--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/KarinaFabian As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:26:37 PM UTC

Showing posts with label KarinaFabian. Show all posts
Showing posts with label KarinaFabian. Show all posts

Wednesday, 23 September 2020

Frightliner and Other Tales of the Supernatural - Karina Fabian and Colleen Drippe

Frightliner and Other Tales of the Supernatural
Karina Fabian
Laser Cow Press
ISBN 9781733447164
ASIN B08FHCKLNP


Over the last several weeks I have read 3 novels, and 2 collections of short stories edited by Karina Fabian. Prior to that there had been a n 8 year gap in my reading one of her offerings. That was my loss. And I am making up for lost time. I cannot seem to put her books down. Now I need to note that there are 2 editions of this volume, the original was released in 2010 and this new edition was released in 2020. This new one contains the following stories:

Frighliner
The Lobby
Accidental Undeath
The Women of Rattlesnake Hill
My Big, Fat Zombie Wedding

The original edition only contains the first three stories. So even if you have read the previous version it is worth picking up again for the 2 extra stories. This is a fantastic collection of frightful tales. Some dark and disturbing and some very humorous. I have read much by Fabian, but I believe this is the first I have read by Drippe. But for both it will not be the last. I have already picked up 2 other volumes from Fabian and added one by Drippe to my wish list.

The title story was cowritten by the two authors, and from there the stories alternate authors. I loved the first story. A haunted rig, prowling the highways and byways. Seeking victims, and needing to be fed. A man of faith, a lawman, and a roadside church. The story brings to mind the Tarantino’s from Dusk to Dawn, but with a different twist. It is an excellent work, that I would love to see expanded into a novel. More of the backstory and history. It is excellently written. I also wonder if the two hunters go on to more adventures. Would love to come back to these characters in a future offering.

The second story will leave you thinking. Thinking about what matters. And What things cost. About what you would be willing to give, or what you are willing to lose. It is a story that needs more than one reading. But having read both editions of this book I find I find myself like the gentleman, sitting waiting, thinking. What is the lobby you are in?

Accidental undeath. Wow, a vampire truck driver. Desperate to save a young woman his rig hit. Remembering his own conversion. And debating what is best. Desperate to make a good choice even in in his current state. 

The women of Rattlesnake Hill know how to take care of business. There have been issues since they settled here and the women know how to deal with it and pass on that knowledge. And the women keep the men in the dark. They work together to do what must be done. Even when it is not easy or pleasant. 

I will be honest, I laughed out loud twice while reading this story. I could see this being done as an episode of Strange Stories or the Twilight Zone. Taking her boyfriend home and stating:

“Mortimer—Mort—is... life-challenged.”

But boy oh boy where this story will take you. Another excellent read from the creative pen of Fabian.

Overall a great collection of the strange, spooky, scary, and wacky. 5 great stories to entertain and amuse. Well worth picking up, but make sure you get the new edition, so you get the 2 extra stories. And settle in with a coffee, mug or beer or glass of wine for an evening of tales of the strange and supernatural.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 3


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity
...


Books by Dolleen Drippe:
Sunrise on the Icewolf
Mystery at Miner's Creek
Frightliner and Other Tales of the Supernatural
...

Star Brothers Adventures:
Godcountry
Vessel of Darkness
Treelight
Gelen
Vessel of Darkness
...

Contributed to:
Glimring Night and Other Tales of Fantasy (Dark Regions #4)
...



 Original Cover

Tuesday, 8 September 2020

Cracked An Anthology of Eggsellent Chicken Stories - Edited by Bokerah Brumley

Cracked
An Anthology of Eggsellent Chicken Stories
Kydala Publishing, Inc.
ASIN B08H5W48ZH
 

I picked this up for three main reasons. First the concept really intrigued me. And I also picked this up because I am a big fan of two of the contributors. I have read and reviewed several works by both Karina Fabian and Jane Lebak. And finally, I love anthologies because I usually find an author or two to add to my reading list. The anthology did not disappoint. The description of the book is:

“Chickens Land on Mars...
But what happens when authors have too much free time on their hands?
A challenge. Craft a story featuring our favorite feathered raptors: the CHICKEN. B'gawk! Twenty authors deliver in some unexpected ways and live to crow about it. From chickens in space to cozy murder mystery farm yards to schools of magickal thought... Includes guardian angels, chicken shifters, aliens, and feathered matchmakers, Maybe even a non-fiction adventure or two... and more! These amazing chickens come from the minds of twenty cooped-up authors on the edge of cracking... Read CRACKED: An Anthology of Eggsellent Chicken Stories.”

