--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/RogerThomas As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:17:24 PM UTC

Showing posts with label RogerThomas. Show all posts
Showing posts with label RogerThomas. Show all posts

Tuesday, 31 March 2020

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2020

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2020

This quarter I have read 96 books, which was one more than Q4 2019. It was a good start to the year. And may excellent reads. Seventy-Seven of those books were first time reads. And 66 received 5/5 stars. Only 15 were fiction and 51 were non-fiction. And 8 of those had been read before. I am reading at the pace of about a book a day. 

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the first quarter of 2020.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Books by J.B. Midgley
link to all review of books by Midgley
2. Consecration to St. Joseph - Donald H. Calloway
3. Spiritual Warfare and the Discernment of Spirits - Dan Burke
4.  From the Depths of Our Hearts: Priesthood, Celibacy and the Crisis of the Catholic Church - Pope Benedict XVI and Robert Cardinal Sarah
5. Epic Saints Wild, Wonderful, and Weird Stories of God's Heroes - Shaun McAfee
6. CTS Biographies
7. Lenten Journey with Mother Mary - Fr. Edward Looney
8. CTS Great Saints
Saint Ignatius of Loyola - J.A. Philips
9. The Passion of St. Edward, King and Martyr - Goscelin of Saint-Bertin and Eric Sammons
10. Way of the Cross or Stations of the Cross

Bonus:
In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
everyone's way of the cross - Clarance Enzler
Way of the Cross - Saint Josemaria Escriva
Sr. Elizabeth Prout - Sister Dominic Savio Hamer CP - CTS Saints of the Isles

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. The Cassandra Curse - Fiorella De Maria
2. The Ghosts of Midgard Manor: And Other Stories - Roger Thomas
3. See No Evil - Fiorella De Maria - Father Gabriel Mystery Book 3
4. The Tattered Web - Roger Thomas - Watchful Sky Series Book 4
5. Stay With Me Series - Carolyn Astfalk
6. The Lucifer Ego - T.M. Doran - The Sequel to Toward the Gleam
7. A Channel of Your Peace - Veronica Smallhorn
8. A Conspiracy of Bones - Kathy Reichs - Temperance Brennan Book 19
9. Level 13 - Gordon Korman - Slacker Book 2
10. Dragon Assassin 7 Hidden Powers - Arthur Slade

Bonus:
Mystic Informant - Carissa Douglas - Douglings Adventures Book 1
Extreme Blindside - Leslea Wahl

My reading has been consistent at about a book a day over the last few years. I attribute part of it to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. Though I am working from home now because of Covid-19 This quarter was 80% non-fiction. There are so many great series I am reading from the Catholic Truth Society, I have had to make an effort to actually fit in some fiction.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are in the bonus section. It was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

96 - 2019 January-March
392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Thursday, 27 February 2020

The Ghosts of Midgard Manor And Other Stories - Roger Thomas

The Ghosts of Midgard Manor And Other Stories 
Roger Thomas

JKC
ISBN 9781733080934
ASIN B083D6H7XX


Last year I read almost all the book available from the masterful pen of Roger Thomas. And there are some excellent reads. I especially loved his earlier collection of stories, The Last Ugly Person: And Other Stories, It was one of my favorite reads of almost 400 books that year. So to say I was eager and excited when I heard about this new collection of stories, would be a great understatement. As soon as I knew this was available I picked up the eBook and stopped reading the book I was on and immediately read the first story in this collection. And I worked my way through the whole collection over a few days. There is not a bad story in the collection. In fact, I could not even pick a least favorite, because all the stories are well written. The description of the collection is:

“An eclectic collection of short stories examining life and relationships from a variety of perspectives.”

And it really does live up to that statement. A few ghost stories, some historical fiction, and even some dystopian pieces are within the collection. There is even a battle with a demon. The stories in the order they appear are:

The Ghosts of Midgard Manor
The Rock
Rosalia
Zakkai
The Narrowing
Miriam
Catherine’s Triumph
The Queen's Request
Kateri’s Sentence

I am not even sure I could pick a favorite story in the collection. I have thought about it for a while and I keep changing my mind. I would absolutely love to know what happened a year or 2 later to Kateri. I would also be intrigued to find out what happened next for Catherine. The Ghost of Midgard Manor and The Queen’s Request both are excellent stories and stand well as they are. And seeing the story of Zakkai – Zacchaeus with a lot more historical background was truly eye opening. 

