--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/LisaMHendey As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:13:53 PM UTC

Showing posts with label LisaMHendey. Show all posts
Showing posts with label LisaMHendey. Show all posts

Saturday, 30 March 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 123 books. Of those 123 a total of 53 books received 5/5 stars and are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me with 15 to choose from for the fiction and 30 for the non-fiction. For a few of the selections I have picked series. I could just not narrow it down to 10 books.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the first quarter of 2019. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Called by Name: Twelve Guideline Meditations for Diocesan Priests - Michael E. Giesler
2. Illustrissimi: The Letters Of Pope John Paul I - Albino Luciani - Pope John Paul I
3. Life Lessons Fifty Things I Learned in My First Fifty Years - Patrick Madrid 
4. The Lamb Will Conquer: Reflections on the Knock Apparition - Nigel Woollen 
5. Remember Your Death Memento Mori - Theresa Aletheia Noble
6. Devotions to St Thomas Becket - John S. Hogan
7. Christian Shrines Series - Catholic Truth Society
8. Understanding the Diaconate: Historical, Theological, and Sociological Foundations - W. Shawn McKnight
9. Saints of the Isles Series - Catholic Truth Society
10. Be Saints! An Invitation from Pope Benedict XVI - Amy Welborn and Ann Kissane Engelhart

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Tortured Soul - Theresa Linden 
2. With Two Eyes Into Gehenna - Jane Lebak
3. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
4. No Middle Name - Lee Child - Jack Reacher 21.5
5. Seven Angels Short Story Bundle - Jane Lebak - Seven Archangels Short Stories
6. I Am God's Storyteller - Lisa M. Hendey and Eric Carlson 
7. The Friendship War - Andrew Clements 
8. The Adventures of Lee and Bucky - Jane Lebak
9. Toward the Gleam - T.M. Doran 
10. Relic of His Heart - Jane Lebak

This quarter has been my most prodigious in reading since I started keeping track. Some of that is attributed to lifestyle changes. I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. A few years ago, I removed all games from my phone and tablet, except for a brain training game. And over the last six months or so I have been reading far more non-fiction again than fiction. And many i find hard to put down.


Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

143 - January-March 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Tuesday, 26 February 2019

I Am God's Storyteller - Lisa M. Hendey and Eric Carlson

I Am God's Storyteller 
Lisa M. Hendey
Eric Carlson (Illustrator)
Paraclete Press
ISBN 9781640601628
ASIN B07NMF1V4J


My children and I absolutely loved this book. Even my oldest who is almost 13 appreciated the story and message. This story is a delight. In will inspire children to use their creativity to serve God. Examples are given of story tellers, musicians, vocalists, actors, and more. All of the arts are presented in some fashion in this book. And we are reminded that all can be of service to God.

The book is part a history of the story tellers from the old testament. And then it turns to examples of Jesus as storyteller. Then it moves on the new testament stories, like Jon the Baptist, and Jesus bring lost in the temple. And then it challenges us to use our talents to be story tellers for God. My children have made up plays, and written songs, put on performances, and even written stories. This book affirms them in their creative passions but reminds them to use those gifts for God.

It is a wonderful overview of salvation history. The story of salvation, and our call to be story tellers ourselves. In some ways it reminds me of Calvin Miller’s The Singer and The Song but geared at a much younger audience. 

The book is wonderfully written and excellently illustrated. It would be an excellent addition to a home, school, or church library. A great read and am instant family favorite.




Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Lisa M. Hendey:
The Handbook for Catholic Moms
A Book of Saints for Catholic Moms
The Grace of Yes: Eight Virtues for Generous Living
O Radiant Dawn: 5-Minute Prayers Around the Advent Wreath
As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflection.

I Am God's Storyteller 
...

Chime Travelers Series:
The Secret of the Shamrock
The Sign of the Carved Cross
The Whisper in the Ruins
The Mystery at Midnight
The Strangers at the Manger

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Small Steps for Catholic Moms
The Catholic Baby Name Book
One Body, Many Blogs: A Guide for Christian Bloggers
The Catholic Mom S Prayer Companion: A Book of Daily Reflections
The Church and New Media

...

