--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/Geek As it appears live September 27, 2020 1:59:33 PM UTC

Showing posts with label Geek. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Geek. Show all posts

Tuesday, 21 January 2020

Managing Successful Projects with Prince2 - AXELOS

Managing Successful Projects with Prince2
AXELOS
The Stationery Office Ltd
ISBN 978113315338
eISBN 9780113315352
ASIN B072BYH793



I have been managing projects for a number of years now at work. And When I compared Project management institute PMI, and Prince2 I really felt that prince 2 better suited my style and the type of projects that I have run. I registered for a Prince2 course and was asked by my manager to get a book and do some extra preparation before the course. I picked up this book. Both the eBook edition and the physical print versions. I am normally an eBook kind of guy. But I have found out that the Practitioner Exam is open book and the only resource you are allowed is this physical book.

This book will teach you the Prince2 Methodology from top to bottom. I have read the eBook, and just finished a course where we used the physical book and a student guide and exercise guide. The instructor showed us a picture of his book with about 30 sticky note tabs sticking out from the top and one side, that he used the last time he wrote the exam. The book will prepare you for both the Foundations and Practitioner and exams. But it is also a great resource for anyone wanting to learn more about this excellent Project Management Methodology. The book is full color and the sections are color coded with color tabs on the eds of the pages. The pages are thick stock. And glossy. The production of the book is of the highest quality. It is a beautiful book and excellent resource. I like the eBook because of quick search capabilities. But if you are taking it into the exam you need to have the physical copy. If you are preparing for the exams make sure you get the correct edition of the book. Currently the 2017 Edition.

This book is intended for anyone who is planning on taking the exams. Anyone looking to grow their knowledge of the method. But it could be a great resource for anyone who works on projects to help really understand the process and principals that drive Prince2. I recommend this for anyone who plays a major role in projects on a regular basis.


Thursday, 1 March 2018

ActiveBatch Advance Course from Advanced Systems Concepts, Inc.

ActiveBatch Advance Course
Advanced Systems Concepts, Inc.
Instructor Kathryn Ossandon



It has been a few years since I have taken part in a Live Virtual Classroom course offering. Over that time I have done a lot of self-paced online study. But there is always something about instructor led courses and labs that build that I get excited about. As someone who spent 20 years as a student in post-secondary education, and since then had done hundreds of IT courses, through CBT Nuggets, TrainSignal, Pluralsight, and more. One of the advantages of self-paced is not needing to wait on any stragglers. But the biggest advantage of instructor led is the interaction, sometimes with other participants, or as in this case just the instructor.

In this particular course the instructor was one of the best features. Kathryn Ossandon, she comes from technical support for ActiveBatch, and now focuses on being a Product Trainer. And she leads an excellent course offering. I believe this was the first course I have ever taken where time was not lost at some point as the instructor helped someone with their labs. The pace that the course was taught at was perfect. Of the 9 of us taking the course we had a range of experience with the products and a range of roles, from operations, administration to developer. And this course is designed in such a way as to teach what is needed to all three camps. 

The contents for the Advanced Course are:



It seems like a lot for a three day course spanning 24 hours. But the instructor had the labs open before class on days 2 and 3, and after class on days 1 and two. The instructor also closed out the labs during the teaching time, so students are required to focus on the teaching and not just keep ploughing through labs. The days were well structured and for the most part we really kept to the schedule that was communicated at the beginning.

Now I am on the operations or administration side of the house. I switched jobs about 18 months ago and have now been exposed to ActiveBatch. It is very different than the previous tool I used. But I really appreciate the design, functionality, and ease of use with this product.

For me this course was great because I have been support ActiveBatch for over a year. I have migrated a number of machines with Job Queues from one domain to another during an Active Directory collapse. During that project I had to remediate individual servers and a few hundred jobs. This course would have been very beneficial prior to that project. But even with that being said this course covers a lot of excellent material.

When I looked at the lab manual and saw 36 labs for 3 days I wondered how in the world we would get through it all. But the knowledge for the most part so nicely builds upon each other, block by block, and before I knew it the third day was done.

As a side not it is recommended that this course be completed with at least 2 computer screens. One for the Lab computer and one for the lab manual, alt-tab would just be too inconvenient, and you would likely fall behind.

Overall I would state that this is one of the best courses I have taken since working full time in IT. This offering has great material, excellent schedule, and an amazing instructor. And I look forward to learning more as I support this product in the years to come.



(Prepared to start the final day of the course with a Coffee, Tea, fresh juice, and water. Because of the course time zone I did remote training from home.)

Friday, 28 April 2017

Inner Geek Updated - April 2017

Inner Geek Updated - April 2017

It has been a few year's since I updated this thread. I have now changed roles again and am in my third corporate It role. I am on a SysOps team with some great guys at an excellent organisation. With three young children my time to study and certify has changed radically. But I still love learning. I have done courses on Dell hardware, Oracle Software, VMWare VCP and more. So the journey continues. But a lot of courses and exams have taken place over the last 10 years. 

