Lord’s command, we must love God first. For only in this love and through this love will our service to others—love shown in deeds—be able to imitate the incomparable grandeur of Christ’s heart. In contrast, Christ’s words and human history always remind us that setting aside God and the hope for eternity never lead to greater love and service to mankind and the world.”

This book was published in Spanish in 2015, and this English edition released in 2017, with the eBook release in 2018. It is not a large volume, but a very important one. It is a book that will help us live our mission as Christians. An incredible read that I highly recommend, all Christians could benefit from reading this book!


Books by Fernando Ocáriz:
The Mystery of Jesus Christ
Love in Action
God as Father
Fundamental Theology
The Canonical Path of Opus Dei: The History and Defense of a Charism
God, the Church, and the World: An Interview with the Auxiliary Vicar of Opus Dei
Opus Dei In The Church: An Ecclesiological Study Of The Life And Apostolate Of Opus Dei