--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/MichaelEGaitley As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:20:01 PM UTC

Showing posts with label MichaelEGaitley. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MichaelEGaitley. Show all posts

Monday, 27 February 2017

Lenten Reading 2017

Lenten Reading 2017

This year I am changing it up a bit. I am not doing any devotions that are year specific for 2017. I have chosen 3 daily reading books, one for morning, one for afternoon and one for evening. I have also chosen 1 audio resource and my last selection this year for lent if the Catholic Answers 20 Book Challenge.



Francis Fernandez
ISBN 0906138205
Scepter Press
ISBN 0906138191
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 1 Lent and Holy Week
ASIN B006GHNB66
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 2 Eastertide
ASIN B006IGQL0I

This volume spans the time from Ash Wednesday to Pentecost Sunday. Therefore this book will lead you through Lent, Easter and the 5 weeks of Easter leading up to Pentecost. If you cannot afford the whole set, start with this volume and the Advent and Christmastide volume, then add the others over time. It is usually cheaper to buy the boxed set but sometimes that amount of money is not available up front. You can read my full review of this book here. And these are now available in ebooks. The eBook edition is split into 2 volumes.


Daybreaks: Daily Reflections for Lent and Easter 
ISBN 9780764826870
ASIN B01N4QF53K

I have read Amy's Reconciled to God Daily Lenten Devotionsand her contributions in other devotionls. I am looking forward to reading this new offering from her. The Description of this volume is "This Lent and Easter season, author Amy Welborn shares her own struggles and triumphs of trying to live Lent and Easter spirituality year-round. She shares how small moments of frustration can turn into small lessons of grace. We carry our own crosses alongside Jesus this season. But as we drop worldly concerns to pick up our cross, we may realize our burden has actually been lightened."



40 Days to Mercy:
A Jubilee Year Lenten Devotion
Michael Gaitley
ISBN 9781596143364

This devotion was written for a specific year, last year in fact. But I did not really get into Father Gaitley's writings until after that point. I will be doing book the book and audio version of this devotion.



This series comprises 20 Books, 20 Topics, and 20 Questions on different aspects of Catholicism or Catholic answers to other religions. I recently read a challenge to read all 20 books in this series over lent. I was originally planning on reading them over a year, but after reading this volume I am up for the challenge. To read them all over lent would be about 25 pages of reading a day. Here is the list of books in this series.

So As you can see between doing the Exodus 90 and the above reading it might be a pretty good thing that I gave up TV as part of the Exodus 90. Looking forward to growing through discipline this lent. 



Sunday, 8 January 2017

Top Ten Catholic Books, plus a few other great reads!


Top Ten Catholic Books, plus a few other great reads!


I was recently really pushed to pick my Top Ten Catholic Books. It was not an easy decision. There are a lot of great books out there which is why I do a Top Ten Non-Fiction each quarter and each year. Matthew Kelly in many of his books mentions that he had a shelf at home with his 30 favourite books, his go to reads. But he only publishes his top ten list, because the other 20 books change occasionally. It took a long time to come up with this list and I have been thinking about it for a whole week now. So here are my Top 10 Catholic Books and a few non catholic books that are excellent and that I go back to often.

1. The Bible - My three preferred versions are:
a. The Jerusalem Bible (Love reading this edition)
b. The Saint Jerome Study Bible
c. Didache Study Bible
2. Catechism
a. I Prefer the US version over the Canadian Version, especially in ebook format. The US edition moves the links and references to the end of the chapters.
3. The Way, Furrow and Forge by Saint Josemaria Escriva the three in one edition is excellent and you always get to keep them with you. Can be read from beginning to end, use the topical index or just randomly flip open and read. I keep one on my desk at work and one at home.
4. In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez - 7 Volume Set Daily Devotions following the church year and 2 volumes of special feasts. I have reviewed all 7 volumes and am currently planning on theviewing the new split ebook editions.
5. Handbook of Prayers by: Rev. James Socias General Editor - excellent book. I have copies at work, home and in my backpack. I also now have the ebook and always have it with me.

6. 33 Days to Morning Glory: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in Preparation for Marian Consecration - Michael E. Gaitley
7. The Manual For Spiritual Warfare - Paul Thigpen an excellent resource.
8. In the School of the Holy Spirit - Jacques Philippe thought almost any book by Father Philippe will bless your spiritual life.
9. Unearthing Your Ten Talents - Dr. Kevin Vost, great jumping off point.
10. Resisting Happiness - Matthew Kelly

11. God is Not Reasonable - Irma Zaleski, really opened my eyes at a specific point in time.
( I could not get it down to just 10!)

