--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/TaylorRMarshall As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:19:54 AM UTC

Showing posts with label TaylorRMarshall. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TaylorRMarshall. Show all posts

Monday, 2 December 2019

God’s Birthday Why Christ Was Born on December 25 and Why it Matters - Taylor RMarshall

God’s Birthday: 
Why Christ Was Born on December 25 and Why it Matters
Taylor R. Marshall
Saint John Press
ISBN 9780988442528


First this book is available for free via Dr. Taylor Marshall’s website. Second as it states in the conclusion it is taken mainly from the third volume of his Origins of Christianity series, The Eternal City: Rome & the Origins of Catholic Christianity. I have not read that volume yet but did some quick searching in it appears to come mostly from chapter three of that volume The Birth of Christ Under Caesar. A few things sparked my reading of this book. First it has been on my radar for a few years, and I kept forgetting to read it before Christmas. Second a friend, a Catholic Podcaster was asking for recommendations for a panel discussion on Christmas and if it was relevant. I suggested Dr. Marshall, and even provided the link to the free copy of this book. Both were quickly deleted and I was informed the person did not want Dr. Marshall representing Catholicism. 

Now I am not a Traddie in any sense, I have never been to a Latin mass, and have never felt the need to. But I love the Catholic church, I love mass, I love communion, and I desperately need sacramental confession frequently. My conclusion when I read Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within, was to pray even more. Recently Dr. Marshall’s Wikipedia Page was even attacked by a Vatican IP address. So I know that Marshall is considered a controversial figure. But he has written some excellent books, and this little free volume is among them. I have a Religious Studies degree with a specialization in Roman Catholic Thought. And like Marshall I had heard all the theories. Marshall states:

“I once believed all these arguments. I considered myself an enlightened man. I had heard these arguments in college, graduate courses, and even in seminary. I had heard it preached from pulpits. I assumed that everyone, everywhere knew that Christmas was not really the historical birthday of Christ our Lord.”

What this volume does is outline some pretty solid historical arguments to change that popular opinion. And as the subtitle of the book indicated, what it really matters. He also states:

“This book in your hand challenges the claim that Jesus was not born on December 25. Even more, I challenge the claim that we cannot know the year of Christ’s birth. As you will see, the expert arguments above are as anachronistic as claiming that Coca-cola invented Santa Clause in the 1930s in order to compete with Kwanza celebrations.”

At 57 pages it is a quick read. I truly believe it will challenge your thinking and open your eyes. It is a great read, and you cannot beat the price! And hopefully it will inspire you to go deeper with The Origins of Catholic Christianity Series by Dr. Marshall. If you are looking to add something different to your advent reading this year. Add this to the list of resources you are using I know you will not be disappointed. And you might just never experience Christmas ever or morning the same way ever again.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Taylor R. Marshall:
Thomas Aquinas in 50 Pages: The Layman's Quick Guide to Thomism
Saint Augustine in 50 Pages: The Layman's Quick Guide to Augustinianism
God's Birthday: Why Christ Was Born on December 25 and Why it Matters

Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within
...

Sword and Serpent Series:
Sword and the Serpent
The Tenth Region of the Night
Storm of Fire and Blood

The Origins of Catholic Christianity Series:
The Crucified Rabbi: Judaism and the Origins of Catholic Christianity
The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity
The Eternal City: Rome & the Origins of Catholic Christianity






Monday, 1 July 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 102 books, and a total of 225 to date this year. I am reading at the pace of about a book and a quarter a day.  Of those 102 a total of 53 were non-fiction and 49 were fiction. And out of those 102 a total of 50 books received 5/5 stars and are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me to choose from 28 non-fiction and 22 fiction.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the second quarter of 2019. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within - Dr. Taylor R. Marshall
3. Mike Aquilin Take Five Series
4. Guadalupe: The Freedom of Loving - Cristina Abad Cadenas
5. CTS Deeper Christianity Series
6. Heavenly Hosts: Eucharistic Miracles for Kids - Kathryn Griffin Swegart
7. Finding God in Times of Stress - Fr. Antonio Ritaccio  
8. Forgiving Mother: A Marian Novena of Healing and Peace - Marge Steinhage Fenelon
9. Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: A Living Novena - Marge Fenelon
10. How to Get the Most Out of the Eucharist - Michael Dubruiel 

