--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/TheresaAletheiaNoble As it appears live September 27, 2020 10:09:12 PM UTC

Showing posts with label TheresaAletheiaNoble. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TheresaAletheiaNoble. Show all posts

Monday, 30 December 2019

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019

This year was a banner year, I read 392 books. The most since I started keeping track. The year by the numbers:

392 Books Read
311 Books read for the first time.
204 received 5/5 Stars.
194 Non-Fiction
198 Fiction

Here are my top ten non-fiction books of 2019.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Rediscover the Saints - Matthew Kelly
3. Remember Your Death Memento Mori - Theresa Aletheia Noble
4. Illustrissimi: The Letters Of Pope John Paul I - Albino Luciani - Pope John Paul I
5. Books by Father Nigel Woollen
6. CTS Saints of the Isles 
7. Mike Aquilina Take Five Series
8. How to Make Great Decisions - Fr. Mike Schmitz
9. Reclaiming Catholic History Series
10. Life Lessons Fifty Things I Learned in My First Fifty Years - Patrick Madrid 

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. Which I attribute in part to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. It was not easy narrowing this down to a top 10, but the above list is what I came up with.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list.  


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Sunday, 29 December 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 95 books, and a total of 392 this year. I am reading at the pace of about a book and a quarter a day.  Of those a total of 49 books received 5/5 stars and 45 are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me to choose from 22 non-fiction and 23 fiction.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the fourth quarter of 2019.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Memento Mori: Prayers on the Last Things - Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP
2. Learning to Love: Journeys Through Life with the Rosary - Father Nigel Woollen
3. How to Make Great Decisions - Fr. Mike Schmitz
4. Reclaiming Catholic History Series
5. 12 Life Lessons from St. Thomas Aquinas: Timeless Spiritual Wisdom for Our Turbulent Times - Kevin Vost
6. 20 Answers Conversion - Shaun McAfee - 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers 
7. Daily Pilgrimage to Purgatory A Powerful Devotion for the Holy Souls - Seven Swords Publications and Susan Peek
8. Friendship with Jesus: Pope Benedict XVI talks to Children on Their First Holy Communion - Pope Benedict XVI, Amy Welborne and Ann Engelhart
9. Inseparable: Five Perspectives on Sex, Life, and Love in Defense of Humanae Vitae - Edited by Todd Aglialoro and Stephen
10. Whatever Happened to Friendship? - Henry Menzies

Bonus:
In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
Be Strong in the Lord: Spirituality for Men - Harold Burke-Sivers
Saint Maximillian Kolbe Martyr of Charity - James E. McCurry

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. From Afar - Roger Thomas
2. Father William's Daughter - Fiorella De Maria
3. The Last Ugly Person: And Other Stories - Roger Thomas
4. Ungifted - Gordon Korman
5. All in Good Time - Carolyn Astfalk 
6. The Watchful Sky Series by Roger Thomas
7. The Attic Saint - Tim Drake and Theodore Schluenderfritz
8. Ella's Promise - Ellen Gable - Great War Great Love Book 3
9. The Advent of Christmas - Matt Maher and Merce Tous
10. Blue Moon - Lee Child - Jack Reacher 24

Bonus:
Hunt for Jack Reacher Books by Dian Capri

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. I attribute part of it to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. Last quarter was an almost 2/3rds fiction and non-fiction, this quarter it was split almost equal.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are in the bonus section. It was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Saturday, 7 December 2019

Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things- Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP

Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things 
Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819850089



It has been a long time since I have been this eager to get my hands on a new prayer book. But after how impactful Remember Your Death: Memento Mori A Lenten Devotional and Remember Your Death: Memento Mori Journal were I had high expectations for this prayer book. And it did snot disappoint. Not since discovering The Handbook of Prayers edited by Reverend James Socias have I found a prayer book so beneficial. At one point I had Copies of the handbook in my desk at work, my desk at home, my backpack, and my bed side table. I also always kept a spare so I could give it away. That is exactly how I feel about this Memento Mori Prayer Book. I wish I could buy it by the case to be able to give them away. And I cannot wait for the eBook edition to come out so I can always have it on me. This is the best new prayer book I have had in years.

The prayers in this book were compiled or written by Sister Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP. The physical book is a beautiful volume. And I am not normally a physical book guy. It is dark grey leather. It has just an embossed skull on the front cover and “Memento Mori” in Script on the back. It had a single black built in silk bookmark. And silver gilded edges to the pages. The end sheets match the cover of the Memento Mori Journal. The sections in the volume are:

Memento Mori and the Last Things
How to Live Memento Mori
Death: Prayers to Live and to Die Well
     Prayers to Imitate Jesus
     Prayers for a Good Death
     Prayers for the Dying
     Marian prayers for Assistance in Life and Death
Judgement: Prayers to Prepare to Meet Jesus
     Prayers of Repentance
     Prayers for the Dead
Hell: Prayers to Combat the Powers of Darkness
     The Sacrament of Baptism
     Prayers to Jesus, Our Eucharistic Lord
     Spiritual Warfare Prayers
     The Power of the Holy Rosary
Heaven: Prayers for Union with God
     Prayers of Praise to God
     Prayers to live in Heaven
     Marian prayers of Hope
Appendix 1
     Basic Prayers in Latin and English
Appendix 2
     An Explanation of Indulgences

There are a few full-page illustrations in the book. Overall this is an incredible little volume of prayers. I am sure you will benefit from investing in this book, and spending time prayer the prayers within.