Though to be honest any books by Escriva, Vost, Philippe, Matthew Kelly, Paul Thigpen, and Michael Gaitley would be a great read.

A few Non-Catholic Books that I read again most years are:

1. Jacob the Baker - Noah benShea
2. Bench Press - Sven Linqvist
3. The Closing of the American Mind - Allan Bloom
4. Bench Press - Sven Linqvist
5. As You Think - James Allen

So there you have it 15 books that can change your life.


Update 
December 2017: I would add:
Love Is Patient, But I'm Not - Christopher West
November 2019 added:
Learning to Love: Journeys Through Life with the Rosary - Father Nigel Woollen
December 2019 added:
Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things- Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP
January 2020 added:
Spiritual Warfare and the Discernment of Spirits - Dan Burke
...



Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Missionary Handbook Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy - Michael E. Gaitley

Missionary Handbook
Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy 
Michael E. Gaitley
Marian Press
ISBN 9781596143388



My introduction to Father Michael E. Gaitley's writing last year was his contribution to Beautiful Mercy edited by Matthew Kelly. Since that time I have read five books by him and plan on reading the rest. His writing style is very engaging. It is easy to read his books, his passion for the subjects of Marian Consecration and Divine Mercy are highly contagious. And in many ways this book is a synthesis of all of his other works. But in this small volume Father Gaitley pack's a lot of punch. 

As is obvious by the title the main purpose of the book is as a Missionary Handbook, focusing on the Identify, Spirituality, Missions, Essential Formation, and Plan of Life for the Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy (MMDM). The book is available for free through their website you just have to pay shipping and handling. 

The Sections in the book are:
Part One: MMDM Identity, Spirituality, Mission
The Basics
Level One Participation (M1)
Level Two Participation (M2)
Level Three Participation (M3)
Part Two: Essentials of Formation
The Super-Concept of Communion
Marian Consecration
Divine Mercy
Part Three: Plan of Life
Outline
The Details
Cheat Sheets
Conclusion: the MMDM Commitment

This book makes extensive reference to 5 of Michael's other books. It also Focuses on the HAPP Hearts Afire Parish-based Programs. In the introduction Father Gaitley states: "Alright, so whether you've already completed HAPP, read all the books, or are just getting started, whether you're already a Marian Missionary, want to join, or are still thinking about it - this handbook is for you. May it bless you during the present time of mercy for the Church and the world, a time of grace that we'll learn about in Part one." If you are already a fan of Father Gaitley's work you will love this book. If you have not done any of his book or DVD teaching series this book will be an amazing overview of his teachings. Having worked through two of his retreat books with groups I can say that any of his writings will enhance your spiritual life. But this booklet pulls it all together; the key prayers, the Plan of Life, the why. All bound tightly in fewer than 130 pages of text. 

This book would also be great for anyone wanting a quick overview of Marian Spirituality. With specific focus on consecration to Mary and the Divine Mercy practice. This is an incredible book and as mentioned you can get it for free! So why would you not give it a read and see what impact it can have on your spiritual life!

Books by Michael E. Gaitley:
33 Days to Morning Glory
33 Days to Merciful Love
40 Days to Mercy
Consoling the Heart of Jesus
Divine Mercy Explained
The Divine Mercy Image Explained
The One Thing Is Three
The Second Greatest Story Ever Told
You Did It To Me
Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy Missionary Handbook
Nine Days to Joseph: A Novena in Preparation for Consecration to St. Joseph

DVD Series by Father Michael E. Gaitley:
Divine Mercy In The Second Greatest Story Ever Told
You Did It to Me: Putting Mercy Into Action
33 Days to Morning Glory - Group Retreat
Consoling The Heart Of Jesus - Group Retreat
Wisdom And Works Of Mercy - Group Study Dvd

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Divine Mercy for Moms

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Sunday, 1 January 2017

Catholic Reading List 2017

Catholic Reading List 2017



At the beginning of the year in 2016 I created a reading list of Catholic books I wanted to finish. I called it a A Year Of Reading Intention – Catholic Reading. I started with 32 books on this list. But the list kept growing both from recommendations from others and from the books being read. Including a few Catholic fiction books I managed to read 73 Catholic books over the year, and review most of them. So continuing the new tradition here is my 2017 reading list:


1001 Reasons Why It's Great to be Catholic! - Robert M. Haddad
20 Answers Mary - Tim Staples

20 Answers Miracles - Karlo Broussard
20 Answers The Papacy - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers the Eucharist - Trent Horn
20 Answers God - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Sacraments - Fr. Mike Driscoll
20 Answers Salvation - Jimmy Akin
20 Answers End of Life Issues - Jason Negri
20 Answers Divorce and Remarriage - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers Death and Judgement - Trent Horn
20 Answers Islam - Andrew Bieszad
20 Answers Faith and Science - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Real Jesus - Trent Horn
20 Answers Scripture and Tradition - Jim BlackBurn
20 Answers Abortion - Trent Horn
20 Answers Angels and Demons - Fr. Mike Driscoll
20 Answers Witchcraft & the Occult - Michelle Arnold
20 Answers The Bible - Trent Horn
20 Answers Atheism - Matt Fradd
20 Answers The Church - Trent Horn
...
Abandonment to Divine Providence - Jean-Pierre de Caussade
A Daily Defense: 365 Days (Plus One) to becoming a Better Apologist - Jimmy Akin
A Donkey at the Waterwheel - Malcolm M. Kennedy
A Friar's Tale - John Collins
Advent Meditations with Fulton J. Sheen
A Landscape With Dragons: The Battle for Your Child's Mind - Michael O'Brien
A Man Cleansed by God - John E. Beahm

A Man Who Knew How to Forgive - Francesc Faus
A Practical Guide to Discern God's Will - Philip Kosloski

Abandonment to Divine Providence - Jean Pierre de Caussade
Back to the Basics - Oliver Tuazon and Roque Carballo
Be Holy A Catholics Guide to the Spiritual Life - Thomas G. Morrow
Beautiful Hope -  Matthew Kelly, Pope Frances, et al.
Behold Your Mother - Tim Staples
Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati: An Ordinary Christian -Maria Amata Di Lorenzo and Robert Ventresca

Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati Journey to the Summit - Ana Maria Vasquez and Jennings Dean
Catholic & Christian - Alan Schreck
Catholic Book of Character, The - Fr. Edward Garesche
Champions of the Rosary - Donald H. Calloway - The History and Heroes of a Spiritual Weapon

Children of the Last Days - Michael O'Brien
Choosing Happiness: Working Within - Francisco Ugarte

Church Militant Field Manual - Richard Heilman
Cultivating Virtue: Self-Mastery with the Saints - Anonymous
Divine Renovation - James Mallon

DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth - YOUCAT
Docilitas: On Teaching and Being Taught - James Schall
Every Man's Journey - James P. Campbell
Faith Hope Love - Josef Pieper
Father The Family Protector - James B. Stenson
Fatima: The Apparition That Changed the World - Jean M. Heimann 

From Slave To Priest - Sr. Caroline Hemesath
The Incorruptibles - Joan Carroll Cruz
Full Armor of God, The. Defending Your Life From Satan’s Schemes - Larry Richards
God or Nothing - Cardinal Robert Sarah
God Who Loves, The - Shane Kapler
God's Healing Mercy - Kathleen Beckman
God's World and Our Place In It - Fulton J. Sheen
Happy Are You Poor: The Simple Life and Spiritual Freedom -  Father Thomas Dubay
Happy Catholic - Julie Davis

Holy Desperation: Praying as If Your Life Depends on It - Heather King
How to Become A Heroic Catholic - Catherine Stewart

How to Read Your Way to Heaven - Vicki Burbach
How To Book of Catholic Devotions, The Second Edition - Mike Aqulina and Regis J. Flaherty
In Conversation With God Volume 1 Part 2 Christmas and Epiphany - Francis Fernandez
In Conversation With God Volume 3 Part 1 Ordinary Time Weeks 1-6 - Francis Fernandez

In Conversation With God Volume 6 Part 1 Special Feasts January to March - Francis Fernandez
Journeys with Mary Apparitions of Our Lady - Zerlina De Santis
Life's Greatest Lesson - Allen Hunt
Live Well Today - Fr. Thomas Dailey
Love Is Patient, But I'm Not - Christopher West

