--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/SarahAReinhard As it appears live September 19, 2020 4:20:24 PM UTC

Showing posts with label SarahAReinhard. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SarahAReinhard. Show all posts

Thursday, 28 February 2019

Do I Really Have to Give Something Up for Lent? - Sarah A. Reinhard

Do I Really Have to Give Something Up for Lent?
Sarah A. Reinhard
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780764820731



This little booklet is an excellent resource. I just finished reading it twice. I was reading it with my son when my oldest daughter came in. She asked if we could read it once I was done. And when my youngest gets home I have a feeling I will be reading it with her also. I I actually purchased this book a few years ago. It arrived to late to begin that first year. Last year it was buried on my desk, and this year my son kept asking me if we could read it. And Now we have. I wish we had read it last year, and now each of my children want their own copy. I just wish there was an eBook edition so they could each have it on their Kindle.

The description of this book is:

“Learn about a variety of opportunities to celebrate Lent, such as: giving up something meaningful, doing something for others, and sacrifice and sharing with others. With the thoughtful suggestions in this pamphlet, you will discover ways to help you grow closer to Jesus this Lent-and every day after.”

And the Chapters are:

Purpose of Lent
Give Up Something
Do Something
Fasting and Almsgiving: A Combination Sacrifice
Challenge Yourself
What is Lent?
The Meaning of lent
Looking Forward

This is a small volume of just 24 pages, but it does a great job of presenting the information concisely. The book if written for children, Teens can read it themselves and younger children can have it read to them. There is a great section about not making what you give up too hard, and also not making it too easy. It also has a great balance between what we do during lent, and what we refrain from doing. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Sarah A. Reinhard:
Welcome Baby Jesus
Welcome Risen Jesus
A Catholic Mother's Companion to Pregnancy
Catholic Family Fun
Word by Word
Do I Really Have to Give Something Up for Lent?

An Examination of Conscience for Teens: Grades 6 and Up


Author Profile and interview  with Sarah A. Reinhard




Wednesday, 28 March 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2018

I continue to average about a book a day; and have done so over the last two years. This change came about in part due to several factors. First would be a job switch mid 2016 that has lead to a much better work-life balance. Second would be walking between 40-120 minutes a day and using text to speech to listen to books while walking. I currently listen to a book while walking to my bus stop and then read the book while on the bus, and the reverse on the way home. And a few years ago, I removed all games from my PC, phone and tablet, except for a brain training game and Catholic trivia game. I also applied many tips and tricks from Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now. Those three factors have greatly increased how much I am able to read. 

So how does this quarter look? I read 91 books, of those 91 I gave a 5/5 rating to 47. Of those 47 the total non-fiction was 30 and the fiction were 17. So, all in all it was a good quarter. Also, of those 47 a total of 10 were books that had been read and on top ten lists previously. So, I will pick a Top 10 in each category from the new reads and give a hat tip to the rereads. I read some amazing books and narrowing it down to a top ten was not easy. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. God Is Love - Pope Benedict XVI - Deus Caritas Est
2. From Islam to Christ: One Woman's Path through the Riddles of God - Derya Little 
3. I Don't Like Lent - Daniel Lord S.J. 
4. Stories of Saints by Alice Curtayne
5. Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque - Emily Beata Marsh and Dani Lachuk - Encounter the Saints Book 37
6. The Fourth Cup: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper and Christ's Crucifixion - Scott Hahn
7. The Peace Promise: Trusting God to Solve the Unsolvable - John Kuypers
8. Blessings from the Battlefield - Ed. Thomas R. O'Brien 
9. Saint Catherine of Siena - Alice Curtayne
10. A Catholic Guide to Mindfulness - Susan Brinkmann

Bonus:
St. Robert Bellarmine - Shaun McAfee
Trickle Down Mindset: The Missing Element In Your Personal Success - Michal Stawicki
Divine Mercy in My Pocket - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé
Keeping Mary Close: Devotion to Our Lady through the Ages - Mike Aquilina and Frederick W. Gruber
Mary Help in Hard Times - Marianne Lorraine Trouve

