--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/TrentHorn As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:05:22 PM UTC

Showing posts with label TrentHorn. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TrentHorn. Show all posts

Saturday, 30 June 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2018

It was an excellent quarter. I have found an author I love, Alice Curtayne, even though her books were published between 1930 and 1980 and most never had North American printings. And a publisher the Catholic Truth Society. Between the two of them there are over 30 reads this quarter. The Quarter by the numbers:

102 books read
60 received 5/5 stars
6 of those had been read before
34 were non-Fiction
20 were fiction

Like I stated a good quarter. My problem is even with reading over a book a day my to be read pile is always growing faster than I can read. It was by no way easy to narrow these down to a top ten list for fiction and non-fiction. But this is what I managed to come up with.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1. Alice Curtayne's Books
2. Catholic Truth Society Booklets
and more.
3. Encounter the Saints Series
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight - Saint Teresa of Avila
4. The First Society: The Sacrament of Matrimony and the Restoration of the Social Order - Scott Hahn
5. Daniel A. Lord S.J.
6. Mary and the Christian Life: Scriptural Reflections on the First Disciple - Amy Welborn
7. Heroic Catholic Chaplains: Stories of the Brave and Holy Men Who Dodged Bullets While Saving Souls - Thomas J. Craughwell
8. Further Up & Further In: Understanding Narnia - Joseph Pearce 
9. What the Saints Never Said - Trent Horn
10. Moving in the Spirit - Richard J. Hauser

Non-Fiction Bonus Books:
The Life and Letters of Father Damien, Apostle of the Lepers Joseph Damien De Veuster Edited by Paul E. Nowak
Theology of the Body for Beginners: Rediscovering the Meaning of Life, Love, Sex and Gender Revised Edition - Christopher West
Working Well, Working For Love: On The Sanctification Of Work In The Teachings Of St Josemaría Escrivá - Javier López Díaz

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. West Brothers Series Theresa Linden
2. Outwalkers - Fiona Shaw  
3. Secrets Visible & Invisible - Catholic Teen Books Anthology
4. Fight for Liberty - Theresa A. Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 3.0
5. Rightfully Ours - Carolyn Astfalk
6. Crimson - Arthur Slade
7. The Priest and the Peaches - Larry Peterson
8. A Battle for the Faith: Two Short Stories -  John Paul Wohlscheid and Theresa Linden
9. Stink Hamlet and Cheese - Megan McDonald and Peter H. Reynolds - Stink Moody Book 11
10. Body Swap - Sylvia McNicoll 

Fiction Bonus Books:
The Demons of Abadon - Larry Peterson - The Complete Series
No Fixed Address - Susin Nielsen 

If you give some of these a try I am sure they will be with the read!

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

193 - January to June 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Thursday, 19 April 2018

What the Saints Never Said Pious Misquotes and Subtle Heresies - Trent Horn

What the Saints Never Said: 
Pious Misquotes and Subtle Heresies
Trent Horn
Catholic Answers Press
ISBN 9781683570691

