--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/ScotGardner As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:09:44 AM UTC

Showing posts with label ScotGardner. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ScotGardner. Show all posts

Tuesday, 31 December 2013

Top Ten Fiction Books 2013

Top Ten Fiction Books 2013

1. Game - I Hunt Killers # 2 - Barry Lyga

2. Doll Bones - Holly Black 

3. Crush. Candy. Corpse - Sylvia McNicoll 

4. Damage - Stephen Shea - aka Arthur Slade

5. Rapunzel Let Down - Fairy Tale Retold #6 - Regina Doman

6. Bookmark Days - Scot Gardner 

7. The Not So Simple Life - Stephen Shea - aka Arthur Slade

8. Tin Star - Cecil Castellucci

9. Coldest Girl in Coldtown - Holly Black

10. Johnny Hangtime - Dan Gutman 

11. The Testing #1 - Joelle Charbonneau 


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Monday, 8 July 2013

Bookmark Days - Scot Gardner - Girlfriend Fiction

Bookmark Days
Girlfriend Fiction Book 11
Scot Gardner
Allen & Unwin
ISBN 9781742377711


Last year I read Scot Gardner's The Dead I Know and it completely blew me away. This is the fourth book I have read by Gardner in under a year and each has impressed me. But there was something very different about this one. When I bought it I did not know it was part of a series called Girlfriend Fiction. And if I had known that I might not have purchased it. But that would have been my loss. The story has an amazing premise and is wonderfully written.

Avril Stanton lives in the outback of Australia. Her family farms and has sheep. They also have a blood feud with the neighbors the Carrignton's.  But Avil sees her live as a book, some days are bookmark days, days you will remember forever. And other days are days with dog-eared pages. That concept immediately struck a chord with me. The story is part Romeo and Juliette it is also a teen coming of age story. It is also the story about family and learning to do what is right even if it is not popular.

This was an amazing read. With every book I read by Scot Gardner I become more impressed with his skill. This book completely different than anything else I have read shows an amazing range of skill. This is a book I can highly recommend! 


Books by Scot Gardner:
The Dead I Know
The Detachable Boy
Bookmark Days
Happy as Larry
One Dead Seagull
White Ute Dreaming
Burning Eddy
The Other Madonna
The Legend of Kevin the Plumber
Gravity
One Wheel Drive
Kite Dude
The Lost King

Author Profile and Interview with Scot Gardner.


Girlfriend Fiction:
1.    My Life and Other Catastrophes by Rowena Mohr
2.    Indigo Girls by Penni Russon
3.    She's with the Band by Georgia Clark
4.    Always Mackenzie by Kate Constable
5.    The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend by Lili Wilkinson
6.    Step Up and Dance by Thalia Kalkipsakis
7.    The Sweet Life by Rebecca Lim
8.    Cassie by Barry Jonsberg
9.    Bookmark Days by Scot Gardner
10.    Winter of Grace by Kate Constable
11.    Something More by Mo Johnson
12.    Big Sky by Melaina Faranda
13.    Little Bird by Penni Russon
14.    What Supergirl Did Next by Thalia Kalkipsakis
15.    Fifteen Love by Robert Corbert
16.    A Letter from Luisa by Rowena Mohr
17.    Dear Swoosie by Kate Constable
18.    Thirteen Pearls by Melaina Faranda
19.    The Boy/Friend by R.M. Corbet
20.    Three Things About Daisy Blue by Kate Gordon

Monday, 1 July 2013

Top 10 Books Second Quarter 2013

Top 10 Books Second Quarter 2013

1. Doll Bones - Holly Black 
2. Crush. Candy. Corpse - Sylvia McNicoll 
3. Bookmark Days - Scot Gardner 
4. The Testing #1 - Joelle Charbonneau 
5. Johnny Hangtime - Dan Gutman 
6. Sorrow's Knot - Erin Bow 
7. The Sandman - The Guardians of Childhood - William Joyce 
8. The Man in the Moon - The Guardians of Childhood - William Joyce 
9. Stink and the Freaky Frog Freakout - Stink Moody Book 8 - Megan McDonald and Peter H Reynolds 
10. Bane Chronicles - Cassandra Clare et all 
What Really Happened In Peru - The Runaway Queen - Vampires, Scones, and Edmond Herondale

(Reviews will follow over next month.)

