--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/JonSLewis As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:50:11 PM UTC

Showing posts with label JonSLewis. Show all posts
Showing posts with label JonSLewis. Show all posts

Friday, 13 January 2017

Domination - Jon S. Lewis - C.H.A.O.S. Book 3

Domination
C.H.A.O.S. Book 3
Jon S. Lewis
Thomas Nelson
ISBN 9781595547552
eISBN 9781401688141
ASIN B00A2AG4K8




Sometimes I really hesitate to read the final books in series. I often just do not want the store to end, especially if it is a really good series. This final book in the series was good but to be honest I liked the first two better. When I finished book 2, I had more than a year to wait for book three, and when this book finally came out it kept getting bumped down on my reading list.

Things have really peaked in this novel. It is science fiction action at its best. This book still reminds me of much in classic science fiction. A little bit Bester, a little Heinlein, a bit of Herbert. In this volume Earth is under attack and it does not look good. The Thule are randomly opening portals and attacking more frequently and in greater force. Their plan is complete domination of Earth and humanity. But Thule legend has tale about the betrayer, someone who will rise up and destroy their own people. And the American government tried to make it happen by mixing Thule DNA in children. Colt, McAlister grandson of The Phantom Flyer was the only successful case. After the discovered treason in the last book, the revelation to the general population about aliens and the attacks things are not going well. And Colt is now leading a team that has been promoted from being a training squad in the CHASO Military Academy. But Colt not only needs to lead his team in real battles, try and get his best friend Oz reinstated (even though his father was the traitor) now they want him touring with a musical show to boost morale. He is training for a special mission to go through to the Thule world to end the war. That is a lot of weight on a young man’s shoulders but Colt seems to be up to the challenge.

This book is a good read, and the series as a whole is fantastic. I feel like the series built and built but then seemed to just get everything resolved a little quick. The characters are great; Colt, his grandfather Murdoch, Oz, the whole team. The writing is very good. And the ending leaves it open for a possible extension, or at least we can hope. I should have got around to reading it earlier, but am thankful I finally picked it up. Good book from a great series, highly recommend the whole trilogy!

Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.






Saturday, 31 March 2012

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 1st Quarter 2012

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 1st Quarter 2012

1. I Hunt Killers - Barry Lyga
2. Firegirl - Tony Abbott
3. Brookdale High Books - Barry Lyga
Hero-Type - Boy Toy
4.
Gregor and the Marks of Secret - Underland Chronicles Book 4 - Suzanne Collins
5.
Judy Moody Books & Stink Moody Books - Megan McDonald & Peter H. Reynolds
6. Into the Gauntlet - 39 Clues Book 10 - Margaret Peterson Haddix
7. Alienation - CHAOS Book 2 - Jon S. Lewis
8. The Sisters Club - Megan McDonald
The Sisters Club - The Rule of Three - Cloudy With A Chance Of Boys
9. Zebrafish - Peter H. Reynolds, Sharon Emerson and Renee Kurilla
10. The Chronal Engine - Greg Leitich Smith

 

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 
66 - 2012 January to March
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Thursday, 26 January 2012

The Brimstone Key - Jon S Lewis and Derek Denz - Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles Book 1

The Brimstone Key
The Grey Griffins
The Clockwork Chronicles

Book 1

Jon S. Lewis and Derek Benz
Little, Brown and Company
ISBN 9780316081405


This book was amazing. It is a mix of steam punk, science fiction, gamer and gold old mystery all rolled up in one. It was a very addictive read. I found more than once, that I did not want to put my eReader down. I wanted to find out what was going to happen next. The story is fast-paced, as we follow the young adventurers, the Grey Griffins as they begin a new adventure and begin formal training in school at Iron Bride Academy, an aviate military school run by the Knights Templar to fight evil. The grey Griffins are:

Max Sumner
Harley Eisenstein
Natalia Romanov
Ernie Tweeny

Now these three friends had a previous adventure in the original Grey Griffins trilogy. But this book stands on its own. I have not read the previous series, and this book, though alluding to events in the previous series, is self-contained. It was good enough that I do plan to go back and read the earlier series.

