--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/Soups As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:29:08 AM UTC

Showing posts with label Soups. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Soups. Show all posts

Saturday, 7 March 2020

Seriously Amazing Lentil and Tomato Soup

Seriously Amazing Lentil and Tomato Soup


This soup is a variation of one I found online. The original I started from can be found here. This soup is easy to make, and it is amazing the first day it is even better when reheated. You can use yellow, brown, green or red lentils. But I used and prefer red.

Ingredients
3 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, chopped (white, brown, yellow, or red)
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 large carrots, halved and chopped ad ½ medallions
5 celery ribs, chopped
2.5 cups / 450g dried lentils, red, green or brown, rinsed
796ml / 26 oz crushed tomato
2 liters / 1.5 quarts (8 cups) vegetable or chicken stock or broth
1 tsp turmeric
2 tsp coriander seeds crushed with mortar and pestle or ground in blender
2 tsp paprika powder
2 dried bay leaves
1 lemon (zest + juice)
2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
2 tsp pink salt (or to taste)
1 bunch or fresh cilantro finely chopped

Instructions
1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add garlic and onion, cook for 5 minutes.
2. Add carrot. Cook for 7 - 10 minutes or until softened and the onion is sweet. Take your time.
3. Add all remaining ingredients except the lemon, cilantro and Salt. Stir.
4. Increase heat and bring to simmer. Place lid on and turn heat down to medium low. Simmer for 35 - 40 minutes or until lentils are soft stirring frequently.
5. Optional Thicken Soup: Using a stick blender, do 2 or 3 quick whizzes to thicken the soup (see video below). Or transfer 2 cups to a blender, let it cool slightly, then hold lid with tea towel and blend then transfer back into pot.
6. Add a touch of water if you want to adjust soup consistency. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Grate over the zest of the lemon then add the juice of the whole lemon just before serving. Garnish with Cilantro, or if serving later add remaining cilantro to the pot and stir well.


Note: when I reheated it on the stove a few days later I added the zest and juice of a second lemon and it was fantastic!

You can see all the recipes I have created and collected here on OneNote.




Saturday, 21 September 2019

Fall Tomato and Mushroom Stew

Fall Tomato and Mushroom Stew


I was home on the first PD day of the school year with my three kids and an extra one. We had both mushrooms and tomatoes in the house that needed cooking. I just started and this is what developed. I love cooking with doTerra essential oils, I find that the flavors really pop. So this was my stew for a fall day.

Ingredients:


1 large baked potato 2 cups cubed mushrooms
3 cups Tomatoes: if using cherry cut in half, if other types cube.
1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp pink salt
2 tsp Italian seasoning
2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
½ cup milk

Seasoning:

1 drop cilantro essential oil
1 drop ginger essential oil
1 drop oregano essential oil
3 drops turmeric essential oil

Note: I use oils, but you can use fresh or dried to taste.

Directions:


In a large saucepan melt butter and add oil. Sauté mushrooms until reduced, add salt and pepper and Italian seasoning. Once mushrooms are fully cooked add the cooked potato and the tomatoes. Simmer until most of the tomatoes are popped and sauce is thickening. Add the essential oils at this point or add dried herbs. Reduce heat to simmer and simmer until desire consistence stirring occasionally. Add the milk and simmer another five minutes and serve.
 

 Finished Product
 In Progress
Simmering down.
The oils I used.

Saturday, 23 July 2016

Uncle's Shawarma and Kabob - Review

Uncle's Shawarma and Kabob - Review

The Best Shawarma in KW Region!



Uncle's Shawarma & Kabob
425 University Ave E.
Waterloo, ON
N2K 4C9


(Freshco Plaza, University & Bridge)

I am a big fan of Shawarma specifically and middle eastern cuisine in general.  And I have tried many places in the region, and often when I travel for work make sure I find a place or two to try.  Until recently my favorite place was further along University Ave, and my second was on Victoria. But since trying Uncle's I have not gone back to any other. To be honest this is the best Shawarma I have had anywhere in the world. And I have had some really good stuff in Cologne, Germany, and in Phoenix, Arizona and even some inserting variations in Austin, Texas and nothing compares to Uncle's!