Saturday, 4 August 2018

The Mystery at Midnight - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 4

The Mystery at Midnight 
Chime Travelers Book 4
Lisa M. Hendey
Jenn Bower (Illustrator)
Servant Books a division of
Franciscan  Media
ISBN 
9781632530387



There are currently five books in the Chime Travelers series and they were published in 2015-16. I came across them late and read book 5 first. I have since gone back and read them all. The series is excellent, and each book does a great job of bringing a saint to life. The books can be read in any order, and each book is strong enough to stand on it's own, but I would recommend reading them in the published order. My only regret about this book, is that now I have read all 5 in the series. And I have not heard anything about if there will be more books. 


Books 3 and 4 should really be read in one right after the other. For in Book 3 Patrick goes back in time and meets Francis of Assisi, and in this book, Katie travels through space and time and encounters Clare. She meets Clare before she joins Francis, but right on the cusp of that action. This book has the time travel adventure and that is a wonderfully written story by Lisa Hendey. It is also wonderfully illustrated by Jenn Bower. This is by no way a picture book, it is an middle grade chapter book with about 1 illustration per chapter. After the story there is a short section on the real Clare of Assisi, a quote from her and a wonderful prayer to St. Clare, it is:

A Prayer to St. Clare of Assisi

St. Clare, you were a light to many people during your life on earth. You gave yourself fully to service of the poor through your charity and your prayers.
Help me today to give my life and my love to all those in need: the hungry, the sick, the lonely, and those who are hurting in any way. Help me to quiet my heart, to live simply, and to see the precious face of Jesus in the people around me.

May my life be a light to others, that they will know the love of Jesus in their hearts.


Help me to give my gifts more fully to God, who has blessed me so much. Amen.



After the prayer there is a great discussion guide, that can be used as a family or in the classroom. These books have now been read many times in our house. My oldest who is almost 12 is now reading them to the younger two, her and I read them together alternating pages. And even though she is a reluctant reader she loved this series. In fact, as I was writing this review my son came by and he and I are starting this book together tonight as his reading for the day. And to be completely honest, that is one of the great strengths of this book and the series, these books can be read again and again. They hold up well even across multiple readings.

A great book in a wonderful series, recommended by the whole family from 7 through 47 years of age.


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Lisa M. Hendey:
The Handbook for Catholic Moms
A Book of Saints for Catholic Moms
The Grace of Yes: Eight Virtues for Generous Living
O Radiant Dawn: 5-Minute Prayers Around the Advent Wreath

As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflection.
I Am God's Storyteller 
...

Chime Travelers Series:
The Secret of the Shamrock
The Sign of the Carved Cross
The Whisper in the Ruins
The Mystery at Midnight
The Strangers at the Manger

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Small Steps for Catholic Moms
The Catholic Baby Name Book
One Body, Many Blogs: A Guide for Christian Bloggers
The Catholic Mom S Prayer Companion: A Book of Daily Reflections
The Church and New Media









Saturday, 28 July 2018

The Whisper in the Ruins - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 3

The Whisper in the Ruins
Chime Travelers Book 3
Lisa M. Hendey
Jenn Bower (Illustrator)
Servant Books a division of
Franciscan  Media
ISBN 9781632530363



The five books in the Chime Travelers series were published in 2015-16. I came across them late and actually read book 5 first. I have since gone back and now read them all. Between my personal reading and reading with my children I have now read about a half dozen books on Saint Francis of Assisi in the last 2 years. And even with the fictional elements, this book is one of the best, and an absolute blast! 


This book begins with a blessing of the pets at the local parish. But the next morning people quickly realized that someone has thrown a rock through the stained-glass window of Saint Francis. While helping to clean up, the church bells begin to ring, and Patrick feels a rushing cool wind. In this third book in the series, when Patrick is transported in space and time, he immediately recognizes what has happened. Both he and his sister have had this happen once before and he instantly wonders who he will encounter and what he is there to do or learn. Patrick meets a young Francis, and very quickly suspects that it is Saint Francis of Assisi. He is soon able to confirm that suspicion. Young Patrick is able to witness so much about Francis's call and early ministry. And along the way he figures out why he is there and how he can take that lesson home.


The illustrations by Jenn Bower are wonderful. The story by Hendey is amazing. This is an excellent read and part of aa wonderful series. But be warned about the cuteness of the church mouse. It teaches good lessons without being preachy. It helps children come to their own conclusions, and I can say that for my oldest two, this book, and this series has inspired change in their lives. My children and I recommended this book for the whole family. Our only regret is that the series seams to have come to an end at 5 books. There are so many other saints we would love to see Patrick and Katie interact with. Maybe someday.


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Lisa M. Hendey:
The Handbook for Catholic Moms
A Book of Saints for Catholic Moms
The Grace of Yes: Eight Virtues for Generous Living
O Radiant Dawn: 5-Minute Prayers Around the Advent Wreath

As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflection.
I Am God's Storyteller 
...

Chime Travelers Series:
The Secret of the Shamrock
The Sign of the Carved Cross
The Whisper in the Ruins
The Mystery at Midnight
The Strangers at the Manger

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Small Steps for Catholic Moms
The Catholic Baby Name Book
One Body, Many Blogs: A Guide for Christian Bloggers
The Catholic Mom S Prayer Companion: A Book of Daily Reflections
The Church and New Media









Saturday, 17 March 2018

The Trials of Saint Patrick - Paul McCusker - The Augustine Institute

The Trials of Saint Patrick
Paul McCusker (Author)
John Rhys-Davies (Narrator)
Sean O Meallaigh (Narrator)
Dame Sian Phillips (Narrator)
Guy Siner (Narrator)
Ian McNeice (Narrator)
The Augustine Institute
ASIN B0716N6C2Z
ASIN B06XX4345H



One of the biggest advantages of a parish subscription to Formed is all the great content. I wrote a review of Formed and love it more every week. And this audio drama on the life of Saint Patrick is an amazing presentation. It is 3 hours and 21 minutes in length. It brings to life this saint, in a vivid way. Having read a few versions of Patrick's The Confessions of Saint Patrick and Letter to Coroticus, it would appear to serve as source material. This presentation presents an man, a man who made mistakes, a man who found God, and a man who spent his life in service of God. It is told from the perspective of Patrick being under trial, and his role as bishop in jeopardy. The story is told back and forth from the trial to Patrick's memory spanning his whole life.

Two different actors play the voice of Patrick; John Rhys-Davies as Patrick the elder and Seán T. Ó Meallaigh as young Patrick. The story begins on the day of his capture by Pirates and goes until he is preparing to head to an island on Lough Derg. It was awesome just closing my eyes and listening to this presentation. My son who is 10 came in when I was almost done and asked if I could start over and listen to it with him. (One of his middle names is Patrick and he has a devotion to the saint.

This story presents not just the great saint but the man. His trials in school, in ministry and even the literal trial he underwent. It is very well done and I am thankful to have listened to such an excellent production. If you are a fan of the Saint, or just love all things Irish you should give this story a listen.


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Other articles about Saint Patrick:
The Confessions of Saint Patrick and Letter to Coroticus
Happy Saint Patricks Day 2012 With Saint Patrick Prayers
Patrick and The Fire - Cornelia Mary Bilinsky and Maggie Coburn
Twenty Tales of Irish Saint - Alice Curtayne
More Tales of Irish Saints - Alice Curtayne
The Secret of the Shamrock - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower
Brigid and the Butter - Pamela Love and Apryl Stott
Prayer of the day - Saint Patrick's Rune

The Trials of Saint Patrick.

Wednesday, 2 August 2017

The Sign of the Carved Cross - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 2

The Sign of the Carved Cross
Chime Travelers Book 2
Lisa M. Hendey
Jenn Bower (Illustrator)
Servant Books a division of
Franciscan  Media
ISBN 9781616368487



In the same week that I finished this book I read Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith by Lillian M Fisher, part of the Encounter the Saints series. Both are excellent reads. My daughter and I read this book together and then read the Fisher one right after. We loved this book and have developed a devotion to Saint Kateri through these books. This was the third book in this series that my oldest and I have read together. This time she read more than I did, which with a reluctant reader is truly a blessing. She loved this story and often asked for an extra chapter and went beyond our required daily reading time.

I will be honest and say that neither my daughter nor I really knew much about St. Kateri before we began reading this book. When we got to the section at the end of the book about the real Saint Kateri Tekakwitha, and especially the mention of her ending up near Montreal Canada my daughter immediately wanted to know more. This book like the others in the series we have read does a great job of making the saints real. It brings to life the life, times and struggles of ST. Kateri in a very vivid way. And having a young girl travel in time and spend time with a real saint really challenged and encouraged my daughter.



My daughter relished the experience of watching Katie transported in time and place to live with a saint. Her favorite part of the book was Katie's realization that she herself had not been so nice at home before this adventure began; and her commitment to do better going forward. My daughter also realized how much our words and actions can impact others, even when we do not see it.



For me I love the concept of the series; children who are travel in time, when the bells of their church ring. Each time they travel, they is a lesson they need to learn so that when they come back they can have a different impact on their family, school, parish or circle of friends. And in this book the lessons of compassion, living to serve, and personal time in prayer were brought home wonderfully.

There is a prayer at the end of the book:
"Collect of the Mass in honor of St. Kateri Tekakwitha from the Roman Missal:
Lord God, you called the virgin St. Kateri Tekakwitha, to shine among the American Indian people as an example of innocence of life. Through her intercession, may all peoples of every tribe, tongue and nation, having been gathered into Your Church, proclaim your greatness in one song of praise. We ask this through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son, Who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God, forever and ever. Amen."
And my daughter and I have rayed it together a number of times since finishing the book. 



This was the third book by Lisa M. Hendey that I have read. My oldest and I loved it and now we are reading it to my younger two children. Lisa Hendey is an editor and one of the founders at CatholicMom.com she has written numerous books, fiction and non-fiction, and also contributed to a number of other books. I started with the fifth book in this series as a teat and have gone back and am now reading them with my children in order. Our whole family love the numerous illustrations by Jenn Bower, in this book and in the whole series. The illustrations are fun and add to the story. 



This is a great read and part of an excellent series. It teaches good lessons without being preachy. It helps children come to their own conclusions, and I can say that for my oldest it has inspired change in her life. My oldest and I both recommended this book for the whole family.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Lisa M. Hendey:
The Handbook for Catholic Moms
A Book of Saints for Catholic Moms
The Grace of Yes: Eight Virtues for Generous Living
O Radiant Dawn: 5-Minute Prayers Around the Advent Wreath

As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflection.
I Am God's Storyteller 
...

Chime Travelers Series:
The Secret of the Shamrock
The Sign of the Carved Cross
The Whisper in the Ruins
The Mystery at Midnight
The Strangers at the Manger

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Small Steps for Catholic Moms
The Catholic Baby Name Book
One Body, Many Blogs: A Guide for Christian Bloggers
The Catholic Mom S Prayer Companion: A Book of Daily Reflections
The Church and New Media









Sunday, 14 May 2017

The Secret of the Shamrock - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 1

The Secret of the Shamrock
Chime Travelers Book 1
Lisa M. Hendey
Jenn Bower (Illustrator)
Servant Books a division of
Franciscan  Media
ISBN 9781616368470



This is the second book by Lisa M. Hendey that I have read. I just finished reading it with my oldest child and we both loved it. Hendey is an editor and founder at CatholicMom.com she has written numerous books and also contributed to a number of other books. I started with the fifth book in this series as a teat and have gone back and am now reading them with my children in order. 

This is the first book in a series that is now up to five volumes. It is a very interesting story. In this first story in the series Patrick Brady makes some mistakes, one was bringing his pet frog Francis to his sister's baptism. As penance his family commits to joining the cleaning crew at St. Anne's. While Patrick is inside the confessional cleaning for Fr. Miguel, when the church bells start to chime Patrick feels a rumbling and a rushing wind and then everything changes. After the confessional door blows open with the cold wind and then Patrick is no longer in St. Anne's. When he opens his eyes he is cold, wet, and he hears a strange clank, clank. 

Patrick has somehow travelled both in time and space. For he now finds himself in ancient Ireland. The young Patrick meets a shepherd and the shepherd has a faith that slowly rubs off on Patrick. He travels across the country lead by the Shepherd's dream and the guidance the Shepherd seeks through prayer. Patrick also travels through time again and meets an older Bishop who was his young friend just the day before. Young Patrick learns about the trinity, about faith, about prayer. 



My oldest loved this book. We read it together alternating pages. Her favourite parts were the time travel, meeting a real saint. And having a pet frog. My favourite parts were making St. Patrick real, and that my daughter wanted to start the next book as soon as we finished. We also both loved the numerous illustrations by Jenn Bower. The illustrations are fun and add to the story. I believe my younger two will love the book and my oldest and I plan on reading it to them soon. I think the younger readers will love the illustrations. 



This book is a great story that has a number of good lessons that it teaches. It is also a really fun read. At the end of the book is a short biography of the real St. Patrick and also a version of the St. Patrick breastplate prayer. This is an excellent book and part of an awesome series, recommended for the whole family.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Lisa M. Hendey:
The Handbook for Catholic Moms
A Book of Saints for Catholic Moms
The Grace of Yes: Eight Virtues for Generous Living
O Radiant Dawn: 5-Minute Prayers Around the Advent Wreath

As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflection.
I Am God's Storyteller 
...

Chime Travelers Series:
The Secret of the Shamrock
The Sign of the Carved Cross
The Whisper in the Ruins
The Mystery at Midnight
The Strangers at the Manger

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Small Steps for Catholic Moms
The Catholic Baby Name Book
One Body, Many Blogs: A Guide for Christian Bloggers
The Catholic Mom S Prayer Companion: A Book of Daily Reflections
The Church and New Media











Other articles about Saint Patrick:
The Confessions of Saint Patrick and Letter to Coroticus
Happy Saint Patricks Day 2012 With Saint Patrick Prayers
Patrick and The Fire - Cornelia Mary Bilinsky and Maggie Coburn
Twenty Tales of Irish Saint - Alice Curtayne
More Tales of Irish Saints - Alice Curtayne
The Secret of the Shamrock - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower
Brigid and the Butter - Pamela Love and Apryl Stott
Prayer of the day - Saint Patrick's Rune

The Trials of Saint Patrick.

Thursday, 5 January 2017

The Strangers at the Manger - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 5

The Strangers at the Manger
Chime Travelers Book 5
Lisa M. Hendey
Jenn Bower (Illustrator)
Servant Books a division of
Franciscan  Media
ISBN 9781632531001



Lisa M. Hendey is an editor and founder of CatholicMom.com she has written numerous books and contributed to a number as well. She has also written the forward to a number of other books. But this is the first book of hers that I have read, and it was wonderful. It was a little weird starting with the fifth book in a series but it was also a good test. For starting with this book  it was easy to determine that though there are references to earlier books, or at least events from them, this book stands well on its own!

The Brady twins Patrick and Katie have had some unique adventures after the family became more active in the parish of Saint Anne's, and specifically joined the cleaning team. The reason for joining the cleaning team might have something to do with Patrick's pet frog ending up in the baptismal font. (But alas that is part of another story.) For it seems that at certain points after hearing the church bells chime they have each travelled into the past. They then stay there until they learn a lesson. This book begins on the last day before Christmas break, as school is letting out the Brady twins notice a new family at the school with Fr. Miguel and Sr. Margaret. The newcomers are the Perez family and they do not look like anyone else at the parish. Patrick and Katie learn that the Perez's need a safe place to stay and are staying at the parish centre. While helping clean the church for Christmas service, the twins Chime Travel, the appear on a hillside outside a cave with a donkey braying nearby.

The children end up back in time at the first Christmas story. They meet Mary and Joseph as they travel to Bethlehem and join them on the journey. Over their time in the past they learn many lessons and start thinking about life back home in their own time. The children interact with a number of biblical characters, but most closely with Mary, Joseph and baby Jesus. The children also meet the shepherds, the wise men, the visit to the temple, and more. When the Magi arrive, Katie asks Mary, “Are you sure you want all of these strangers around the baby?" Mary smiles. "Strangers are simply new friends, just waiting to be loved.” And that is a sentiment needed today. And once they are home their attitude and interactions with the Perez family change drastically. Overall it is a very moving read. It is a powerful story and really brings the Christmas story alive for kids and those who read to and with them.

The illustrations are a great addition to the story and Jenn Bower does a great job with capturing the sentiment of the book in the pictures. This book is a wonderful retelling of the nativity story and makes it very real. If the rest of the books in the series are as good there is some amazing reading ahead for the kids and me! And I hope that this is not the last in the series. Well done.


Books by Lisa M. Hendey:
The Handbook for Catholic Moms
A Book of Saints for Catholic Moms
The Grace of Yes: Eight Virtues for Generous Living
O Radiant Dawn: 5-Minute Prayers Around the Advent Wreath

As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflection.
I Am God's Storyteller 
...

Chime Travelers Series:
The Secret of the Shamrock
The Sign of the Carved Cross
The Whisper in the Ruins
The Mystery at Midnight
The Strangers at the Manger

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Small Steps for Catholic Moms
The Catholic Baby Name Book
One Body, Many Blogs: A Guide for Christian Bloggers
The Catholic Mom S Prayer Companion: A Book of Daily Reflections
The Church and New Media


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!