--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/ReginaDoman As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:15:26 AM UTC

Showing posts with label ReginaDoman. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ReginaDoman. Show all posts

Saturday, 29 September 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2018

My total books this quarter is down a bit from last quarter, but my page count is actually up. Just variations in the length of material read. The Quarter by the numbers:

91 books read
59 received 5/5 stars
8 of those had been read before
48 were non-Fiction
11 were fiction

The Fiction was pretty easy to narrow down to a simple top ten list. The non-fiction on the other hand was a very, very, very difficult. But this is what I managed to come up with. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1. The booklets by Helena Scott and Ethel Tolansky:
2. Encounter the Saints Series
3. How to Think Like Aquinas: The Sure Way to Perfect Your Mental Powers - Kevin Vost
4. Last of the Romantics: St. Josemaria in the Twenty-First Century
5. The Eight Doors of the Kingdom: Meditations on the Beatitudes - Jacques Philippe
6. Saxum: The Life of Alvaro del Portillo - John F. Coverdale
7. Catholic Truth Society booklets:
8. Footprints of the Northern Saints - Basil Cardinal Hume
9. A Soldier Surrenders: The Conversion of St. Camillus de Lellis - Susan Peek - God's Forgotten Friends Lives of Little-known Saints Book 2
10. The Cries of Jesus from the Cross: An Anthology - by Reverend Fulton J Sheen 

Bonus:
11. Foundations of the Faith: God, Christ, and the Church - Jeff Vehige - Find the Faith Book 1
12. Love's True Meaning: The message of Humanae Vitae 50 Years On - Fr. Anthony Doe
13. The Way of the Christian Samurai: Reflections for Servant-Warriors of Christ - Paul E. Nowak

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. Roland West Outcast - Theresa Linden - A West Brothers Book
2. Down Time - Barry Lyga - An I Hunt Killers Prequel
3. We Are All Jacob's Children: A Tale of Hope, Wisdom, and Faith - Noah benShea
4. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
5. The Story of Job - Regina Doman and Ben Hatke 
6. Where You Lead - Leslea Wahl 
7. Birthday Secrets - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Short Story
8. The Mystery at Midnight - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 4
9. The Whisper in the Ruins - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower - Chime Travelers Book 3
10. In Front Of My House - Marianne Dubuc and Yvette Ghione

If you give some of these a try I am sure they will be with the read! But unfortunately, two of the fiction books have yet to be published. Number s 1 and 4 will be published later in the fall. I also had a conundrum about number 9 non-fiction and number 5 fiction. These could have been either fiction or non depending on your interpretation. But this is where the chips fell.

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

284 - January to September 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Monday, 16 July 2018

Pope Francis I Believe in Mercy - Regina Doman and Sean Lam

Pope Francis: 
I Believe in Mercy
Regina Doman
Sean Lam

Manga Hero
ISBN 9780983639787
ISBN 9780983639794


I need to state that a physical copy of this sat on my bedside table for a few years. The problem is not the book, it is me, with my dual form of dyslexia I really prefer reading eBooks, even for graphic novels. I had picked this book up a few times, but never got very far, and by the time I came back to it I started over again. But I recently read the eBook edition of Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI, written by Doman and illustrated by Lam. And though the style is not my favorite, it is so well done I have give both books a 5 out of 5 star ratings. This was an excellent read!

The style of the art in the two volumes is a little different. And because of the lives being portrayed the stories are very different. But both stories are told with jumping back in time and then up to the present. This one is written with underlays of excerpts from Pope Francis's writings. The book gives us great insight into the man and his journey, that ultimately lead to his becoming pope. I have read a number of books about and by Pope Francis since his election, but even with all of that reading there were a few surprises in this volume. 

Before I even finished this book, my children showed great interest in it. I have now read it with my youngest daughter and am currently reading it for a third time with my son. The story and artwork hold up over multiple readings even back to back. My children love the graphic novel format. My only wish is that it would come out in an eBook, that way they can each have it on their device without having to buy a second copy, currently they are debating who should keep it on their bookshelf and why. 

The illustrations in this volume are wonderful. I especially loved the illustrations of mass or times in prayer. There is so much to appreciate about the artwork, and the written story. This book provides excellent insight into the man, the priest, and now our Pope. 

