--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/Smoothies As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:41:28 PM UTC

Showing posts with label Smoothies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Smoothies. Show all posts

Thursday, 15 March 2018

Ginger Raspberry Squeeze Smoothie

Ginger Raspberry Squeeze Smoothie

Ingredients:
The juice of:

1 lemon
1 lime
1 orange
1 grapefruit


and

1 cup frozen raspberries
3 drops doTerra Ginger Essential Oil
1 tbsp maca powder
1 tbsp goji berries

Hand juice the citrus fruit and add to blender. Add all dry ingredients, then add the frozen raspberries, and 1-5 drops of ginger essential oil. (Start low and add each time you make it until you find your perfect taste.

This smoothie has amazing flavor and taste. Fit is the first time that I have added oils to a smoothie but will not be the last. Up until now I had just been adding them to room temperature water, or in my favorite hot drink, Lemon Lime Peppermint Water.

I love making smoothies and the wonderful thing about a simple one like this is it is so easy to make variation. Below are some optional ingredients to add or swap out.

Optional Ingredients:
Dry Ingredients:

1tbsp Chia Seeds
1tbsp Flax Seeds
1tbsp Hemp Hearts
1tbsp coconut flakes

Frozen Ingredients:
1 cup frozen peaches
1 cup frozen blueberries
1 cup frozen kale
1 cup frozen mixed berries

You could also swap out one or more of the citrus fruits for juiced carrots. I have so many new smoothies I want to try and many doTerra oils to experiment with. I will continue to post new recipes from time to time as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. I also have another notebook for my essential oils research and notes.

Saturday, 1 March 2014

Coconut Vanilla - Smoothie Saturday

Coconut Vanilla

Ingredients:
1tbsp Chia Seeds
1tbsp Flax Seeds
3tbsp Hemp Hearts
2tbsp Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
1 Cup Frozen Raspberries
1 Cup Vanilla Almond Milk
1 tsp Vanilla extract
Water to max line

Place seeds, hemp hearts with enough cold water to cover. Add rest of ingredients and cold filtered water to max line then blend until thick and frothy. Makes 2 - 8.25 ounce servings.

Nutritional Information:
236 Calories
15g Carbs
17g Fat
10g Protein
7g Sugar
11g Fiber





Quick Tips:
I put the chia seeds, flax seeds and hemp hearts in the blender with a touch of water and let them soak while prepping the rest.





I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 


Saturday, 15 February 2014

Tart Surprise - Smoothie Saturday

Tart Surprise

Ingredients:
1tbsp Chia Seeds
3tbsp Hemp Hearts
1 cup Blue Berries
1 Beet quartered
1/2 cup Beet Greens
1 Oranges Pealed
1 Lemon Pealed
1 inch Fresh Ginger Pealed and chopped
Water to max line

I use a NutriBullet so combine all ingredients and blend until smooth and frothy. If juicing then skip the water.

Nutritional Information:
518 Calories
76g Carbs
17g Fat
19g Protein
45g Sugar
24g Fiber



Quick Tips:
1. I buy beets in bulk and wash and chop them and freeze them. I keep the green's separated from the roots/ They are quick and easy to use and help make nice cold thick smoothies.
2. I put the chia seeds and hemp hearts in the blended with a touch of water and let them soak while prepping the rest.



I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 

Saturday, 8 February 2014

Chocolate Mint Protein Smoothie - Smoothie Saturday - Stacey Morris Guest Post

Chocolate Mint Protein Smoothie

Guest post by Stacey Morris from staceymorris.com.

I've kept 180 lbs. off for 4 years by knowing when to hold 'em and when to fold 'em.  If I'm truly craving a dessert, I have it and move on. But for the vague and ordinary craving for sugar, this works beautifully!  It's loaded with protein, calcium, antioxidants, and other nutrients, and I adore it as an afternoon snack or a post-workout boost. Check out your area health food store or the internet for superfoods.  My favorite brand is Navitas Naturals.

Chocolate Mint Protein Smoothie

1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk
1 scoop protein powder
     (my favorites: Plant Fusion vanilla or Jay Robb's Egg White protein powder)
2 Tbs. raw cacao nibs
1/8 tsp. peppermint extract
1 Tbs. Maca (a superfood powder)
1 Tbs. raw cacao powder
Handful of baby spinich
Optional: 3-4 ice cubes

Stacey Morris
www.staceymorris.com



 (Without spinich.) 

Check back next Saturday for another great Smoothie recipe and remember I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook with like to original sources.


I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 


Saturday, 1 February 2014

Mango Beets - Smoothie Saturdays

Mango Beets

Ingredients:
1tbsp Chia Seeds
1/4 Lemon pealed
1/4 Lime pealed
1 cup Frozen Mango
1 Beet quartered
1 cup Chopped Frozen Kale
Water to max line

Nutritional Information:
261 Calories
49g Carbs
5g Fat
11g Protein
24g Sugar



 I use a NutriBullet so combine all ingredients and blend until smooth and frothy. If juicing then skip the water. 