Man Up - Jared Zimmerer
Manual for Marian Devotion - The Dominican Sisters of Mary

Marrying the Rosary to the Divine Mercy Chaplet - Shane Kapler
Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy Missionary Handbook - Michael E. Gaitley

Memorize the Mass - Kevin Vost
Mitt Brennender Sorge On the Church and the German Reich - Pope Pius XI

Navigating the Interior Life. Spiritual Direction and the Journey to God- Daniel Burke and Fr. John BartuneK
Norms of Piety A Plan for Everyday Living - J.M. Muntadas
Oscar Romero: Prophet of Hope - Roberto Morozzo della Rocca

Praying the Rosary Like Never Before: Encounter the Wonder of Heaven and Earth - Edward Sri
Pierced by a Sword - Bud Macfarlane Jr. T
Praying the Angelus Find Joy, Peace, and Purpose in Everyday Life - Jared Dees
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion - Matthew Kelly
Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer - Matthew Kelly
Reform Yourself! : How to Pray, Find Peace, and Grow in Faith with the Saints of the Counter-Reformation - Shaun McAfee
Rosarium Virginis Mariae On The Most Holy Rosary - Pope John Paul II
Roses Among Thorns - St. Francis de Sales

Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You - Matthew Kelly
Saint Catherine Labouré And Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé and Cathy Morrison
Saint Teresa of Kolkata Missionary of Charity - Mary Kathleen Glavich and Barbara Kiwak
Saint Thomas Aquinas Missionary of Truth - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé and Cathy Morrison
Saint John Neumann Missionary to Immigrants - Laura Rhoderica Brown
Saint Anthony of Padua Fire and Light - Margaret Charles Kerry and Mary Elizabeth Tebo 
Saint Kateri Tekakwitha Courageous Faith - Lillian M. Fisher
Saint Martin de Porres Humble Healer - Elizabeth Marie DeDomenico
Saint John Bosco Champion for the Young - Emily Beata Marsh  
Saint Damien of Molokai: Hero of Hawaii - Virginia Helen Richards, D. Thomas Halpin and Anne Bergstrom 
Saint Edith Stein Blessed by the Cross - Mary Lee Hill and Mari Goering
Seeking Christ in Reading - Rev. Eugene Boylan 
Seven Words of Jesus and Mary Lessons on Cana and Calvary - Fulton J. Sheen
Seven Words of Jesus and Mary - Fulton J. Sheen
Stop Worrying and Start Living 365 Daily Readings - Gary Zimak

Sermons of St. Francis de Sales For Lent - Francis de Sales
Station to Station - Gary Jansen
Saint Clare of Assisi: Runaway Rich Girl - Kim Hee-Ju
Saints Jacinta and Francisco Marto - Anne Eileen Heffernan and Patricia Edward
Saint Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life - Susan Helen Wallace and Patricia Edward Jablonski
Saint Paul The Thirteenth Apostle - Mary Lea Hill & Matthew Archambault
Saint Joan of Arc God's Soldier - Susan Helen Wallace and Ray Morelli
St. Paul - Mitch Pacwa 
Ten: How the Ten Commandments Can Change Your life - Mary Elizabeth Sperry
The Archbishop and I: My Childhood Friend Fulton J. Sheen - Margo Weber Nassar
The Body Under the Bridge  - Paul McCusker
The Catholic Guide to Loneliness - Dr. Kevin Vost
The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity - Taylor R. Marshall
The Deacon Reader - James Keating
The Golden Thread - Louis de Wohl
The Great Adventure - Jeff Cavins

The Grunt Padre: Father Vincent Robert Capodanno Vietnam 1966-1967 - Daniel L. Mode
The Holy Spirit - Mitch Pacwa
The Last Monks of Skellig Michael - Philip Kosloski

The Life of St. Christopher Quest for a King - Lee Hyoun-ju and Kyung Hee Yoon
The Miracle of Father Kapaun: Priest, Soldier and Korean War Hero - Roy Wenzl and Travis Heying
The Old Evangelization: How to Spread the Faith Like Jesus Did - Eric Sammons
The Perfect Joy of Saint Francis - Felix Timmerman
The Priest Barracks: Dachau 1938 – 1945 - Guillaume Zeller
The Rhythm of Life - Matthew Kelly
The Saints Pray for Us - Encounter the Saints 
The Secret Life of John Paul II - Lino Zani
The Way of the Heart - Henri Nouwen
Theology for Beginners - Frank Sheed