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

 Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

52 - January-June 2013
176 - 2012
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Sunday, 30 December 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 2012


1. I Hunt Killers - Barry Lyga
2. The Dead I Know - Scot Gardner
3. Son - The Worlds Book 4 - Lois Lowry
4. Firegirl - Tony Abbott
5. Toppling - Sally Murphy
6. Megiddo's Shadow - Arthur Slade
7. Brookdale High Books - Barry Lyga

Hero-Type - Boy Toy - The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl
8. Such Wicked Intent - Kenneth Oppel
9. (you) set me on fire - Mariko Tamaki
10. Unspoken - Henry Cole
11. Judy Moody Books & Stink Moody Books - Megan McDonald & Peter H. Reynolds


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

176- 2012
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Monday, 27 August 2012

The Dead I Know - Scot Gardner

The Dead I Know
Scot Gardner
razorbill an imprint of
Penguin
ISBN 9780143182122


Five years ago when I read a book I always had a pencil in my hand and made notes and grabbed quotes as I read. As I have been reading more and more electronically, now when I do read a physical book I find I just have lost that habit. But this book was so compelling that I stopped on a number of occasions to write down quotes to share with others. This is the first of Scot Gardner's books to be released in Canada. It was an amazing read. I literally read it in less than 24 hours and could not stop talking about it and think about it for days afterwards. It is an incredible read.

Aaron Rowe is a young man who has had trouble fitting in at school. He is now beginning an apprenticeship to work as a funeral director. On one of his first days there is a motorcycle accident and he finds the head some distance from the body and he reflects to himself: "I became aware, as John closed the door, that although we'd been conducting the same search, the policemen and I had been looking for different things and for different reasons. They were hunting for mortal remains to finish a job. I was hunting the still countenance of someone's son, perhaps their brother, maybe even their father, to bring him a final grace. By giving him grace, I found some of my own. The police protected the living, ambulance officers protected the injured and we protected the dead. All as it should be." He likes his new work and seems to have a natural knack for it. But Aaron is suffering from nightmares and sleep walking and both are getting progressively worse. As they are getting worse, so is his mother; she is slipping into dementia and Aaron does not want to lose her and her presence in his life. He thinks to himself: "With that fragment of conversation, I knew the scales had tipped. Mam had gone and probably wouldn't find her way back Perhaps she'd gone home? She'd done her work. She'd schooled me in life the way an institution never could. She'd made me think long and hard about everything and anything, answered every question I'd ever asked and many that I hadn't. She'd fed me, washed me and clothed me until I could do it for myself. Until I could do it for her. She'd grown old and now she was growing young again, all innocence and hugs. It seemed to have happened so fast, but if I stopped to think about it there had been years of incremental decline, faithfully denied by us both until- paf, like a blown globe - she'd finally let go. Until that moment, when I'd let go too." Again, later in the book, he reflects on the turmoil in his life and nightmares and the peace of his new work. "The smell of air-freshener flowers had become linked in my mind to the cool stillness of death, and death was my new best friend - someone I'd only just met but felt I'd known forever." And so begins the tale of Aaron.
The characters in this story are amazing - Aaron, his new boss John, and John's very precocious daughter Skye. Between their interactions with the living and the dead it makes for a wonderful tale.

In the last 5 years I have read 800 books and this is the number 2 fiction book in that time. (The first being I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga.) It was so good that I bought and read the only ebook available in North America by Scot Gardner the day after I finished this book. On a side note, I lent this book to my mother- in-law after reading it. She works in the funeral industry and she could not put it down and also read it in one day. I cannot think of higher recommendations than the two of us, so different but both unable to stop reading. So pick it up and give it a try. The Dead I Know just might surprise you in more ways than one.