And unlike some Shawarma take out places, Uncle's has a full menu with a wide range of cuisine. And though not on the menu they have incredible soups; I often get a dal or chick pea of other soup and they are incredible. I am not a wrap guy, but love a Shawarma salad, or if hungrier a Shawarma plate. And the portion sizes here are very generous, at every other Shawarma place in the region I always order extra meat, especially if getting the salad. The first time I tried Uncle's I got a salad with extra meat and could not finish it. I have never again gotten extra meat at Uncle's and always been well satiated.

I have introduced a number of people to Uncle's, this past week my brother tried Shawarma for the first time there. A friend was over from the UK and took him there he got Shawarma and poutine and could not finish either because it was so much food.

They do have a counter that seats about 8 and a table that seats 6 but for the most part it is take out. I went there with my 3 young children, they love the hand cut fries and the oldest ate have a plate of Shawarma meat. The kids and I have often walked there and eaten in, or it is my stand by for eating out. Even my wife was impressed with how friendly the family that runs the place was when she stopped in to get me something one time when we were in a big rush.

If you like Shawarma, gyros, kabob's or even just good food in general you owe it to yourself to give this place a try. As I stated I think it is the best in the region and am sure you will enjoy it. Great people, amazing fun what more could you ask for!








Saturday, 29 November 2014

Butternut and Spaghetti Squash Soup


Butternut and Spaghetti Squash Soup 

Made this fall soup this week, has a nice sweet and savoury flavour. 

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons coconut oil
Salt
Pepper
2 tbsp Italian Seasoning
2 tsp sage
2 tsp ground ginger
1 Large Butternut Squash
1 Medium Spaghetti Squash
6 medium Carrots
1 Large Onion
1L Organic Chicken Broth

Prep:

Halve and clean insides of Squash. Halve and peal onion, wash carrots. Rub down all with mixture of olive oil, salt, pepper and Italian seasoning, about 1 tsp of each. Roast in oven for 45 minutes turning every 15 minutes. Once out of oven peal squash and cube all vegetables.


Cooking:

This soup can be done in the crock pot or on the stove top. Add cubed vegetables to crock pot or stove top pot. Cover with organic chicken broth, add rest of seasoning. If stove top simmer for 3 hours. If Crock pot cook for 8 hours on high or 12 hours on low. Once vegetables crumble with a fork purée either with an immersion blender or in batches.


I served garnished with a sprinkle of Italian Seasoning.


For this and other Gluten Free recipes I have collected check out this shared Evernote Notebook.

For other Spaghetti Squash Resources click here:

Saturday, 8 November 2014

Carrot and Butternut Squash with Sage and Ginger Soup


Carrot and Butternut Squash with Sage and Ginger Soup

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons coconut oil
5 cups rainbow carrots, peeled and chopped
2 butternut squash (about 4 cups or 2 lbs), chopped
2 cups rainbow peppers stemmed and chopped
1 cup cherry tomatoes quartered
2 tablespoons ginger, peeled and chopped
1 tablespoon sage rubbed
1/2 inch piece fresh turmeric pealed and grated
8 cups bone broth or beef or vegtable
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
Zest and juice from 1 lemon
1 ½ teaspoons sea salt
½ teaspoon ground black pepper
5-7 fresh sage leaves

This soup can be done in the crock pot or on the stove top. For the crock pot I used the juices from a roast with potatoes and carrots as my stock. Sauté carrots until tender, sauté  butternut squash until browned and tender, sauté  rainbow peppers and tomatoes. Add all to crock pot and add seasoning add more stock as needed until vegetables are covered. Cook for 5 hours on high or 9 hours on low. Puree with an immersion blender or blend in batches. put back in crock pot and add juice and zest of 1 lemon mixing well. If you want to lighten the color, add 1/2 cup cream or sour cream. Serve and garnish with a spoon of hemp hearts and more lemon zest.

Note: if you are cooking on the stove top you might need to add half again to the sage, ginger and turmeric.

