--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/WayOfTheCross As it appears live September 19, 2020 4:29:29 PM UTC

Showing posts with label WayOfTheCross. Show all posts
Showing posts with label WayOfTheCross. Show all posts

Tuesday, 26 May 2020

Scriptural Way of the Cross - Father Adrian Graffy - CTS Devotions

Scriptural Way of the Cross
Father Adrian Graffy
CTS Devotions
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781784696276
CTS Booklet D832

 
This lent I have used several different versions of Stations of the Cross and Way of the Cross. Including a few from The Catholic Truth Society. This is a new one that was released in 2020.  Over the last few years I have read over 100 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. This was the first book I have read by Father Adrian Graffy. The book is only available currently in print, there is no eBook edition.

The description of this volume is:

“The Stations of the Cross devotion, meditating on Jesus’s journey to Calvary, is loved by Catholics around the world. In this new set of meditations, Scripture scholar Fr Adrian Graffy draws us deeper into the Passion of Jesus by placing a greater emphasis on God’s Word.

Each Station begins by meditating slowly upon a passage from Scripture, which is further brought to life by a prayer to Jesus which is directly related to the Station and the Scripture just read. Finally, each Station ends with relevant prayer intentions, bringing the devotion to the very heart of the Church today.


The Stations are accompanied by beautiful images of the Stations of the Cross which hang on the walls of the Catholic Church of Christ the Eternal High Priest in Essex."


This is a good version of the Stations of the Cross. The sculptures of the stations are great art to use for reflection during the prayers. The prayers and stanza for after the station are all at the beginning of the book. So there will be a lot of back and forth flipping. 

The reflections by Father Graffy are well written. The reflections are shorter than many versions I have used this year. The advantage of that is you can still work through the stations, especially if time is an issue. A sample reflection is:

Second Station
Jesus Receives the Cross

From the gospel according to mark

(8:34-35)

Anyone who wants to be a follower of mine must renounce self and take up the cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save life will lose it: but whoever loses life for my sake, and for the sake of the gospel, will save it.


Pause


Jesus, your cross is the means of our salvation. Help us to be willing to lose our lives for your sake. Show us the beauty of generosity and self-giving love.


Pause


Ask for the grace to give generously and deny self. Welcome the joy of the gospel which no suffering can remove.”


This is another great resource from the Catholic Truth Society. I found it very beneficial. And other than wishing there was an eBook edition, can highly recommend it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Link to other Lent Resources
For other books in the CTS Devotions Series click here.

Books by Father Adrian Graffy:
A Manual of Hebrew Poetics
Alive and Active: The Old Testament Beyond 2000
Discovering the New Testament
Discovering the Old Testament
Gospels of Mercy: 12 Steps to the Love of God
Scriptural Way of the Cross
Scripture of Mercy: The Love of God in the Old Testament
Trustworthy and True: The Gospels Beyond 2000
Twelve Steps to the Love of God






Thursday, 7 May 2020

Way of the Cross Meditations and Prayers - Pope Benedict XVI - CTS Devotions

Way of the Cross Meditations and Prayers
CTS Devotions
Pope Benedict XVI
Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860823350
CTS Booklet D673 


I had a different edition of this way of the cross many years ago. It was lent out and never returned. Over the last few years I have fallen in love with the books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society. I have read over 150 in the last 3 years and have that many on my wish list. This specific book is out of print, and there is no digital edition. It took me a while to track it down for a price I could afford. But it was so with. The description of this volume is:

“Benedict XVI's meditations and prayers are a powerful call to live the Way of the Cross as a school of faith, which teaches us to be like Christ. "Jesus himself interpreted for us the meaning of the "Way of the Cross", he taught us how to pray it and follow it: the Via Crucis is the path of losing ourselves, the path of true love."

This Way of the Cross was written by then Cardinal Ratzinger for the Good Friday procession around the Colosseum in Rome in 2005.”

We are informed that the illustrations in this volume are reproductions for the church of Saint Charles Borromeo, in London England. We are informed that these prayers and meditations were written at the request of then Pope John Paul II, by then Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger. They were used for the Good Friday Via Crucis in the Colosseum in Rome. Within a month of delivering these prayers Ratzinger would be elected pope and select the name Benedict XVI.

This version of the stations of the cross has a profound spiritual depth. Of the many I have used over the year it is one of the most moving. With it’s focus and direction to the heart of the Eucharist this devotion is both pious and intellectual. 

Each of the stations is 4 pages. The prayers are moving. But it is the meditations that make this version stand out so much to me. I am very thankful to have a copy of this book, and am trying to track down some of the other versions of this devotion from Benedict XVI. 

A fantastic devotion to use during lent, or throughout the year.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Link to other Lent Resources.
For other books in the CTS Devotions Series click here.