Books by Scot Gardner:
The Dead I Know
The Detachable Boy
Bookmark Days
Happy as Larry
One Dead Seagull
White Ute Dreaming
Burning Eddy
The Other Madonna
The Legend of Kevin the Plumber
Gravity
One Wheel Drive
Kite Dude
The Lost King

Author Profile and Interview with Scot Gardner

Wednesday, 22 August 2012

The Detachable Boy: With One Loose Foot - Scot Gardner

The Detachable Boy:
With One Loose Foot
Scot Gardner
Allen & Unwin
9781741753455


This was a very peculiar story. The premise was different and the story a romp around the world. It was a great fun read. It was the second book by Scot Gardner that I read in under a week and left me wanting to sample more. This is a story about friendship, about caring and about adventure.
John Johnson is different; he is detachable. His body can come apart in pieces and go back together. He has a bad habit, when he sneezes, of his head blasting off. And that is just the beginning. His problems begin when he is hit by a car and falls to pieces literally. Men in black suits grab him up and put him in a bag but he escapes. But the kidnappers grab his friend Crystal and he believes he is the reason and he goes on a quest to rescue her. With his mate Ravi, they raise the funds to ship him to America where Chrystal is being held. But a young boy travelling around the world to save his best friend can run into more than a few obstacles.

The troubles he encounters and how he gets out of them are both great fun. It was a light read and a great summer break read. Give the book a try and you will find yourself craving more of Gardner's writings. This unique story will grab your attention and keep it.

Books by Scot Gardner:
The Dead I Know
The Detachable Boy
Bookmark Days
Happy as Larry
One Dead Seagull
White Ute Dreaming
Burning Eddy
The Other Madonna
The Legend of Kevin the Plumber
Gravity
One Wheel Drive
Kite Dude
The Lost King
Dark Stone Eye
Mainsails 4 The Tunnel (With Dean Proudfoot)

Author Profile and Interview with Scot Gardner































































































Monday, 6 August 2012

Scot Gardner - Author Profile


The Dead I Know by Scot Gardner Blog Tour 2012

Scot Gardner is an author of over a dozen books mostly for young adults and youth but who has garnered a wider following. Scot lives in Australia, is the father of three children, owner of two dogs and plays the didjeridu. He divides his time between writing and speaking to children and youth about writing and giving workshops. The Dead I Know is his first book to be released in Canada, and having read it in one sitting I can only hope we see many more of his books here soon. Scot took some time to answer questions for the readers here at Book Reviews and More, so without further ado Scot in his own words.
1. If you had not become a writer what do you think you would be doing for a living?

I love building things, gardens, houses, musical instruments and the like. I think if I wasn't writing I'd be self-employed in construction.

2. Who were some of your favorite authors or books in your youth?

I didn't read much as a kid. I loved Tintin by Hergé and Asterix and Obelix by Goscinny and Uderzo. I didn't read a novel of my own volition until I was seventeen. It was My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George, about a kid who runs away from home and subsists in the wilderness. I did that every summer and the book seemed real to me. I still wish I had a pet falcon and I haven't stopped reading since.

3. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How did you nurture that dream?

I liked playing with words as a kid. I wrote bad poems and worse short stories. The seed to write for a job was sown while I was hitch hiking with a friend. A magazine editor picked us up after dark and as a passing gesture suggested that I should write something for his organic gardening publication. It was almost eight years later when I got an idea together for him and he was good to his word and paid me for the article I wrote about growing food in our suburban front yard. I thought I'd discovered alchemy. Gold for leaden thoughts. I nurtured my writing by reading everything I could about the craft, selling a few more articles and eventually attending workshops with Australian writing legend John Marsden (the Tomorrow, When the War Began series). I felt my writing change gear after that workshop and knew I had bigger stories to tell.

4. What advice do you wish an artist had passed on to you early in your career, which you only learned through experience?

