--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/MLTrouve As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:17:28 PM UTC

Showing posts with label MLTrouve. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MLTrouve. Show all posts

Thursday, 15 February 2018

Divine Mercy in My Pocket - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé

Divine Mercy in My Pocket
Marianne Lorraine Trouvé
Mary Joseph Peterson (Illustrator),
Laura Rosemarie McGowan (Assistant Illustrator)
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819819130



This is a wonderful little booklet. It does an excellent job of explaining Divine Mercy to children. But it can really be used by anyone. My son was fascinated by this booklet from the moment we opened the package. He has an audio version of the divine mercy chaplet that he prays way most days. He loved the explanations in this book both of why and how to pray it but also of the works of mercy.

The sections in this booklet are:
What Is Divine Mercy?
Who Is Saint Faustina?
How Do I Pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet?
What Do the Three Prayers Mean?
What Is Divine Mercy Sunday?
How Can I Share Mercy with Others?
Corporal Works of Mercy

  1. Feed the Hungry
  2. Give Drink to the Thirsty
  3. Clothe the Naked
  4. Shelter the Homeless
  5. Visit the Sick
  6. Visit the Imprisoned
  7. Bury the Dead
Spiritual Works of Mercy
  1. Instruct the Ignorant
  2. Counsel the Doubtful
  3. Correct Sinners
  4. Bear Wrongs Patiently
  5. Forgive Offenses Willingly
  6. Comfort the Afflicted
  7. Pray for the Living And the Dead
Each of the works of mercy has a nearly full-page piece of artwork. And below it an example a child can follow to live that work of mercy. the illustrations and the samples are wonderful. This is an awesome little booklet. My children love it and I enjoyed reading it with them.


A wonderful little booklet that we recommend!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Marianne Lorraine Trouvé:
Mary: Help in Hard Times
A Scriptural Rosary
Sacred Heart of Jesus Prayer Book
Angels: Help from on High
Novena St Thomas Aquinas: Patron of Students and Catholic Schools
Divine Mercy in My Pocket
Purgatory Purifying Power
My Favorite Prayers & Novena
Praying Mysteries of Light
Praying the Rosary for Priests
Our Lady Undoer of Knots: Novena and Prayers
The Rosary with Pope Francis

Consecrated Life: John Paul II
Saint Thomas Aquinas: Saints By Our Side

Encounter the Saints Series:
Saint Catherine Labouré: And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi: A Light for the World
Saint Thomas Aquinas: Missionary of Truth

Books contributed to:
The Catholic Answer Book of Mary
Honoring Mary with the Holy Father
Pope Francis in the U.S.: Words of Mercy and Hope

Books Edited by Marianne Lorraine Trouvé:
Mary Leads Us to Jesus
Mother of Christ, Mother of the Church: Documents on the Blessed Virgin Mary

Ordinary Grace Daily Reflections:
Ordinary Grace, Weeks 1-17
Ordinary Grace, Weeks 18-34
Easter Grace

Translated by:
Adventures of Saint Paul


Saturday, 30 September 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2017

According to Good Reads 2017 Challenge I have read 276 books, also according to Good Reads 184 of those were first time reads. And of those 212 I gave 127 5 out of 5 Stars, or they made my Best of 2017 list But that is for the year so here are comparison numbers:

Q1 Total Books 100
Q2 Total Books 112
Q3 Total Books 64
Q1 5 Star 57
Q2 5 Star 70
Q3 5 Star 35

