--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/SMcNicoll As it appears live September 27, 2020 1:57:16 PM UTC

Showing posts with label SMcNicoll. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SMcNicoll. Show all posts

Monday, 1 July 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 102 books, and a total of 225 to date this year. I am reading at the pace of about a book and a quarter a day.  Of those 102 a total of 53 were non-fiction and 49 were fiction. And out of those 102 a total of 50 books received 5/5 stars and are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me to choose from 28 non-fiction and 22 fiction.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the second quarter of 2019. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within - Dr. Taylor R. Marshall
3. Mike Aquilin Take Five Series
4. Guadalupe: The Freedom of Loving - Cristina Abad Cadenas
5. CTS Deeper Christianity Series
6. Heavenly Hosts: Eucharistic Miracles for Kids - Kathryn Griffin Swegart
7. Finding God in Times of Stress - Fr. Antonio Ritaccio  
8. Forgiving Mother: A Marian Novena of Healing and Peace - Marge Steinhage Fenelon
9. Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: A Living Novena - Marge Fenelon
10. How to Get the Most Out of the Eucharist - Michael Dubruiel 

Bonus:
11. My Russian Way: A Spiritual Autobiography - Alexandre Havard
12. Meditations on the Passion: The Way of the Cross - Susanna Tamaro
13. Praying 15 Days with St. Josemaria Escriva - Guillaume Derville
14. Poland: A Pilgrim Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. The Hive - Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden 
2. Martyrs - Kathryn Griffin Swegart - Brave Hearts Book 2
3. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
4. Jack Reacher Cross Over Stories - Lee Child
5. A Truly Raptor-ous Welcome - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 2
6. Maureen Jennings Books
7. An Arrow In Flight - Jane Lebak - Seven Archangels Book 1.0
8. Transfer Complete - J.S. Criado - Memories of Twilight Book 1
9. The Kindness Club - Courtney Sheinmel - The Kindness Club Book 1
10. The Truth App - Jack Heath - Liars Book 1

Bonus:
11. Jack Reacher Stories - Lee Child
12. Belt of Truth - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Book 1
13. The Diamond Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries
14. Bones on Ice - Kathy Reichs - Temperance Brennan 17.5

One of the big differences this quarter is reading mystery – suspense – crime novels. Especially those by Lee Child and Maureen Jennings. This quarter has been my second most prodigious in reading since I started keeping track. Some of that is attributed to lifestyle changes. I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. A few years ago, I removed all games from my phone and tablet, except for a brain training game. And over the last six months or so I have been reading far more non-fiction again than fiction. This quarter I had a much better balance between fiction and non-fiction. 

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

143 - January-March 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Monday, 13 May 2019

The Diamond Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 4

The Diamond Mistake Mystery 
The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 4
Sylvia McNicoll
Dundurn Press
ISBN 9781459744936
eISBN 9781459744943
ASIN B07HNBM9MC


My children and I were terribly excited when we found out that this series was being extended. We loved the stories in the original trilogy. And My son and I have read them together a couple of times. And even though there was a wait for it, this fourth book was well worth the wait. It is an excellent addition to the stories of Stephen Nobel and Renée Kobai. Reading this book was like visiting with old friends that you had not seen in a while. But things went back to exactly how they were before. 

In a previous review of volume 1: The Best Mistake Mystery I stated that in some ways this book reads like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon but written for kids. And after reading the whole trilogy, and now this fourth volume I can state that even more emphatically. Stephen counts mistakes each day, and the chapters of the books are days. It is hard to believe that all the action in this book took place over three days.

Day 1 - 11 Mistakes
Day 2 - 10 Mistakes
Day 3 - 10 Mistakes

Which is the same numbers as books, The Snake Mistake Mystery, but less than books one and two. In this story Stephen Nobel and Renée Kobai are both still working for Stephen's fathers pet walking business, the Noble Dog Walking Agency. But in this story they face their biggest challenge yet, they have committed to walking their new neighbour, Pearl Lebel, to school she is in kindergarten and is Stephen’s reading buddy at school. Renée is very excited about this new role, but Stephen is very leery. And right from the get go things go sideways. 