If you are a fan of short stories this is an excellent collection. If you are a fan of Roger’s novel I am certain you will enjoy this collection. And if you are unfamiliar with his work it will show you the variety and depth of his skill. 

A great collection that I highly recommend!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Roger Thomas:
The Accidental Marriage
From Afar
The Last Ugly Person: And Other Stories
The Ghosts of Midgard Manor And Other Stories



Watchful Sky Series:
Under the Watchful Sky
Rising Darkness
The Wounded Land
The Tattered Web



Author profile and interview with Roger Thomas.









Wednesday, 5 February 2020

The Tattered Web - Roger Thomas - Watchful Sky Series Book 4

The Tattered Web
Watchful Sky Series Book 4
Roger Thomas

JKC
ISBN 9781733080927
ASIN B081X32TR3


In the last few months I have read all of the books by Roger Thomas that are currently in print. And I have loved most of them. This series is one I find my self thinking about often and have recommended to many people. The series has also gotten better with every book. This volume continues nearly a year after the last book. And things have been quiet. But a lot has been going on behind the scenes. 

The group within the federal government is taking their plans tests to the next level. They are now not only forcing you to specific medical providers. They are chipping you, and people in non-compliance or asking too many questions are disappearing. The old network or what is left of it is being rallied to save a preborn baby with Neurofibro Mitosis. But the most disturbing this is the beginning of the story. Jason Pelletier is a facility and under stimuli suppression. He is having his memory and personality wiped. When all of a he is dressed and dumped in the street. He is mal nourished. And overwhelmed by the lights and sounds on the street at first. But as he was told in the last volume he has a role to play and a hard road ahead of him. Nd his journey of remembering. Combined with Gerald Solomon’s discover of a link between the Ojibwa history and current events are cause a convergence of events, people and circumstances. 

Darkness was let loose and not all of it has been countered. And in this volume, we have a major victory for the forces of light. And We have more people come to be aware of what is really going on. 

This book was very hard to put down. It is not as dark as the previous two volumes, and younger readers could jump from volume 1 to 4 and just have a larger gap in the story line. It was a powerful read. It was moving both as fiction and as warning. It is a fictional book that has changed how I pray. The characters are excellently written. And the plot in this part of the story if incredibly well crafted. An great read on many levels.

This is another great read from the masterful pen of Roger Thomas. Last year he was my second favorite fiction author. And I would put him in my top 10 for Catholic fiction authors of all time. If you have read other books in this series, I am sure you will appreciate this new volume. If you have not read this series or other by Thomas, you owe it to yourself to give some of them a try! An excellent volume in an important series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Roger Thomas:
The Accidental Marriage
From Afar
The Last Ugly Person: And Other Stories
The Ghosts of Midgard Manor And Other Stories



Watchful Sky Series:
Under the Watchful Sky
Rising Darkness
The Wounded Land
The Tattered Web



Author profile and interview with Roger Thomas.






Wednesday, 8 January 2020

Author Profile and Interview with Roger Thomas

Author Profile and Interview with Roger Thomas


I discovered the works of Roger Thomas late in 2019, and in 6 weeks had read 6 of his 7 published works. I was greatly impressed by the skill showing in his novels and short stories. And the mastery of various genres. Roger graciously agreed to answer some questions for the readers here at Book Reviews and More. So here in his own words is Roger B. Thomas. 

1. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How are you nurturing that dream?

I’d loved reading and stories from my youth. I was the kid who’d burn through all the stories in the grade reader by the end of the second week of school, and go to the shelf in the back of the room to grab the next grade’s reader. I was first exposed to Lewis’s Narnia Chronicles at about age eight, and loved to imagine myself there or in other fantasy stories. 

It wasn’t until high school that I began writing some of my stories down. I started with what we’d call today fan fiction, though I also wrote stories in this world, primarily imaginings of where my life might go and what adventures I might have. It was garbage, and I now pity my poor friends on whom I’d thrust my handwritten manuscripts in hopes of getting a positive review from them. But it was important garbage, because it gave me critical experience in writing stories which would come in handy later.