So from those 35 books read my Top 10 Fiction and Top 10 Non-Fiction are.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1.  In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
(New eBook editions links to all reviews here)
In Conversation with God Volume 3 Part 2 Weeks 7 - 12 in Ordinary Time
In Conversation with God Volume 4 Part 1 Weeks 13 - 18 in Ordinary
In Conversation with God Volume 7 Part 1 Special Feasts July – September
2.  Encounter the Saints Series
3. 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers
20 Answers Apparitions & Revelations - Michael O'Neill
4. The Grunt Padre: Father Vincent Robert Capodanno Vietnam 1966-1967 - Daniel L. Mode
5. The Old Evangelization: How to Spread the Faith Like Jesus Did - Eric Sammons
6. Hide and Seek: The Irish Priest in the Vatican who Defied the Nazi Command - Stephen Walker
7. The Apostles and Their Times - Mike Aquilina 
8. The Shadow of His Wings - Gereon Goldmann
9. The Story of Chaplain Kapaun, Patriot Priest of the Korean Conflict - MSGR Father Arthur Tonne
10. Learning the Virtues: That Lead You to God - Romano Guardini
11. God's Battalions: The Case for the Crusades - Rodney Stark

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. The Profession - Eric Sammons
2. Crusader King: A Novel of Baldwin IV and the Crusades - Susan Peek
3. Bobby - Barry Lyga - A Short Story
4. The Last Namsara - Kristen Ciccarelli - Iskari #1 
5. Trading Worlds: A Short Story - Barry Lyga
6. The Mystery of the Sapphire Bracelet - Manuel Alfonseca - The Sleuths of the Spanish Transition Book 3
7. Nicholas Gilroy: Our Lady and the Guardian - Father Stephen and Deacon George
8. Standing Strong - Theresa Linden - West Brothers Series
9. Broken Birthday - Courtney Sheinmel and Jennifer A. Bell - Stella Batts Book 10
10. Polar Bear Night - Lauren Thompson and Stephen Savage

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

276 - 2017 January-September
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996






Wednesday, 16 August 2017

Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé and Cathy Morrison - Encounter the Saints Book 30

Saint Catherine Labouré
And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Encounter the Saints Series Book 30
Marianne Lorraine Trouvé
Cathy Morrison (Illustrator)
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819872241


This book is about a saint that I had not encountered before reading the book. The story of this saint and the miraculous medal are amazing. My children could hardly believe the story. We loved this book and the whole series. The Encounter the Saints Series, from Pauline Books and Media, are all wonderful reads. Written for younger readers, they are great reads for anyone who wants to encounter saints in a powerful way. These books are great to read to children, with children or if you just want a good read for yourself. I started reading the series before reading them with my kids and we have now tracked down all 37 book currently available in the series in one format or another, and are working through them all.

The chapters in this book about Saint Catherine Labouré are:
Prologue 
1. Life on the Farm 
2. A New Role
3. A Growing Desire 
4. Following a Dream
5. Rue du Bac
6. The Lady 
7. A Special Mission
8. Back to the Farm
9. The Medal
10. Miracles 
11. Catherine's Secret 
12. Ordinary Life
13. Fire!
14. Another Mission for Father Aladel
15. The War 
16. More Trouble 
17. Into Flight
18. Back to Normal  
19. Some Changes
20. The Final Road 
Prayer
Glossary



Saint Catherine Labouré lived to serve and to work for the lord. Her service in running the gardens, and then the farm as well as her hospice work is exemplary. I was unaware of the story of the medal, its history. After having read a book about Mother Teresa and her affinity for passing out these medals it is nice to know their origin now. 

The author of this work also penned three other book in the series but has written about 25 other books about the Catholic faith. The writing style is direct and to the point but tells the story in a very engaging manner. The illustrator, Cathy Morrison, has illustrated one other book in the series and it was also written by Trouvé. I believe that the illustrations are charcoal or conté sketches. They are full of rich details. And each of the 5 illustrations is a full page illustrated out to a full rectangular image. A number of the other books have sketches that are not complete drawings like these.  

My children really love the last two sections in these books; the prayer and the glossary. The glossary in this volume has 20 definitions ranging from Canonization to vow. The especially enjoyed the definition of: 
"Pilgrimage - a journey to a holy place to venerate a saint or to obtain some spiritual favor. A person making a pilgrimage is called a pilgrim."
For we often go to a statue of Mary outside of our town and spend some time praying as a short pilgrimage together. And as always they really enoued the prayer:
"Saint Catherine, all your life you workedhard. You tried to serve God and love others insimplicity. Even when the Blessed Motherappeared to you and gave you a special mission,you were so humble that many people neverguessed what you had experienced. Your speciallove for the poor moved you to reach out to them,so that they would know how much God lovesthem. Pray for me that I will have a truly humbleheart, grateful for all that God has given me.May I, too, serve God with courage, even whenit seems that no one notices. 
Mary, our Lady of the Miraculous Medal,you asked Saint Catherine to encourage people totrust in your prayers and help. Pray for me andfor all those whom I love. Keep us close to Jesus.O Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us whohave recourse to you. Amen."
My oldest commented about the book; and the prayer that the book is an example of doing everything as well as we can, but also in not calling attention to ourselves in the process. And that we should work hard at all we do. And that is a lesson I still need to learn and am happy my children are being exposed to through this book. And all three children loved the story of her faith during the fire, it really has encouraged them to face things that scare them.



My children and I love this series. In fact I have two different books on the go currently with my youngest two. I carry a small pocket oratory that has a miraculous medal and I love knowing more about it through this book. We love this book and the series. 

Currently there are 37 books in this series, including The Saints Pray for Us, and I have read over a third of them. I have read almost half of the series on my own and read about a third of them now with my children.  My oldest who is 11 and I read them to the younger two. My son who is 9 can read them with some help on the more difficult words. This book and the series is geared for readers between the ages of 9 and 12 but in our house they are loved by the 6 year old and this man who is pushing 50. As mentioned this book as mentioned is part of the Encounter the Saints Series; from Pauline Books and Media, and this book is an excellent read as is the entire series!  This family gives them our highest recommendation.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!


Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media:
Blessed James Alberione Media Apostle
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady
Saint André Bessette Miracles in Montreal
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light
Saint Bakhita of Sudan Forever Free
Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi A Light for the World
Saint Damien of Molokai Hero of Hawaii
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America
Saint Faustina Kowalska Messenger of Mercy
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream
Saint Francis of Assisi Gentle Revolutionary
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life
Saint Ignatius of Loyola For the Greater Glory of God
Saint Isaac Jogues With Burning Heart
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants
Saint John Paul II Be Not Afraid
Saint John Vianney A Priest for All People
Saint Juan Diego And Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith
Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift
Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque And the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle
Saint Pio of Pietrelcina Rich in Love
Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord
Saint Teresa of Calcutta Missionary of Charity
Saint Teresa of Kalkota Missionary of Charity
Saint Thérèse of Lisieux The Way of Love
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth
Saint Thomas More Courage, Conscience, and the King
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto: Shepherds of Fatima
The Saints Pray for Us




Thursday, 10 August 2017

Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé and Cathy Morrison - Encounter the Saints Book 35

Saint Thomas Aquinas
Missionary of Truth
Encounter the Saints Series Book 35
Marianne Lorraine Trouvé
Cathy Morrison (Illustrator)
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819890269
eISBN 9780819890276
ASIN B017S0ZN38


I have been reading this series for about six months now. Because each book is the biography of a specific saint I have been jumping around. At first I was reading saints I had an affinity for, and now I just want to read the whole series. This book is an excellent read in an amazing series. The Encounter the Saints Series, from Pauline Books and Media, are written for younger readers but are great reads at any age. I started reading these books with my kids, but I keep reading ahead of where I am at with them, I just cannot put the books down. 