I wish someone had been able to model a workable balance between writing and income generation for the early days. All my role models were living solely from their writing and in the small pool that is Australia, that's hard to engineer. I didn't realise how hard back then. You need to find a balance-a day job that will pay the bills but still allow you time to write. Sometimes you have to pay your dues doing what you hate in order to do more of what you love.

5. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing?

I have the seeds for fifty-two and a half writing ideas humming in my head at any one time. I water them all by engaging with the world-reading, watching films, hanging with friends, traveling. The things I experience that pique my attention (a turn of phrase, a vignette of story, a news article) begin to gravitate towards one of the ideas. Eventually, they morph into something useful and stick to the idea. The idea gains mass and the main character takes shape in my imagination. We become friendly, the character and I, and I begin to imagine their motivations and their problems. Eventually, the planets align and I have to write-longhand notes, then maybe a timeline on index cards, then a chapter at a time on the computer. When the novel is three-quarters done, I feel the loathing rise in me. I hate the work, I hate the characters, the story is stupid and I want to throw it all away. I have a name for that now-Weltschmerz (German, 'world pain'). It's when I realise the reality of the work is nothing like the pyrotechnic vision I had in my head. I look forward to that pain, now. It lets me know I'm on task. I finish the work (small internal fanfare, thank you), print, edit, print, edit, print, edit and then forward it to my agent. I don't sell a work until after it is written, thereby reducing time pressures on writing and setting us in the command seat when shopping the book around. Pippa has found a home for everything I've written in the last ten years. I've worked with five publishers, two extensively, and I've developed relationships with some amazing editors. I love the editing process-it's when the work becomes truly collaborative and fresh eyes get to shape the nebulous strings of words into something palatable. When we're all happy, they print (larger internal fanfare, thank you).

6. One of the greatest strengths in your books are the characters, they are so solid and believable. The characters you create, are they reflections of people you know, composites of different people you know or entirely your creations?

Most of my characters are composites, though many have a dominant real-world inspiration. In The Dead I Know, John Barton the funeral director is inspired by my godfather, Kevin, also a funeral director. Aaron is a hearty blend of a close friend and a kid I counseled at school many years ago. My wife's mum and her decline with dementia fed me stories and understanding to develop the character of Mam.

7. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family, she said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it?

Once the novel is written, I think little about the characters again. Ideas for a new book are already coalescing as I prepare the previous manuscript for publication, however during the writing I live and breathe with them. My wife gets sick of conversations about my imaginary friends.

8. What was your favorite character to write and why?

My favourite character in The Dead I Know is Skye Barton; the precocious daughter of Aaron's employer. I like straight-talking kids and she was the blustering foil for Aaron's carefully constructed world of half-truths and denial. Got to love a kid who can tell a fat person that they're fat and get away with it, huh?

9. Do you use a playlist when writing? Are certain books written while predominantly listing to the same music?

I write in busy places like cafés and the library at the university. I like to be surrounded (but not interrupted) by quiet conversations and people going about their lives and I rarely listen to music as I write. For me, listening to music is a conscious act, much like writing itself, and I sit to listen like someone might prop to watch his or her favourite TV show. The music has all my attention while I'm listening. Having said that, my books have musical downtime companions-music I play a lot after the day's writing is done. For The Dead I Know, it was Newton Falkner, Mumford and Sons, Iron and Wine and Josh Pyke.

10. Some of your books are available in electronic formats but with that comes bootleg distribution. What are your impressions of ebooks and the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means?

I consider myself as a digital content provider as well as an author. Ebooks offer exciting opportunities for authors to write more of what they want to write. I love my eReader and think of it as a portable bookcase. I'm in two minds about the whole issue of bootleg distribution-digital sharing feels like transferring light from one candle to another, but I don't want to do myself out of a job.

11. Some authors monitor torrent sites and have their publishers contact them to remove their content. Do you do so are have someone do so for you?

No. Should I?

12. With the release of The Dead I Know in the Canadian Market do you hope to see some other of your books become available here?