eISBN 9781683570714
ASIN B07CC9PFV8


In the last year I have read 12 books by Trent Horn, I have appreciated all of them, and I loved 'Why We're Catholic: Our Reasons for Faith, Hope, and Love' and this book is just as good and am important read. The introduction to this book alone will cause you to question your own memory, and quotes that are considered famous. Horn starts with this:
"The villain clad in black raises his fist at the hero and says, "Luke, I am your father!" The dashing captain unfolds his communicator and gives the order, "Beam me up, Scotty." A mysterious jungle man sets down the woman he's rescued and she teaches him to say, "Me Tarzan, you Jane." What do these three things have in common? 
You might say they're lines from famous movies: The Empire Strikes Back, Star Trek, and Tarzan the Ape Man respectively. But then you remembered this is a book about fake quotations and you changed your answer: they're misquotations from famous movies. 
In The Empire Strikes Back, Luke Skywalker accuses Darth Vader of killing his father. Vader responds, "No, I am your father"-not "Luke, I am your father." The crew of the Starship Enterprise often asked Chief Engineer Montgomery Scott to beam them up via the transporter, but no one in the Star Trek films or television shows ever said, "Beam me up, Scotty."2 Finally, in the 1932 classic Tarzan the Ape Man, Tarzan only says "Tarzan. Jane. Tarzan. Jane," not "Me Tarzan, you Jane.""
And then addressing the question of why it matter he states:
"Before I continue, I need to address readers who might be rolling their eyes or muttering the word "nitpicker." Does it really matter if people get one word wrong in a line from a Star Wars film? Who cares if the cute story about George Washington and the cherry tree never happened? Why can't you just leave the saints alone and write about something important? But accurately recording the wisdom of saints and other well-known Catholics is important because truth is important."
He then goes on to say:
"But the most important reason we should challenge false quotes from saints is because in some cases they contradict the Faith these saints embraced. I wouldn't be surprised if some of the saints are charitably yelling from heaven, "No! I actually said the opposite of that!" The major fake quotes in this book are not merely paraphrases of saintly wisdom or harmless pieces of advice that have been falsely attributed to the saints, although I do cover those kinds of quotes, too. Instead, each chapter in this book addresses a theme embodied in a well-known quote that is contrary to our Faith."
And after reading this book I am even more convinced about the power of words, and yes getting a quote correct really does matter.  The chapters in this volume are:

Introduction
1. "Preach the gospel always; if necessary, use words."
2. "People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered . . . Love them anyway."
3. "You don't need to believe in God to be a good person."
4. "Pray as though everything depended on God, act as if everything depended on you."
5. "God helps those who help themselves."
6. "The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."
7. "I believe because it is absurd."
8. "Rome has spoken, the case is closed."
9. "The road to hell is paved with the bones of priests."
10. "God is always trying to give good things to us, but our hands are too full to receive them."
What the Saints DID Say

Each chapter does not deal with just a single quote, but quotes along themes. And the last chapter is one of the most powerful and important for us to read today. Trent Horn tackles some pretty controversial topics in that last chapter and in the whole book. The reason he does so is because truth matters. Horn tackles over 40 quotes in this book, some are close to the original source, some are well meaning and along the lines of the thought of the source. Some are so warped the original meaning is lost or manipulated. A few are misattributed, and some are just fabrications. 


Back when I worked for a non-denomination campus ministry, I kept a database of quotes. It was searchable by topic, author, and key words. I wonder if I were to be as diligent as Trent how many would need to be dropped from the list. Different staff members would send me quotes when they were read, from book, the web, or that they heard in talks and lectures. We used them for promotional material and in creating our own talks for retreats or conferences.  It never really occurred to be to track down and verify sources, especially when taking a quote of a quote from a secondary or tertiary source.  I know that going forward I will be far more diligent in what quotes I uses, and am thankful to Trent Horn for opening my eyes. This book was an excellent read!   

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Trent Horn:

20 Answers Series:
20 Answers Abortion - Trent Horn
20 Answers Death & Judgement - Trent Horn
20 Answers Faith & Science - Trent Horn
20 Answers God - Trent Horn
20 Answers Jehovah's Witnesses - Trent Horn
20 Answers Mormonism - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Bible - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Eucharist - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Real Jesus - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Church - Trent Horn

Other Books:
Hard Sayings: A Catholic Approach to Answering Bible Difficulties
Answering Atheism - How to Make the Case for God with Logic and Charity
The Mystery of God Study Guide

What the Saints Never Said
Why We're Catholic: Our Reasons for Faith, Hope, and Love

Books Co-Authored by Trent Horn:
Persuasive Pro Life: How to Talk About Our Culture's Toughest Issue (with Fr Frank Pavone)
From Creation to Catholicism: The Story of Salvation History (with Patrick Coffin)