Pearl’s parents are jewellers and are planning on exhibiting a rare and famous pink diamond. But Pearl has informed Stephen and Renée that she has lost it. She does not want to get into trouble, and against his better judgement Stephen agrees not to tell her parents right away. And this Stephen and Renée are on the case again. Trying to track back the events and travels of the last few days. But they are unaware that pearl’s recollection of events might not be entirely accurate. 

In this story we have a precocious little girl. An interrupted sleep over. A missing diamond, dogs to walk and a whole lot more. It is a great read and wonderful addition to the Best Mistake Mysteries, of which our family hopes there will be many many more! A great read to read to young readers, or have middle grade readers read with or to you. It receives a top endorsement from our family.  We recommend this book, and this whole series. We sincerely hope there will be more to read soon. This book is entertaining for readers of all ages. (And I am not even a pet guy.)

Books by Sylvia McNicoll:
Blueberries and Whipped Cream - 1988
Jump Start - 1989
The Tiger Catcher's Kid - 1989
Project Disaster - 1990
More than Money - 1990
Facing the Enemy - 1992
Bringing Up Beauty - 1994
The Big Race - 1996
Walking a Thin Line - 1997
Double Dribble - 1999
Smoky and the Gorilla - 1999
Grave Secrets - 1999
Caught in a Lie - 2000
A Different Kind of Beauty - 2004
Beauty Returns - 2006
Last Chance For Paris - 2008
Slam Dunk Robot  2007
crush. candy. corpse. - 2012
Dying to Go Viral - 2013

Body Swap - 2018
...

The Great Mistake Mysteries:
The Best Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Artsy Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Snake Mistake Mystery - 2018
The Diamond Mistake Mystery - 2019
...

Books Written as Geena Dare:
Stage School Series:
Dan Clowning Around #5 - 1998
Matt Heartbreak Hero #6 - 1998
Lauren Dating Dreams #7 - 1999
Abbi Secret Stranger #9 - 1999
Jenna Standing Tall #10 - 1999
Dan Double Drama #11 -1999

Book Ghostwritten as Sharon Siamon:
The Spellbound Sleepover 1999

Nonfiction:
Mom and Dad's Guide to Martial Arts 1999

Foreign Editions unavailable in English to date:
Zannas vanskelige valg  2007 (Alpha Wolf)
Zanna - mellom barken og veden 2007 (River of Ice)
Snøras   2008 (Avalanche)
Zanna i fare 2008 (Victim's Impact)
Redningsaksjonen  2009 (The Nine Minute Disaster Zone) 


Author Profile and Interview with Sylvia McNicoll






Saturday, 15 September 2018

Body Swap - Sylvia McNicoll

Body Swap
Sylvia McNicoll
Dundurn Press
ISBN 9781459740907
eISBN 9781459740921
eISBN 9781459740914
ASIN B077N38YPB


To date I have read six books by Canadian author Sylvia McNicoll. The theme of this book has been done before, in numerous variations in movies. But this book is one of the best variations on that theme.

In this story fifteen-year-old Hallie is hit by eighty-two-year-old Susan's SUV. They both go to the gates of heaven. But heaven looks and smells like a carnival. And they wake up in line for the ride. The god like figure, the coaster operator gives them the option of a second chance, but to do so they must go back in swapped bodies. Picture Morgan Freeman in Evan Almighty, at least the personality and interaction, his name is Eli. And this begins our adventure.

Hallie is not handling her wrinkled skin and achy joints. And Susan needs to deal with a forehead zit and a crush on a guy who's a player. Hallie faces a life in a long-term care residence and giving up the vehicle. Susan is accused of shoplifting. Susan and Hallie need to find a way to work together. They need to live each others lives, and they need to prove Susan innocent of the crash. Oh, and by the way they are on the clock, they only have a set number of days is all they have. Susan needs to let go of some of her anger and frustration. Hallie needs to learn to appreciate and respect the wealth of knowledge the elderly.

