--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/MarileeHaynes As it appears live September 19, 2020 4:48:50 PM UTC

Showing posts with label MarileeHaynes. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MarileeHaynes. Show all posts

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

Author Profile and Interview with Marilee Haynes


Marilee Haynes is the author of three middle grade novels in the realistic fiction genre. All of her currently available books are from Pauline Books and Media, I have read and loved all three of her books, and love her writing especially her characters, and so I reached out to her for an interview. She graciously agreed to share answers to some questions about her life and writing with the readers here at Book Reviews and More. So here is Marilee in her own words.

1. If you had not become a writer what do you think you would be doing for a living? 

I would love to be a teacher - or a children's librarian - something that combines kids, learning and lots and lots of books!

2. Who were some of your biggest supporters and contributors to your early success? 

My husband was always willing to read my work - and he always laughed in all the right places. I have a good friend and neighbor who is a successful young adult author who showed me the ropes and helped me believe I really could write a book someone would actually want to read. And my kids. They were very young when I started writing, but have always been so excited about and proud of the fact that their mommy is an author!

3. Which books or authors had the greatest impact on your work? 

Beverly Cleary's books are the first ones I remember devouring as a child. I was so excited about the characters and the stories and thrilled to keep reading about Ramona and Ellen Tebbits and all her wonderful characters. My love of writing about families and friendship and real life can likely be traced to my early - and everlasting - love and admiration for Beverly Cleary's books. 

4. What were some of your favorite authors in your teen years who helped shape you?

As a young teen, I read a lot of classics as well as contemporary realistic fiction. I loved anything by Paula Danziger and read and re-read Little Women and anything else by Louisa May Alcott. I also discovered and adored the works of Jane Austen. 

5. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How did you nurture that dream? 

Being a writer was a long-held dream. It was always a someday thing until I had my third child and found myself turning 40 with three kids under 3 ½. I decided that was as good a time as any to dust off the old dream and give it a try. The most important thing I did - and continue to do - to nurture my work as a writer was to read. Read, read, and read. The two most important things I do to continue to grow as a writer are simply to read and write. Learning from what touches me and inspires me as a reader is as important as regularly sitting down and getting words onto the page. 

6. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing? 

My writing process is a little disorganized. I get an idea - typically a character - and find myself inspired. I sit down and start to write - no outline, little to no written notes. I just write and see where the story takes me. This makes for some fun and interesting surprises as well as some long and complicated revisions and edits. I usually share a completed draft with a couple trusted writer friends and use their feedback and my own to revise and edit. Revising and editing can take a good while. Then it's off to either a list of potential literary agents or to my editor at Pauline Media and hopefully, after what seems like a very long time but is actually a little more than a year, I have a book in my hands I can share with others. 

7. Do you use a playlist when writing? Are certain books written while predominantly listing to the same music? 

I am not someone who uses music to write - sometimes I'll have music on in the background, but it is not part of my process and does not impact my stories. 

8. What current projects are you working on or are in the back burner in some stage of development? 

I have two projects I am working on. One is in a similar vein to what I have already had published - realistic middle grade fiction - but it pulls at the heartstrings a bit more than my other works. I love this character and his story and hope to finish it over the next few months. The other project is a bit of a departure as it includes some fairy tale-like elements and would be considered a bit of a fantasy. At its core, however, are themes of family, friendship and self-acceptance - so not so different from my other works after all. 

9. One of the greatest strengths in your books are the characters, they are so solid and believable. The characters you create, are they reflections of people you know, composites of different people you know or entirely your creations?

Characters come to me as they are - very nearly fully fleshed out and all their own. They are simply themselves. Some minor characters may be influenced by people in my life - past or present - but most of my characters simply arrive in my imagination and introduce themselves as they are. 

10. Which of your characters is your favorite and why? 

This is a hard question! 