Monday, 2 April 2018

20 Answers The Church - Trent Horn - 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers

20 Answers The Church  
20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers
Trent Horn
Catholic Answers Press

ISBN 9781683570394
eISBN 9781683570417
ASIN B075B6QLDL



To date there are 26 books in the 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers. The original 20, and over the last year there are been 2 more sets of three released. Of the 26 books I gave 5/5tars to 22 of them and the other 4 received 4/5. To say that this is a great series would be an understatement. And among the bets are the 9 by Trent Horn. I honestly believe that the world would be changed if every Catholic read a few of these books, and it would be transformed if Catholics read them all. These books are written in a question and answer style. Much like the catechisms of old. 

I spent the better part of 20 years in University. My last degree was a Religious Studies Degree with a focus on Roman Catholic Thought. I would have loved to have had this series and specifically this book as a resource for a number of courses and many essays. What I love most about Horn's writing is how engaging and accessible it is. When you combine this book with Horn's 20 Answers the Bible, You have a keen understanding and a focus on what is Central to Christian history and Catholic tradition. I once had a university professor state: 'Even without the Gospels, Christianity could have been established and be in the form we experience it today from the writings of Paul.' I would say the same of the 20 Answers Series. If I catholic were only to read a book or 2 a year I would recommend this one and Horn's book on the Bible. If they are up for more of a challenge, I would call them out to read this whole series. 

The Questions answered in this volume are:
1. What is the Church?
2. Is the Catholic Church the same as the church of the Bible or the church of the early Christians?
3. Why don't Catholics rely on the Bible alone?
4. Don't all Christians belong to one invisible church? Why do I need to join a specific church?
5. Why must Catholics go to church every Sunday?
6. Does Christ's Church need a pope?
7. What is papal infallibility?
8. Is the Church infallible?
9. What is the difference between a dogma, a doctrine, and a discipline?
10. What is an ecumenical council?
11. Did the Catholic Church emerge from paganism in the fourth century?
12. Did the Catholic Church begin in the eleventh century after the "Great Schism"?
13. Did the Church become corrupt during the Middle Ages, thus necessitating the Protestant Reformation?
14. How can the Church be called holy, given its past crimes?
15. How can you trust the Catholic Church after its cover-up of the sex abuse scandal?
16. Why can't married men be priests?
17. Why can't women be priests?
18. What does the statement "there is no salvation outside the Church" mean?
19. What are the Church Militant, the Church Suffering, and the Church Triumphant?
20. How can I join or help someone join the Catholic Church?

In the introduction Horn states:
"It's not just certain Protestants who think the Church is not an essential element of the Christian life. According to Georgetown University, one-quarter of Catholics attend Mass only a few times a year (such as Christmas and Easter), and one-third rarely or never attend Catholic services at all. If Caleb and others like him are correct, then this shouldn't bother us, because church attendance is a helpful but nonetheless optional part of the Faith."
And to be honest a few years ago I would have been one of that 25%. As my church attendance became less and less, my desire became less. Now If I miss even when I am sick, I find it affects my whole week. I actually prefer when I make it to mass more than once a week. Even if it is hard with my work schedule. I know the benefit. From the introduction Horn says:
"In this booklet, we will answer the most common questions people ask about the Church and show how God's plan to gather his family into one covenant finds its fulfillment in Christ's Church."
This book is a great introduction to church History and some key tenants of the Catholic faith. Now to be honest there is much in this book, in todays politically correct, almost anything goes era that many would take issue with. The question is do they take issues because they have researched, studies and disagree or because the views brought forward challenge them and they conscience. 

Many people even in the church today might read a book like this and dismiss it with a wave of the hand. Many others will not even be willing to pick it up. But I can guarantee that if you read this book with an open mind and heart you will be challenged and come away with a closer relationship to God through your life in the Church.

This is a terrific book in an incredible series. I cannot stress the importance of giving this book a read and consider reading the whole series. I highly recommended it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Note 2: Currently this series of books is being offered at a 60% discount so get it while you can. That is right you can get all 23 physical books or all 23 eBooks for just $39.95! If you want a way to go deeper this year give this series a try! 