Yet the Griffins are drawn into a new battle that threatens not only them, but all the children at Iron Bridge. They have released an old enemy and started a new battle with the Clockwork King.

This was a great novel and highly entertaining. It was a wonderful read and I give it the highest recommendation I can. I know that I will reread it!


Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.

Monday, 23 January 2012

Alienation - Jon S. Lewis - CHAOS Book 2

Alienation
C.H.A.O.S. Book 2
Jon S. Lewis
Thomas Nelson
ISBN 9781595547545

I finished this book with mixed emotions. My first thought was WOW! My second was, if there is going to be a third book it will be more than a year out. As much as I loved book one, Invasion, in this series book two was even better. In many ways it was like reading an updated version of a classic science fiction story. It was like reading Heinlien, Herbert, and Bester but with today's look forward into even newer technology. Lewis does an amazing job of telling a story that draws from a number of literary traditions and rolls them up into something new, fresh and exciting, combining elements from stories like The Land Before Time, Captain America, Justice League and all with a wholesome spiritual twist without being preachy. I would say this is an amazing fiction novel and one of the best Christian Fiction books I have read in more than a decade. The characters are wonderful; the plot twist from book one to book two was stunning.
In a few short weeks, Colt has gone from losing his parents to moving to live with his Grandfather in Arizona. He has learned that all the monsters from myths and legends are real, and that his comic book super hero, the Phantom Flyer from his childhood, is based on stories about his grandfather and a secret government agency C.H.A.O.S. - the Central Headquarters Against the Occult and Supernatural. And now he is preparing to move again to C.H.A.O.S.' secret military prep school. But he has also found out his name is on a list and everyone else on the list is dead. Who can he trust, where can he turn?

This story is an amazing adventure. The pace is a race from beginning to end, with the threat to earth growing, and many looking to Colt to fulfill an ancient prophecy. It's a lot of pressure for a young man. This book was an incredible read and I cannot wait for book three.



Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.






Friday, 30 September 2011

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 3rd Quarter 2011

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 3rd Quarter 2011

1. Bluefish - Pat Schmatz
2. First Day On Earth - Cecil Castellucci
3. Circle the Truth - Pat Schmatz
4. Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods - Underland Chronicles Book 3 - Suzanne Collins
5. Gardians of Ga'Hoole - Kathryn Lansky
The Rescue - The Siege
6. The Unwritten Girl - Unwritten Book 1 - James Bow
7. This Dark Endeavour: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein - Kenneth Oppel
8. Empire of Ruins - Hunchback Assignments #3 - Arthur Slade
9. The Brimstone Key - The Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles #1 - Jon S. Lewis and Derek Benz
10. Mousetraps - Pat Schmatz

Honorable Mentions
(Made Top Ten Lists Last year but upon rereading still great books.)
11. LA Trilogy - Cecil Castellucci
Boy Proof - Queen of Cool - Beige
12. The P.L.A.I.N. Janes & Janes in Love - Cecil Castellucci & Jim Rugg
13. Rose Sees Red - Cecil Castellucci
(Note: Some of these were digital ARC's from NetGalley and reviews will be posted closer to the publication date. Some of the reviews are scheduled over the next few weeks. I will link to the reviews once they post.)

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:
106 - January-September 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Jon S Lewis - Author Profile

Jon S. Lewis is an American writer. He co-authored the Greg Griffins books with Derek Benz. His first solo book Invasion a C.H.A.O.S. novel was released in January of 2011. He has held numerous artistic roles from writing a twelve part comic book series, to doing voice over work. Jon graduated Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Broadcasting. He has also been a web developer, speech writer, worked in graphic design, marketing and many other jobs along the way. Recently he took the time to answer 20 questions for the readers here at Book Reviews and More.

1. If you had not become a writer what do you think you would be doing for a living?

Well, I've been a bit of a vocational gypsy. I've waited tables, painted murals, designed websites, worked on a video game startup, I was an art director, marketing executive and I worked in radio and television. So I'm not sure what I'd be qualified to do. I love public speaking -- especially to tweens and teens. And I enjoy social media marketing, so maybe one of those.

2. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How did you nurture that dream?

I always knew I wanted to be creative, and writing was just a part of that. I also loved to draw (probably my first love), but for the most part I like coming up with stories regardless of the medium. And to be honest, I just sat down and started writing. No training. No degree (well, my degree is broadcast journalism).

3. Who were some of your biggest supporters and contributors to your early success?

My wife was my biggest supporter -- by far. It's a scary industry, so that she has supported me in this crazy journey of extreme highs and lows has been invaluable. I also have had great support from my editors (Lisa Sandell, Alvina Ling, Connie Hsu and Amanda Bostic), and the agents I've worked with (Nancy Coffey and Lee Hough).

4. What authors influenced your writing style and format?

Well, I'm not sure any authors would want to claim me and I wouldn't blame them. I grew up loving Tolkien, Sendak and Lewis. Right now I like minimalist styles -- writers who are descriptive without being flowery or overwhelming you with adjectives and adverbs. Kate DiCamillo comes to mind. And to some extent, the first HUNGER GAMES book by Suzanne Collins.

5. What advice do you wish an artist had passed on to you early in your career, which you only learned through experience?

Save a ton of money and keep your day job until you have enough that your grandchildren won't have to work. Even then, you might want to double that. Oh, and don't use so many adjectives and adverbs. There was only one Tolkien, and that isn't you. And then, use "said" when modifying dialogue -- and only "said."

6. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing?

It changes with every book, but it always starts with character. If you don't have a character that connects with the reader, you'll never succeed. Everything else is secondary (by far). Then come up with a great plot that's dictated by who that character really is. It's a lot like creating characters for an RPG or a video game. The more you know about your characters, the more real they will become.

7. What of your books was the hardest to write and why?

INVASION was the most difficult because I put way too much pressure on myself. I was more worried about critical acclaim than writing to my strengths. That happened again with my follow up (which we just titled FLIGHT), but I've learned my lesson. I am who I am, and that's it.

8. What was your favorite book to write and why?

INVASION, for the same reason. It made me grow and become a better writer. It was critical. My goal is to get better with each book.

9. One of the greatest strengths in your books are the characters, they are so solid and believable. The characters you create, are they reflections of people you know, composites of different people you know or entirely your creations?

It starts as a composite of friends, family, and characters from books, TV and movies. But after about 5 pages they start to morph into a unique individual. After the second draft, they are usually fairly unique. Inspiration -- and to some extent -- copying is fine as long as it eventually morphs into something new.

10. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family, she said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it?

You know, I've really tried to work on that. I've focused more on action, pacing and fun than I have digging deeper emotionally with my characters, but as a part of my growth as a writer, I'm changing my focus. I hope one day I'll see them in the same light as she saw hers.

11. What were some of your favorite authors in your teen years who helped shape you?

Virtually all of them are fantasy authors, even though I don't read straight fantasy any longer. J.R.R. Tolkien. C.S. Lewis. Frank E. Peretti. Jack L. Chalker. Raymond E. Feist. Joel Rosenberg.

12. What are some of your favorite books and authors now?

An author who is new to me is Paolo Bacagalupi, and he wrote a wonderful book called SHIP BREAKER. I dug Tony DiTerlizzi's WONDLA and WATER WARS by Cameron Stracher. The first HUNGER GAMES by Suzanne Collins was incredible.

13. What books are currently in progress for you? Writing, researching, planning or even just ideas that you would like to work on?

Well, I'm finishing up on FLIGHT (the follow-up to INVASION), and I'm looking at plotting a Dystopian book as well as a humorous book with illustrations (kind of like DIARY OF A WIMPY KID). I do a lot of speaking at schools, and I have a good time making the audience laugh. I'd like that humor to come across more in my books.

14. Do you use a playlist when writing? Are certain books written while predominantly listing to the same music?

Yes, at least in the past. I even have playlists for certain scenes, chapters and characters. However, lately I've needed to write in absolute quiet. It's kind of lame, but it's where I am.