I'd love for my other works to become available in Canada-sometimes it feels like Australians and Canadians have a lot in common, particularly our worldview. There's not much 'translation' between Australian English and Canadian English. I think we're global cousins.

13. In the story The Dead I Know Aaron's nightmare and sleep walking goes through progressions successively getting worse. How did you come up with that plot element that continually builds suspense as the book progresses?

My youngest daughter, who was an Olympic-standard sleepwalker, inspired the whole somnambulism aspect of the book. Her nightmares would 'wake' her and we could have complete conversations and she'd never remember a thing about them in the morning. She wasn't really awake. Her eyes were open but my wife and I could tell that she was dreaming. Sometimes, she'd sneak out of the house and wander the streets of the country town where we lived, asleep. Her nightmares were recurrent and we'd get a snippet more of information each time she 'woke' screaming. Those snippets were tantalizing and frustrating at the same time and clear inspiration for the rising tension in The Dead I Know.

14. Aaron Rowe is a very likeable character, even though he seems to be on the fringe or periphery of society. How did you come to develop his character and do you think we will see either him or Skye again in future novels?

They were both stand-alone characters. I doubt I'll revisit them again. A young man I met twenty years ago inspired Aaron. He'd endured the sort of hell Aaron endured but still managed to get up in the morning, to love and be loved. That's the sort of courage I find most inspiring.

15. Your books have now traveled around the world. Are they any plans for translations or any specific languages you would like to see your books in?

Not yet. Canada is my first port abroad.

16. What are some of your favorite books and authors now?

I read widely now, but mostly contemporary Australian fiction for adults and teens. I love the works of Tim Winton and Richard Flanagan and my contemporaries in the young adult genre like Markus Zusak, Margo Lanagan, Barry Jonsberg, Phillip Gwynne and John Marsden.

17. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

Higher education should give us tips about what has worked in the past, but we really need to learn how to think for ourselves. Higher education should be a Socratic tease, asking us questions we desire to hunt the answers for.

18. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

Markus Zusak The Book Thief
Tim Winton Breath, Cloudstreet and Dirt Music
Peter Hedges What's Eating Gilbert Grape
Richard Flanagan Gould's Book of Fish, The Sound of One Hand Clapping
Margo Lanagan Black Juice, Red Spikes, White Time, Yellowcake

19. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists?

Write like crazy, until you're almost crazy. If you still love it, do it again. Get rejected ten times and if you still love it, get rejected again. That's the sort of endurance you might need. Don't give up your night job.

I have read over 800 books in the last 5 years, The Dead I Know by Scot Gardner is the second best of the lot. I desperately hope more of his books are released her in Canada especially in eBook format. And Can only say go get the book read it. As a side note I lent my review copy to my mother in law she read it in one day also. She said she could not put it down and had to find out what would happen next. She reads no young adult and works in the funeral industry and thought it was very well done. So go buy the book read it rave about it!

Books by Scot Gardner:
The Dead I Know
The Detachable Boy
Bookmark Days
Happy as Larry
One Dead Seagull
White Ute Dreaming
Burning Eddy
The Other Madonna
The Legend of Kevin the Plumber
Gravity
One Wheel Drive
Kite Dude
The Lost King
Dark Stone Eye
Mainsails 4 The Tunnel (With Dean Proudfoot)

Author Profile and Interview with Scot Gardner





















































































Sunday, 1 July 2012

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 2nd Quarter 2012

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 2nd Quarter 2012

1. The Dead I Know - Scot Gardner
2. The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl - Barry Lyga
3. Toppling - Sally Murphy
4.
Megiddo's Shadow - Arthur Slade
5.
Judy Moody Books & Stink Moody Books - Megan McDonald & Peter H. Reynolds
6. Someday - Alison McGhee and Peter H Reynolds
7. The Westing Game - Ellen Raskin
8. Ant and Honey Bee: A Pair Of Friends At Haloween - Megan McDonald and G. Brian Karas
9. Alien On A Rampage - Clete Barrett Smith
10. Zoe's Year - Barbara Reid
 
Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

107 - 2012 January to June
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996