Bonus:
11. My Russian Way: A Spiritual Autobiography - Alexandre Havard
12. Meditations on the Passion: The Way of the Cross - Susanna Tamaro
13. Praying 15 Days with St. Josemaria Escriva - Guillaume Derville
14. Poland: A Pilgrim Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. The Hive - Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden 
2. Martyrs - Kathryn Griffin Swegart - Brave Hearts Book 2
3. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
4. Jack Reacher Cross Over Stories - Lee Child
5. A Truly Raptor-ous Welcome - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 2
6. Maureen Jennings Books
7. An Arrow In Flight - Jane Lebak - Seven Archangels Book 1.0
8. Transfer Complete - J.S. Criado - Memories of Twilight Book 1
9. The Kindness Club - Courtney Sheinmel - The Kindness Club Book 1
10. The Truth App - Jack Heath - Liars Book 1

Bonus:
11. Jack Reacher Stories - Lee Child
12. Belt of Truth - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Book 1
13. The Diamond Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries
14. Bones on Ice - Kathy Reichs - Temperance Brennan 17.5

One of the big differences this quarter is reading mystery – suspense – crime novels. Especially those by Lee Child and Maureen Jennings. This quarter has been my second most prodigious in reading since I started keeping track. Some of that is attributed to lifestyle changes. I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. A few years ago, I removed all games from my phone and tablet, except for a brain training game. And over the last six months or so I have been reading far more non-fiction again than fiction. This quarter I had a much better balance between fiction and non-fiction. 

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

143 - January-March 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Friday, 31 May 2019

Infiltration The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within - Taylor R. Marshall

Infiltration: 
The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within
Taylor R. Marshall
Sophia Institute Press
ISBN 9781622828463
eISBN 9781622828470
ASIN B07R8F7RYT


I have been a fan of Taylor Marshall’s work for a few years now. His books, his podcasts, his seminars. I am not normally a conspiracy theory guy. I have been shaken by the scandal in the church and especially the hierarchy over the last few years. I have been greatly surprised by some of the things said and actions taken by pope Francis. I pray for him daily! But this book is rooted in such solid research, and when the evidence is inconclusive it admits the various possibilities. 

The sections in this book are:
Foreword, by Bishop Athanasius Schneider
Acknowledgments 
1. The Smoke of God and the Smoke of Satan
2. Alta Vendita: Satan’s Revolution in Tiara and Cope
3. Our Lady of La Salette
4. Attack on the Papal States in 1870
5. Pope Leo XIII Sees Demons Gather on Rome
6. Infiltration of the Church by Secret Societies and Modernism
7. Our Lady of Fatima
8. Conclave of 1922: Pope Pius XI
9. Communist Infiltration of the Priesthood
10. 1939 Papal Conclave: Pius XII
11. Pius XII as the Pope of Fatima
12. Communist Infiltration of the Liturgy
13. Woeful Illness of Pius XII: Three Crypto-Modernists
14. Mysterious Conclave of 1958
15. Pope John XXIII Opens the Third Secret
16. Vatican II — Modernism on Parade
17. Conclave of 1963: Paul VI
18. Crypto-Modernism and Nouvelle Théologie
19. Theological Infiltration of Vatican II
20. Infiltration of the Liturgy
21. Ottaviani Intervention against Pope Paul VI
22. Archbishop Lefebvre and the Traditionalist Resistance
23. Resistance to the Novus Ordo Missae
24. Infiltration of the Vatican Bank under Paul VI
25. Infiltration and the Mysterious Death of John Paul I
26. Infiltration of John Paul II’s Pontificate
27. Sankt Gallen Mafia: Homosexuality, Communism, and Freemasonry
28. Ratzinger versus Bergoglio in the Papal Conclave of 2005
29. Infiltration and the Plot against Benedict XVI
30. Infiltration of the Vatican Bank and the Butler of Pope Benedict XVI
31. Infiltration and the Election of Pope Francis
32. Solving the Current Crisis
33. Spiritual Weapons against Demonic Enemies
Appendices
Who’s Who in This Book
Timeline of Popes in This Book
Vatican Secretaries of State by Papacy and Dates
Permanent Instruction of the Alta Vendita
Both Versions of the Secret of La Salette
Timeline of Liturgical Changes
Dates of Indults for Communion in Hand 
Timeline of the Life of Ex-Cardinal McCarrick
Index

This book goes back and builds a strong case for how the church has ended up where it is today. It presents some very solid evidence, and when appropriate shares differing views on events. Of particular interest for me based on my own reading and research over the years, the first was on the possible assassination of Pope John Paul I, and the second on the Conclave of 1958. This book is masterfully written. It is of high quality academic research, and yet written in an engaging manner that any lay person can pick it up and work through it. There are many parts of this book that should drive devote Catholics to their knees, praying for forgiveness, praying for healing, and praying for the Church as a whole. 