15. What advice would you give to teens today, to your readers, what gems of knowledge have you gleaned in life that you would pass on?

Wow, that's a lot of pressure. I guess I'd give two pieces of advice. Number one, don't let anyone tell you that you can't do something. Okay, so maybe you won't make it to the NFL or the NBA, but someone has to. And somebody is going to cure cancer, or write the next HARRY POTTER or be the first to walk on Mars. Why not you? Number two, if you want to be popular -- I'm talking really popular, like the homecoming king or queen, don't be a jerk. Putting other people down to make yourself look better is for losers. The truly popular people aren't the prettiest or the best athletes, they are the people who treat everyone -- regardless of looks, finances or talent -- equally. It'll take you far in life.
16. A few of your books are available in electronic formats but with that comes bootleg distribution. What are your impressions of ebooks and the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means?

Personally, if someone is stealing a book (and it's stealing) the truth is that the person who is stealing probably wouldn't have bought it to begin with. So it doesn't really bother me. After all, you can read books at the library for free. I look at it like advertising. If someone steals it, reads it and likes it, hopefully he/she will tell friends - or buy the rest of my books.

17. Some authors monitor torrent sites and have their publishers contact them to remove their content. Do you do so are have someone do so for you?

I don't have time for that. I'd rather hang out with my wife and kids.
18. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

It should be to teach you how to provide for your family, period. It costs too much money and takes too long if that's not the goal. A Master's degree in Creative Writing is a good way to waste tens of thousands of dollars that you likely won't recoup. University-level writing programs don't even tell you how to get published. It's sad, really. I mean, sure. You need to be a critical thinker, but if you are talking about writing, don't waste your money. Get something that makes you marketable -- or teaches you how to market your books or manage your finances. You can learn how to be a better writer if you buy a book on writing from Donald Maass or Noah Lukeman, and that only costs $15.

19. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

1) The Bible 2) The Prodigal God by Timothy Keller 3) Spiritual Leadership by J. Oswald Sanders 4) The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien 5-7) Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien 8) Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak 9) Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi 10) World War Z by Max Brooks
20. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists?

Just write. Be observant. Take lots of notes on everything you see. Don't be scared. Get ready for lots of rejection and public criticism. Study the business. Get better with each story you write.

Thanks you Jon for taking the time to answer some questions.


Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.




Tuesday, 8 February 2011

Invasion - Jon S. Lewis - CHAOS Book 1

Invasion
CHAOS Book 1
Jon S. Lewis
Thomas Nelson
ISBN 9781595547538

This book took me completely by surprise. From the promo blurb about the book it looked interesting, but once I was reading it, I came to the conclusion that it is fantastic. In some ways it reads like classic science fiction by authors like Robert A. Heinlien, Isaac Asimov and others, yet with a slight religious twist much like C.S. Lewis's Space trilogy. The story is extremely well written. The characters are fresh and exciting. The plot has some amazing twists.

Colt's life has changed more than he ever thought it could but this is only the beginning. His parents are killed in a car accident. He moves from San Francisco to Arizona to live with his grandfather. But soon he finds out that the comics he read as a child about an organization called CHAOS - Central Headquarters Against the Occult and Supernatural, were real and his Grandfather was the original Phantom Flyer during World War II. He soon discovers that his father was an agent and so are his older brothers. Soon he is informed that his parents' death was not an accident. His mother, an investigative reporter, was working on an expose of Trident Industries. With his long time friend Danielle and his new friend from school Oz, they start to try to put the pieces together about what his mother uncovered.
The story is filled with gadgets and gizmos aplenty, enough to make James Bond look under equipped. With jetpacks, flying motorcycles and killer robots the adventure is fast-paced and a thrill ride from start to finish. Combine that with aliens from parallel universes and a visit to another world, this story has everything in classic science fiction and adventure novels all rolled up in one. This book was a great read and I cannot wait for the next book in the series to come out.

(Note: I received an electronic galley of this book through NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson. The book was read on my Kobo eReader. As per my general disclaimer, free books have no impact on my review.)


Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.