The recipe based on Carrot and Ginger Soup with Lemon Zest by Amy Myers MD.




For this and other Gluten Free recipes I have collected check out this shared Evernote Notebook.


Thursday, 26 June 2014

Tumeric Infused Soup


Tumeric Infused Soup
or Yum Yum Soup


This soup is a new favorite, I have made three variations of a recipe I found and this is the best!

Ingredients:
  • 2 Cup Split yellow mung dal
  • 6 Cups water
  • 2 tsp. Turmeric
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/3 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 5 cups fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp freah ground black pepper
  • Salt to taste (preferably rock/Himalayan pink salt)
  • 1 large Onion
  • 3 slices bacon

Preparation:

In a large pan, fry the bacon until crispy, remove the bacon and sauté the onions in the bacon grease.  Add the following to the onions the mung dal, water, and spices and bring to a boil.  Then reduce the heat to medium-low and cook until the dal is soft. In batches puree the mixture and return to pot. Add the chopped the spinach coarsely (you want large pieces) then mix with dal, just until it’s incorporated. Season with salt and pepper before serving and quuueze a 1/4 fresh lime over each bowl! And if you want garnish with the crumbled bacon.

Tips:

For the coriander I ground it as I use it, just do it in your blender.
If your blender is plastic the turmeric will stain it yellow while blending.
For variations try orange lentils, or yellow split peas or a mix of the three.

Here is the original version of the soup I started from The Soup that Changes Everything.


Friday, 6 October 2006

The Secrets of Jesuit Soupmaking: A Year of Our Soups by: Brother Rick Curry S.J.

The Secrets of Jesuit Soupmaking
A Year of Our Soups
Brother Rick Curry S.J.
Penguin Compass
ISBN: 014219610X

“There is something so comforting about soup. It touches something deeply rooted in our lives.” p. 5. This book is a journey around the world and through the year.

The soups are divided into church seasons: Advent, Christmas, Lent, and Easter. It is filled with interesting stories and anecdotes from Curry’s travels and from Jesuit history and lore.

The recipes are great and the tales make them nourishing for the soul as well as the body. With soups from around the world and tales of travels, life, loss and joy, the book will be a pleasure to read. Savor the words of wisdom as you enjoy the soups.

Rick Curry entered the Society of Jesus in 1961. In the last forty years he has been an actor, baker, teacher and author. He founded the National Theatre Workshop of the Handicapped, a nonprofit acting school for persons with disabilities. With both a masters and doctorate in arts, he has created the first residential center for arts for persons with disabilities.

What I love most about this book, is how the author opens up to us, his life, travels and his religious order Te Society of Jesus or, as they are more commonly known, Jesuits. Curry shares stories about the Jesuit community, but he also makes the distinction between myth and truth; he quotes a brother Jesuit John Courtney Murray who stated: “A myth is that which never happened, but is forever true.” In this book he tries to capture that spirit with both the soups and the stories. He tries to capture the learning and memory of Jesuits around the world.

Nice thing about the recipes, they are all accessible. There is nothing worse than picking up a cookbook and having to find out what the ingredients are and traveling all over to track them down. These recipes do not fall into that category; any student could find the items at the local grocery store. The meals are easy to prepare, and with such a great variety, could give you a new soup a week for more than a year. Many of the soups also offer variations for even greater variety. For example, there is a recipe for basic Chowder that has variations for Clam, Crab or Corn. In comparison to Soup Crazy, a cookbook by What’s for Dinner? Host Ken Kostick, all of these recipes are accessible to the average student’s kitchen. You won’t need special pots or utensils, or a dictionary to figure out what the instructions mean.

This book will help keep you warm in body and in spirit. It would be a great addition to a student’s kitchen or even any soup-lover’s bookshelf. Pick it up and give some of the soups a try - your stomach will thank you. If you want a real challenge he also wrote a book called Secrets of Jesuit Breadmaking, and what could be better than homemade bread and soup for supper on a cold fall evening.

(First Published in Imprint 2006-10-06 as ‘Soups for the Soul’)