The introduction begins with these words:

“In Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within, Taylor Marshall touches on a topic that is deliberately ignored today. The issue of a possible infiltration of the Church by forces outside her does not fit into the optimistic picture that Pope John XXIII and particularly the Second Vatican Council unrealistically and uncritically drew of the modern world.”

Based on the evidence given, including firsthand accounts from some involved I would state it is not a possibility it is a reality. The infiltration is a reality, and we must open our eyes, our hearts and become prayer warriors. We are also reminded that:

“The modern world, after all, is inspired by the principles of the French Revolution: the absolute freedom of man from any divine revelation or commandment; the absolute equality that abolishes not only any social or religious hierarchy but even differences between the sexes; and a brotherhood of man so uncritical that it even eliminates any distinction on the basis of religion.”

One of the most powerful statements from Marshall is at the beginning of the book:

“If you do not believe that Satan exists, put down this book. Moreover, if you believe that the Catholic Church can be purified merely by updated rules, policies, and canonical procedures, you’ll find little promise in the historical diagnosis and proposed cure found in this book. Saint Paul stated: “For we are not contending against flesh and blood, but against the principalities, against the powers, against the world rulers of this present darkness, against the spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places” (Eph. 6:12). The crisis of the Catholic Church relates to the intrusion of these “rulers of this present darkness,” and she can only be purified by sanctified warfare against the demonic.”

His chapter that is written around the three planks of modernism I of upmost importance. And the book needs to be read as a whole and synthesised by the reader. I have read this book twice now, actually, I have listened to it once over two days. and then I took a week of evenings once my children were in bead and read through the text, slowly and methodologically, often looking of references and sources. And I will likely return to it again in a few months after some further research based on the sources and quotes in the volume.  I highlighted 125 passages on that second pass through. It is an incredible read. I believe it is a book that any Catholic would benefit from reading, weather traditionalist, modernist, convert, revert or life long Catholic. And I love that the book ends with asking for prayer.

With all of that being said, I am not a big fan of conspiracy theories. I am not a Rad Trad. I am a revert to the Catholic faith, I have never been to a Latin mass. I was born after Vatican II, and I believe in the local parish, the school our children attend, and our house is inside a specific parish boundary and we attend there. There are more traditional looking churches in town, but we attend our parish. I know some people drive hours to attend Latin Mass, or to go to the church of a specific priest. That is not now, nor likely ever would be me. I have a religious study degree with a focus on Roman Catholic Thought. I love being Catholic, I love communion, confession, the sacraments, and Eucharistic adoration. And I love daily mass. This book does challenge some underlying assumptions and raises a lot of points that need serious consideration. 

Therefore, I strongly encourage you to give this book a read, and like the end of the book be praying! Be praying for Taylor, for our Church, for us, and for a cleanup of the temple!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Taylor R. Marshall:
Thomas Aquinas in 50 Pages: The Layman's Quick Guide to Thomism
Saint Augustine in 50 Pages: The Layman's Quick Guide to Augustinianism
God's Birthday: Why Christ Was Born on December 25 and Why it Matters

Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within
...

Sword and Serpent Series:
Sword and the Serpent
The Tenth Region of the Night
Storm of Fire and Blood

The Origins of Catholic Christianity Series:
The Crucified Rabbi: Judaism and the Origins of Catholic Christianity
The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity
The Eternal City: Rome & the Origins of Catholic Christianity

Sunday, 31 December 2017

Top Ten Fiction Books 2017

Top Ten Fiction Books 2017

According to Good Reads 2017 Challenge I have read 380 books, also according to Good Reads 312 of those were first time reads. And of those 312 I gave 206 a rating of 5 out of 5 Stars, or they made my Best of 2017 list. But that is for the year so here are comparison numbers:

380 Books Read
312 First Time Reads

Of those 380 reads, I picked a Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction each quarter, here are the:

Top Ten Fiction Books of 2017:

1. Storm of Fire and Blood - Taylor R. Marshall - Sword and Serpent Book III
2. The Profession - Eric Sammons
3. Chasing Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Trilogy Book 1
4. Crusader King: A Novel of Baldwin IV and the Crusades - Susan Peek
5. Bang - Barry Lyga
6. Vallista - Steven Brust - Vlad Taltos Book 15
7. 7 Riddles to Nowhere - A.J. Cattapan
8. I Am Margaret - Corinna Turner
An Unexpected Guest Book 5.5
9. Lady Doc Murders - Barbara Golder
10. Pictures of Me - Marilee Haynes