The story is written in alternating chapters. And both our main characters are learning to find their voice. They are learning to find a way to be heard. And they are learning a lot about each other. There are times where this book will really pull at your heart strings.

This is another wonderfully written book by Sylvia McNicoll. I think it will challenge the thinking of tweens, teen, and even retirees. It is very well written and a great new spin on an old type of story. McNicoll executes masterfully in telling this story.

Books by Sylvia McNicoll:
Blueberries and Whipped Cream - 1988
Jump Start - 1989
The Tiger Catcher's Kid - 1989
Project Disaster - 1990
More than Money - 1990
Facing the Enemy - 1992
Bringing Up Beauty - 1994
The Big Race - 1996
Walking a Thin Line - 1997
Double Dribble - 1999
Smoky and the Gorilla - 1999
Grave Secrets - 1999
Caught in a Lie - 2000
A Different Kind of Beauty - 2004
Beauty Returns - 2006
Last Chance For Paris - 2008
Slam Dunk Robot  2007
crush. candy. corpse. - 2012
Dying to Go Viral - 2013

Body Swap - 2018
...

The Great Mistake Mysteries:
The Best Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Artsy Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Snake Mistake Mystery - 2018
The Diamond Mistake Mystery - 2019
...

Books Written as Geena Dare:
Stage School Series:
Dan Clowning Around #5 - 1998
Matt Heartbreak Hero #6 - 1998
Lauren Dating Dreams #7 - 1999
Abbi Secret Stranger #9 - 1999
Jenna Standing Tall #10 - 1999
Dan Double Drama #11 -1999

Book Ghostwritten as Sharon Siamon:
The Spellbound Sleepover 1999

Nonfiction:
Mom and Dad's Guide to Martial Arts 1999

Foreign Editions unavailable in English to date:
Zannas vanskelige valg  2007 (Alpha Wolf)
Zanna - mellom barken og veden 2007 (River of Ice)
Snøras   2008 (Avalanche)
Zanna i fare 2008 (Victim's Impact)
Redningsaksjonen  2009 (The Nine Minute Disaster Zone) 


Author Profile and Interview with Sylvia McNicoll

Saturday, 30 June 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2018

It was an excellent quarter. I have found an author I love, Alice Curtayne, even though her books were published between 1930 and 1980 and most never had North American printings. And a publisher the Catholic Truth Society. Between the two of them there are over 30 reads this quarter. The Quarter by the numbers:

102 books read
60 received 5/5 stars
6 of those had been read before
34 were non-Fiction
20 were fiction

Like I stated a good quarter. My problem is even with reading over a book a day my to be read pile is always growing faster than I can read. It was by no way easy to narrow these down to a top ten list for fiction and non-fiction. But this is what I managed to come up with.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1. Alice Curtayne's Books
2. Catholic Truth Society Booklets
and more.
3. Encounter the Saints Series
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight - Saint Teresa of Avila
4. The First Society: The Sacrament of Matrimony and the Restoration of the Social Order - Scott Hahn
5. Daniel A. Lord S.J.
6. Mary and the Christian Life: Scriptural Reflections on the First Disciple - Amy Welborn
7. Heroic Catholic Chaplains: Stories of the Brave and Holy Men Who Dodged Bullets While Saving Souls - Thomas J. Craughwell
8. Further Up & Further In: Understanding Narnia - Joseph Pearce 
9. What the Saints Never Said - Trent Horn
10. Moving in the Spirit - Richard J. Hauser

Non-Fiction Bonus Books:
The Life and Letters of Father Damien, Apostle of the Lepers Joseph Damien De Veuster Edited by Paul E. Nowak
Theology of the Body for Beginners: Rediscovering the Meaning of Life, Love, Sex and Gender Revised Edition - Christopher West
Working Well, Working For Love: On The Sanctification Of Work In The Teachings Of St Josemaría Escrivá - Javier López Díaz