This book is a great read for anyone who would like a glimpse into the life of Pope Francis before he ascended to the throne of Peter. It is an excellent read for teens, and even to read to younger children. It was instantly a family favorite. And we give it the McEvoy family seal of approval. I would love to see what Doman and Lam would do telling the story of other Pope's or saints, because this is an excellent read.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!







Book by Regina Doman:
Fairy Tales Retold:
Snow White and Rose Red (1997)
Shadow Of The Bear (2002)
Black As Night (2004)
Waking Rose (2007)
Midnight Dancers (2008)
Alex O'Donnell and the 40 Cyber Thieves (2010)

Rapunzel Let Down (2013)

Other Books:
The Story of Job

Graphic Novels:
Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI
Pope Francis: I Believe in Mercy

Contributed to:
Catholic Philosopher Chick Makes Her Debut
Catholic Philosopher Chick Comes on Strong
The Mystery of Harry Potter: A Catholic Family Guide
The Chestertons and the Golden Key

Picture Books:
Angels in the Water (2004)
Fairy Tale Novel Paper Dolls (2009)

NonFiction:
Our Fairy Tale Romance - Andrew Schmiedicke (2009)

Author Profile Interview with Regina Doman


Wednesday, 11 July 2018

Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI - Regina Doman and Sean Lam

Habemus Papam!
Pope Benedict XVI
Regina Doman
Sean Lam

Manga Hero
ISBN 9780983639756
ASIN B00DE1NJIC


I need to preface this review with two facts, first I am a huge fan of Regina Doman's prose. He fiction is among my all time favorite books. Second, I do not read a lot of graphic novels. Graphic novels especially in the manga style are typically not my thing. Fortunately, this volume only uses the characteristic oversized heads and super sized eyes for children, so for the most part not an issue. That being said I really enjoyed this book. Over the years I have read much written by Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI. Both prior to and after his election to the seat of Peter. But this is really the first time I have read much about him. And there was so much in this volume that surprise, amazed and even astonished me that I plan on reading more about the man that I believe will one day be named a saint. 

This book was an incredible read. There is so much information in this graphic novel. Situations and events in his life that were not part of my knowledgebase. I was totally unaware of his sister's role in his life and ministry. I had encountered stories about his brother in numerous readings, but the role Maria played. Even though she worked other jobs, she was his secretary, editor and support throughout her life. She followed his as his role within the church changed all the way to the Vatican. 

The book is written as a series of reflections back in time. It begins with Joseph being told by another cardinal either at the conclave or before it that he must become pope. From ether the story goes back to childhood memories, memories of John Paul II's election. Different roles and responsibilities he had that lead to this point. The story is masterfully told. Readers will come to see and appreciate the humble and gentle nature of this man that was known for so long as Pope John Paul II's rottweiler. Readers will encounter the man who was humble enough to step down from the seat of Peter. The man who was misunderstood through most of his public life, and yet a man who served God, the people and the church with all his heart.

The illustrations of the children as mentioned are not in a style that I am a fan of. But, even with that being stated this book is wonderfully illustrated. The spirit of Benedict is captured in both the words and the illustrations. Honestly anyone could read this book, no matter their knowledge of graphic novels or Pope Benedict XVI and appreciate it. Learn from it and grow from what they learn.

I could not put this book down, I devoured it in a single reading. And have already started reading it again with my youngest two children. And it has lead to me picking up another book on Benedict XVI already and likely more future readings.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!






Book by Regina Doman:
Fairy Tales Retold:
Snow White and Rose Red (1997)
Shadow Of The Bear (2002)
Black As Night (2004)
Waking Rose (2007)
Midnight Dancers (2008)
Alex O'Donnell and the 40 Cyber Thieves (2010)

Rapunzel Let Down (2013)

Other Books:
The Story of Job

Graphic Novels:
Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI
Pope Francis: I Believe in Mercy

Contributed to:
Catholic Philosopher Chick Makes Her Debut
Catholic Philosopher Chick Comes on Strong
The Mystery of Harry Potter: A Catholic Family Guide
The Chestertons and the Golden Key