Another excellent volume from Sister Theresa Aletheia. I great little volume and tool for your prayer and spiritual warfare toolbox. One of the best prayer books I have ever used, I highly recommend it. This book was so good I added it to my All Time Top Ten Catholic Books.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP:
Remember Your Death: Memento Mori A Lenten Devotional
Remember Your Death: Memento Mori Journal

Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things 
The Prodigal You Love







Saturday, 30 March 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 123 books. Of those 123 a total of 53 books received 5/5 stars and are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me with 15 to choose from for the fiction and 30 for the non-fiction. For a few of the selections I have picked series. I could just not narrow it down to 10 books.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the first quarter of 2019. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Called by Name: Twelve Guideline Meditations for Diocesan Priests - Michael E. Giesler
2. Illustrissimi: The Letters Of Pope John Paul I - Albino Luciani - Pope John Paul I
3. Life Lessons Fifty Things I Learned in My First Fifty Years - Patrick Madrid 
4. The Lamb Will Conquer: Reflections on the Knock Apparition - Nigel Woollen 
5. Remember Your Death Memento Mori - Theresa Aletheia Noble
6. Devotions to St Thomas Becket - John S. Hogan
7. Christian Shrines Series - Catholic Truth Society
8. Understanding the Diaconate: Historical, Theological, and Sociological Foundations - W. Shawn McKnight
9. Saints of the Isles Series - Catholic Truth Society
10. Be Saints! An Invitation from Pope Benedict XVI - Amy Welborn and Ann Kissane Engelhart

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Tortured Soul - Theresa Linden 
2. With Two Eyes Into Gehenna - Jane Lebak
3. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
4. No Middle Name - Lee Child - Jack Reacher 21.5
5. Seven Angels Short Story Bundle - Jane Lebak - Seven Archangels Short Stories
6. I Am God's Storyteller - Lisa M. Hendey and Eric Carlson 
7. The Friendship War - Andrew Clements 
8. The Adventures of Lee and Bucky - Jane Lebak
9. Toward the Gleam - T.M. Doran 
10. Relic of His Heart - Jane Lebak

This quarter has been my most prodigious in reading since I started keeping track. Some of that is attributed to lifestyle changes. I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. A few years ago, I removed all games from my phone and tablet, except for a brain training game. And over the last six months or so I have been reading far more non-fiction again than fiction. And many i find hard to put down.


Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

143 - January-March 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Saturday, 16 February 2019

Remember Your Death Memento Mori Journal - Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP

Remember Your Death
Memento Mori Journal:
Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 
9780819865212


I have previously reviewed ‘Remember Your Death Memento Mori: A Lenten Devotional’ and now it is time to review the companion volume, the ‘Remember Your Death: Memento Mori Journal’. This book is designed so that it can be used in several ways. It can be used as a workbook during lent with the Lenten Devotional. It can be uses for keeping a record of your daily Examen. Or just as a spiritual journal. The sections of this book are:

Introduction
How to Use This Journal
247 Journal Pages
Memento Mori Prayers
     Short Memento Mori Aspirations
     Prayer for a Holy Death
     Hail Mary
     Te Deum
     Prayer to Jesus Life
     Prayer of Praise and Thanksgiving
     Anima Christie
     Ancient Prayer to the Virgin Mary
     Prayer to Saint Michael the Archangel
     Prayer to Saint Joseph for a Happy Death
     Prayer to the God of Truth
     Prayer to Our Mother of Mercy
     Prayer to Jesus, Fountain of Living Water
     Prayer for a Good Death
     Eternal Rest Prayer for the Deceased
     Prayer for the Faithful Departed
     In Paradisum
     Prayer for Departed Relatives and friends
     Prayer for God’s Mercy
     Prayer for the Dying
Acknowledgements

The 247 Journal pages each have quote at the top of the page. Some are by the author, some contributed but unattributed, many from the bible and the saints, popes and even one from Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  few are taken from literature, for example William Shakespeare, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Oscar Wilde, and Blaise Pascal. 

The introduction reminds us that “Remembering one’s death is an absolutely essential aspect of the Christian life, not only because it helps us to live well, but also because it helps us to remember what Christ has done for us. Jesus trampled death!” The section on how to use this journal outlines four ways it can be used other than just as a journal. How to use it to journal with intention or a plan. 

This is a beautifully crafted hard cover journal. And when you combine the quality of the construction with the ways to use it, and the quotes to inspire thoughtful reflection it becomes even more of a treasure. I am sure anyone blessed with a copy of this journal who uses it will be blessed. 

My only wish is that an eBook edition would be released for those of us prefer an electronic library and who keep electronic journals. I feel I will be transcribing the quotes from the book to my eJournal as lent proceeds this year. But even with that personal wish, I cannot think of a single reason not to recommend this volume. Especially if you will use it in conjunction with the Lenten Devotional

An excellent toot for helping you to grow in your faith. It will help you remember your death; and live better now while doing so. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP:
Remember Your Death: Memento Mori A Lenten Devotional
Remember Your Death: Memento Mori Journal

Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things 
The Prodigal You Love