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. West Brothers Series Theresa Linden
2. Outwalkers - Fiona Shaw  
3. Secrets Visible & Invisible - Catholic Teen Books Anthology
4. Fight for Liberty - Theresa A. Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 3.0
5. Rightfully Ours - Carolyn Astfalk
6. Crimson - Arthur Slade
7. The Priest and the Peaches - Larry Peterson
8. A Battle for the Faith: Two Short Stories -  John Paul Wohlscheid and Theresa Linden
9. Stink Hamlet and Cheese - Megan McDonald and Peter H. Reynolds - Stink Moody Book 11
10. Body Swap - Sylvia McNicoll 

Fiction Bonus Books:
The Demons of Abadon - Larry Peterson - The Complete Series
No Fixed Address - Susin Nielsen 

If you give some of these a try I am sure they will be with the read!

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

193 - January to June 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Friday, 2 February 2018

The Snake Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 3

The Snake Mistake Mystery 
The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 3
Sylvia McNicoll
Dundurn Press
ISBN 9781459739734
eISBN 9781459739758
ASIN B06XWNBLHG


This book is the conclusion to the Great Mistakes Mysteries series by Sylvia McNicoll. But I hope it will not be the last Mistake Mystery, my children and I really hope there will be more books in this incredible series. I have read each of the three books first by myself and then with one or more of my children. I might have even enjoyed the books more the second time through, reading them at a slower pace with my children and their interactions with the story and characters. It is an excellent book in a great series! 

In my review of volume 1: The Best Mistake Mystery I stated that in some ways it reads like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon but written for kids. And after reading the whole trilogy I can stat that even more emphatically. In this volume Stephen Nobel and Renée Kobai are both working for Stephen's fathers pet walking business, the Noble Dog Walking Agency. But this time it is not one crime or mystery that is taking the focus of their attention, it is a crime spree. And unfortunately, all fingers are pointing at either Atilla or Noble. And things do not look good. As more and more crime come to light and each seems to have a link to the dog walkers, they start losing customers like hotcakes. It all starts during a story and a phone conversation with poor reception. This book involves missing items, a ring, a python snake, money, electronics. But things are not always as they appear.

And in this case, even though Stephen counts his days by his number of mistakes. In this case it was all the mistakes that adults made that led to the problems. But Stephen witnessing an adult make a mistake gives him insight into some of the missing items. 

As mentioned Stephen counts mistakes each day, and the chapters of the books are days. It is hard to believe that all the action in this book took place over three days.

Day 1 - 11 Mistakes
Day 2 - 10 Mistakes
Day 3 - 10 Mistakes
And as Stephen thinks Too Many Mistakes to Count (those would be the ones made by adults either directly or by assumptions being made.)

I truly love these books. And my children ages 7, 10, and 11 love them also. The books are great reads, and are also really fun to read out loud in a group. My older children are at a point where we were alternating pages as we read this book together. 

As a family we can highly recommend this book, and this series. We hope there will be more to read soon. This book is entertaining for readers of all ages. (And I am not even a pet guy.)

Books by Sylvia McNicoll:
Blueberries and Whipped Cream - 1988
Jump Start - 1989
The Tiger Catcher's Kid - 1989
Project Disaster - 1990
More than Money - 1990
Facing the Enemy - 1992
Bringing Up Beauty - 1994
The Big Race - 1996
Walking a Thin Line - 1997
Double Dribble - 1999
Smoky and the Gorilla - 1999
Grave Secrets - 1999
Caught in a Lie - 2000
A Different Kind of Beauty - 2004
Beauty Returns - 2006
Last Chance For Paris - 2008
Slam Dunk Robot  2007
crush. candy. corpse. - 2012
Dying to Go Viral - 2013

Body Swap - 2018
...

The Great Mistake Mysteries:
The Best Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Artsy Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Snake Mistake Mystery - 2018
The Diamond Mistake Mystery - 2019
...