Picture Books:
Angels in the Water (2004)
Fairy Tale Novel Paper Dolls (2009)

NonFiction:
Our Fairy Tale Romance - Andrew Schmiedicke (2009)

Author Profile Interview with Regina Doman


Books by Benedict XVI:

Books About Pope Benedict:
Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI - Regina Doman and Sean Lam
Benedict XVI - Helena Scott and Ethel Tolansky
A Pope of Surprises: The First Five Years of Pope Benedict XVI's Papacy - Helena Scott and Ethel Tolansky

Be Saints! An Invitation from Pope Benedict XVI - Amy Welborn and Ann Kissane Engelhart

Friendship with Jesus: Pope Benedict XVI talks to Children on Their First Holy Communion – Amy Welborn and Ann Engelhart
Take Five: Meditations Pope Benedict XVI - Mike Aquilina and Fr. Kris Stubna


Related Articles:
Daily Study Prayer of Pope Benedict XVI
Which popes do you have a devotion to and why?
...

Saturday, 7 July 2018

The Story of Job - Regina Doman and Ben Hatke

The Story of Job
Regina Doman
Ben Hatke

TAN Books
ISBN 9781505111811
ISBN 9781505111750
ASIN B07DKW895X


Regina Doman is an incredible Catholic author. Her Fairy tales Retold Series is incredible. And this book is unlike anything she has done before. This little volume took me completely by surprised. I was reading it and thought it was so wonderful, I could over my youngest two children and started reading it over again with them. The description of this book is:
"The simple yet mysterious story of Job from the Bible is retold in language suitable for young readers with child-friendly illustrations by New York Times bestselling illustrator Ben Hatke. Written after the author experienced a personal tragedy, this story is prepared to help parents and kids explore the question: Why does God allow good people to suffer?"
The story was born out of personal experience, but it was captured and shared. This book is a small volume, but it has a huge message. It is a story that can be appreciated by readers of almost any age. I have a feeling that this will be one of those books that I reread even year for many years to come. The day I read this my son went to get a back brace he needs to wear 22 hours a day until he can have surgery. I had been talking to him and praying with him about uniting his suffering with Jesus's. This book was an incredible timely read for both of us. 

The illustrations by Ben Hatke add a wonderful element to Regina's retelling of the story of Job. When I was in university I did a section in a Children Lit course on books used in grief counseling. This book would is an amazing addition for children dealing with suffering, illness or loss. It is one of those book I know I will be recommending often in the years to come. And will likely keep spare copies on hand to be able to give it away. 


The story of Job is one that most people even in this day can recount, at least the basics of the story. But this retelling of it is simply masterful. And though this book came about because of personal circumstance, I cannot help but wonder how Doman and Hatke would retell the stories of Ruth, Ester, Tobit, Susanna's Song. But regardless of if they do other books in this style, this is a family favorite and an incredible read!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Book by Regina Doman:
Fairy Tales Retold:
Snow White and Rose Red (1997)
Shadow Of The Bear (2002)
Black As Night (2004)
Waking Rose (2007)
Midnight Dancers (2008)
Alex O'Donnell and the 40 Cyber Thieves (2010)

Rapunzel Let Down (2013)

Other Books:
The Story of Job

Graphic Novels:
Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI
Pope Francis: I Believe in Mercy

Contributed to:
Catholic Philosopher Chick Makes Her Debut
Catholic Philosopher Chick Comes on Strong
The Mystery of Harry Potter: A Catholic Family Guide
The Chestertons and the Golden Key

Picture Books:
Angels in the Water (2004)
Fairy Tale Novel Paper Dolls (2009)

NonFiction:
Our Fairy Tale Romance - Andrew Schmiedicke (2009)