Books by Benedict XVI:

Monday, 4 May 2020

The Stations of the Cross With Pope John Paul II - Father Joseph M. Champlin and Gunter Grady

The Stations of the Cross With Pope John Paul II
Father Joseph M. Champlin
Gunter Grady (Illustrator)
Liguori Publications
ISBN 9780892436798
eISBN 9780764864643
ASIN B07G5JQ9W7

 


This version of the “Way of the Cross” was an amazon recommendation based on another that I had finished. It was very reasonably priced, and I picked it up right away and prayed through it a few days later. Most lent’s I pick 2 or 3 versions and use them as my mainstays through lent. But in 2020 I have read and used many different versions. I am writing this review at the beginning of Holy Week and so far, this year have used almost a dozen different version.

This specific version is from Good Friday, 1991. It was first used by then Pope John Paul II who lead a crowd through the stations at the Colosseum. The booklet is designed so it can be used for both public or private devotion. And like some newer versions this one has a fifteenth station ‘Jesus Rises From the Dead’.

I have mixed feelings about this edition. I appreciate the text. I am starting after many years to get more comfortable with the fifteenth station. The illustrations are hit and miss. Some I love and some are more meh. I have included some of the ones I love.

This is a good version. And I am thankful to have it in my mix now. Father Champlin in the introduction states:

“When parishes or groups celebrate these stations publicly, they may be done in the context of Exposition and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament. The Eucharist is at once a memorial of the Lord’s passion and death as well as the Real Presence of the risen Christ in our midst. Integration of the stations with a eucharistic devotional service seems, therefore, theologically sound, liturgically appropriate, and pastorally wise. You may wish to refer to Holy Communion and Worship of the Eucharist Outside Mass, numbers 79–100, for further guidelines and directives concerning eucharistic Exposition and Benediction, as well as an outline of the rite itself.”

And if we were able that would be a wonderful way to work through this devotion. But it also works well as a personal form of prayer, devotion and piety.


Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Link to other Lent Resources.








Sunday, 5 April 2020

Meditations on Stations of the Cross - John Henry Newman - CTS Devotions

Meditations on Stations of the Cross
CTS Devotions
John Henry Newman
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781784690298
eISBN 9781784694289
ASIN B073H22XYT
CTS Booklet D792 


At the beginning of each lent I pick a few different versions of the Stations of the Cross or Way of the Cross to be part of my Lenten journey. And since over the last few years I have read and reviewed over 100 books from the Catholic Truth Society I decided to pick up a few of their offerings. This specific version was published in 1927, it was revised in 2015. An eBook edition was released in 2017. And with his canonization in 2019 a new paperback edition has been released.  The original description of the revised edition is:

“Blessed John Henry Newman's celebrated meditations on the passion of Our Lord have been edited and enhanced with illustrations. They remain a moving and enriching commentary on the details of Christ's sufferings and their bearing on our own human existence. An excellent companion to Lent and Easter for for use on Fridays of the year. Updated and revised by Donal Antony Foley.”

And the wording has not changed much for the latest edition. 

The chapters in this volume are:
The Value of the Stations of the Cross 
John Henry Newman 
The Fourteen Stations 
Additional Prayers and Examination of Conscience 
Prayers of Cardinal Newman

This year I also read a new edition called Stations of the Cross from TAN Books. It is a slightly abbreviated variation on this one. A sample station from this one is:

The Thirteenth Station 
Jesus Is Taken From The Cross,
And Laid In Mary’s Bosom

The multitude have gone home; Calvary is left solitary and still, except that St John and the holy women are there. Then come Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus, and take down from the Cross the body of Jesus, and place it in the arms of Mary. 

O Mary, at last you have possession of your Son. Now, when His enemies can do no more, they leave Him in contempt to you. As His unexpected friends perform their difficult work, you look on with inexpressible thoughts. Your heart is pierced with the sword of which Simeon spoke. O Mother most sorrowful; yet in your sorrow there is a still greater joy. The joy in prospect strengthened you to stand by Him as He hung upon the Cross; much more now, without swooning, without trembling, do you receive Him to your arms and on your lap. Now you are supremely happy as having Him, though He comes to you not as He went from you. He went from your home, O Mother of God, in the strength and beauty of His manhood, and He comes back to you dislocated, torn to pieces, mangled, dead. Yet, O Blessed Mary, you are happier in the hour of woe than on the day of the marriage feast, for then He was leaving you, and now in the future, as a risen Saviour, He will be separated from you no more.”

This is an excellent version of the way of the cross. I love having a few different ones that I rotate through during lent, and most Fridays the rest of the year. I appreciate both versions I have based on the works of Newman. 

A great devotional resource.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Link to other Lent Resources

For other books in the CTS Devotions Series click here.