Extra Bonus Previously on Top Ten List:
1. In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
(New eBook editions links to all reviews here)
Volume 2 Part 1: Lent & Holy Week
2. Welcome Baby Jesus: Advent and Christmas Reflections for Families - Sarah A. Reinhard
3. Master Your Time in 10 Minutes a Day: Time Management Tips for Anyone Struggling with Work-Life Balance - Michal Stawicki

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Anyone But Him - Theresa Linden
2. Image and Likeness: Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body - Edited by Erin McCole Cupp and Ellen Gable
3. Amber Fang Revenge - Arthur Slade - Amber Fang Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Book 3
4. Kayan Kronicles - Derya Little 
5. Testing Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 2
6. The Other Side of Freedom - Cynthia T. Toney
7. Stealing Jenny - Ellen Gable
8. Wonder - R.J. Palacio - Wonder Book 1.0
9. We're All Wonders - R.J. Palacio
10. The Revisionary - Kristen Hogrefe - The Rogues Book 1.0

Bonus Previously on Top Ten List:
1. The Flash Hocus Pocus - Barry Lyga
2. Modo Ember's End - Arthur Slade and Christopher Steininger - Mission Clockwork Graphic Novel

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

91 - January to march 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Saturday, 10 February 2018

Some Suggested Reading Options for Lent 2018

2018 Some Suggested Reading Options for Lent

I have used all of these books at least once in the past. Some I use annually. Links on the titles go to full reviews of the books if I have written them.





Francis Fernandez
ISBN 0906138205
Scepter Press
ISBN 0906138191
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 1 Lent and Holy Week
ASIN B006GHNB66
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 2 Eastertide
ASIN B006IGQL0I

This volume spans the time from Ash Wednesday to Pentecost Sunday. Therefore this book will lead you through Lent, Easter and the 5 weeks of Easter leading up to Pentecost. If you cannot afford the whole set, start with this volume and the Advent and Christmastide volume, then add the others over time. It is usually cheaper to buy the boxed set but sometimes that amount of money is not available up front. You can read my full review of this book here. And these are now available in ebooks. The eBook edition is split into 2 volumes.


Daybreaks: Daily Reflections for Lent and Easter 
ISBN 9780764826870
ASIN B01N4QF53K

I have read Amy's Reconciled to God Daily Lenten Devotionsand her contributions in other devotionls. I am looking forward to reading this new offering from her. The Description of this volume is "This Lent and Easter season, author Amy Welborn shares her own struggles and triumphs of trying to live Lent and Easter spirituality year-round. She shares how small moments of frustration can turn into small lessons of grace. We carry our own crosses alongside Jesus this season. But as we drop worldly concerns to pick up our cross, we may realize our burden has actually been lightened."



This series comprises 26 Books, 26 Topics, and 20 Questions on different aspects of Catholicism or Catholic answers to other religions. I recently read a challenge to read all 26 books in this series over lent. I was originally planning on reading them over a year, but after reading this volume I am up for the challenge. To read them all over lent would be about 25 pages of reading a day. Here is the list of books in this series.




Best Lent Ever - Matthew Kelly
The Dynamic Catholic Institute


This is a series of daily messages and videos delivered directly into your mailbox. Last year I did the lent and advent series and really got a lot out of them so I am looking forward to the lent messages again this year.




Rediscover Lent
Matthew Kelly
St. Anthony Messenger Press
ISBN 9781616362379
eISBN 9781616364236


I have yet to read anything my Matthew Kelly that did not help grow my faith. I love the daily email from The Dynamic Catholic Institute, and I really look forward to reading this book over lent. I know that this book is a series of excerpts from Rediscover Catholicism, but I have yet to read that book. This should be an awesome tool this year.





Welcome Risen Jesus
Sarah A. Reinhard
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780764820748


Last year I read the book Sarah edited, Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary and absolutely loved it. And this past advent we read Welcome Baby Jesus with the kids and it was amazing. I am really looking forward to her insights on lent and the reflections and action points for the kids.