#20AnswersChallenge




20 Answers Series:
20 Answers Abortion - Trent Horn
20 Answers Angels & Demons - Fr. Mike Driscoll
20 Answers Atheism - Matt Fradd
20 Answers Death & Judgement - Trent Horn
20 Answers Divorce & Remarriage - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers End of Life - Jason Negri
20 Answers Faith & Science - Trent Horn
20 Answers God - Trent Horn
20 Answers Islam - Andrew Blezad
20 Answers Jehovah's Witnesses - Trent Horn
20 Answers Mary - Tim Staples
20 Answers Miracles - Karlo Broussard
20 Answers Mormonism - Trent Horn
20 Answers Salvation - Jimmy Akin
20 Answers Scripture and Tradition - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers The Bible - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Eucharist - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Papacy - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers The Real Jesus - Trent Horn

20 Answers The Church - Trent Horn
20 Answers Witchcraft & the Occult - Michelle Arnold
20 Answers Apparitions & Revelations - Michael O'Neill
20 Answers Bible Prophecy - Jimmy Akin
20 Answers Homosexuality - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers The Reformation - Steve Weidenkopf
20 Answers The Sacraments - Fr. Mike Driscoll

20 Answers Bible Difficulties - Jimmy Akin  
20 Answers The Reformation - Steve Weidenkopf
20 Answers Bioethics - Stacy A. Trasancos
20 Answers Conversion - Shaun McAfee
20 Answers Faith and Works - Jimmy Akin
...    

Other Books from Catholic Answers:
Hard Sayings: A Catholic Approach to Answering Bible Difficulties - Trent Horn
A Daily Defense: Apologetics Lessons for Every Day - Jimmy Akin
The Apostasy That Wasn't: The Extraordinary Story of the Unbreakable Early Church - Rod Bennett
Answering Atheism - How to Make the Case for God with Logic and Charity - Trent Horn
Persuasive Pro Life: How to Talk About Our Culture's Toughest Issue - Trent Horn and Fr Frank Pavone
The Protestant's Dilemma: How the Reformation's Shocking Consequences Point to the Truth of Catholicism - Devin Rose
Behold Your Mother: A Biblical and Historical Defense of the Marian Doctrines - Tim Staples
Handed Down: The Catholic Faith of the Early Christians - James L. Papandrea
Demons, Deliverance, Discernment: Separating Fact from Fiction about the Spirit World - Fr. Mike Driscoll
Navigating the Tiber: How to Help Your Friends and Family Journey Toward the Catholic Faith - Devin Rose
100 Biblical Arguments Against Sola Scriptura - Dave Armstrong
The Drama of Salvation: How God Rescues You from Your Sins and Brings You to Eternal Life - Jimmy Akin
The Truth is Out There (Brendan and Erc in Exile Book 1 - Brother Amadeus and Amadeus
...Memorize the Reasons! Defending the Faith with the Catholic Art of Memory - Kevin Vost
Marching Orders: A Tactical Plan for Converting the World to Christ - Dan McGuire

The Fathers Know Best - Jimmy Akin
Why We're Catholic: Our Reasons for Faith, Hope, and Love - Trent Horn
The Old Evangelization: How to Spread the Faith Like Jesus Did - Eric Sammons
What the Saints Never Said - Trent Horn
...