I simply love and adore Gabe Carpenter from a.k.a. Genius and Genius Under Construction. He's so awkward and confused and wonderful. I would have to say Gabe's grandfather is probably the person I most wish I had in my own life. To have someone support and accept and encourage you is a true gift. Gabe was lucky to have him. 

11. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family, she said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it? 

My characters are very real to me. When I'm writing, I genuinely worry about them when things aren't going well and it can be painful to write scenes that are difficult for my characters. During my writing process and long after, I find myself talking about them as if they are real people. And to me, and hopefully too many of my readers, in their own way they are. 

12. Do you think we will see Gabe and his friends again in another story? 

Never say never. I'm not working on anything right now, but I would like to take Gabe and his friends through 8th grade graduation

13. Your books are also marketed mainly to teen and youth and yet I have read them and recommended them too many adult friends who loved them. You also appear to have a large adult audience. Do you see yourself writing a book aimed at the general fiction audience? 

I really don't. I write for the middle grade audience because that is what feels natural and real to me. I love kids. And I have loved reading my entire life. I think books can have a tremendous and long-lasting impact on kids in a way that writing for the adult market cannot. 

14. What are some of your favorite contemporary religious authors to read? 

I like to read books by some of my favorite Catholic moms - Lisa Hendey, Danielle Bean and Sarah Reinhard are some of my favorites. And I enjoy reading the Time Travelers series with my kids by Sr. Maria Grace Dateno. 

15. Completely off topic but what TV shows or movies do you enjoy? 

My husband and I loved watching the first season of This is Us and can't wait to see more. I don't watch a lot of television, but when I do it's usually something on the Food Network or HGTV.

16. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you? 

No response.

17. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists particularly those looking to have their art reflect their faith? 

Write authentically and from the heart. Don't have an agenda or try to teach your readers a lesson. Make their faith a part of who your characters are and the rest will follow. And always, always, read. Read to learn and to enjoy. Just read. 

Marilee thank you for taking the time to answer these questions. It is great to get to know a bit more about you and your writing process. If you have not read any books by Marilee I highly recommend them, and hope this interview entices you to give them a try. If you have read her books, like me I am sure you are eagerly anticipating new releases to come.

Books by Marilee Haynes:
a.k.a. Genius
Genius Under Construction
Pictures of Me


Author profile and interview with Marilee Haynes.







Friday, 31 March 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2017

This is my best quarter for reading that I can recall, 100 Books between January 1st and March 31st 2017. Of the hundred read 57 received 5 out of 5 stars so narrowing this list down to 10 Fiction and 10 Non-Fiction was not an easy task. But of the 39 Non-Fiction and 18 fiction are as follows. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
2. 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers
3. Marrying the Rosary to the Divine Mercy Chaplet - Shane Kapler
4. A Man Who Knew How to Forgive - Francesc Faus
5. Choosing Happiness: Working Within - Francisco Ugarte
6. Sermons of St. Francis de Sales for Lent - St. Francis de Sales
7. The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity - Taylor R. Marshall - The Origins of Catholicism Book 2
8. The Deacon Reader - James Keating
9. Consoling the Heart of Jesus: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat Inspired by the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius - Michael E. Gaitley
10. How to Read Your Way to Heaven - Vicki Burbach

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Patrick and the Fire - Cornelia Mary Blinsky and Maggie Coburn
2. 7 Riddles to Nowhere - A.J. Cattapan
3. The Strangers at the Manger - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 5
4. Pictures of Me - Marilee Haynes
5. Bane's Eyes - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Book 4
6. a.k.a. Genius - Marilee Haynes
7. Brigid and the Butter - Pamela Love and Apryl Stott
8. Saving Faith - T.M. Gaouette - Faith & Kung Fu Book 2
9. Hit the Ground Running - Mark Burley
10. The Ideas of March: A Short Story - Barry Lyga

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

100 - 2017 January-March
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996



Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Pictures of Me - Marilee Haynes

Pictures of Me
Marilee Haynes
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819860194

eISBN 9780819860200
ASIN B01AH4DODI



This was the second book by Marilee Hayes that I have read in as many weeks. I absolutely love her writing style. She writes in the style of realistic fiction, no fantasy, no science fiction, no super powers, but good clean down to earth stories. Over the last year I have read almost 20 books by Andrew Clements, he writes in a very similar style, realistic fiction, and most of his books teach a lesson in subtle ways. Haynes writing is much like Clements but with the Catholic undertones that just take the stories a little deeper. This story could be about kids you know, in your family or at your parish. The story is realistic, relevant and just an excellent read!

