--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/MatthewKelly As it appears live September 19, 2020 3:48:29 PM UTC

Showing posts with label MatthewKelly. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MatthewKelly. Show all posts

Thursday, 10 September 2020

I Heard God Laugh - Matthew Kelly - A Practical Guide to Life's Essential Daily Habit

I Heard God Laugh
A Practical Guide to Life's Essential Daily Habit
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635821383
eISBN 9781635821390
ASIN B088TRCVMV


Over the last 6 years I have read books by Matthew Kelly 29 times, and that does not count some of his children’s books that have been read many times over.  I am always excited when a new volume from Matthew is coming out, and eagerly await its release. This was the second of two that released around the same time, the other being Coach 365 Days of Inspiration for Coaches and Players. Next to Rediscover the Saints, this is my favorite book by Matthew Kelly, that I have read to date. This is one of those books that every Catholic, nay every Christian could benefit from reading. It is a fantastic read, and as soon as I finished it, I put but in my 'to be read pile'. It will be a book I know I will return to again and again. The description of this volume is:

“Is Your Life Working? Most of us are trying to put together the jigsaw puzzle we call life without a very important piece. Over time this becomes incredibly frustrating. In this extraordinary book, Matthew Kelly powerfully demonstrates that we cannot live the life we have imagined, or experience the joy we yearn for, unless we learn to tend the soul. From there, with his classic style of practical wisdom, he teaches us how to remedy this problem.

When our bodies are hungry, our stomachs growl. When our souls are hungry, we become irritable, restless, confused, overwhelmed, exhausted, anxious, discontent, and tend to focus on the things that matter least and neglect the things that matter most.”

I highlighted several passages on my first reading of this volume and some of them are:

“We cannot live without the hope that things will change for the better, and we are not victims of our circumstances.”

“You are who and what you are still capable of becoming. You are your realized and unrealized potential. God sees you and all your potential, and he aches to see you embrace your best, truest, highest self. He yearns to help you and to accompany you in that quest.”

“Wherever you are, whatever you’re feeling, however life has surprised and disappointed you, I want to remind you of one thing: The best is yet to come! There are times in life when this is easier or harder to believe, but the best is truly yet to come.”

“The essential piece most people are missing is a vibrant spirituality.”

Nothing will change your life so completely, absolutely, and forever like learning how to really pray. In prayer we learn who we are and what we are here for, what matters most and what matters least. Through prayer we discover the-best-version-of-ourselves, and are given the courage to celebrate and defend it in each moment of each day. In prayer we learn how to love and be loved, because we discover that we have been loved, are loved, and will continually be loved by God.”

“If you truly want to seek and find these answers, this is work for the soul. These are matters that are between you and God.”

“The essential practical virtue of prayer is patience—which is also the essential practical virtue in all relationships.”

“I am often asked: “Why do you pray?” I pray because I cannot thrive without it.”

Those few samples will give you an idea of the worth of this volume. This is a book about making prayer central to your whole life. It teaches, it encourages, and it challenges it. Matthew outlines:

The Prayer Process:
1. Gratitude
2. Awareness
3. Significant Moments
4. Peace
5. Freedom
6. Others
7. Finish

The book also contains the prayer of surrender. The chapters in this volume are:

Part One: The Unexpected Life 
A Question to Begin 
The Missing Piece 
The Habit 
The Promise of This Book 
Finding Your Reason 
Habit and Potential 
The Challenge 
Soul Note 

Part Two: My Spiritual Journey 
The Invitation: Ten Minutes a Day 
The First Surrender 
The Day My Life Changed Forever 
My Hope for You 
Soul Note 

Part Three: Life’s Essential Habit 
Teach Us to Pray 
Sharing the Joy 
The Prayer Process 
Your Best Days 
The Basics What Is Your Image of God? 
There Is Power in a Name 
Begin Today 
Soul Note 

Part Four: Six Powerful Spiritual Lessons 
The Longest Journey 
Six Seismic Shifts 
The First Shift: Begin the Conversation 
The Second Shift: Ask God What He Wants 
The Third Shift: Give Yourself to Prayer 
The Fourth Shift: Transform Everything into Prayer 
The Fifth Shift: Make Yourself Available 
The Sixth Shift: Just Keep Showing Up! 
Six Life-Changing Awakenings 
Soul Note 

Part Five: The God Who Gave Us Laughter 
Does God Have a Sense of Humor? 
I Heard God Laugh 
The Deep Waters 
The Delight of God 
Busy Is Not Your Friend 
Soul Note 
Epilogue: Do You Hear That?