Saturday, 30 December 2017

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017


Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017

According to Good Reads 2017 Challenge I have read 380 books, also according to Good Reads 312 of those were first time reads. And of those 312 I gave 206 a rating of 5 out of 5 Stars, or they made my Best of 2017 list. But that is for the year so here are comparison numbers:

380 Books Read
312 First Time Reads

Of those 380 reads, I picked a Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction each quarter, here are the:

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books of 2017:

1. Encounter the Saints Series 
2. 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers 
3. Why We're Catholic - Trent Horn
4. Marrying the Rosary to the Divine Mercy Chaplet - Shane Kapler
5. Reform Yourself! How to Pray, Find Peace, and Grow in Faith with the Saints of the Counter-Reformation - Shaun McAfee
6. The Grunt Padre: Father Vincent Robert Capodanno Vietnam 1966-1967 - Daniel L. Mode
7. The Miracle of Father Kapaun: Priest, Soldier and Korean War Hero - Roy Wenzl and Travis Heying
8. Love Is Patient, But I'm Not: Confessions of a Recovering Perfectionist - Christopher West
9. The Catholic Perspective on Paul: Paul and the Origins of Catholic Christianity - Taylor R. Marshall - The Origins of Catholicism Book 2
10. Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassanti: An Ordinary Christian - Maria Amata Di Lorenzo

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996



Tuesday, 22 August 2017

20 Answers The Bible - Trent Horn - 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers

20 Answers The Bible 
20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers
Trent Horn
Catholic Answers Press

ISBN 9781683570110
eISBN 9781683570134
ASIN B01MDOMLF2



I have read all 23 books currently available in the 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers. And I believe that three more will be releasing in the fall of 2017. Of the 23 books currently available Trent Horn has penned 10 of them. And going back through my records 9 of those 10 received 5 out of 5 stars as a rating from me. And I have given 20 of the 23 5 out of 5 stars. So these are some excellent books. And I particularly enjoy Horn's clear crisp writing style. This little volume comes in at just under 60 pages, of that a few pages are recommend reads that flow from the final answer, and also 3 pages of references, endnotes for the 78 quotes.

No I spent the better part of 20 years in university, over that time I read a lot of books, numerous term papers, and many formal academic works. Some of them were excellent but many were a slog to get through. I have not found that with any of Horn's writings. They are engaging, convincing, and very well researched and presented. Now because of the centrality of the Bible to the Christian tradition, to the Catholic Church's history and theology, depending on the order you read the books in this series, a number touch upon the importance of the bible. So some of this book might feel familiar as you read it.  But when you pair this book with Jim Blackburn's 20 Answers Scripture and Tradition, you come to have a truly Catholic, a completely Christian understanding of the bible. How we got the bible, the relationship of scriptures to tradition, and how to use it in our fay to day life!

The 20 Questions that Horn answers in this volume are:

Introduction
1. What is the Bible?
2. How is the Bible the word of God?
3. How should Catholics interpret Scripture?
4. Why don't Catholics rely on the Bible alone?
5. What is the relationship between Scripture and Tradition?
6. How do we know which writings belong in the Bible?
7. Why are Catholic bibles bigger than Protestant bibles?
8. What does it mean for Scripture to be inerrant?
9. How can the Bible be inspired when the book of Genesis contradicts science?
10. Hasn't modern archaeology disproved the historical events of the Bible?
11. How can you trust the Gospels as biographical accounts of Christ's life when they are just anonymous documents written long after the events they claim to describe?
12. What about the thousands of contradictions in the Bible?
13. The Old Testament is full of archaic laws. Do we have to follow them?
14. Why doesn't the Bible condemn slavery?
15. Why does God seem different in the Old Testament compared with the New?
16. Why does God callously strike people down in the Bible?
17. How could God command the Israelites to kill innocent women and children?
18. Was the Bible's text corrupted when it was copied in the early Church?
19. Which translation of the Bible is the best?
20. How can I develop a better devotion to Scripture?

Many people even in the church today might read a book like this and dismiss it with a wave of the hand. Many others will not even be willing to pick it up. But I can guarantee that if you read this book with an open mind and heart you will be challenged and come away with a closer relationship to God, through his word. The bible is reportedly the most stolen book in the world, if only it was the most read and lived. 