There are 48 days until the end of the school year. Annie, an eleven year old, must complete a self-portrait project for her end of the year project. But two of the girls in her class are bullies and seem intent on being mean to just about everyone. There is a new girl in class, Lacey, but Annie cannot seem to figure her out. Annie feels like it is all going sideways on her. And on top of that her best friend is having problems at home, and Annie seems to be missing the marks on the friendship front. 

In this story we encounter bullying, dealing with embarrassment, family problems and more. And Haynes does it in such a way that you are drawn in and really care about the characters.  And the group study questions at the end of the book can make this a great tool for working through at home or in the classroom. And while the setting in the book is a Catholic school, I really believe that an Christian, or really anyone who interacts with young people could find a place to use this book with the children in their lives.

My only real regret with this book is that to date Haynes only has three books in print! I wish there were more books I could read and pick up for our church and school libraries. But hopefully soon we will have more from this emerging author. This was an outstanding read about friendship, faith, finding your place, and finding your voice to be able to express who you are. I loved reading this and cannot wait to read it with my younger children as they get a little older. This is one of the best middle grade books I have read in years! 


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Marilee Haynes:
a.k.a. Genius
Genius Under Construction
Pictures of Me


Author profile and interview with Marilee Haynes.






Thursday, 9 March 2017

a.k.a. Genius - Marilee Haynes

a.k.a. Genius
Marilee Haynes
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819808301
eISBN 9780819808325
ASIN B00E0U8788



This book was my introduction to the writings of Marilee Haynes, but it will not be the last. It was an awesome little read. This book is in the genre I consider realistic fiction. No fantasy, no super powers, and no science fiction; just down to earth stories. This book could be about kids you have, or kids you know. It could happen in the School down the read from where you live. This was an awesome middle grade read!

The story is about Gabe, and about friendship, and about family.  Gabe is Thirteen years old and he is just like other middle grade students. He attends St. Jude Academy; he does well at school, and not so well at sports. He has two best friends, well really he has two friends. His best friends are Lincoln Jefferson Truman, aka Linc and his other best friend is Maya Ling. But all of that changes when the school does some standardized tests and Gabe is called out as a genius and scores the best for the whole school. This causes him a whole lot of problems. First not being athletic and not being cool, he tried to go unnoticed at School. And now Mya is mad at him and he cannot figure out why. They also get moved into an enrichment program at the school. Life at St. Jude's has become very complicated for Gabe, prior to the testing his biggest problem was that he had to carry around all his school books because he can never get his locker to open. Now that he is a genius his mom commits him to tutoring Becca Piccarelli, the girl he has a crush on. He can barely face her, how will he tutor her. And on top of that his own father doesn't pick him for the family thanksgiving basketball challenge. How many more things can go wrong for Gabe in one semester?

This book was a really fun read. It has great characters. It really captures aspects of family life, and school life. The book deals with self-acceptance, being different, friendship and more. And it is all written with a generous dose of humour. I loved Haynes writing so much I already started another of her books before getting to sit down and write this review. The writing was so engaging I could barely put the book down. It was one of those times where I kept saying one more chapter, one more chapter and the next thing I knew the book was finished.

This book is an awesome read! Friendships, faith and fun all rolled up in one.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Marilee Haynes:
a.k.a. Genius
Genius Under Construction
Pictures of Me


Author profile and interview with Marilee Haynes.