This is the second by me in a new series of post. I will post a new recipe from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook with like to original sources.


I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 


Saturday, 25 January 2014

Green Goddess Smoothie - from Body Rebooted - Smoothie Saturday

Green Goddess Smoothie

Guest post by Christina Russell from Body Rebooted a fellow member of Team DDP.

Mix together all ingredients and serve! (Serves 2)
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 cup pineapple chunks
2 cups spinach
1 frozen banana
1 tbsp Maca Powder (optional Superfood)




The Green Goddess Smoothie gives you a blast of vitamins and minerals to get your morning going.  Packed with vitamins A, B-6, C, and E and full of fiber and antioxidants - you'll definitely want to add this smoothie to your weekly line-up!

Check out Christina's blog for even more great health and fitness tips.

Check back next Saturday for another great Smoothie recipe and remember I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook with like to original sources.




I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 


Saturday, 18 January 2014

Beet Blaster - Smoothie Saturday


Beet Blaster 

Ingredients: 
1tbsp Flax Seeds 
1tbsp Chia Seeds 
1/4 Lemon Pealed 
1 cup Frozen Raspberries 
1 Beet quartered 
1 Beet Greens chopped 
1/2 Cup Orange Juice or is using a Juicer 2 Oranges 
1/4 inch Fresh Ginger chopped 
Water to max line 

I use a NutriBullet so combine all ingredients and blend until smooth and frothy. If juicing then skip the water. 

This is the first in a new series of post. I will post a new recipe from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook with like to original sources.

Nutritional Information:
357 Calories
62g Carbs
9g Fat
10g Protein
37g Sugar


I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 


Monday, 8 April 2013

NUTRiBULLET - A Review

NUTRiBULLET

Last year during a job interview, I was asked if I were a kitchen appliance, what one would I be and why.  At the time, I stated I would be the Magic Bullet. When asked why, I talked about how versatile it is and the fact that we used it daily. And bang for the buck was worth more than anything else in the kitchen. At the time, I did not even know about the NUTRiBULLET, but I got one for Christmas and it is 100 times better. Let's start with what is in the box:

The Milling Blade
The Extractor Blade
The Power Base
Tall Cup
Short Cup
Handled Cup
Comfort Ring
Comfort Handle
2 Lids
Guidebook and Recipe Book
Pocket Nutritionist

The design and power of the NUTRiBULLET over the original was astounding. First it has a 600 Watt motor, and a new extractor blade. The power is amazing. With the original, I had to be cautious of how much frozen Mango I used because the blades and motor just could not handle it. With this one I can fill to the max line with just mango add liquid and go. I have added whole carrots and blended them smooth into drinks with other ingredients. It comes with a quick card that has numerous recipes for cleansing, immune boost, energy lift, and more. You can not only make smoothies, but side dishes snacks and more. Between the book and your imagination you could come up with new recipes every day. There is a mix and match chart where you pick a green, fruit and a booster and make your own concoction. Of all the gifts I have received, this one by far was the most useful out of the box and should provide great service for years to come. Now I wish it came with more cups, and the lids do not form a perfect seal and occasionally it leaks on the way to work. But that can be overlooked based on how well it performs. On a scale of 1 to 5, I rate this a 6! You cannot go wrong.


Note:
I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 

Monday, 27 February 2012

Toadally Primal Smoothies - Primal Toad - AKA Todd Dosenberry

Toadally Primal Smoothies
Primal Toad (AKA Todd Dosenberry)

Todd has created an incredible primal smoothie book. It is ever growing with more recipes. It has an awesome index, and some ingredients I know you will never have thought to put into a smoothie. There will be enough variety that no matter your personal taste you will find many new and wonderful beverages. Todd takes us through the process from choosing ingredients to the finished product. The categories of smoothies are:

Low Carb
Dessert
Chocolate
Coffee
Kombucha
Avocado
Green
Coconut
Almond Milk
Dairy
Odds & Ends

With over 100 recipes currently it is an amazing collection. I have tried about 20 so far, a few not to my liking based on my preferences, but all of them were nutritious and well worth trying. I have a found a few that are new favorites including The Mint N Kale, Tropical Protein Boost and Papaya Avacado Coconut. Each recipe is on a separate page with a color photo, ingredients needed, nutritional data and vitamin and mineral breakdown (See sample below). It is a great tool in your health and fitness arsena. If you're Primal or Paleo, it will be an amazing resource, if you're health conscious it will give you some awesome variety to try.

Just as a side note, if you buy direct from Toad's website you get free updates for life!



Other Fitness Articles:

Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

TRX Articles:

TRX an Introduction
TRX Force

TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility

My P90X Series:

Phase I
Phase II
Gear
Phase III
Fitness Options
P90X at 120 Days Out

Health & Fitness Book Reviews:

The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer
Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen



I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other.