2. Who were some of the biggest supporters of your writing?

Currently, it’s my wife Ellen and some friends, who not only encourage me but assist in practical manners by editing and advising. Since I’m not currently using any publisher, all the nitty gritty details fall on me and my supporters. It’s one thing to dash off a manuscript and shove it up to a self-publishing site to get it out; it’s quite another to put out a polished, professional work that people will be willing to pay for.

3. What authors influenced your writing style and format?

C.S. Lewis is far and away the biggest influence. I’ve steeped myself in his fiction since my grade school days, and his more scholarly works since my late teens. J.R.R. Tolkien has also influenced me since high school. Other writers such as Rudyard Kipling and O Henry have had some influence as well, but those two are the big ones. I enjoy other writers, everyone from G.K. Chesterton to Charles Williams to Tom Clancy, but to identify those who have actually influenced me, Lewis and Tolkien would be the biggest.

4. Writing is not your day job. How do you fit it in around your work in the technology field? 

Currently, I don’t. The works I’m getting out now were written during my years as an independent consultant, when I had more free time. My consulting years ended in autumn of 2018, and I doubt that I’ll have much time to write new stories until I retire in a few years.

5. If you were not writing in your free time, what would you be using it for?

I’ve been an avid reader all my life, so hopefully reading, but I find myself in a bind there. Maybe it’s that the quality of writing is going down, or maybe it’s that I’m becoming more of a curmudgeon, but I have a hard time finding books that I truly enjoy anymore. I’ve always been a big fan of fantasy and science fiction, but with a few exceptions, I find I don’t have much patience with it. The plots seem to be formulaic retreads and the characters seem two-dimensional. I find myself feeling like Lewis did when he commented to Tolkien that it didn’t seem that anyone was writing the kind of books they loved, so they’d have to write their own. 

6. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing?

It usually begins with the characters. I might have an idea for a plot, but it’s the people who come to life in my imagination first. For instance, I’d been pondering a plot for From Afar – my “magi story” – for some time, but when I began to imagine the story unfolding, it opened with a slave boy rushing up to the captain of the guard. That was Baba and Tigranes, who turned out to be vital to the story.

From there I rough in a plot – outlines of chapters specifying what happens and who’s involved. That keeps me straight on the ordering of events and helps prevent omissions and contradictions. After that, I get to penning – and I mean literally penning – the chapters themselves. I get ribbed about this by other authors (Mike Richards was particularly amused, joking with me about chiseling my work on stone), but I write better when I physically write, with a pen on long legal pads. For one thing, this curbs my natural tendency to wordiness. For another, it helps me focus and carefully transcribe the scenes unfolding in my imagination. Another advantage is that it helps me just write at that juncture – the editing will come later. If I try to write at a keyboard, the temptation to edit as I write is too strong, and I end up tying myself in creative knots.

After the story is written out on the pads, then comes the effort of typing them in. For some authors this is unbearable tedium, but for me it’s the first editing pass, the “cleanup” of the raw story on the legal pads (fortunately I’m a swift typist). Once the manuscript is all typed in, I print it out and begin the several editing passes. My helpers can assist in spotting typos, sentence fragments, and the like, but I’m the only one who can sift through and evaluate things like, “I could word that better” or “I need to find a better term to use here – that one isn’t conveying my meaning well.” Editing is at least as much work as the actual writing.  When my work was being handled by publishers, they’d take over much of the fine editing, but now that I’m publishing myself, I have to do all of it. 

Once the MS is finished, I go through the steps of uploading it to Kindle Direct Publishing, and then creating a cover to wrap around it.

7. Do you use a playlist when writing? Are certain books written while predominantly listing to the same music?

Not anymore. The last story I wrote while listening to music was The Accidental Marriage. I seem to concentrate better in silence. Music can spark ideas – for instance, it was a Michael Card song that inspired From Afar – but these days I typically write without it. 

8. You have written in a wide range of genres. If the process different for historical fiction, western, epic military, or near future dystopian?

No, the process is the same. I may have to research different things in preparation, but that’s all done before the rough outline stage 

9. What books are currently in progress for you? Writing, researching, planning or even just ideas that you would like to work on?