This is one of those books I wish I could put in the hands of all my friends. A book I would love to have given to my daughter’s grade 8 graduation class last year. And especially in 2002 it is a book many of us would benefit from reading. I strongly encourage you to order 2 copies of this book, one for yourself and one to pass on.

This book is one of Kelly’s best and one all Christians should read!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
I Heard God Laugh: A Practical Guide to Life's 

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality
...



Thursday, 3 September 2020

Coach 365 Days of Inspiration for Coaches and Players - Matthew Kelly

Coach 365 Days of Inspiration for Coaches and Players
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635821499
eISBN 9781635821482
ASIN B087JXQ738
Over the last 6 years I have read books by Matthew Kelly 28 times, and that does not count some of his children’s books that have been read many times over.  I am always excited when a new volume from Matthew is coming out, and eagerly await its release. This was the first of two that released around the same time, the other being I Heard God Laugh: A Practical Guide to Life's Essential Daily Habit. In some ways this book reminds me a lot of Kelly’s books In A World Where You Can be Anything ... and The Book Of Courage. All three are collections of quotes. This volume has a quote a day for the year, including February 29th.

Both May 29th and 31st have the same quite:

“If everyone in my locker room is bright, smart, motivated and a team player, we have a chance to beat anyone that we play.”
     -David Shaw
     -Head football Coach

And the quotes on January 7th and September 23rd are almost identical:

“Today, do what others won’t so tomorrow you can accomplish what others can’t.”
     -Simon Biles
     -U.S. Olympic Gymnast

and 

“Today I will do what others won’t, so tomorrow I can accomplish what others can’t.”
     -Jerry Rice
     -NFL Player

So with the duplicate and the near identical you end up with 364 motivational quotes. The quotes are great. There are a few sources that surprised me. With his fall from grace a quote from Lance Armstrong was surprising to encounter. But assuming it is the whole speck and log thing. There is a great introduction by Matthew Kelly that ends with:

“An adequate coach teaches. A good coach leads. A great coach inspires. The best coaches love.
     You are a coach. What kind of coach will you be?”

And that introduction begins with:

“You are a coach. Weather you’re aware of it or now, you are a coach. How do I know? Because everyone is a coach. You may not wear a uniform and give signals from third base. You may not draft up plays and give post-dame interviews. You may not even follow sports. But You are a coach.
     Everyone is a coach.
     And everyone needs coaching.”

And this book provides some great motivation. This is one of those books that can be given to new graduates. Found in a business library. Or even as a bathroom reader. But I feel is falls just short of the mark. It is a good book but it could have been a great book. The two things I feel it was missing to make it great, would have been a conclusion by Kelly tying it back together for us as those being coached and coaching. And an index. It could use an index of contributors.

It is a good read. My son who is only 13 has already asked me to read it when I finish. It will be popular. And a great gift book for years to come. Another excellent motivation volume compiled by Matthew Kelly!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
I Heard God Laugh: A Practical Guide to Life's 

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality
...



Monday, 20 January 2020

In A World Where You Can Be Anything … - Matthew Kelly

In A World Where You Can Be Anything …
Matthew Kelly
Blue Sparrow Publishing 
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781635820928


Over the last 5 years I have read books by Matthew Kelly 25 times, and that does not count some of his children’s books that have been read many times over.  I am always excited when a new volume from Matthew is coming out, and eagerly await it’s release. The last one I read as a new release was Rediscover the Saints, and it was an incredible read. This one reminds me in some ways of Kelly’s The Book of Courage. Some of Kelly’s works are for business and some are for Catholics.  This one feels like it is trying to split the difference. I feel that there are many great points and some that miss the mark. 