The introduction of this book begins with these words:
"The Bible is the best-selling book of all time, and almost everyone has a strong opinion about it. An atheist might view the Bible as a bunch of made-up myths about God and miracles. Most Protestant Christians, on the other hand, see an inspired, inerrant book that is the only authoritative source of Christian doctrine. Other people think it has some nice stories and moral teachings, but don't consider it the word of God. 
A Catholic approach to Scripture, in contrast, affirms that the Bible is inspired by God, but denies that it is the Christian's only rule of faith. It also affirms that the Bible, having God as its author, is without error. The words penned over a century ago by Pope Leo XIII, in defense of this controversial truth of the Faith, still resonate today:
'It is deplorable to see these attacks [on Scripture] growing every day more numerous and more severe. . . . By ridicule and scurrilous jesting, [critics] pervert the credulous and unformed minds of the young to the contempt of holy Scripture. . . . Should not these things, venerable brethren, stir up and set on fire the heart of every pastor, so that to this "knowledge, falsely so called," may be opposed the ancient and true science which the Church, through the apostles, has received from Christ, and that holy Scripture may find the champions that are needed in so momentous a battle?'
This booklet has been written to help you become one of the champions of Scripture that Leo VIII called for. If that sounds daunting, don't worry: most of the objections that critics make against the Bible exhibit a few common patterns and cite only a small percentage of the Bible. By reviewing these patterns and commonly cited passages you can learn to defend Scripture without having to examine each of the Bible's approximately 35,000 individual verses."
This is a great book in an incredible series. I cannot stress the importance of giving this book a read. I highly recommended it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Note 2: Currently this series of books is being offered at a 50% discount so get it while you can. That is right you can get all 23 physical books or all 23 eBooks for just $39.95! If you want a way to go deeper this year give this series a try! 


#20AnswersChallenge




20 Answers Series:
20 Answers Abortion - Trent Horn
20 Answers Angels & Demons - Fr. Mike Driscoll
20 Answers Atheism - Matt Fradd
20 Answers Death & Judgement - Trent Horn
20 Answers Divorce & Remarriage - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers End of Life - Jason Negri
20 Answers Faith & Science - Trent Horn
20 Answers God - Trent Horn
20 Answers Islam - Andrew Blezad
20 Answers Jehovah's Witnesses - Trent Horn
20 Answers Mary - Tim Staples
20 Answers Miracles - Karlo Broussard
20 Answers Mormonism - Trent Horn
20 Answers Salvation - Jimmy Akin
20 Answers Scripture and Tradition - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers The Bible - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Eucharist - Trent Horn
20 Answers The Papacy - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers The Real Jesus - Trent Horn

20 Answers The Church - Trent Horn
20 Answers Witchcraft & the Occult - Michelle Arnold
20 Answers Apparitions & Revelations - Michael O'Neill
20 Answers Bible Prophecy - Jimmy Akin
20 Answers Homosexuality - Jim Blackburn
20 Answers The Reformation - Steve Weidenkopf
20 Answers The Sacraments - Fr. Mike Driscoll

20 Answers Bible Difficulties - Jimmy Akin  
20 Answers The Reformation - Steve Weidenkopf
20 Answers Bioethics - Stacy A. Trasancos
20 Answers Conversion - Shaun McAfee
20 Answers Faith and Works - Jimmy Akin
...