Lenten Meditations with Fulton J. Sheen
Fulton J. Sheen
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780764816840


Last year I finished listening to Life Changers by Greg Willits, in it he focuses on knowing the faith, living the faith and sharing the faith. A few different times he recommends reading something by Fulton J. Sheen, so I picked up this devotion for Lent. Now to be honest I was a little disappointed, at first, it is only a short quote and a related bible verse. But after reading a few, even though it will be the shortest daily resource I expect some real gem's from this book.


If you have some must have recommendations for Lenten readings please add them in the comments.


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!





Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Welcome Baby Jesus - Sarah A. Reinhard - Advent and Christmas Reflections for Families

Welcome Baby Jesus:
Advent and Christmas Reflections for Families
Sarah A. Reinhard
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780764819971

ASIN B008XJOH8Q 


My family have read through this booklet three of the last 4 years now. My children have loved it each time we have worked through it together. It as well as the companion volume Welcome Risen Jesus are wonderful reads. The these for the weeks of advent for the reflection are: 

Get ready!
Repent
Love
Anticipate
Rejoice!

There is a devotional reading for each day from the first Sunday of Advent until January 1st and also the feast of the Epiphany. This year there is 6 days between those two. My kids love this devotional book. Even after our third time through they look forward to reading it together each day. Each day follows the same format. There are three main sections. Think – Pray – Act and a verse of the day. My children love the daily prayer section that we pray together. They also love the act section with gives a suggestion of something to do to apply the lesson from the devotion. A sample devotion is:


Feast of Epiphany  


Think: We don’t hear a lot about people “prostrating themselves” before other people. I always picture these kings, in all their fancy clothes, lying flat on the ground before Jesus, who was probably sitting on Mary’s lap or on the ground close to her. The floor might have been dirt, and the kings must have been quite a sight. 
Then to see the things they brought! They brought gifts fit for a king, though what they saw before them was far different than the usual image of a child king. Jesus was, to all appearances, the child of a carpenter, not wearing the fancy garments or surrounded by the court the kings must have expected. 
Even seeing their surroundings, the kings still laid themselves out on the floor at Jesus’ feet. They recognized him as a king, even though he didn’t look the part. 
We’re called to do the same. In our everyday lives, Jesus asks us to recognize him in the people around us, to act in a way that shows others that we serve Jesus. The greatest gift we give Jesus is the love we give to the people around us. That’s the message of Christmas.  

Pray: Jesus, I want to honor you as the Magi did, but I don’t have a lot to give. Take my heart and make it yours. Take my actions and bless them so that they glorify you. Take my prayers and help me grow. Amen.

Act: Draw a picture of the gift you would bring to Baby Jesus.

On entering the house they saw the child with Mary his mother. They prostrated themselves and did him homage. Then they opened their treasures and offered him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh.
Matthew 2:11


This book is an excellent Advent devotion for the whole family. I have done it with children as young as 4 and as old as 11 over the years we have done it and all of them really enjoy it. As a family we highly recommend this book. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Sarah A. Reinhard:
Welcome Baby Jesus
Welcome Risen Jesus
A Catholic Mother's Companion to Pregnancy
Catholic Family Fun
Word by Word

Do I Really Have to Give Something Up for Lent?
An Examination of Conscience for Teens: Grades 6 and Up


Author Profile and interview  with Sarah A. Reinhard




Monday, 18 December 2017

Monday the Third Week of Advent - Welcome Baby Jesus - Sarah A. Reinhard


Monday the Third Week of Advent from:
Welcome Baby Jesus
Sarah A. Reinhard
Liguori Publications

ISBN 9780764819971

(Note: This devotion always gets to my kids. They love the task of telling each family member one thing they appreciate about each other. Two years ago, the last time we worked through this book we did this exercise a few nights in a row.)

Think:
Jesus gives John the Baptist a very high compliment in today’s quote from Scripture by saying that none are greater, but there seems to be a contradiction when Jesus says the least in the kingdom of heaven are greater than John. What does this mean? 

