--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/TRX As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:05:17 AM UTC

Showing posts with label TRX. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TRX. Show all posts

Wednesday, 12 December 2012

TRX Force Kit: Tactical


TRX Force Kit: Tactical

I was very impressed with the original TRX Force Training program. But this program takes it to a whole new level. It is a twelve week boot camp with 4 or 5 workouts per week, with built-in fitness assessments at given intervals to gage your progress. It has a total of 62 different exercises with three to five levels of difficulty or progressions for each. Only one workout is repeated exactly the same in the whole program.
Each day starts out with a mobility module; either 7 or 9 stretching moves to get you warmed and limbered up. Then three rounds of exercises with between 3 and 5 exercises. Then some days you repeat each round, and some days you do all three then repeat. All of this change-up gives a grand total of 49 different workouts. During the 12 weeks I went from a 1 minute max set of pushups from 45 to 60 in a single set.

Now I will be honest - I love weights, I enjoy the repetition and lifting poundage but after spending 10 weeks just using a TRX across two different programs I am really impressed with the versatility and the quality of this product. You can take it anywhere and use it almost anywhere. With the extender and door mount you can use it indoors and out and it travels really well also. Fitness in a bag.


I recommend that you go through and try all the different exercises before beginning the program. If you are buying a TRX or suspension trainer, pay the extra money and get this model and the program alone makes it worth the extra money. The carry backpack is convenient for storing or taking it on the go. A few times I took the kids to the park and hooked it up to the playground while they played and did my workout. The DVDs come with an exercise library that has each exercise as a different menu option and each progression is skip- able in the design. A few things that could have been done better are the fold- out posters showing the exercises - they are double sided so they cannot be mounted on the wall for quick reference, and also in the exercise library on the DVD, the menu can go to next group, previous group or full menu, but there are only 4 sections of exercises so why not just have all 4 options at the bottom for quick jumping. But aside from these few items it is worth every penny and will be a great tool in your fitness arsenal. 


(Note: when I upgraded to the TRX Force Kit: Tactical I passed this on to a friend. After 4 weeks he could not believe the difference, especially in size of his biceps.)


TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force
TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility


Other Fitness Articles:

Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

My P90X Series:
 

Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III,  
Fitness Options,  
P90X at 120 Days Out

Health & Fitness Book Reviews: 
The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer
Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
 

Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips

Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen

Friday, 10 August 2012

TRX Force Training

TRX Force Training

This is an awesome 12 week boot camp! Created to get someone deployment ready for us non-military types it will push you hard then push you some more. I need to preface this review by stating that 5 years ago I did P90X and was completely out of shape when I began it. I have stayed pretty active since then and kept most of my weight loss off. This workout kicked my butt like P90X did and more.
For this program, the creators at TRX keep it simple - there is a Strength Workout 1 and a Strength Workout 2; each week you do the two workouts twice. There is a total of 23 different exercises. But you never get bored. Every two weeks you change it up; you increase either reps or sets and always decrease the rest time between exercises. For example, in week 1 and 2 most exercises you are doing 10 reps and only one set, by week 12 you're doing 3 sets of 10-15 reps per exercise. And your transition time is cut in half. All of the exercises are done either with the suspension trainer fully lengthened or fully shortened.

There is also a 7-day cardio plan for the program. It has a mix of interval runs, distance runs, speed runs and flexibility workouts. The cardio component follows the strength component in that every 2 weeks it switches up and gets progressively harder.

I highly recommend that you try all the exercises before beginning the program. I took 3 days and went through the setup, and used and tried each exercise a few times before beginning and it makes a huge difference. Make sure to use this piece of equipment correctly. Follow the mounting instructions, and instructions for getting into it pronated face down and face up. If you follow the simple instructions this workout will amaze you and get great results.

This program is available for purchase if you already own a TRX Suspension trainer. It can be bought as a DVD with a manual or as an instant video download. This was the original program sold with the TRX Force and could be purchased only with that suspension trainer. But it is now available separately and is worth every penny.

(Note: when I upgraded to the TRX Force Kit: Tactical I passed this on to a friend. After 4 weeks he could not believe the difference, especially in size of his biceps.)


TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force
TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility


Other Fitness Articles:
Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

My P90X Series:
Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options, P90X at 120 Days OutHealth & Fitness Book Reviews:The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer
Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen

Friday, 29 June 2012

TRX - An Introduction

TRX an Introduction!
Make Your Body The Machine

Sometimes you encounter something so great you just cannot stop talking about it. To be honest, that is how I feel about the TRX Suspension Training System. It is one of the best investments I have ever made for health and fitness
gear. The versatility and flexibility of this piece of equipment combined with the portability and 'workout anywhere' option make it truly amazing. I have been using it for 6 weeks now as my main workout equipment and am just beginning a second program on it. The funny thing is, I had avoided this piece of equipment for a few years. Tam, our consultant from trifit at work, has been suggesting it for a few years. I went into the gym at work and tried it on my own with no instructions or videos and thought it was a wasteful gimmick.Now jump ahead two years, and through circumstance, I travelled 10 days for work, and then was off for 10 days travelling. It was time to give a suspension trainer a try. I went to Fitness Solutions in Kingston and tried a number of models and makes. I eventually settled on the TRX Force model. With the door mount, an x-mount and the TRX, I was set. What is great about the TRX is that there are over 300 approved exercises available for the TRX, and on their website and TRX YouTube channel they are constantly releasing more. When you register your product you get free video downloads. Set up and use of the TRX is so easy. It sets up in under a minute, you use it fully extended or fully shortened, in single-handed mode or double-handed mode. Among those four variations you have hundreds of exercises. Give it a try if you will not believe it.

Note: I will be reviewing the TRX Force, TRX Force Tactical and others as time goes on.


Other Fitness Articles:Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force
TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility

My P90X Series:
Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options, P90X at 120 Days OutHealth & Fitness Book Reviews:The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer
Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen