--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/MSFenelon As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:31:45 PM UTC

Showing posts with label MSFenelon. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MSFenelon. Show all posts

Monday, 1 July 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 102 books, and a total of 225 to date this year. I am reading at the pace of about a book and a quarter a day.  Of those 102 a total of 53 were non-fiction and 49 were fiction. And out of those 102 a total of 50 books received 5/5 stars and are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me to choose from 28 non-fiction and 22 fiction.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the second quarter of 2019. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within - Dr. Taylor R. Marshall
3. Mike Aquilin Take Five Series
4. Guadalupe: The Freedom of Loving - Cristina Abad Cadenas
5. CTS Deeper Christianity Series
6. Heavenly Hosts: Eucharistic Miracles for Kids - Kathryn Griffin Swegart
7. Finding God in Times of Stress - Fr. Antonio Ritaccio  
8. Forgiving Mother: A Marian Novena of Healing and Peace - Marge Steinhage Fenelon
9. Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: A Living Novena - Marge Fenelon
10. How to Get the Most Out of the Eucharist - Michael Dubruiel 

Bonus:
11. My Russian Way: A Spiritual Autobiography - Alexandre Havard
12. Meditations on the Passion: The Way of the Cross - Susanna Tamaro
13. Praying 15 Days with St. Josemaria Escriva - Guillaume Derville
14. Poland: A Pilgrim Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. The Hive - Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden 
2. Martyrs - Kathryn Griffin Swegart - Brave Hearts Book 2
3. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
4. Jack Reacher Cross Over Stories - Lee Child
5. A Truly Raptor-ous Welcome - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 2
6. Maureen Jennings Books
7. An Arrow In Flight - Jane Lebak - Seven Archangels Book 1.0
8. Transfer Complete - J.S. Criado - Memories of Twilight Book 1
9. The Kindness Club - Courtney Sheinmel - The Kindness Club Book 1
10. The Truth App - Jack Heath - Liars Book 1

Bonus:
11. Jack Reacher Stories - Lee Child
12. Belt of Truth - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Book 1
13. The Diamond Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries
14. Bones on Ice - Kathy Reichs - Temperance Brennan 17.5

One of the big differences this quarter is reading mystery – suspense – crime novels. Especially those by Lee Child and Maureen Jennings. This quarter has been my second most prodigious in reading since I started keeping track. Some of that is attributed to lifestyle changes. I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. A few years ago, I removed all games from my phone and tablet, except for a brain training game. And over the last six months or so I have been reading far more non-fiction again than fiction. This quarter I had a much better balance between fiction and non-fiction. 

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

143 - January-March 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Friday, 24 May 2019

Our Lady, Undoer of Knots - Marge Steinhage Fenelon - A Living Novena

Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: 
A Living Novena
Marge Steinhage Fenelon
Ave Maria Press

ISBN 9781594716300
eISBN 9781594716317
ASIN B01NADSO4E



This is the third book by Marge Fenelon, about Mary, that I have read this year. This book was recommended to me a few years ago by a friend. In actuality, I purchased the eBook over 4 years before getting around to reading it. It sat in my ‘to be read pile’ for a long time. Every once in a while; while browsing my Kindle app I would come across it and bump it to the top but never got around to starting it. That is my loss. But after recently reading two other books by marge in the last few months I finally got around to reading this volume. All three books I have read by Fenelon have involved a Novena. But this one is very different than the other two. In both my previous reads the Novena was about half of the book. This one the novena is the majority of the book. But it is not just a novena of 9 days of prayer. This one follows Marge as she follows Pope Francis on a tour of the holy lands. Each day is a different location, with different focus. I believe we all have knots in or lives, some from stuff that was done to us, some from decisions we have made, some as a consequence of rejection or rebellion. As such we could all benefit from reading this book, and praying with Mary, and her title of undoer of knots.

In the forward Diana von Glahn states:

“But our good God never leaves us without divine assistance. In response to the original knot of sin tied by Eve in the Garden long ago, he has lovingly given us the great Undoer of Knots, his Mother, the Blessed Virgin Mary.”

She then goes on to outline the book for us:

“Each day tackles a different knot—injustice, separation, confusion, hopelessness, grief and loss, discord, betrayal, envy and pride, and affliction—both as they relate to the situation in the land where Jesus lived as well as in our own lives.”

The sections in this volume are:
Foreword by Diana von Glahn 
Acknowledgments 
Introduction 
Day One: Bethany Beyond the Jordan—The Knot of Injustice 
Day Two: Wall of Bethlehem—The Knot of Separation 
Day Three: Grotto of the Nativity—The Knot of Confusion 
Day Four: Mount of Olives—The Knot of Hopelessness 
Day Five: Basilica of the Holy Sepulchre —The Knots of Grief and Loss 
Day Six: Western Wall —The Knot of Discord 
Day Seven: Yad Vashem, Mount of Remembrance —The Knot of Betrayal 
Day Eight: Temple Mount—The Knots of Envy and Pride 
Day Nine: The Cenacle—The Knot of Affliction 
Conclusion 
Appendix 1: On the Origin of Our Lady, Undoer of Knots 
Appendix 2: How to Pray the Rosary 
Notes

There were times where this book was not an easy read. Because, at least for me, many of the knots in my life are of my own making. And realizing they are there and asking for help to work on them in a deep process. Fenelon states:

“That’s why we need to turn our knot of injustice over to Our Lady, Undoer of Knots—before it entangles us in sin and ruin. We might prefer to cling to the knot, seeking vengeance or believing we deserve restitution.

And yet, God knows better. 

He knows whether we need restitution, and he knows best how to handle the people who have treated us unjustly. We don’t need to seek revenge; we need to surrender the knot of injustice to Our Lady. She will know exactly how to undo it, if only we give it to her freely.”

At the end of each of the days of the novena there is a ‘Stepping Out’ section, this is a sample from day 3:

Stepping Out in Faith 

Take some time to think about the questions below. Then answer them as honestly as you can so that your heart can continue to grow more and more peaceful. 

What kind of confusion do you face in your life right now? 
How did it come about? 
What factors contributed to it? 
What would it take for the confusion to be resolved? 
What has prohibited you so far from seeking a resolution? 
Practically speaking, what part might you play in a resolution? 

Make a concrete resolution to take one step toward peace in your heart today.

This book was another excellent read from the pen of Marge Fenelon. She concludes the book with these words:

“More than anything, I hope that Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: A Living Novena leads you on a spiritual journey that will deepen your faith, increase your love for our Blessed Mother, and commence the undoing of the knots in your life. Our Lady, Undoer of Knots, pray for us!”

And that is what I found the book has done for me! And What I am sure it will do for you if you read it with an open mind and heart. My only quandary is is which of Marge’s book to read next.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Marge Steinhage Fenelon:
Our Lady, Undoer of Knots
My Queen, My Mother
Imitating Mary
Forgiving Mother
When’s God Gonna Call Me Back?
When’s God Gonna Show Up?
Reveille for the Soul
Strengthening Your Family: A Catholic Approach to Holiness at Home
10 Promises of Jesus: Stories and Scripture Reflections about Suffering and Joy

...
  




Monday, 15 April 2019

Forgiving Mother A Marian Novena of Healing and Peace - Marge Steinhage Fenelon

Forgiving Mother: 
A Marian Novena of Healing and Peace
Marge Steinhage Fenelon
Servant Books
Franciscan Media
ISBN 9781632532275
aISBN 9781632532282
ASIN B0771MTN4X


I have read this book through and am already reading it a second time. When I was reading My Queen, My Mother, by Fenelon I came across this book and immediately bought it. I kept it toward the top of my screen on my Kindle but was hesitant to open the book. I debated starting it several times, and yet could not bring myself to flip open the cover. But once I started reading, I could not put it down. The first time through the book I highlighted 27 passages before getting to part 2 of the book, the novena, which is about a third of the book. This is a book that anyone who had a less than perfect relationship with their parent could read and benefit from. The sections in this book are:

Introduction - Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle
Preface
Introduction
Part One: Learning to Forgive
Yes, You Can Heal
Why Is Mary the Answer?
It’s Okay to Look Back
You Are a Child of God
She Is a Child of God
You’re Just Like Your Mother
Mom! I Need You!
Who Will Be a Mother to Me Now?
I Forgive You
Part Two: Novena
Lord, Give Me the Grace to Want to Heal
Mary, Let Me Grow Closer to You
Mary, Help Me Look Back
Mary, Let Me See Myself as a Child of God
Mary, Let Me See My Mother as a Child of God
Mary, Let Me Be Transformed in the Spirit
Mary, Draw Me into Your Heart
Mary, Let Me Grow
Mary, Let Me Be Healed
Acknowledgements
Notes

In the introduction Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle states:

“I can guarantee it. I also believe that Forgiving Mother will edify any reader, helping them to understand the need to love and nurture one another as well as learn more about Mary’s essential role in our lives.”

And the book lives up to that prediction. This book spoke directly to my heart, and to my experience. Even in my years away from the Catholic church, I maintained a devotion to Holy Mary, always kept Rosaries and often prayed to Mary. And I had many issues with my earthly mother. We were estranged for a few periods in our life. And my children do not even know her name. But being inspired by this book, I have not only started praying for the repose of my mother’s soul, have had mass intentions offered for her. But back to this amazing book.

Fenelon states in the preface:

“Perhaps you see my dilemma. I am sure beyond doubt that I’ve been called by God to share with you my childhood in light of healing from the effects of an abusive mother and about the miracles Mary has done in my life and will do in yours.”

And also:

“More than anything else, I hope and pray that, by daring to share my story, I will be helping you to open up channels of forgiveness, healing, and peace for you as well as for your mom. May our Mother Mary bless, guide, and comfort you!”

Marge writes this story from a very transparent and vulnerable place. She is open and honest with us about some of the abuse and mistreatment she received at her mothers’ hands. She shares her journey to healing and eventually forgiveness. It is a powerful read. But the book is also much more then biography both family and spiritual. It is an example that can offer tools for those of us who need to heal from our relationships with our mothers, or grandmothers. It does an incredible job of showing the love and protection of Mary. About the relationship you can have with Mary and through that healing and growth in your personal spiritual life.