Jesus is reminding everyone how important it is to be small and humble. This does not mean that we do not stand up for ourselves when we are mistreated. It means, instead, that we do not forget that God is first and that his will should determine how we live our lives. John the Baptist never tooted his own horn; he always gave God all the credit. 

We are all called to be like the least in the kingdom of heaven; God wants us to serve those around us, to help the poor and feed the hungry. Some people are called to be rich and famous, and there is a lot of responsibility in that. Our goal should be to try to follow God’s will for our lives, to love him enough to say “Yes” to what he is asking from us right here, right now. 

Maybe we have a bed that needs to be made, an assignment that should be finished, a friend who could use a hug. There are many ways to show love in our everyday lives, and when we are generous with our love, we not only show God to those around us, but we find him in the people we meet.

Pray:

Jesus, it’s hard to show love to other people when I have so much else to do. Guide me in my day-to-day activities so that I show your love to other people. Amen.

Act:
It’s easy to forget that we should always be looking for the good in other people, especially those we’re around every day. Tell every member of your family one thing you appreciate about them.


"Amen, I say to you, among those born of women there has been none greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he." 
Matthew 11:11


Books by Sarah A. Reinhard:
Welcome Baby Jesus
Welcome Risen Jesus
A Catholic Mother's Companion to Pregnancy
Catholic Family Fun
Word by Word

Do I Really Have to Give Something Up for Lent?
An Examination of Conscience for Teens: Grades 6 and Up


Author Profile and interview  with Sarah A. Reinhard

Thursday, 30 November 2017

Advent 2017 Reading Plan Preparing for the Season

Advent 2017 Reading Plan

I have been thinking about the season of advent that begins on Sunday December 3rd, 2017. My understanding is that is the latest possible date it can start. It is a season of preparation, and a season of celebration. It is the season of beginnings. It is the beginning of the liturgical year, and we have many beginnings each year. For me having spent 20 years in university September is often when I think of a new year. And for many January first the beginning of the calendar year is a new beginning. It is a time to prepare for the birth of Jesus, a time to prepare by working on myself. Working to become a better husband, a better father, a better son, a better brother, and a better man. I have been thinking about this season often over the last few weeks, especially with how late the first Sunday of Advent is this year. I have decided what resources I am going to use this year. I have narrowed down my list for the season to the following:



Best Advent Ever - Matthew Kelly
The Dynamic Catholic Institute


This is a series of daily messages and videos delivered directly into your mailbox. I have been getting the Best Advent and Best Lent Ever emails for a few years now. I find they are a fantastic way to start the day. The video's, and personal stories in this series are incredible.




Welcome Baby Jesus
Sarah A. Reinhard
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780764819971


This is the book I have decided to incorporate into my reading with my children, again. We read through it two years ago and the kids loved it. Especially the daily exercise. Each day is broken down into three sections based on that reading. They Are Think, Act and Pray. Having read the book Sarah edited this year, Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary I am really looking forward to her insights and reflections for the kids.




In Conversation With GodVolume #1: Advent and Christmastide
Francis Fernandez
ISBN 0906138205
Scepter Press
ISBN 0906138191


I love this series, It is intensive 6 pages for each day of the year a 2 volumes of special feasts with 6 pages each for those. I have read through this series a few times and now it is available in eBook formats which make it much easier and portable. This series was originally published in Spanish and was completed in January 1991; the English translation was completed in 1993. It has been immensely popular since they first started coming out in1988. They are published around the world, and have helped thousands of readers in enriching their spiritual lives. You can read my full review of this book here.




Advent of the Heart: Seasonal Sermons and Prison Writings, 1941-1944
Alfred Delp
Ignatius Press
ISBN 9781586170813
ASIN B003TFEFV8

I have not read this one before but really look forward to reading it based on other samples of his works I have read in translation. A few years ago I read With Bounds Hands by: Mary Frances Coady and was amazing by the story of this man's faith.

Those are the resources I am using this year. How are you preparing for the coming of Christ Jesus? And if none of those grab you attention then there is an amazing resource by Felix Just SJ available at Catholic-resources.org. It has an extensive list of resources at the bottom of the article. So prepare to prepare the way for celebrating Jesus coming.