My focus for the past year or so has been getting the Watchful Sky stories out the door. I really didn’t want to have publication-ready manuscripts on my hard drive that “I’ll get around to publishing”. When I got the release from Ignatius Press to publish the Midgard Manor stories, that was another bonus. Now that they’re all out the door, I can focus my effort on promoting them. I suspect I won’t do any new writing until after retirement, but you never know. I definitely think there are more stories in the Watchful Sky series, and who knows what else may crop up.

10. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family, she said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it?

They’re not quite that real, and given that they’re mostly in either the far past or in the future, there’s not much overlap between my lifespan and theirs. One exception is the characters in The Accidental Marriage – they’d be not only contemporary, but in the area. I found myself thinking about the turn of the year, “Grace will turn ten this year.” I sometimes wonder if there is such a family actually out there. 

11. One of the greatest strengths in your books are the characters, they are so solid and believable. The characters you create, are they reflections of people you know, composites of different people you know or entirely your creations?

Some of the characters directly reflect people I’ve met, but they’re largely minor. For instance, in Tattered Web, the character of the leech harvester Bob is a real person. I picked him up just outside Alpena when I was doing a local color tour of the region as preparation for that book. He’s a colorful character but a minor one. 

Largely the characters come to life in my head, and though they may borrow a mannerism or appearance from people I know, their personalities are their own. They tend to grow and take over the story, too – I’ve heard other authors speak of this phenomenon. They’ll have a character who’s so alive in their imagination that they might envision him doing something, but have to change their plans because “he wouldn’t do that.” 

When I was younger, I thought that stories were about the action, the neat stuff the characters did. The older I’ve gotten, the more I see that what sticks with readers is the personalities of the characters. The readers get to know them, to love (or hate) them. This means you have to bring them to life, which sometimes constrains you. If you want to write a good story, it has to unfold in light of the characters and what they’d tend to do. You can’t just say, “at this point, Derek will do thus and such because the plot requires it.” You have to ask, would Derek do that sort of thing? Would he have sufficient motivation? Would he envision the outcomes? Is it consistent with who he is? If your characters are going to be believable, you have to have the story stay true to who they are.

12. Which is your favorite character you have created and why?

Tough call – I like a lot of them. To me, Derek/Luke in the Watchful Sky series, and Scott in Accidental Marriage, are very relatable. There’s a lot of myself in those characters, though I don’t always like them. I honestly like a good many characters, though for different reasons. Gaspar and Tigranes in From Afar, Helga Sykes in The Accidental Marriage, Chip Keller and Gerald Solomon in the Watchful Sky books. Of course, it’s kind of hard to beat Mary and Joseph, but I can hardly claim them as “my” characters. 

Characters do tend to run away with you at times. For instance, I had no idea that Chip Keller was going to be as important as he proved to be in the Watchful Sky books. I think Shawn Ramirez, who first appears in Tattered Web, is going to prove important if the series goes further. Likewise with Shaundra Nichols from Watchful Sky – I think she’s going to have a bigger role in later books.

13. Some authors monitor torrent sites and contact them to remove their content. Do you do so are have someone do so for you?

This is the first I’ve heard of this – maybe it’s something I should investigate. I presume this has to do with digital piracy.

14. If you could only recommend 10 books to a reader looking to be a well-rounded and whole person what books would you suggest?

The Bible, particularly the Gospels. C.S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity. The Lord of the Rings (which I’d count as one book). Lewis’s Narnia Chronicles – again, one book. The Gift of Faith by Fr. Tadeusz Dajczer. Searching for and Maintaining Peace, by Fr. Jacques Philippe. Augustine’s Confessions. The Space Trilogy by Lewis (one book). The collected works of Plato. The Imitation of Christ by a Kempis. (Are you detecting a theme here? Did you also notice that I managed to slip 10 extra books in there?) 

15. What were some of your favorite authors in your teen years who helped shape you?

I think I mentioned Tolkien and Lewis, who were extremely formative. I read some other authors during those years, but the only ones I remember are big science fiction names like Asimov and Heinlein. The older I’ve gotten, the less I appreciate their works.

16. What are some of your favorite books and authors now?

Besides the authors I’ve mentioned, I really like science fiction author C.J. Cherryh. She’s always had a very original voice and powerful imagination, and I think she’s hit her stride with her Foreigner series. I also enjoy Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan sagas, though I like the later ones more, because her characters are more developed and three-dimensional. 