The twenty contributors are:

J. A Campanile 
Clair W. Kiernan 
David Millican 

I checked and other than the two contributors I was aware of I do not believe I have read anything from the 18 other authors. But this was a great collection of stories. To be honest when I read an anthology, I expect a few duds, but all the eggs in the basket were viable, and several have inspired me to look further into the works of the authors. The editor, Bokerah Brumley contributed three stories and book ends the collection. Both Grace Bridges and Karina Fabian have two contributions. 

And the 24 stories are:

Martian Chicken Man 
Frozen Chicken Master
Spacer Williams’ Chicken 
A Murder Most Fowl 
A Chicken for Miss Cuthbert 
Things with Wings 
Stray Thoughts 
Inspection Report 
Field Trip Chicken 
The Chicken of Doom 
Clucking in the Dark 
The Great Chicken Escape 
Chickening Out 
Motherclucker 
It Clucked 
PŪKEKO: The Blue Swamp Hen 
A Few Good Hens 
Home Improvements 
Barn Wars 
Chicken Dance A
Free Range 
Korion the Unclean 
The Great Chicken Escapade 
Chicken Magic

Some of these stories are more series than others. And some tie to other works. Both of Fabian’s offerings tie to different series she has written. And Lebak’s links to her Archangel series. A few of the stories are more of a hard science fiction. One almost Aliens like. A few made me laugh out loud. And all entertained. I was very surprised by the story of a chicken shifter, and her soul mate. It really made me smile. And the Field Trip Chicken. And chicken’s going up ladders in low gravity will surprise you. And I would love to see L. Jagi Lamplight’s Frozen Chicken Master expanded into a full-length story. I want to know what happens with the young man in the story next. 

After each story is an author’s biography. And an overview of their other works and links to their sites (for most of them). Everything you need to pursue a few or many of the authors who pique your interest.

A fantastic collection of stories. And who would have guessed Chickens for September of 2020, but this collection pulls it off. A great collection of stories to amuse, entertain and maybe even frighten. So, crack the cover and give this anthology a try. There are some wonderful tails, I mean tales. 

Note: For review of other stories by Karina Fabian and Jane Lebak follow the links.

Tuesday, 1 September 2020

Space Traipse Hold My Beer Season 1 - Karina Fabian

Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Karina Fabian
Laser Cow Press
ISBN 9781733447102
ASIN B07X2C9R95


Over the last several weeks I have read 3 novels, and 2 collections of short stories edited by Karina Fabian. Prior to that there had been a n 8 year gap in my reading one of her offerings. That was my loss. And I am making up for lost time. I cannot seem to put her books down. I have read these, and already picked up 3 others. Those I have added to my reading queue. I have read some of her contributions in anthologies and love her short form fiction. I love her religious themed fiction. But this offering is something completely different. I grew up watching reruns of Star Trek the Original Series, and the animated series during its original run. I have long been a fan of the shows and when much younger read many novelizations. I loved reading the old James Blish Star Trek stories. Reading the stories in this volume took my back to that early reading, but with a much more humorous slant. These stories are part homage, part satire, part commentary, part parody, and they are a whole lot of fun! 

These stories follow the captain and the crew of the HMB Impulsive. The descriptions of the main crew members are: 

• Capt Jeb Tiberius: A good ol’ boy from Texas whose religion requires firm buttocks.
• First Officer Commander Phineas Smythe: His uncanny ability to win Rock-Paper-Scissors-Redshirt-Alien means he can pick his away missions.
• Chief Engineer Commander Angus Deary: The first person to reverse the polarity by 90 degrees.
• Xenologist and Ship’s Sexy, Loreli: A plant-based life form with a perfect figure, she keeps up ship morale – and ratings.
• Chief of Security, Enigo Guillermo Ricardo Montoya Guiterrez LaFuentes: Raised on the UGS The Hood, where gang war is a cultural right, he’s not afraid to shoot a fellow crewman. That’s what stun is for!
• Ops Officer Ensign Ellie Doall: Fresh from the HMB Mary Sue, she can so just about anything all on her own – and often does.
• Transporter Chief, Dolfrick Dour: By the manipulations of technology, he reduces people to their most basic elements and rematerializes them elsewhere. Is it any wonder he’s 23rd Century Goth?

The cast breaks the fourth wall in a most Dead Pool like manner. The stories in this volume are:

Best Laid Plans of Vegetation and Cybernetic Beings 
Polarity Panic 
Foot in the Door 
Day in the Life 
Rest Stop

Join the crew as they navigate the minefields of space, time, and place. Find out what happens when Xenologist and Ship’s Sexy, Loreli puts down roots on a plant that considers their soil sacred, and above all desire its purity. Or engage with the crew as they try and see to a Romeo and Juliet-esk type wedding to bring peace between two worlds. Or a piece written with a massive Hat Tip to Star Trek TOS episode Shore Leave. 

A wonderful collection of tales. Great for fans of trek, fans of parodies, or people who just love great science fiction stories. The tales reminded me of Spider Robinson’s Cross Time Saloon books in many ways. A great ensemble crew. Interesting adventures. And a whole lot of fun. 

Many of Fabian’s earlier works and Anthologies are out of print, but well worth tracking down. Grab these new stories I am sure you will be entertained. I am already working on the second collection, and grabbed the Season 3 the day it released. Give this volume a try, I am certain you will be entertained, and you will likely pick up the rest of the series as well. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 3


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity
...







Friday, 21 August 2020

Discovery - Karina Fabian

Discovery
Karina Fabian

Full Quiver Publishing
ISBN 
9781606192313
ASIN B004CLYDUG


I found it hard to believe that I had an 8-year gap in reading books by Karina Fabian, and now I have read 3 novels, and 2 collections of short stories she edited in under 5 weeks. I just cannot seem to put her books down. I already have a few others in my reading queue. I have read some of her contributions in anthologies and love her short form fiction. And I had to read this book after reading her piece, Antivenin, in Infinite Space, Infinite God II. I loved the short story, and I enjoyed the novel even more. I sincerely hope Fabian has more stories available in this world, or stories planned for it, because it is excellent world building.

This is a story about exploration, friendships, religious vocation, and discovery. It is also about survival. A small team has been put together for a classified mission to explore and if possible, recovery an alien ship discovered by chance in the Kuiper Belt on an asteroid. The team includes a wealthy patron, scientists, rockhounds, and sisters of the Order of Our Lady of the Rescue they are post-modern nuns, brave to the extreme. They are pioneers of safety and rescue in space. With unusual habits suited to the work in zero gravity and rigours of space. Sister Ann seems to be a visionary along the lines of Saint Therese of Lisieux, she has great insights into people, and events, sometimes even before they happen. Sister Rita is the head of the orders presence on the mission. She finds herself balancing between the different groups on the mission. The Codists and Wiccans alike on the religious side and the scientist and miners on the skills side.   

The story follows the rag tag group as they prepare and embark on this mission. They are in a partially refitted luxury ship. And The scientific discoveries might be eclipsed by their own personal discoveries and revelations. Oh, and by the way, the archeologist and right-hand man on the mission is a former seminarian with links to our fearless sister Rita. 

As science fiction the story is excellent. It is masterfully written. But the characters are what make this story truly exceptional. You will find yourself engrossed with the personalities both central and on the edge of the main story. And likely you will be left wanting more stories with some of these characters.  

This story is a great piece of science fiction writing. And the way Fabian handles religious themes and sets it in a space context is amazing. I really enjoyed her newer pure science fiction story, The Old Man and the Void, and the follow up volume, Dex’s Way. But I think she shines best when she incorporates more religious and specifically Catholic elements in her stories like in this incredible read. 

This is a great story and I highly recommend it, to fans of religious fiction, or to anyone who just loves a great science fiction story. And this is another excellent read from Full Quiver Publishing a company that focuses on fiction focuses on the Theology of the Body. A most excellent read. I give it top marks. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity
...

Thursday, 6 August 2020

Dex’s Way - Karina Fabian - Dex Hollister Book 2

Dex Hollister Dex’s Way
Dex Hollister Book 2
Karina Fabian
Laser Cow Press
ISBN 
9781733447140
eISBN 9781733447133
ASIN B08BK5WMKD


I find it hard to believe that it has been 8 years since I read a book by Karina Fabian, but when I check my list of books read. That is what came up. I have read her contributions in a couple of anthologies. And had picked up a few of her books. They were just all still in my ‘to be read pile’. After reading the prequel to this excellent work, The Old Man and the Void I have already bumped a couple of the others to the top of my to be read list. I read the two Dex Hollister books and one of the anthologies edited by Fabian in under a week. And already have two others in my reading list for next week. This was another excellent story. It was the second story by Fabian that I have read that was not religious, or at least not overly Catholic. There are many religious references within this book, Visions, Gods, and an intricate mythology.  It is pure science fiction. Written in a very classic style. The continues 600 years after the first. And Fabian has masterfully written it. 

Fabian states at the beginning of this volume:

“If you’ve not read The Old Man and the Void, may I suggest you do so first? You’ll enjoy Dex’s Way that much more!”

And I can see her point. But I believe this story is strong enough to stand on it’s own. And that if you were to read this one first you would have a great desire to go back and read the first story. This story reminds me of some of the Alfred Bester Novels I read many years back. There are also echo’s of some of Frank Herbert’s on Dune books, like The Eye's of Heisenberg and The Green Brain. 

Dex is pulled from the accretion of a black hole, some 600 years after he went in. At least 600 years of chronological time. Not the relative time of being near the hole. His is very damaged, and he wakes up in a new age, in a vastly different society, and with a very modified body. He is immediately on a quest to track down the AI that had been his partner and part of his life for years. Soon he realized his quest has not only endangered himself, but some of the few people he has become close to in this time. Can he adapt to his new hybrid human and alien DNA, and customs in time to save his new friends, and hopefully his old AI. 

This book is a wonderful read. Excellent for fans of classic science fiction. Or anyone who enjoys a great story. A fantastic story that I highly recommend. And I really hope it is not our last encounter with Dex.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity 
...

Friday, 31 July 2020

Infinite Space, Infinite God II - Edited by Karina & Robert Fabian

Infinite Space, Infinite God II
Edited by Karina Fabian and Robert Fabian
Twilight Time Books 
ISBN 
9781606192313
ASIN B004CLYDUG


Over the years I have read several religious-themed science fiction stories. It is not a new genre, from classics like A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter Miller Jr., to nearly anything from Gene Wolfe. One of the best-known collections was edited by Fr. Andrew M. Greeley called Sacred Visions. And if it was not for Greeley’s name recognition I believe this anthology would far surpass it. 

This volume of 12 short stories in the genre of Catholic Science Fiction is a treat for the fan of either genres. The authors tackle themes of morality, science, and the role of religion in humanity's future in new and engaging ways. They compare and contrast religions of aliens. Belief systems and living out faith in difficult times. The contributors are:

Colleen Drippé
Karina Fabian
Barton Paul Levenson
Alex Lobdell
Alan Loewen
Derwin Mak
Ken Pick
John “Fish” Rundle
Andrew Seddon
J Sherer
Tamara Wilhite

And the stories are:
The Ghosts of Kourion 
Antivenin 
An Exercise in Logic 
Cathedral 
Otherworld 
The Battle of the Narthex 
Tenniel 
Tin Servants 
Basilica 
Cloned to Kill 
Frankie Phones Home 
Dyads

There are many excellent stories in this collection. And the authors I have not read before are now on my radar to keep an eye out for. The story by Andrew M. Seddon, The Ghosts of Kourion, appears as part of a recent novel by him, Ring of Time. One of my favorite pieces is Antivenin by Karina Fabian. I really want to read more stories in this universe. And a novel is now out, Discovery, which has some of the characters. Another excellent offering was Basilica. But honestly all the stories in this collection are worth the read.

I read the first anthology with name 11 years ago. And loved it. I picked this one up and thought I had read and reviewed it but was mistaken. After reading a recent book by, The Old Man and the Void, Fabian I went back and read this collection. And what a wonderful collection it is. Infinite Space, Infinite God I was a fantastic anthology and this one is just as good. I only wished that the third anthology edited by Fabian and Fabian, Leaps of Faith, was available electronically. I would already be well into it before writing the review of this volume. 

This is an excellent collection for those who love great short stories. Those who appreciate Science Fiction. And those who enjoy good Christian or Catholic Fiction. It is a fantastic collection and I easily give it 5/5 Stars!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity
...

Thursday, 23 July 2020

The Old Man and the Void - Karina Fabian

The Old Man and the Void
Dex Hollister Book 1
Karina Fabian
Laser Cow Press
ISBN 9781733447126
ASIN B08619XMH8 
 


I find it hard to believe that it has been 8 years since I read a book by Karina Fabian, but when I check my list of books read. That is what came up. I have read her contributions in a couple of anthologies. And had picked up a few of her books. They were just all still in my ‘to be read pile’. After reading this excellent work I have already bumped a couple of the others to the top of my to be read list. This was an excellent story. It was the first story by Fabian that I have read that was not religious themed. It is pure science fiction. And in a very classic style. The story is written in homage to The Old Man and the Sea by Hemingway. But set in space, and with Fabian’s unique twist on the hunter prey quest.