Author Profile Interview with Regina Doman



Tuesday, 31 December 2013

Top Ten Fiction Books 2013

Top Ten Fiction Books 2013

1. Game - I Hunt Killers # 2 - Barry Lyga

2. Doll Bones - Holly Black 

3. Crush. Candy. Corpse - Sylvia McNicoll 

4. Damage - Stephen Shea - aka Arthur Slade

5. Rapunzel Let Down - Fairy Tale Retold #6 - Regina Doman

6. Bookmark Days - Scot Gardner 

7. The Not So Simple Life - Stephen Shea - aka Arthur Slade

8. Tin Star - Cecil Castellucci

9. Coldest Girl in Coldtown - Holly Black

10. Johnny Hangtime - Dan Gutman 

11. The Testing #1 - Joelle Charbonneau 


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Monday, 30 December 2013

Top 10 Books Second Half 2013

Top 10 Books Second Half 2013

1. Redacted

2. Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health - William Davis 

3. Rapunzel Let Down - Fairy Tale Retold #6 - Regina Doman

4. Death by Living - N.D. Wilson

5. Tin Star - Cecil Castellucci

6. Coldest Girl in Coldtown - Holly Black

7. Independent Study - The Testing #2 - Joelle Charbonneau

8. The Forbidden Stone - The Copernicus Legacy 1 - Tony Abbott

9. The Circle Maker For Kids: One Prayer Can Change Everything - Mark Batterson and Antonio Javier Capara

10. Bane Chronicles - Cassandra Clare et all 
The Midnight Heir - The Rise of Hotel Dumort - Saving Raphael Santiago - The Fall of Hotel Dumort

(Reviews will follow over next month or so.)

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

 Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Tuesday, 15 October 2013

Rapunzel Let Down - Regina Doman - A Fairy Tale Retold

Rapunzel Let Down
A Fairy Tale Retold
Regina Doman
Chesterton Press
ISBN 9780982767771


I have enjoyed all the books by Regina Doman that I have read. But this one is to date the best! The story was so powerful I read it twice. It is raw, powerful and riveting! As a reader we can see the train wreck coming but have no idea how the crash will happen and if there will be any chance for a recovery.

It all begins with a secret! A secret summer romance between Hermes McCaffrey the conservative catholic senator and Raphaela the adopted daughter of an extremist reclusive scientist. Scaling the tower of the property next to their summer home to win a bet Hermes discovers Raphaela and soon their friendship blossoms. For different reasons they each want to keep their friendship a secret from their families. And that first deception soon leads to others all heading towards a disaster but neither realizes how dire the consequences will be.


Be warned this book deals with numerous issues, premarital sex, debate about abortion. Prison and the reality of that environment. And the many conflicts between a Roman Catholic and a post modernist world view.  But with that being said.

Rapunzel Let Down is an amazing Read. It is a unique twist and modernization of a tale we all know. Two young adults raised in radically different environments meet because of a dare. And soon find they have a great love of books, learning and life. Each sparks something the other did not know was missing. But can traditions, and family pride keep them apart? Read this riveting new novel by Regina Doman, the  sixth novel in the Fairy Tales Retold series is an enthralling read. Once you pick it up you will not want to put it down.


Book by Regina Doman:
Fairy Tales Retold:
Snow White and Rose Red (1997)
Shadow Of The Bear (2002)
Black As Night (2004)
Waking Rose (2007)
Midnight Dancers (2008)
Alex O'Donnell and the 40 Cyber Thieves (2010)

Rapunzel Let Down (2013)

Other Books:
The Story of Job

Graphic Novels:
Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI
Pope Francis: I Believe in Mercy

Contributed to:
Catholic Philosopher Chick Makes Her Debut
Catholic Philosopher Chick Comes on Strong
The Mystery of Harry Potter: A Catholic Family Guide
The Chestertons and the Golden Key

Picture Books:
Angels in the Water (2004)
Fairy Tale Novel Paper Dolls (2009)

NonFiction:
Our Fairy Tale Romance - Andrew Schmiedicke (2009)

Author Profile Interview with Regina Doman


Wednesday, 6 April 2011

Regina Doman - Author Profile

Regina Doman is a Catholic Artist who wears many different hats. She is an author, editor, producer, wife, mother and more. She took some time from her very busy schedule to answer a few questions for Book Reviews and More. She grew up attending various Catholic, public and private schools. She also graduated from the Franciscan University of Steubenville, Ohio with a BA in Communications. She was an editor for Lay Witness magazine, and a contributor to various other publications. Today she still wears many hats and titles, as an editor for Sophia Institute Press and is a public speaker at conferences and school.