Thirsting for Prayer - Jacques Philippe
This Tremendous Lover - Eugene Boylan
To Be A Man - James B. Stenson
Truth Be Told - Mark Hart
Way of the Cross - Saint Josemaria Escriva

Why the Eucharist Matters - Chris Padgett
Why I Am Catholic (and You Should Be Too) Brandon Vogt
Why We're Catholic - Trent Horn
Way of Wonder: Wisdom from G.K. Chesterton
You're Amazing: A Message of Hope That Will Change Your Life Forever - Justin Fatica

Your Life in the Holy Spirit - Dr. Alan Schreck

Fiction:
The Strangers at the Manger - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower

Bane's Eyes - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Book 4
Angelhood - A.J. Cattapan
7 Riddles to Nowhere - A.J. Cattapan
I Thirst - Gina Marinello-Sweeney - Veritas Chronicles Book 1 
Saving Faith - T.M. Gaouette - Faith and Kung Fu Book 2
a.k.a. Genius - Marilee Haynes
Patrick and the Fire - Cornelia Mary Bilinsky and Maggie Coburn
Brigid and the Butter - Pamela Love and Apryl Stott
Pictures of Me - Marilee Haynes
Saint Magnus The Last Viking - Susan Peek
Genius Under Constriction - Marilee Haynes
Quetzalcoatl's Zahir - Manuel Alfonseca
The Shop of Ghosts - G.K. Chesterton
The Secret of the Shamrock - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower
The King's Prey: Saint Dymphna of Ireland - Susan Peek
The Mystery of the Haunted House - Manual Alfonseca
Spokes - Deanna K. Klingel
8 Notes to a Nobody - Cynthia T. Toney
A Single Bead - Stephanie Engelman 
Chasing Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 1
Three Days: The Search for the Boy Messiah - Chris Stepien
The Profession - Eric Sammons
Roland West, Loner - Theresa Linden
Crusader King: A Novel of Baldwin IV and the Crusades - Susan Peek
The Sign of the Carved Cross - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower
The Relic of Perilous Falls - Raymond Arroyo - Will Wilder Book 1
Prince Martin Wins His Sword - Brandon Hale and Jason Zimdars
Standing Strong - Theresa Linden
10 Steps to Girlfriend Status - Cynthia T. Toney
The Mystery of the Sapphire Bracelet - Manuel Alfonseca
Beyond the Black Hole - Manuel Alfonseca
Nicholas Gilroy: Our Lady and the Guardian - Father Stephen and Deacon George
The Mystery of the Honeymoon - Manuel Alfonseca
Drive! - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 1
Storm of Fire and Blood - Taylor R. Marshall 
Julia's Gifts - Ellen Gable
The Arrow Bringer -Lisa Mayer
Brothers - Corinna Turner - I am Margaret 0.5
Dying for Compassion - Barbara Golder
The Mystery of the Egyptian Vulture Country House - ManuelAlfonseca
Dying for Revenge - Barbara Golder
Margo's Diary & Notebook - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Companion
...

I am starting with 51 books on the list and it will likely grow, as 19 of these are carry over from the list that grew last year Looking forward to the challenge. And also reading the Catechism in a year. I was also asked to come up with a Top 10 Catholic Books List, not an easy task.



Friday, 30 December 2016

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2016

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2016 

This was a near record year for my reading. I ended up with 272 books on my reading list and 268 on Goodreads (Goodreads does not allow you to count books that are reread). But before I get down to my top ten list let’s take a look at some statistics. First I started the years with a Catholic Reading List of 32 books, that list was ever expanding. And over the year I managed to read 73 Catholic books. 

272 Books Read
154 Fiction
118 Non-Fiction
73 Catholic
11 by Matthew Kelly
 7 by Fulton Sheen

So looking at those numbers it was very hard to narrow down to a top ten non-fiction reads this year! But here goes.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2016

1. Resisting Happiness - Matthew Kelly
2. Real Mercy - Jacques Philippe
3. Father Michael E. Gaitley 33 Days Books
33 Days to Merciful Love: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in preparation for Marian Consecration
33 Days to Morning Glory: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in Preparation for Marian Consecration
4. Beautiful Mercy - Pope Francis et al.
5. Here. Now. A Catholic Guide to the Good Life - Amy Welborn
6. How God Hauled Me Kicking And Screaming Into The Catholic Church - Kevin Lowry
7. The Life God Wants You to Have - Gregory K. Popcak
8. Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit - Kevin Vost
9. The Porch and the Cross: Ancient Stoic Wisdom for Modern Christian Living - Kevin Vost
10. 40 Years with a Saint: Blessed Alvaro del Portillo on St. Josemaria Escriva - Cesare Cavalleri