Sunday, 1 January 2017

Catholic Reading List 2017

Catholic Reading List 2017



At the beginning of the year in 2016 I created a reading list of Catholic books I wanted to finish. I called it a A Year Of Reading Intention – Catholic Reading. I started with 32 books on this list. But the list kept growing both from recommendations from others and from the books being read. Including a few Catholic fiction books I managed to read 73 Catholic books over the year, and review most of them. So continuing the new tradition here is my 2017 reading list:


1001 Reasons Why It's Great to be Catholic! - Robert M. Haddad
20 Answers Mary - Tim Staples

20 Answers Miracles - Karlo Broussard
20 Answers The Papacy - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers the Eucharist - Trent Horn
20 Answers God - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Sacraments - Fr. Mike Driscoll
20 Answers Salvation - Jimmy Akin
20 Answers End of Life Issues - Jason Negri
20 Answers Divorce and Remarriage - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers Death and Judgement - Trent Horn
20 Answers Islam - Andrew Bieszad
20 Answers Faith and Science - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Real Jesus - Trent Horn
20 Answers Scripture and Tradition - Jim BlackBurn
20 Answers Abortion - Trent Horn
20 Answers Angels and Demons - Fr. Mike Driscoll
20 Answers Witchcraft & the Occult - Michelle Arnold
20 Answers The Bible - Trent Horn
20 Answers Atheism - Matt Fradd
20 Answers The Church - Trent Horn
...
Abandonment to Divine Providence - Jean-Pierre de Caussade
A Daily Defense: 365 Days (Plus One) to becoming a Better Apologist - Jimmy Akin
A Donkey at the Waterwheel - Malcolm M. Kennedy
A Friar's Tale - John Collins
Advent Meditations with Fulton J. Sheen
A Landscape With Dragons: The Battle for Your Child's Mind - Michael O'Brien
A Man Cleansed by God - John E. Beahm

A Man Who Knew How to Forgive - Francesc Faus
A Practical Guide to Discern God's Will - Philip Kosloski

Abandonment to Divine Providence - Jean Pierre de Caussade
Back to the Basics - Oliver Tuazon and Roque Carballo
Be Holy A Catholics Guide to the Spiritual Life - Thomas G. Morrow
Beautiful Hope -  Matthew Kelly, Pope Frances, et al.
Behold Your Mother - Tim Staples
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati: An Ordinary Christian -Maria Amata Di Lorenzo and Robert Ventresca

Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit - Ana Maria Vasquez and Jennings Dean
Catholic & Christian - Alan Schreck
Catholic Book of Character, The - Fr. Edward Garesche
Champions of the Rosary - Donald H. Calloway - The History and Heroes of a Spiritual Weapon

Children of the Last Days - Michael O'Brien
Choosing Happiness: Working Within - Francisco Ugarte

Church Militant Field Manual - Richard Heilman
Cultivating Virtue: Self-Mastery with the Saints - Anonymous
Divine Renovation - James Mallon

DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth - YOUCAT
Docilitas: On Teaching and Being Taught - James Schall
Every Man's Journey - James P. Campbell
Faith Hope Love - Josef Pieper
Father The Family Protector - James B. Stenson
Fatima: The Apparition That Changed the World - Jean M. Heimann 

From Slave To Priest - Sr. Caroline Hemesath
The Incorruptibles - Joan Carroll Cruz
Full Armor of God, The. Defending Your Life From Satan’s Schemes - Larry Richards
God or Nothing - Cardinal Robert Sarah
God Who Loves, The - Shane Kapler
God's Healing Mercy - Kathleen Beckman
God's World and Our Place In It - Fulton J. Sheen
Happy Are You Poor: The Simple Life and Spiritual Freedom -  Father Thomas Dubay
Happy Catholic - Julie Davis

Holy Desperation: Praying as If Your Life Depends on It - Heather King
How to Become A Heroic Catholic - Catherine Stewart