1. In Shadow of the Bear you write: "Every once in a while you just have to decide to do something very crazy and very right--just to dare yourself to live. I don't mean doing something stupid and destructive--just something fun and good and beautiful." What are some things you have done along this line?

Dressing up as a gypsy and going on a picnic with a bunch of crazy college students - on that picnic I met Anna, who's one of my best friends, and Ben, who married her and who became my illustrator for Angel in the Waters.

2. Who were some of your biggest supporters and contributors to your early success?

Lots and lots of people, beginning with my parents, the folks at YOU magazine, Catholics United for the Faith, and Our Sunday Visitor who gave me my first jobs in writing and editing. But Bethelehem Books did me a huge favor when they consented to read my recently-finished MS of what became The Shadow of the Bear.

3. What of your books was the hardest to write and why?

Black as Night. See the website for why.

4. Completely off topic but what TV shows or movies do you enjoy?

Don't have TV. The Scarlet Pimpernel (with Jane Seymour) is perhaps my favorite movie. I also enjoy the writing and cleverness of the TV series Monk.

5. If you could only recommend 10 books to a reader looking to be a well rounded and whole person what books would you suggest?

Hard one! Well, the top ten books that have influenced me outside of the Bible --
Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton
The Immaculate Conception and the Holy Spirit: the Marian Teachings of Maximilian Kolbe
The Rise and Fall of the Communist Revolution by Warren Carroll
The Art of Dramatic Writing by Lajos Egri
How to Really Love Your Child by Ross Campbell
Jewish Identity by Elias Friedman
Fiction:
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton
That Hideous Strength by C.S. Lewis

That's only a sampling. :)

6. As both an author and editor you wear a few different hats in the publishing industry. Is it hard splitting your time down these two lines?

Yes, and I'm finding it harder and harder to write my own books as my editing work increases.

7. What advice do you wish an artist had passed on to you early in your career, which you only learned through experience?

What publisher's submission guidelines actually mean (it's not always what they say). And what makes a story work. It was Jan Batchler which led me to understand that process.

9. What fiction books or authors do you enjoy or recommend?

In addition to the above, the Harry Potter books and JRR Tolkien's Silmarillion. I love mythology and like reading works in that style, such as Padraic Colum's books.

10. What current projects are you working on or are in the back burner in some stage of development as an author?

A new fiction for adults, and another fairy tale novel.

11. What current projects are you working on or are in the back burner in some stage of development as an editor?

Continuing to develop Sophia's fiction line. The Spanish Match by Brian Pursell and the sequel to Bleeder, VIPER by John Desjarlais are two books I'm trying to get out the door.

12. Your books are not currently available in electronic formats but many publishers are now starting to almost make this standard practice. What are your impressions of ebooks?

I'd love to get all my books in that format. Amazon is taking forever to do conversions, so we're trying to work though a smaller vendor for that.

13. With eBooks come the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means, is this a concern for you, both as an author and editor?

Nope.

14. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

See the above list. #5 :)

15. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists particularly those looking to have their art reflect their faith?

Dedicate your talent to God, and trust where He is taking you with it.

Thanks you again Regina for taking the time to interact with the readers at Book Reviews and More and Catholic Dad's Online. I can personally recommend your books as excellent reads.


Book by Regina Doman:
Fairy Tales Retold:
Snow White and Rose Red (1997)
Shadow Of The Bear (2002)
Black As Night (2004)
Waking Rose (2007)
Midnight Dancers (2008)
Alex O'Donnell and the 40 Cyber Thieves (2010)

Rapunzel Let Down (2013)

Other Books:
The Story of Job

Graphic Novels:
Habemus Papam! Pope Benedict XVI
Pope Francis: I Believe in Mercy

Contributed to:
Catholic Philosopher Chick Makes Her Debut
Catholic Philosopher Chick Comes on Strong
The Mystery of Harry Potter: A Catholic Family Guide
The Chestertons and the Golden Key

Picture Books:
Angels in the Water (2004)
Fairy Tale Novel Paper Dolls (2009)

NonFiction:
Our Fairy Tale Romance - Andrew Schmiedicke (2009)

Author Profile Interview with Regina Doman