The chapters in this book about Saint Thomas Aquinas are:
1. A Stormy Night
2. A Love for Learning
3. Studying at Monte Cassino
4. On to Naples
5. Missionary of Truth
6. Kidnapped!
7. Trapped in the Castle
8. A New Journey Begins
9. The Dumb Ox
10. A Priest Forever
11. Called to Paris
12. How to Be Brave
13. Thomas Returns to Italy
14. Meeting the Pope
15. Speaking with the Saints
16. A Book for Beginners
17. Rome Under Attack
18. The King's Banquet
19. Nothing but Straw
20. Home at Last
Prayer
Glossary

My children love the prayers at the end of the books, and also the glossary. They often go back to the books we have read so that the can prayer the prayer. We have started building a second set of these books to donate to our school library. They loved the prayer in this book because of praying for students and Catholic schools. 

"Saint Thomas Aquinas, the Church honors you as one of its most important teachers of God's truth. But you are a saint not because you knew so much, but because you led a holy life. Teach me how to become holy too. Pray for me that I might love Jesus above all else and give him my whole heart. Pray also that I might grow in faith, hope, and love. 
Saint Thomas, you are the patron saint of students and of Catholic schools. You always sought the truth about God, and you spent your life teaching it to others. Help me in my studies, too, that I might do my best and learn well in school. Just like you were a missionary of truth, pray for me that I too might speak about Jesus and in my own way bring the light of the Gospel to others. I want to use my mind for things that are good for me and for others. Saint Thomas, pray for me! Amen."

My children were very surprised by Thomas being kidnapped and being kept from his calling by his mother. My children also loved the story of Saint Thomas being so deep in thought that he forgot he was at the Kings table and caused a stir at dinner. And they asked a lot of questions about the Manicheans. We were a little surprised it was not in the glossary. They also loved the idea of the tonsure and kept asking questions about it. They asked a number of questions about what a 'Doctor of the Church' was and how one becomes one. 



This book like the others in the series contains 5 illustrations. The illustrator of this volume is Cathy Morrison, and she also illustrates one other book in the series. Her illustrations are much darker than many of the others in the series, but they do a great job of capturing events in Saint Thomas Aquinas's life, from the night of his sister's death in a storm to his statement later in life "Everything I've written, all the work I've done my whole life, seems worthless in comparison to what God revealed to me during that Mass on the feast of Saint Nicholas.".



This is a wonderful read. It really opened my children's eyes to the importance of study. To following God. To serving. 

With every book I read in this series I am more impressed. There are currently 37 books in this series, including The Saints Pray for Us, and I have read over a third of them. I have read book 1 and book 36 and a number in between. The books in this series are written with a target audience of 9-12 year olds, and my 11 year old can read them without any difficulty, and my 9 year old needs help with some words. I believe that anyone who reads these book will have their faith enriched. This book as mentioned is part of the Encounter the Saints Series; from Pauline Books and Media. This is another inspiring book in a wonderful series and I highly recommend both the book and the series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Encounter the Saints Series from Pauline Books and Media:
Blessed James Alberione Media Apostle
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady
Saint André Bessette Miracles in Montreal
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light
Saint Bakhita of Sudan Forever Free
Saint Bernadette Soubirous And Our Lady of Lourdes
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal
Saint Clare of Assisi A Light for the World
Saint Damien of Molokai Hero of Hawaii
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America
Saint Faustina Kowalska Messenger of Mercy
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream
Saint Francis of Assisi Gentle Revolutionary
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life
Saint Ignatius of Loyola For the Greater Glory of God
Saint Isaac Jogues With Burning Heart
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants
Saint John Paul II Be Not Afraid
Saint John Vianney A Priest for All People
Saint Juan Diego And Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha: Courageous Faith
Saint Katharine Drexel The Total Gift
Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque And the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle
Saint Pio of Pietrelcina Rich in Love
Saint Teresa of Avila Joyful in the Lord
Saint Teresa of Calcutta Missionary of Charity
Saint Teresa of Kalkota Missionary of Charity
Saint Thérèse of Lisieux The Way of Love
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth
Saint Thomas More Courage, Conscience, and the King
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto: Shepherds of Fatima
The Saints Pray for Us