Related Articles:
Advent Reading 2012
Thinking About Lent 2015
Advent 2015 Reading Plan Preparing for the Season


All Advent Articles




Monday, 27 February 2017

Lenten Reading 2017

Lenten Reading 2017

This year I am changing it up a bit. I am not doing any devotions that are year specific for 2017. I have chosen 3 daily reading books, one for morning, one for afternoon and one for evening. I have also chosen 1 audio resource and my last selection this year for lent if the Catholic Answers 20 Book Challenge.



Francis Fernandez
ISBN 0906138205
Scepter Press
ISBN 0906138191
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 1 Lent and Holy Week
ASIN B006GHNB66
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 2 Eastertide
ASIN B006IGQL0I

This volume spans the time from Ash Wednesday to Pentecost Sunday. Therefore this book will lead you through Lent, Easter and the 5 weeks of Easter leading up to Pentecost. If you cannot afford the whole set, start with this volume and the Advent and Christmastide volume, then add the others over time. It is usually cheaper to buy the boxed set but sometimes that amount of money is not available up front. You can read my full review of this book here. And these are now available in ebooks. The eBook edition is split into 2 volumes.


Daybreaks: Daily Reflections for Lent and Easter 
ISBN 9780764826870
ASIN B01N4QF53K

I have read Amy's Reconciled to God Daily Lenten Devotionsand her contributions in other devotionls. I am looking forward to reading this new offering from her. The Description of this volume is "This Lent and Easter season, author Amy Welborn shares her own struggles and triumphs of trying to live Lent and Easter spirituality year-round. She shares how small moments of frustration can turn into small lessons of grace. We carry our own crosses alongside Jesus this season. But as we drop worldly concerns to pick up our cross, we may realize our burden has actually been lightened."



40 Days to Mercy:
A Jubilee Year Lenten Devotion
Michael Gaitley
ISBN 9781596143364

This devotion was written for a specific year, last year in fact. But I did not really get into Father Gaitley's writings until after that point. I will be doing book the book and audio version of this devotion.



This series comprises 20 Books, 20 Topics, and 20 Questions on different aspects of Catholicism or Catholic answers to other religions. I recently read a challenge to read all 20 books in this series over lent. I was originally planning on reading them over a year, but after reading this volume I am up for the challenge. To read them all over lent would be about 25 pages of reading a day. Here is the list of books in this series.

So As you can see between doing the Exodus 90 and the above reading it might be a pretty good thing that I gave up TV as part of the Exodus 90. Looking forward to growing through discipline this lent. 



Monday, 11 April 2016

Welcome Risen Jesus - Sarah A. Reinhard - Lent and Easter Reflections for Families

Welcome Risen Jesus:
Lent and Easter Reflections for Families
Sarah A. Reinhard
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780764820748



This is the third book by Sarah A. Reinhard that I have read and the second devotional. And I must say it is a little gem. Of the 6 devotionals I read this lent it was the only one that had daily readings for the octave of Easter. Both this and the companion volume Welcome Baby Jesus: Advent and Christmas Reflections for Families are amazing!

The more of Sarah's work I read the more impressed I become. To be honest the kids loved both of these books so much I wish she had a set of them for Ordinary time. The book is designed to help families prepare for Easter by focusing on the three pillars of Lent, prayer, fasting and almsgiving. Each day contains a scripture quote, a reflection, an action for others a suggested fast for the day and then a prayer. Because we read it in the evening the fast and action became a focus for the next day. This year my children were ages 9, 8, and 5 over Lent and all three of them loved this book. In fact there were a few nights where we had been out late and I wanted to double up the next day and they always clamoured to do the reading. To the extent that twice we read them from my phone in the car on the way home instead of the ipad before bed.