The certification's I have earned are:



Exams Written:
Implementing an Advanced Server Infrastructure - Exam 70-414
Designing and Implementing a Server Infrastructure - Exam 70-413
Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA Windows 8 - Exam 70-689
Upgrading your MCSA to Windows Server 2012 - Exam 70-417
Apple Certified Technical Coordinator - Exam 9L0-510
Apple Certified Support Professional - Exam 9L0-403
Mac Integration Basics - Exam 9L0-263
MCITP - Windows 7 Desktop Administrator - Exam 070-686
Pro: MS SQL Server 2008 Design, Optimize and Maintain - Exam 070-450
MCITP - Windows Server 2008 Server Administrator - Exam 072-646
MCITP Windows Server 2008 Enterprise Administrator - 070-647
CompTIA Security+ - Exam JKO-015
MCITP Windows 7 Enterprise Desktop Support Technician - EXAM 071-685
MCTS Windows 7 Configuration - Exam 070-680
Implementing Security in MS Win Server 2003 - Exam 70-299
MCTS System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008, Configuration - Exam 70-403
MCTS Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Implementation & Maintenance - Exam 70-431
MCTS Upgrading MCSE on Windows Server 2003 to Windows Server 2008- Exam 70-649
MCTS Deploying & Maintaining Vista Client Office System - Exam 070-624
Microsoft PowerPoint - Exam 810
Microsoft Outlook - Exam 813
Microsoft Access - Exam 807
Microsoft Excel - Exam 804
Microsoft Word - Exam 801

For the last few years my focus has been training for job skills and not really writing exams. Currently I am working through the Pluralsight PowerShell training path. Also I am working on self study for LPI-1 Linux Certification.

Articles in this Series:

These exams were written either at a Prometric Testing Center or at a Certiport Testing Center for the Office exams. The Exams names that have links link to reviews of the books I used to prepare for those exams. These exams are a mix of CompTIAMicrosoft Exams and Apple certification exams.

Monday, 30 January 2017

Practical LPIC-1 Linux Certification Study Guide - David Clinton

Practical LPIC-1 Linux Certification Study Guide 1st ed. Edition
David Clinton
Apress Press
ISBN 9781484223574
ASIN B01N8YV1N3


I reviewed an different edition of this book, and then found out about this new edition. Other than formatting changes the changes are minimal. So here is my review. I need to be up front with you. I have always been a little leery of Linux Certification. I have been a Windows Sys Admin for years now, I spent a few short years supporting Apples OSX, and though Linux certification was on my wish list, it is something I have started a number of times but never seen through to completion. Because I only ever managed a few systems or applications that ran on Linux I always figured out what I needed to know, but never took the time to go further. 

But after doing David Clinton's 'Linux Server Skills for Windows Administrators' on PluralSight I had a hunger to know more and go deeper. And I am very thankful I have. I have not written my exams yet but they are on my training plan for this year. This book is the most compact, and easily digestible of the CompTIA Linux+, or LPI-1 book I have ever tried to use. Within a few hours I was up and running with a vm within a vm and working through the exercises. And at the end of each chapter is a test to check your knowledge. If I did not score at least 75% I redid the chapter.

No based on my learning styles I learn best from reading and second best from hands on doing. With this book I was able to maximize my learning. With the hours I spend going through this book I feel like I have a better grasp of Linux than working doing it a bit here and a bit there on the job of the last dozen years. David states in the introduction: "Now, about this book. I chose to have the chapters closely follow the LPIC exam topics. Not only will this make it much easier for you to study for each of the two exams required for LPIC-1 certification, but I believe that the exam objectives are actually nicely aligned with the tools you'll need in the real world. Whether or not you end up taking the exam, if you manage to learn this material, you'll have done yourself a real favor." And I completely agree with his assertion. He also says: "If you want to really "get" this stuff, you'll have to roll up your sleeves, open up a terminal, and do it. As soon as you finish a chapter or a section, try out what you've learned on a real living, breathing Linux system. Even better, take on your own projects. Be ambitious. Be adventurous. Take (managed) risks." And I found that to be true, every time I tried to study Linux before using this book I always worked with a GUI, but by following David's guidance I worked with a command line only version a little every day for weeks until I was immersed in it.

I have heard that David is currently working on textbooks for the advance Linux exams and I know I will use those once I have written these exams. His writing style is easy to digest, it is clear, concise and to the point. It was by far one of the best certification books I have ever used, and I currently hold 37 certifications and have written nearly 50 exams over the last 10 years. I can highly recommend this book, if you are new to Linux or already have a lot of experience and just want to achieve the designation this book will be a great resource for your exam prep.

An excellent resource that I can highly recommend.

Note: This book was previously published as: 

Teach Yourself Linux Administration and Prepare for the LPIC-1 Certification Exams: Complete. Quick.
David Clinton
Bootstrap-IT

ISBN 9781329803701
ASIN B01AVG4URG



It was by far one of the best certification books I have ever used, and I currently hold 37 certifications and have written nearly 50 exams over the last 10 years.

Books by David Clinton:
Teach Yourself Linux Administration and Prepare for the LPIC-1 Certification Exams: Complete. Quick.

Learn Amazon Web Services in a Month of Lunches
Practical LPIC-1 Linux Certification Study Guide 1st ed. Edition

Pluralsight Courses by David Clinton:
Linux Server Skills for Windows Administrators

LPI: Linux Essentials (010-150)
Linux Encryption Security (LPIC-3 303)
Linux Network Security (LPIC-3 303)
Linux Server Virtualization (LPIC-3 304 Part 1/2)
Linux High Availability Cluster Management (LPIC-3 304 Part 2/2)
Network Vulnerability Scanning with OpenVAS
Using Docker on AWS
Protocol Deep Dive: SSH and Telnet

Related Articles:
Review of Pluralsight Service