Bonuses:
11. Drive! - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed book 1.0
12. Standing Strong - Theresa Linden - West Brothers Book 4 

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Saturday, 30 December 2017

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017


Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017

According to Good Reads 2017 Challenge I have read 380 books, also according to Good Reads 312 of those were first time reads. And of those 312 I gave 206 a rating of 5 out of 5 Stars, or they made my Best of 2017 list. But that is for the year so here are comparison numbers:

380 Books Read
312 First Time Reads

Of those 380 reads, I picked a Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction each quarter, here are the:

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books of 2017:

1. Encounter the Saints Series 
2. 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers 
3. Why We're Catholic - Trent Horn
4. Marrying the Rosary to the Divine Mercy Chaplet - Shane Kapler
5. Reform Yourself! How to Pray, Find Peace, and Grow in Faith with the Saints of the Counter-Reformation - Shaun McAfee
6. The Grunt Padre: Father Vincent Robert Capodanno Vietnam 1966-1967 - Daniel L. Mode
7. The Miracle of Father Kapaun: Priest, Soldier and Korean War Hero - Roy Wenzl and Travis Heying
8. Love Is Patient, But I'm Not: Confessions of a Recovering Perfectionist - Christopher West
9. The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity - Taylor R. Marshall - The Origins of Catholicism Book 2
10. Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassanti: An Ordinary Christian - Maria Amata Di Lorenzo

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996



Friday, 29 December 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Third Quarter 2017

According to Good Reads 2017 Challenge I have read 380 books, also according to Good Reads 312 of those were first time reads. And of those 312 I gave 206 a rating of 5 out of 5 Stars, or they made my Best of 2017 list. But that is for the year so here are comparison numbers:

Q1 Total Books 100
Q2 Total Books 112
Q3 Total Books 64
Q4 Total Books 104
Q1 5 Star 57
Q2 5 Star 70
Q3 5 Star 35
Q4 5 Star 44

So from those 44 books read my Top 10 Fiction and Top 10 Non-Fiction are.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1.  In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
(New eBook editions links to all reviews here)
In Conversation with God - Volume 1 Part 1: Advent
In Conversation with God Volume 5 Part 2 Ordinary Time Weeks 29-34
In Conversation with God Volume 7 Part 2 Special Feasts: October - December
In Conversation with God Volume 5 Part 2 Ordinary Time Weeks 29-34
2.  Encounter the Saints Series
Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Cecchina's Dream - Victoria Dority and Marylou Andes
Saint Juan Diego and Our Lady of Guadalupe - Josephine Nobisso and Virginia Esquinaldo 
Saint Teresa of Avila: Joyful in the Lord - Susan Helen Wallace
Saint Therese of Lisieux: The Way of Love - Mary Kathleen Glavich
St Elizabeth Ann Seton Daughter of America - Jeanne Marie Grunwell
3. 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers
20 Answers: Bible Prophecy - Jimmy Akin 
20 Answers: Homosexuality - Jim Blackburn 
20 Answers: The Reformation - Steve Weidenkopf 
4. Reform Yourself! : How to Pray, Find Peace, and Grow in Faith with the Saints of the Counter-Reformation - Shaun McAfee
5. Catholic Guide to Loneliness - Kevin Vost
6. Love Is Patient, But I'm Not: Confessions of a Recovering Perfectionist - Christopher West
7. Rediscover the Rosary: The Modern Power of an Ancient Prayer - Matthew Kelly
8. Perfectly Yourself Discovering God's Dream For You New and Revised Edition -  Matthew Kelly
9. Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose - Matthew Kelly
10. YOUCAT and DOCAT
YOUCAT: The Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church - Christoph Schönborn
Bonus:
11. Beautiful Hope: Finding Hope Every Day in a Broken World - Matthew Kelly

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. Storm of Fire and Blood - Taylor R. Marshall - Sword and Serpent Book III
2. Vallista - Steven Brust - Vlad Taltos Book 15
3. I am Margaret Series - Corinna Turner
An Unexpected Guest - I Am Margaret Book 5.5
4. Island of Doom - Arthur Slade - The Hunchback Assignments Book 4
5. Barry Lyga's a Year of Short Stories
6. Lady Doc Murders - Barbara Golder
7. The Flash Hocus Pocus - Barry Lyga
8. Drive! - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed book 1.0
9. The Snake Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries #3
10. The Monks' Castle - A.J. Cattapan

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996