How to Read Your Way to Heaven - Vicki Burbach
How To Book of Catholic Devotions, The Second Edition - Mike Aqulina and Regis J. Flaherty
In Conversation With God Volume 1 Part 2 Christmas and Epiphany - Francis Fernandez
In Conversation With God Volume 3 Part 1 Ordinary Time Weeks 1-6 - Francis Fernandez

In Conversation With God Volume 6 Part 1 Special Feasts January to March - Francis Fernandez
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady - Zerlina De Santis
Life's Greatest Lesson - Allen Hunt
Live Well Today - Fr. Thomas Dailey
Love Is Patient, But I'm Not - Christopher West

Man Up - Jared Zimmerer
Manual for Marian Devotion - The Dominican Sisters of Mary

Marrying the Rosary to the Divine Mercy Chaplet - Shane Kapler
Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy Missionary Handbook - Michael E. Gaitley

Memorize the Mass - Kevin Vost
Mitt Brennender Sorge On the Church and the German Reich - Pope Pius XI

Navigating the Interior Life. Spiritual Direction and the Journey to God- Daniel Burke and Fr. John BartuneK
Norms of Piety A Plan for Everyday Living - J.M. Muntadas
Oscar Romero: Prophet of Hope - Roberto Morozzo della Rocca

Praying the Rosary Like Never Before: Encounter the Wonder of Heaven and Earth - Edward Sri
Pierced by a Sword - Bud Macfarlane Jr. T
Praying the Angelus Find Joy, Peace, and Purpose in Everyday Life - Jared Dees
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion - Matthew Kelly
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer - Matthew Kelly
Reform Yourself! : How to Pray, Find Peace, and Grow in Faith with the Saints of the Counter-Reformation - Shaun McAfee
Rosarium Virginis Mariae On The Most Holy Rosary - Pope John Paul II
Roses Among Thorns - St. Francis de Sales

Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You - Matthew Kelly
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé and Cathy Morrison
Saint Teresa of Kolkata Missionary of Charity - Mary Kathleen Glavich and Barbara Kiwak
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé and Cathy Morrison
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants - Laura Rhoderica Brown
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light - Margaret Charles Kerry and Mary Elizabeth Tebo 
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha Courageous Faith - Lillian M. Fisher
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer - Elizabeth Marie DeDomenico
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young - Emily Beata Marsh  
Saint Damien of Molokai: Hero of Hawaii - Virginia Helen Richards, D. Thomas Halpin and Anne Bergstrom 
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross - Mary Lee Hill and Mari Goering
Seeking Christ in Reading - Rev. Eugene Boylan 
Seven Words of Jesus and Mary Lessons on Cana and Calvary - Fulton J. Sheen
Seven Words of Jesus and Mary - Fulton J. Sheen
Stop Worrying and Start Living 365 Daily Readings - Gary Zimak

Sermons of St. Francis de Sales For Lent - Francis de Sales
Station to Station - Gary Jansen
Saint Clare of Assisi: Runaway Rich Girl - Kim Hee-Ju
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto - Anne Eileen Heffernan and Patricia Edward
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life - Susan Helen Wallace and Patricia Edward Jablonski
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle - Mary Lea Hill & Matthew Archambault
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier - Susan Helen Wallace and Ray Morelli
St. Paul - Mitch Pacwa 
Ten: How the Ten Commandments Can Change Your life - Mary Elizabeth Sperry
The Archbishop and I: My Childhood Friend Fulton J. Sheen - Margo Weber Nassar
The Body Under the Bridge  - Paul McCusker
The Catholic Guide to Loneliness - Dr. Kevin Vost
The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity - Taylor R. Marshall
The Deacon Reader - James Keating
The Golden Thread - Louis de Wohl
The Great Adventure - Jeff Cavins

The Grunt Padre: Father Vincent Robert Capodanno Vietnam 1966-1967 - Daniel L. Mode
The Holy Spirit - Mitch Pacwa
The Last Monks of Skellig Michael - Philip Kosloski