Other Books from Catholic Answers:
Hard Sayings: A Catholic Approach to Answering Bible Difficulties - Trent Horn
A Daily Defense: Apologetics Lessons for Every Day - Jimmy Akin
The Apostasy That Wasn't: The Extraordinary Story of the Unbreakable Early Church - Rod Bennett
Answering Atheism - How to Make the Case for God with Logic and Charity - Trent Horn
Persuasive Pro Life: How to Talk About Our Culture's Toughest Issue - Trent Horn and Fr Frank Pavone
The Protestant's Dilemma: How the Reformation's Shocking Consequences Point to the Truth of Catholicism - Devin Rose
Behold Your Mother: A Biblical and Historical Defense of the Marian Doctrines - Tim Staples
Handed Down: The Catholic Faith of the Early Christians - James L. Papandrea
Demons, Deliverance, Discernment: Separating Fact from Fiction about the Spirit World - Fr. Mike Driscoll
Navigating the Tiber: How to Help Your Friends and Family Journey Toward the Catholic Faith - Devin Rose
100 Biblical Arguments Against Sola Scriptura - Dave Armstrong
The Drama of Salvation: How God Rescues You from Your Sins and Brings You to Eternal Life - Jimmy Akin
The Truth is Out There (Brendan and Erc in Exile Book 1 - Brother Amadeus and Amadeus
...Memorize the Reasons! Defending the Faith with the Catholic Art of Memory - Kevin Vost
Marching Orders: A Tactical Plan for Converting the World to Christ - Dan McGuire

The Fathers Know Best - Jimmy Akin
Why We're Catholic: Our Reasons for Faith, Hope, and Love - Trent Horn
The Old Evangelization: How to Spread the Faith Like Jesus Did - Eric Sammons
What the Saints Never Said - Trent Horn
...

Friday, 30 June 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2017

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2017

With a much better work - life balance than I have had in a while, this was a record breaking quarter for reading. According to Good Reads 2017 Challenge I have read 212 books, also according to Good Reads 184 of those were first time reads. And of those 212 I gave 127 5 out of 5 Stars, or they made my Best of 2017 list But that is for the year so here are comparison numbers:

Q1 Total Books 100
Q2 Total Books 112
Q1 5 Star 57
Q2 5 Star 70

So narrowing that 70 books read down to a Top 10 Fiction and Top 10 Non-Fiction was not an easy task. But here goes.


Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Why We're Catholic - Trent Horn
2. Encounter the Saints Series
Saint Damien of Molokai - Virginia Helen Richards
The Saints Pray for Us - Christina Wedendt Editor
Saint Martin de Porres: Humble Healer by Elizabeth Marie DeDomenico
Saint Anthnoy of Padua: Fire and Light - Margaret Charles Kerry
St. Gianna Beretta Molla The Gift of Life - Susan Helen Wallace and Patricia Edward Jablonski
3. 20 Answers Series from Catholic Answers
20 Answers Mormonism - Trent Horn s
20 Answers Jehova's Witnesses - Trent Horn 
4. The Miracle of Father Kapaun: Priest, Soldier and Korean War Hero - Roy Wenzl and Travis Heying
5. In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
(New eBook editions links to all reviews here)
In Conversation with God Volume 2 Part 2 Eastertide
In Conversation with God Volume 6 Part 2: Special Feasts: April - June
7. Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassanti: An Ordinary Christian - Maria Amata Di Lorenzo
8. A Daily Defense 365 Days (Plus One) to becoming a Better Apologist - Jimmy Akin
9. Teresa of Calcutta: The Novel of a Soul - Maria Amata Di Lorenzo
10. Exodus 90
Exodus 90 Day 91 Life After Exodus 90 - Fr. Brian Doerr
Exodus 90 Exercise Guide - Mike Short
Exodus Ninety Days: Freedom Through Prayer, Asceticism, & Brotherhood - Fr. Brian Doerr

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Chasing Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Trilogy Book 1
2. Bang - Barry Lyga
3. The Sleuths of the Spanish Transition - Manuel Alfonseca
4. Four Minutes - Barry Lyga - A Short Story
5. Saint Magnus the Last Viking - Susan Peek
6. The Artsy Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries Book 2
7. A Battle for the Faith: Two Short Stories -  John Paul Wohlscheid and Theresa Linden
8. Gregor and the Code of Claw - Suzanne Collins - Underland Chronicles Book 5
9. Chime Travelers - Lisa M. Hendey and Jenn Bower 
The Secret of the Shamrock - The Sign of the Carved Cross
10. The Father Capranica Mysteries: Stories of the Strange and Supernatural - Fr. Mike Driscoll

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017  

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

212 - 2017 January-June
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996