I will share a few random quotes from the sections I highlighted:

“In spite of the difficulties, I was brought up in what I consider a fairly Catholic home, and my three siblings and I all received a Catholic education.”

“I want you to know and feel that you are a child of Mary and that she loves you tenderly. She really, truly is your mother—given to you by our Lord as he hung dying on the cross. Jesus wants you to accept his mother as your own and to develop a deepening relationship with her so that she can fill the void that the past has left inside of you. And in her kind, motherly way, she will. What’s more, she will lead you to her son, who, as God, is the ultimate source of all healing and peace.”

“Healing is a process, not a project, and you must, through prayer, allow God’s grace to work in you.”

“Do you want to be well? Do you really want to be well? Are you ready to go through the work of affecting that healing? I think you are; otherwise, you never would have picked up this book.”

“As our mother, she cares about every aspect of our lives, past, present, and future. She cares about our joys and sorrows, successes and failures, dreams and desires. She cares about where we have been and where we are going. She cares about who we are and who we would like to become. She cares about the seemingly insignificant details of our daily routines and the huge life events. She cares about all that is important to us and even about what is not so important. She cares about everything.”

“No matter what you lack from your childhood, it can be recovered with the Blessed Virgin’s help. Mary is the answer.”

In the last few weeks I have read two books by this author. Both were excellent reads. And before I had even finished this volume, I picked up two others by this author to read. This is an amazing read and I highly recommend it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Marge Steinhage Fenelon:
Our Lady, Undoer of Knots
My Queen, My Mother
Imitating Mary
Forgiving Mother
When’s God Gonna Call Me Back?
When’s God Gonna Show Up?
Reveille for the Soul
Strengthening Your Family: A Catholic Approach to Holiness at Home
10 Promises of Jesus: Stories and Scripture Reflections about Suffering and Joy

...
  




Monday, 8 April 2019

My Queen, My Mother A Living Novena - Marge Steinhage Fenelon - A Marian Pilgrimage Across America

My Queen, My Mother: A Living Novena
A Marian Pilgrimage Across America
Marge Steinhage Fenelon
Ave Maria Press
ISBN 9781594718151
eISBN 9781594718168
ASIN B07KPV4PRK



This is the first book that I read by Marge Steinhage Fenelon, I have picked up a few others and not got around to reading them. After how quickly I devoured this volume that will not be the case for long. This book was so much more than I was expecting. I absolutely loved it. And living in Canada I am not likely to physically visit many of the shrines listed, but virtually through this book could. And I would love to see a book like this written about Marian Shrines in Canada. Each chapter of this book is a different day for a novena and a different Marian Shrine.

The sections in this book are:

Introduction:
Why a Marian Pilgrimage?
Day One: Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche: St. Augustine, Florida
Day Two: National Shrine of Our Lady of Prompt Succor: New Orleans, Louisiana
Day Three: St. Mary’s Mission and Museum: Stevensville, Montana
Day Four: Shrine of Our Lady of Sorrows: Starkenburg, Missouri
Day Five: Basilica and National Shrine of Our Lady of Consolation: Carey, Ohio
Day Six: The National Shrine of Our Lady of Good Help: Champion, Wisconsin
Day Seven: Shrine of Our Lady of Martyrs: Auriesville, New York
Day Eight: The House of Mary Shrine: Yankton, South Dakota
Day Nine: Our Lady of Peace Shrine: Santa Clara, California
Conclusion
Appendix:
How to Pray the Rosary
Notes

However, this book is so much more than a simple prayer book or novena. This book is written mainly for Catholics in the United States, but Catholics from around the world will enjoy this volume. For the prayer, for the history, and for the different devotions to Mary from around America. I greatly enjoyed finding out about these sites, and the history and practices associated with them.

Marge states in the introduction:

"The idea started percolating in my brain as I watched the growing success of my book 'Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: A Living Novena'. It seems that the notion of taking my reader on pilgrimage with me and then forming it into a novena had become contagious. I wanted to do it again, but this time I wanted to stay within my own country’s boundaries. I wanted to do something challenging and magnificent that would uncover the spiritual treasures of our United States and, in the process, help people to fall in love with our country again (or perhaps for the first time)."

And she does an amazing job of delivering on that goal. This book will be a great read for anyone with a devotion to Mary, for anyone wishing to deepen their devotion to Mary. And it is also excellent for anyone wanting to learn about these 9 Marian Shrines.

This was a book I read and loved. And it is a book I know I will read again. The devotion and love of Mary evident in Marge’s writing is inspiring. I give this book a very solid 5/5 stars. It is so worth the read!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Marge Steinhage Fenelon:
Our Lady, Undoer of Knots
My Queen, My Mother
Imitating Mary
Forgiving Mother
When’s God Gonna Call Me Back?
When’s God Gonna Show Up?
Reveille for the Soul
Strengthening Your Family: A Catholic Approach to Holiness at Home
10 Promises of Jesus: Stories and Scripture Reflections about Suffering and Joy

...