17. What are some of your favorite contemporary religious authors to read?

I think I mentioned Fr. Jacques Philippe, who is fantastic. I’m dipping more into works by Fulton Sheen, who was a wonderful man and (I think) a true saint. I like almost anything by Peter Kreeft, who I consider an intellectual successor to C.S. Lewis. And though he couldn’t be considered a “religious” author, Brad Birzer is a man of deep faith and real scholarship. I’m currently reading his recently released Beyond Tenebrae, which is a very scholarly treatment of Christian humanism(Beyond Tenebrae: Christian Humanism in the Twilight of the West). Fr. Tadeusz Dajczer is excellent as well.

18. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

I think precisely that. The devolution of higher education into essentially glorified trade schools has been one of the marks of the decline of our culture. I speak from experience here – I have a computer science degree, which basically makes me a skilled tradesman. Many of my contemporaries are what I’ve heard described as “skilled barbarians”. I would be as well, if I’d let my education stop with my diploma. Fortunately, a true liberal arts education can be obtained outside a classroom, and I’ve attempted to do that. Newman had a lot of good things to say about what universities should be for in his Idea of a University.

19. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

See my list above. The Bible would be essential, as would those other imaginative and devotional works. I might try to slip in one or two of my own. Or maybe I’d ask for some legal pads and write my own story.

20. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists?

Read a lot. Read good literature, so you recognize when you’re producing it (and when you aren’t.) Be ready to review your works again and again. When you write something, set it aside for a few weeks. Go read some quality literature and then go back to try to read your work again with new eyes. It’s hard to get detachment from your own stories, but it’s necessary if you’re going to improve as a writer. Be prepared to throw away large volumes of what you’ve done (I have). It’s not that you’ve “wasted” that effort – it’s that you’ve used it to become a better writer. I once heard it said that you have to write a million words of drivel before producing one work that someone would pay to read. Be ready for that, and don’t give up. Above all, don’t try to write what would sell. Write the story that comes to your imagination. That, plus the skill you have to polish, is the voice you’re bringing to the world. Plenty of people can write potboilers. With self-publishing, you can easily get your name on the front of a book. But if you’re trying to convey something true, particularly if you’re trying to do it for the glory of God, be prepared to work hard.

Thank you, Roger, for taking the time to answer some questions. If you have not read any of his books, I highly recommend them all. He was number 2 on my 2019 Top Ten Fiction List out of almost 200 stories read.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Roger Thomas:
The Accidental Marriage
From Afar
The Last Ugly Person: And Other Stories

The Ghosts of Midgard Manor And Other Stories



Watchful Sky Series:
Under the Watchful Sky
Rising Darkness
The Wounded Land
The Tattered Web

...

Author profile and interview with Roger Thomas.










Tuesday, 31 December 2019

Top Ten Fiction Books 2019

Top Ten Fiction Books 2019

This year was a banner year, I read 392 books. The most since I started keeping track. The year by the numbers:

392 Books Read
311 Books read for the first time.
204 received 5/5 Stars.
194 Non-Fiction
198 Fiction

Here are my top ten fiction books of 2019. of special note the first two authors, I have read nearly all their books this year. I was greatly impressed and addicted to the works of both Fioreall de Maria, Roger Thomas and Gordon Korman. So some of my top 10 selections are authors, and their books that received 5/5 stars.

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Books by Fiorella de Maria
          Father Gabriel Mysteries:
2. Books by Roger Thomas
          Under the Watchful Sky Series:
3. Tortured Soul - Theresa Linden 
4. Brave Hearts Series - Kathryn Griffin Swegart 
5. Gifts: Visible & Invisible - Catholic Teen Books Anthology
6. The Hive - Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden 
7. Books by Gordon Korman
8. With Two Eyes Into Gehenna - Jane Lebak
9. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
10. unSPARKed books by Corinna Turner

Bonus:
11. All in Good Time - Carolyn Astfalk 
12. For Eden's Sake - T.M. Gaouette
13. The Attic Saint - Tim Drake and Theodore Schluenderfritz  

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. Which I attribute in part to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. It was not easy narrowing this down to a top 10, but the above list is what I came up with.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list.  


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996