Books Written as Geena Dare:
Stage School Series:
Dan Clowning Around #5 - 1998
Matt Heartbreak Hero #6 - 1998
Lauren Dating Dreams #7 - 1999
Abbi Secret Stranger #9 - 1999
Jenna Standing Tall #10 - 1999
Dan Double Drama #11 -1999

Book Ghostwritten as Sharon Siamon:
The Spellbound Sleepover 1999

Nonfiction:
Mom and Dad's Guide to Martial Arts 1999

Foreign Editions unavailable in English to date:
Zannas vanskelige valg  2007 (Alpha Wolf)
Zanna - mellom barken og veden 2007 (River of Ice)
Snøras   2008 (Avalanche)
Zanna i fare 2008 (Victim's Impact)
Redningsaksjonen  2009 (The Nine Minute Disaster Zone) 


Author Profile and Interview with Sylvia McNicoll






Saturday, 27 May 2017

The Artsy Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 2

The Artsy Mistake Mystery 
The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 2
Sylvia McNicoll
Dundurn Press
ISBN 9781459738812
eISBN 9781459738829
ASIN B01M7YWXNS


This book is the second in the Great Mistake Mysteries Series. It is another wonderful read from Sylvia McNicoll. This is a wonderful book in an amazing series. Currently it is book 2 of a planned trilogy but after reading the first two I hope it goes well beyond the three planned volumes. In my review of volume 1: The Best Mistake Mystery I stated that in some ways it reads like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon but written for kids. And that feeling in many ways is even stronger after reading this volume. The story is wonderfully written and the pace of this volume is a little quicker than the first book. Again one of the greatest strengths of this book is our main characters; Stephen Nobel and Renée Kobai. It is great to watch them grow and mature.

In this book both Stephen and Renee are still working on growing their friendship. And finding ways to deal with the stress they each have in their life. Family stress, school stress, and stress from just being kids goring up. Local art starts disappearing. From painted mailboxes, to fish on the kindergarten wall.  But more than that is going on. Stephen has a run in with kids in black caps. A gun is found in the school and the whole neighbourhood soon seems to be on alert, and more than a little anxious and nervous. But Being a little obsessive compulsive Stephen cannot just let it go. And as more things go missing life becomes more complicated, for Stephen is accused of the thefts and someone even claims to have video evidence. Throw in a little blackmail, interrogations from the police and you have a mystery with a bit of everything. 

This story has a number of themes, first is the theme of friendship. Second t deals with Stephen's obsessions in a great way. There is also the theme of the value of art. And also the importance and impact that art can have on people. 

Can Stephen and Renee figure it out again, or will then end up taking the fall for something they did not do? To find out you will need to read the book.

I absolutely loved this book and am anxiously awaiting the third instalment. It is an excellent read, and my younger two children loved it. My son could not stop talking about the book for about a week after we read it, so the art of Sylvia's words also leave an impact and have an influence on the readers. An excellent read it a great series so give it a try I am sure you will be entertained!

Books by Sylvia McNicoll:
Blueberries and Whipped Cream - 1988
Jump Start - 1989
The Tiger Catcher's Kid - 1989
Project Disaster - 1990
More than Money - 1990
Facing the Enemy - 1992
Bringing Up Beauty - 1994
The Big Race - 1996
Walking a Thin Line - 1997
Double Dribble - 1999
Smoky and the Gorilla - 1999
Grave Secrets - 1999
Caught in a Lie - 2000
A Different Kind of Beauty - 2004
Beauty Returns - 2006
Last Chance For Paris - 2008
Slam Dunk Robot  2007
crush. candy. corpse. - 2012
Dying to Go Viral - 2013

Body Swap - 2018
...

The Great Mistake Mysteries:
The Best Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Artsy Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Snake Mistake Mystery - 2018
The Diamond Mistake Mystery - 2019
...