The Life of St. Christopher Quest for a King - Lee Hyoun-ju and Kyung Hee Yoon
The Miracle of Father Kapaun: Priest, Soldier and Korean War Hero - Roy Wenzl and Travis Heying
The Old Evangelization: How to Spread the Faith Like Jesus Did - Eric Sammons
The Perfect Joy of Saint Francis - Felix Timmerman
The Priest Barracks: Dachau 1938 – 1945 - Guillaume Zeller
The Rhythm of Life - Matthew Kelly
The Saints Pray for Us - Encounter the Saints 
The Secret Life of John Paul II - Lino Zani
The Way of the Heart - Henri Nouwen
Theology for Beginners - Frank Sheed

Thirsting for Prayer - Jacques Philippe
This Tremendous Lover - Eugene Boylan
To Be A Man - James B. Stenson
Truth Be Told - Mark Hart
Way of the Cross - Saint Josemaria Escriva

Why the Eucharist Matters - Chris Padgett
Why I Am Catholic (and You Should Be Too) Brandon Vogt
Why We're Catholic - Trent Horn
Way of Wonder: Wisdom from G.K. Chesterton
You're Amazing: A Message of Hope That Will Change Your Life Forever - Justin Fatica

Your Life in the Holy Spirit - Dr. Alan Schreck

Fiction:
The Strangers at the Manger - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower

Bane's Eyes - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Book 4
Angelhood - A.J. Cattapan
7 Riddles to Nowhere - A.J. Cattapan
I Thirst - Gina Marinello-Sweeney - Veritas Chronicles Book 1 
Saving Faith - T.M. Gaouette - Faith and Kung Fu Book 2
a.k.a. Genius - Marilee Haynes
Patrick and the Fire - Cornelia Mary Bilinsky and Maggie Coburn
Brigid and the Butter - Pamela Love and Apryl Stott
Pictures of Me - Marilee Haynes
Saint Magnus The Last Viking - Susan Peek
Genius Under Constriction - Marilee Haynes
Quetzalcoatl's Zahir - Manuel Alfonseca
The Shop of Ghosts - G.K. Chesterton
The Secret of the Shamrock - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower
The King's Prey: Saint Dymphna of Ireland - Susan Peek
The Mystery of the Haunted House - Manual Alfonseca
Spokes - Deanna K. Klingel
8 Notes to a Nobody - Cynthia T. Toney
A Single Bead - Stephanie Engelman 
Chasing Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 1
Three Days: The Search for the Boy Messiah - Chris Stepien
The Profession - Eric Sammons
Roland West, Loner - Theresa Linden
Crusader King: A Novel of Baldwin IV and the Crusades - Susan Peek
The Sign of the Carved Cross - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower
The Relic of Perilous Falls - Raymond Arroyo - Will Wilder Book 1
Prince Martin Wins His Sword - Brandon Hale and Jason Zimdars
Standing Strong - Theresa Linden
10 Steps to Girlfriend Status - Cynthia T. Toney
The Mystery of the Sapphire Bracelet - Manuel Alfonseca
Beyond the Black Hole - Manuel Alfonseca
Nicholas Gilroy: Our Lady and the Guardian - Father Stephen and Deacon George
The Mystery of the Honeymoon - Manuel Alfonseca
Drive! - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 1
Storm of Fire and Blood - Taylor R. Marshall 
Julia's Gifts - Ellen Gable
The Arrow Bringer -Lisa Mayer
Brothers - Corinna Turner - I am Margaret 0.5
Dying for Compassion - Barbara Golder
The Mystery of the Egyptian Vulture Country House - ManuelAlfonseca
Dying for Revenge - Barbara Golder
Margo's Diary & Notebook - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Companion
...

I am starting with 51 books on the list and it will likely grow, as 19 of these are carry over from the list that grew last year Looking forward to the challenge. And also reading the Catechism in a year. I was also asked to come up with a Top 10 Catholic Books List, not an easy task.