One of the greatest strengths of this book is that the devotions are easy enough for children to appreciate, reflect on, and apply and yet they are deep enough that in my mid-forties I found them very moving. Another example of the power in these devotions is a few times my children asked to go back and reread part or all of the reading from the night before so they could share how they applied it. Here is a sample devotion:

Monday

Third Week Of Lent

Think: The Samaritan woman couldn't believe Jesus was being kind to her. Not only was he a Jew, but she was probably an outcast, someone no one else liked.
Jesus' tells her that God loves her and that he has the authority to share that love with her. "If you knew who I was, you'd be asking ME for a drink." He uses the image of a drink to refer to the "living water" of his saving grace.
He could be saying that to any one of us. Imagine him standing in front of you, holding your face in his hands, and telling you what he tells the Samaritan woman.


We're told that when we do something kind to the least of those among us-especially the poor and the helpless-we do it to and for Jesus.


We often have an opportunity to be nice to people and to share God's love without saying a word. Within our own family, especially, it's easy to forget that truly loving another is important and takes constant work.


In our dealings with people other than our family, we should also be aware of how we can be more like Jesus. Is there someone with whom no one plays, a person who's mean to others or who seems lonely or sad? What might you do to extend a kindness to that person?

Act: Take a drink to someone today.
Fast: Instead of making a mess, clean one up.
Pray: Help me to show compassion and kindness to those around me today, Jesus.


Give:
Jesus answered and said to her, "If you knew the gift of God and who is saying to you, 'Give me a drink,' you would have asked him and he would have given you living water."
John 4:10

If you are looking for an amazing Lenten devotional for the whole family or children you love this is an excellent choice!


(Note: this books is part of a series: A Year of Reading Intention - Catholic Reading!)

Books by Sarah A. Reinhard:
Welcome Baby Jesus
Welcome Risen Jesus
A Catholic Mother's Companion to Pregnancy
Catholic Family Fun
Word by Word

Do I Really Have to Give Something Up for Lent?
An Examination of Conscience for Teens: Grades 6 and Up


Author Profile and interview  with Sarah A. Reinhard





Saturday, 30 January 2016

A Year of Reading Intention - Catholic Reading

A Year of Reading Intention - Catholic Reading


Over the years I have read some absolutely incredible books on living my faith. A mix of Catholic and non-Catholic authors. I have been reading a number of great books but keep jumping around and have numerous books on the go currently. I usually have very focused reading for Advent 2015 and Plans for Lent 2016, but I thought I would build out more of a plan for the year. So it will be a year of reading intentionally. I have just gone through my Kindle, Kobo and Google Play book apps to see what I have on the go or have and want to read. These are the books that are my goal for getting through this year. So in alphabetical order here are the books I plan to make it through this year:

Innitial List: 
A Man Cleansed by God - John E. Beahm
Rediscover Jesus - Matthew Kelly
Catholic Book of Character, The - Fr. Edward Garesche
Church Militant Field Manual - Richard Heilman
Father The Family Protector - James B. Stenson
God Who Loves, The - Shane Kapler
God's World and Our Place In It - Fulton J. Sheen
Life's Greatest Lesson - Allen Hunt
Live Well Today - Fr. Thomas Dailey
Memorize the Mass - Kevin Vost
This Tremendous Lover - Eugene Boylan

I am sure some others will get added over the year but the goal is to get through at least these, but not just to read them to apply them and live the principles. I am part way through a number of these but it will work out to about a book every 2 weeks to get through the list.