The text on the back cover is the beginning of the introduction. The introduction ends with:

“We are people of possibility. Most possibilities are unseen and unexplored, but it’s time to change that. In a world where you can be anything … be…”

What follows is 148 pages of facing pages with “In a world where you can be anything …” on one side and on the other a word of phrase. The book is printer on heavier stock paper. The pages alternate between a white, and aqua and a navy. This is one of those books that will become popular for grads of high school and university. It will be given as gifts. It will sit on coffee tables and offices, and bathroom reading racks. In Some ways it reminds me of the H. Jackson Brown Jr’s Life’s Little Instruction Book’s my dad had many of them in the washroom over the years you could flip them open anywhere and start reading. You can read from beginning to end. With this one you could even read from end to beginning. It only took about 15 minutes to read through it the first time and that was with reading the whole back cover, the introduction and the afterword.

I love most of the books from Kelly that I have read. And I did enjoy this one. I was just expecting a little more. But as mentioned this book will make a great gift, and can be flipped through from time to time as a reminder, to become the best version of yourself, and to be open to the possibilities.








Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
...

Rediscover Books by Matthew Kelly:
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose
Rediscover Advent
Rediscover Lent
Rediscover Jesus: An Invitation
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer
Rediscover the Saints

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality







Saturday, 11 January 2020

Good Night, Jesus - Matthew Kelly and Josh Nash

Good Night, Jesus
Matthew Kelly
Josh Nash (Illustrator)
Wellspring Publishing
formerly
Beacon Publishing for
Dynamic Catholic
ISBN 9781929266869


My children and I have read Why Am I Here?, by Matthew Kelly countless times. They will often ask to read it, we have lent it to our school, and purchased a copy for the teachers resource section. And this is a book we have wanted to read for years. The day it arrived, as soon as they were home from school my children wanted to read it. First my youngest read it to me, and then later my middle child read it to me. And we have decided to give it to friends who are expecting their first child.

This is a wonderful little board book on prayer. And specifically on ending the day in prayer. There are 16 pages. Some are prayer, some are prayer prompts , and some are suggestions of things to pray for. Both children loved the … where they could fill in their own prayers.

The illustrations in this volume are wonderful. Both children though well beyond board books loved this volume and especially the illustrations. A softer pastel pallet is used, but there is also great details in the art work.

It is an excellent early prayer book for children. If we had this when our three were younger it would have been read hundreds of not thousands of times by now. This is a wonderful little volume. That is a book we will want to keep copies of on hand to be able to give away when young children visit and for friends who have new children.

Another amazing read from Matthew Kelly.







Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Matthew Kelly:
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
The One Thing
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Hope
Beautiful Mercy
The Biggest Lie in the History of Christianity
Why I Love Being Catholic
Good Night, Jesus
In a world where you can be anything ...
...

Rediscover Books by Matthew Kelly:
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose
Rediscover Advent
Rediscover Lent
Rediscover Jesus: An Invitation
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer
Rediscover the Saints

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality











Monday, 30 December 2019

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019

This year was a banner year, I read 392 books. The most since I started keeping track. The year by the numbers:

392 Books Read
311 Books read for the first time.
204 received 5/5 Stars.
194 Non-Fiction
198 Fiction

Here are my top ten non-fiction books of 2019.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Rediscover the Saints - Matthew Kelly
3. Remember Your Death Memento Mori - Theresa Aletheia Noble
4. Illustrissimi: The Letters Of Pope John Paul I - Albino Luciani - Pope John Paul I
5. Books by Father Nigel Woollen
6. CTS Saints of the Isles 
7. Mike Aquilina Take Five Series
8. How to Make Great Decisions - Fr. Mike Schmitz
9. Reclaiming Catholic History Series
10. Life Lessons Fifty Things I Learned in My First Fifty Years - Patrick Madrid 

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. Which I attribute in part to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. It was not easy narrowing this down to a top 10, but the above list is what I came up with.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list.  


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996