It was no easy task making this list. So if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Thursday, 29 December 2016

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2016

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2016

This was another great quarter! I was able to read 89 books over the last three months. Just short of a book a day. I read 49 non-fiction and 40 fiction books this quarter. So narrowing it down to a top ten fiction and non-fiction was not an easy task! I have built out an awesome and ever expanding Catholic reading list for 2016. There are some amazing books in this list! Though to be honest working from my favorite and influential books by year list it was very hard to narrow down to the top ten fiction list this quarter. 

Non-Fiction:
1. Father Michael E. Gaitley 33 Days Books
33 Days to Merciful Love: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in preparation for Marian Consecration 
33 Days to Mornding Glory: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in Preparation for Marian Consecration 
2. Here. Now. A Catholic Guide to the Good Life - Amy Welborn
3. Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit - Kevin Vost
4. Joseph of Nazareth - Federico Suarez
5. Behold the Man: A Catholic Vision of Male Spirituality - Harold Burke-Sivers
6. The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic - Matthew Kelly
7. Finding True Happiness - Fulton J. Sheen
8. Holy Water and its Significance for Catholics - Henry Theiler
9. Cathloics Wake Up! Be a Spiritual Warrior - Jesse Romero
10. Be A Man - Father Larry Richards

Fiction:
1. The Tenth Region of the Night - Taylor R. Marshall - Sword and Serpent Book II
2. The Unicorne Files – Ufiles Trilogy – Chris d’Lacey
3. Dexter's Journey - Chris d'Lacey and David Roberts
4. Dark Wyng - Chris d'Lacey - Erth Dragons Book 2
5. Pawnee Warrior - Chris d'Lacey - Fly Cherokee Fly Book 2
6. Fire Star - Chris d'Lacey - The Last Dragon Chronicles Book 3
7. Superstar - Courtney Sheinmel and Jennifer Bell - Stella Batts Book 8
8. We Hold These Truths - Andrew Clements - Benjamin Pratt and the Keeps of the School Book 5
9. About Average - Andrew Clements
10. A Little Taste of Poison - R.J. Anderson

Looking forward to what the next year will bring, and it is going to be very hard at the end of the year to narrow it down to a final Top 10 Fiction and Non-Fiction of 2016!

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996







Tuesday, 13 December 2016

33 Days to Merciful Love - Michael E. Gaitley A Do-It-Yourself Retreat In Preparation for Marian Consecration

33 Days to Merciful Love: 
A Do-It-Yourself Retreat In Preparation for Marian Consecration
Michael E. Gaitley
Marian Press

ISBN 9781596143456
ASIN B01CF8F85G



Father Michael Gaitley is one of the authors I was introduced to through the amazing collection Beautiful Mercy edited by Matthew Kelly. But since that introduction at the beginning of the year I have read 4 books by Father Michael, and done two in group studies, including this one. The other book I did in a group study was 33 Days to Morning Glory, which is a total consecration to Mary. This book is a consecration to divine mercy.

This book was an incredible read. And it was even better working through it in community. While reading this book I highlighted over 100 passages on my first read through. Father Michael states in the introduction:

“A Sequel That Stands Alone — But Shouldn’t. You don’t have to read 33 Days to Morning Glory before reading this book — but I recommend you do. I say that because the essence of Marian consecration is to allow Mary to bring us to the pierced side of Jesus, which is the Fountain of Mercy. Okay, well, 33 Days to Morning Glory is a book that prepares us to consecrate ourselves to Mary, so she can, in fact, bring us to that fountain. 
This book, on the other hand, is about drinking from that fountain. And while we can get to the Fountain of Mercy without making a Marian consecration, such a consecration enables us to drink from it so much more deeply and easily. We’ll learn the reasons for that during Week One of this retreat — which brings me to the structure of this book and how it works.”

And I can attest to having done the two books in this order and with only a short break between them that they do nicely build upon each other. Father Michael also says: “What’s Different from Morning Glory. Unlike 33 Days to Morning Glory, this book does not include four weeks with four different saints. Rather, the various weeks will focus on one saint: Thérèse of Lisieux and her spiritual teaching. And that’s okay because St. Thérèse is the master, the Doctor of the Church on these matters. Having said that, I will also include some of the teachings of St. Maria Faustina Kowalska, another great saint of mercy whose mission was closely related to that of St. Thérèse.” So there is a great deal of difference between the two books even though they follow a similar pattern.

Each day in this book follows the same pattern of a teaching followed by a short prayer. And these are some pretty amazing prayers; prayers seeking to be open to the Holy Spirit, to grow, to trust and many more. Some samples of those daily prayers are:

“Come, Holy Spirit, fire of mercy. Help me to believe in God and his love for me, even when life seems meaningless, routine, and empty.”

“Come, Holy Spirit, fire of mercy. Help me to recognize my own lowliness and to rejoice in God’s mercy.”

“Come, Holy Spirit, fire of mercy. Give me the heart of an eagle, a burning longing to choose all that you will for me.”

But to be honest I highlighted almost all 33 daily prayers and have gone back through and prayed a number of them again and again.

The chapters in this book are:
Introduction
WEEK ONE: What Is Trust?
Day 4: Mary’s Pilgrimage of Faith
Day 5: Mary’s Trial of Faith
Day 6: Mary’s Song of Faith
Day 7: New Eve of Light and Life
Day 8: None More Lowly
Day 9: Discovery of the Little Way
Day 10: Discovery of Divine Mercy
WEEK TWO: The Little Way
Day 12: You Will Become a Saint
Day 13: Prophet of Mercy
Day 14: No More ‘Thieves of Hope’
Day 15: What It’s Not
Day 16: What It Is
Day 17: What’s the Catch?
Day 18: No Purgatory?
WEEK THREE: The Offering to Merciful Love
Day 20: The Offering (Part One)
Day 21: The Offering (Part Two)
Day 22: The Darkness of Sin
Day 23: The Blindness to Sin
Day 24: Liturgical Darkness
Day 25: The Daily Darkness
Day 26: The World’s Darkness
WEEK FOUR: Into the Darkness
Day 28: Thérèse’s Darkness (Part Two)
Day 29: What Is Trust?
Day 30: The Little Way
Day 31: The Offering
Day 32: The Darkness
Day 33: Putting It All Together
FINAL FIVE DAYS: Synthesis and Review
DAY OF CONSECRATION: ‘The Happy Day’
AFTER CONSECRATION: The Lens of Mercy
Appendix One: Living the Offering
Appendix Two: Family Offering and Divine Mercy Image Enthronement

One of the quotes from the book that I copied out and posted on my desk as a daily reminder is: “holiness. For now, let’s just consider that if we want to live the Little Way, we must do three things: (1) Recognize the darkness: Recognize the darkness of our littleness and brokenness. (2) Keep trying: Keep trying to grow in holiness and do little things with great love. (3) Keep trusting: Keep trusting and believing that God will satisfy our desires for holiness, even if we don’t yet fully understand how.”

This book was an excellent read. It challenges me spiritually. And really took me deeper in prayer. I know that from reading this and other books by Father Michael Gaitley that his writings are wonderful for your personal spiritual growth. There is also a DVD series that does with this book and next time I read through it I hope to have the opportunity to use the videos to supplement it.

I highly recommend this book and to be honest any by father Michael.

Books by Michael E. Gaitley:
33 Days to Morning Glory
33 Days to Merciful Love
40 Days to Mercy
Consoling the Heart of Jesus
Divine Mercy Explained
The Divine Mercy Image Explained
The One Thing Is Three
The Second Greatest Story Ever Told
You Did It To Me
Marian Missionaries of Divine Mercy Missionary Handbook
Nine Days to Joseph: A Novena in Preparation for Consecration to St. Joseph

DVD Series by Father Michael E. Gaitley:
Divine Mercy In The Second Greatest Story Ever Told
You Did It to Me: Putting Mercy Into Action
33 Days to Morning Glory - Group Retreat
Consoling The Heart Of Jesus - Group Retreat
Wisdom And Works Of Mercy - Group Study Dvd

Contributed to:
Beautiful Mercy
Divine Mercy for Moms

(Note: this books is part of a series: A Year of Reading Intention - Catholic Reading!)