Books Written as Geena Dare:
Stage School Series:
Dan Clowning Around #5 - 1998
Matt Heartbreak Hero #6 - 1998
Lauren Dating Dreams #7 - 1999
Abbi Secret Stranger #9 - 1999
Jenna Standing Tall #10 - 1999
Dan Double Drama #11 -1999

Book Ghostwritten as Sharon Siamon:
The Spellbound Sleepover 1999

Nonfiction:
Mom and Dad's Guide to Martial Arts 1999

Foreign Editions unavailable in English to date:
Zannas vanskelige valg  2007 (Alpha Wolf)
Zanna - mellom barken og veden 2007 (River of Ice)
Snøras   2008 (Avalanche)
Zanna i fare 2008 (Victim's Impact)
Redningsaksjonen  2009 (The Nine Minute Disaster Zone) 


Author Profile and Interview with Sylvia McNicoll







Monday, 9 January 2017

The Best Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 1

The Best Mistake Mystery 
The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 1
Sylvia McNicoll
Dundurn Press
ISBN 9781459736252
eISBN 9781459736269
ASIN B01EH0XWI0


This book was an excellent read! In some ways it reads like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon but written for kids. The story is very well written and progresses as at great pace. The characters are amazing, the two main characters are Stephen Nobel and Renée Kobai. 

Stephen Noble is not your typical kid. He can get a little anxious, and he replays events in his head again and again. He also things a lot about what might happen. And he is stepping up his responsibilities in helping his father’s business, Noble Dog Walking. He also seems to hit it off with Renee at school, after getting paired up in school. But strange things start happening, someone runs a car into the school building, there is a bomb threat. And life for Stephen gets much much more complicated. For soon two of Stephen’s favorite dogs are dognapped and he is being threatened and blackmailed. 

Renee wants Stephen to go to go to the police to clear he big brother. But he fears for the dogs safety. Together they come up with a plan to try and rescue the dogs even if it means giving in to blackmail.

The book is written in a very interesting way. Stephen counts his days by how many mistakes he makes. So the chapters are Day One Mistake One, Day One Mistake Two … to Day Three Mistake Ten. 

As someone who grew up with a learning disability, and spent a lot of time with other students with special needs this book was a fascinating read. It really captures friendship, and learning to live with your differences. It also has a strong message about turning your differences into strengths. It is also about loyalty, loyalty between Stephen and Renee and also with the dogs Ping and Pong. 

I loved this book tremendously and really look forward to reading the next in the series when it becomes available. The characters and endearing, the story is engrossing. I hope we get many more adventures with Stephen and Renee. I also look forward to reading this book with my children which is the highest praise I can give. Well done Sylvia, thank you for a great read.

Books by Sylvia McNicoll:
Blueberries and Whipped Cream - 1988
Jump Start - 1989
The Tiger Catcher's Kid - 1989
Project Disaster - 1990
More than Money - 1990
Facing the Enemy - 1992
Bringing Up Beauty - 1994
The Big Race - 1996
Walking a Thin Line - 1997
Double Dribble - 1999
Smoky and the Gorilla - 1999
Grave Secrets - 1999
Caught in a Lie - 2000
A Different Kind of Beauty - 2004
Beauty Returns - 2006
Last Chance For Paris - 2008
Slam Dunk Robot  2007
crush. candy. corpse. - 2012
Dying to Go Viral - 2013

Body Swap - 2018
...

The Great Mistake Mysteries:
The Best Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Artsy Mistake Mystery - 2017
The Snake Mistake Mystery - 2018
The Diamond Mistake Mystery - 2019
...

Books Written as Geena Dare:
Stage School Series:
Dan Clowning Around #5 - 1998
Matt Heartbreak Hero #6 - 1998
Lauren Dating Dreams #7 - 1999
Abbi Secret Stranger #9 - 1999
Jenna Standing Tall #10 - 1999
Dan Double Drama #11 -1999

Book Ghostwritten as Sharon Siamon:
The Spellbound Sleepover 1999

Nonfiction:
Mom and Dad's Guide to Martial Arts 1999

Foreign Editions unavailable in English to date:
Zannas vanskelige valg  2007 (Alpha Wolf)
Zanna - mellom barken og veden 2007 (River of Ice)
Snøras   2008 (Avalanche)
Zanna i fare 2008 (Victim's Impact)
Redningsaksjonen  2009 (The Nine Minute Disaster Zone) 


Author Profile and Interview with Sylvia McNicoll