The story reminds me of some of Frank Herbert’s on Dune books, like The Eye's of Heisenberg and The Green Brain. It also brought to mind the works of Alfred bester, specifically The Demolished Man or Tiger, Tiger. The story is well written and deeply moving. You find yourself rooting for the hero, and the AI on his ship. The story follows Dex Hollister as he hunts relics in the accretion disk of a black hole. He has set his eyes on a battleship. It will it only be his biggest score, but the biggest yet. But As the battleship pulls them across the event horizon it becomes a battle not only to land the ‘catch’ but one for life.

Follow Dex across the event horizon. Watch him battle with an automated defense system. Restore his own ships AI. And in conjunction with the AI try to survive. He is caught between automated ships from two different ancient civilizations fight a never-ending war. He must outwit the automatic systems, and escape this place where time is warped.

Something that makes this story so great is the dialogue. The Dialogue between Dex and the AI, and Dex’s internal dialogue. His remembrances add an interesting element. The dialogue reminds me of Doc Holliday in Tombstone, and I cannot help but picture Dex as a younger Val Kilmer. The interactions the god and his consort add an interesting twist to the story. Much like the movie 12 Moneys and the book A Scientific Romance there is a point where we question what is real, and what is not. And even the epilogue leaves us with more questions than concrete answers. And that is part of what makes it such a great story, I know I will be thinking about it for days to come.

The story is not implicitly Catholic like many of Fabian’s other works I have read. But it does deal with questions around the meaning and purpose of life. It is a great story and I highly recommend it. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity
...

Tuesday, 30 June 2020

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2020

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2020

This quarter I have read 85 books, which was one more than Q4 2019. I was down about 10% over the previous quarter. There were many excellent reads. I am a little behind my book a day pace that I have maintained for the better part of the last 3 years. But life happens. And reading and reviewing is my hobby. Of the 86 books read this quarter 61 got 5/5 stars of those 10 of those have been read before leaving 51 books to pick from for the 10 Ten lists this quarter. And 20 of those were fiction and 31 non-fiction.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the second quarter of 2020.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Bible
2. Immortal Combat: Confronting the Heart of Darkness - Fr. Dwight Longenecker
3. Books by Saint John Henry Newman
4. Impossible Marriages Redeemed - Leila Miller -  They Didn't End the Story in the Middle
5. CTS Concise Histories - The Catholic Truth Society
6. Our Lady of Silence - Fr Emiliano Antenucci - CTS Devotions
7. Our Lady, Untier of Knots: Story of a Marian Devotion -  Miguel Cuartero Samperi
8. Novena to the Holy Spirit - Philip G. Bochanski
9. CTS Biographies - The Catholic Truth Society
10. Miraculous! Catholic Mysteries for Kids - Kathryn Swegart - Catholic Stories for Kids Book 2

Bonus:
Novena to the Blessed Virgin Mary - Walter Macken
Meeting Christ in the Eucharist - Stephen Wang - CTS Living the Sacraments
History of the Mass Explained - Charles Wentworth Dilke - CTS Explanations

The Beautiful Story of Mary - Maite Roche

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Dex Hollister Series -  Karina Fabian
2. Unsparked Series - Corinna Turner
3. Dragon Assassin 8 Burning Empire - Arthur Slade
4. Fire Starters - Theresa Linden - West Brothers Book 6
5. Infinite Space, Infinite God II - Karina Lumbert Fabian and Robert Fabian Editors 
6. The Losers Club - Andrew Clements
7. A Boy Called Bat Series - Elana K. Arnold and Charles Santoso 
8. Breastplate of Righteousness - Theresa Linden - Armour of God Book 2
9. Sisters of the Last Straw - Karen Kelly Boyce and Sue Anderson Gioulis 
10. Shadow Stalker - T.M. Gaouette

Bonus:
Death Panels - Michelle Buckman
Abby in Oz - Sarah Mlynowski - Whatever After Special Edition 2

My reading has been consistent at about a book a day over the last few years, but this quarter was only about three quarters of a book a day. There were many great reads this quarter, some new books just out in print, and some older that have been around for a while. I encourage you to check a few of them out, and let me know what you think after you have read them.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

181 - 2019 January-June
392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996