Added by recommendation or from other reading:
A List that grows out of this year's readings and recommendations:
40 Years with a Saint: - Alvaro del Portillo and Cesare Cavalleri
33 Days to Morning Glory: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in Preparation for Marian Consecration - Michael E. Gaitley
33 Day to Merciful Love: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in preparation for Marian Consecration - Michael E. Gaitley 
77 Ways to pray with Your Children - Jerry Windley-Daoust
A  Friar's Tale - John Collins
Behold Your Mother - Tim Staples
Basic Field Manual for Hearing God's Voice - Philip Kosloski
Divine Mercy Explained - Michael E. Gaitley
Divine Mercy Image Explained - Michael E. Gaitley
Distractions - Philip Kosloski
Every Man's Journey - James P. Campbell 
Finding True Happiness - Fulton J. Sheen
God or Nothing - Cardinal Robert Sarah
Good Use of Time: 11 Principles to Live By - Rafael Tomás Caldera
How God Hauled Me Kicking and Screaming Into the Catholic Church - Kevin Lowry
Hope for Hard Times - Scott Hahn
Holy Water and its Significance for Catholics - Henry Theiler
The Horarium - Philip Kosloski
How To Book of Catholic Devotions, The Second Edition - Mike Aqulina and Regis J. Flaherty
Fulton Sheen's Wartime Prayer Book 
The Long View - Matthew Kelly 
Resisting Happiness - Matthew Kelly
Made for More - Curtin Martin
Our Father - Sabrina Bus and Xavier Deneux
Hail Mary - Sabrina Bus and Xavier Deneux
Men of Mercy - Pope Francis
Maiden of Nazareth, The - Javier Saurez-Guanes
Navigating the Interior Life. Spiritual Direction and the Journey to God- Daniel Burke and Fr. John Bartunek
Into the Deep: FInding Peace Through Prayer - Dan Burke 
A Shepherd in Combat Boots - William Maher
Your Life in the Holy Spirit - Dr. Alan Schrec
Serviam - Philip Kosloski
Stress-Proof Your Marriage - Cory and Heidi Busse 
Soul, Mind and Heart - Cardinal Timothy M. Dolan
Speaking to the Heart - Stephen Gabriel 
Real Mercy - Jacques Philippe
Saint Augustine in 50 Pages - Taylor R. Marshall
Thomas Aquinas in 50 Pages - Taylor R. Marshall 
Three Methods of Prayer That Will Change Your Life - Philip Kosloski
Truth Be Told - Mark Hart
The Timeless Teachings of Saint John Paul II - John E. Fagan
Year of Faith Companion: Prayer - Francis Fernandez
Year of Faith Treasury: The Roman Pontiff - Francis Fernandez
Year of Faith Companion: Holy Communion - Francis Fernandez 
The Life God Wants You to Have - Gregory K. Popcak 
Understanding the Mass: 100 Questions, 100 Answers - Mike Aquilina
Why Am I Here - Matthew Kelly

Lent Reading:
Lenten Meditations with Fulton J. Sheen
Rediscover Lent - Matthew Kelly 
Sacred Reading for Lent 2016 - Douglas Leonard
40 Days, 40 Ways A New Look At Lent - Marcellino D'Ambrosio
2016 Magnificat Lenten Companion - Magnificat
Living Faith Lent 2016- Terence Hegarty
Welcome Risen Jesus - Sarah A. Reinhard

Advent Reading:
In Conversation with God Volume 1 Part 1 Advent - Francis Fernandez
Advent Meditations with Fulton J. Sheen

Audio Resources:
Light In The Darkness - Patrick Lencioni
Life Changers - Greg Willits
Becoming the Best Version Of Yourself - Matthew Kelly
Don't Just Try, ... Train - Matthew Kelly   

Catholic Fiction
Why Am I Here - Matthew Kelly
The Monks Daily Bread - Sylvia Dirham and Christopher Tupa
The Perfect Blindside - Leslea Wahl
An Unexpected Role - Leslea Wahl 
Liberation - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Book 3
Sword And Serpent - Taylor R. Marshall
The Watson Chronicles - Ann Margaret Lewis
Someday - Corinna Turner
Moses The Black: Thief, Murderer, Monk, Saint - Jared Zimmerer
The Tenth Region of the Night - Taylor R. Marshall - Sword and Serpent Book 2

Related Articles:
Advent Reading 2012
Thinking About Lent 2015
Advent 2015 Reading Plan

Other Article or Books on Lent:
Lent 2014 Some Reflections
Reconciled to God Daily Lenten Devotions - Amy Welborn
Magnificat Lenten Companion 2012
Lenten Preparation 2007
Holy Week Reflections 2007
Lent Readings 2006
The Way of the Cross Part II - Reviews of 5 more version
The Way of the Cross Part I - Reviews of 5 different versions