Reviews of other books by John Henry Newman:
Stations of the Cross

Meditations on Mary, Our Mother 
Prayers Before The Eucharist
...

CTS books about Newman:
John Henry Newman: Lead Kindly Light -Dr. Raymond Edwards
Newman His Life and Legacy – Fr. Ian Ker
John Henry Newman Apostle to the Doubtful - Meriol Trevor and Leonie Caldecott
Newman Prayer Book - The Birmingham Oratory (ed)
The Mind of Cardinal Newman: From His Own Writings - Charles Stephen Dessain 

Daily Christian Living with John Henry Newman

CTS Books by John Henry Newman:
Meditations on Stations of the Cross
Christ upon the Waters - CTS Onefifties Book 3


Reviews of other books about Newman:
Take Five: Meditations with John Henry Newman -  Mike Aquilina and Juan Velez










Tuesday, 31 March 2020

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2020

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2020

This quarter I have read 96 books, which was one more than Q4 2019. It was a good start to the year. And may excellent reads. Seventy-Seven of those books were first time reads. And 66 received 5/5 stars. Only 15 were fiction and 51 were non-fiction. And 8 of those had been read before. I am reading at the pace of about a book a day. 

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the first quarter of 2020.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Books by J.B. Midgley
link to all review of books by Midgley
2. Consecration to St. Joseph - Donald H. Calloway
3. Spiritual Warfare and the Discernment of Spirits - Dan Burke
4.  From the Depths of Our Hearts: Priesthood, Celibacy and the Crisis of the Catholic Church - Pope Benedict XVI and Robert Cardinal Sarah
5. Epic Saints Wild, Wonderful, and Weird Stories of God's Heroes - Shaun McAfee
6. CTS Biographies
7. Lenten Journey with Mother Mary - Fr. Edward Looney
8. CTS Great Saints
Saint Ignatius of Loyola - J.A. Philips
9. The Passion of St. Edward, King and Martyr - Goscelin of Saint-Bertin and Eric Sammons
10. Way of the Cross or Stations of the Cross

Bonus:
In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
everyone's way of the cross - Clarance Enzler
Way of the Cross - Saint Josemaria Escriva
Sr. Elizabeth Prout - Sister Dominic Savio Hamer CP - CTS Saints of the Isles

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. The Cassandra Curse - Fiorella De Maria
2. The Ghosts of Midgard Manor: And Other Stories - Roger Thomas
3. See No Evil - Fiorella De Maria - Father Gabriel Mystery Book 3
4. The Tattered Web - Roger Thomas - Watchful Sky Series Book 4
5. Stay With Me Series - Carolyn Astfalk
6. The Lucifer Ego - T.M. Doran - The Sequel to Toward the Gleam
7. A Channel of Your Peace - Veronica Smallhorn
8. A Conspiracy of Bones - Kathy Reichs - Temperance Brennan Book 19
9. Level 13 - Gordon Korman - Slacker Book 2
10. Dragon Assassin 7 Hidden Powers - Arthur Slade

Bonus:
Mystic Informant - Carissa Douglas - Douglings Adventures Book 1
Extreme Blindside - Leslea Wahl

My reading has been consistent at about a book a day over the last few years. I attribute part of it to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. Though I am working from home now because of Covid-19 This quarter was 80% non-fiction. There are so many great series I am reading from the Catholic Truth Society, I have had to make an effort to actually fit in some fiction.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are in the bonus section. It was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

96 - 2019 January-March
392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Saturday, 28 March 2020

Way of the Cross Uniting Our Sufferings to Christ - Michael Campbell

Way of the Cross: Uniting Our Sufferings to Christ
Michael Campbell
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860828980
eISBN 9781784694395
ASIN B073H1TMW4
CTS Booklet 


Every lent I pick a few different versions of the Stations of the Cross or Way of the Cross to be part of my Lenten journey. And since over the last few years I have read and reviewed over 100 books from the Catholic Truth Society I decided to pick up a few of their offerings. This specific version was published in 2014 and the eBook in 2017. Currently the print edition appears to be out of print. But the eBook is still readily available. For which I am extremely grateful. In the introduction Michael Campbell OSA, Bishop of Lancaster states:

“The Stations of the Cross have long been a popular and much-loved Catholic devotion. To walk the way of the cross with the suffering Christ, prayerfully contemplating his humiliation and suffering, gives us the courage to accept and bear our own particular share of the cross, whatever form that may take. 

This cherished devotional practice teaches us the profound and mysterious lesson that it was through his suffering and cross that the Son of God redeemed the world. The Stations offer the sick and frail, those who are oppressed and downcast, the opportunity to unite their sufferings with those of Christ and to make their own the sentiments of St Paul, “to complete what is lacking in Christ’s affliction for the sake of his body, that is, the Church.” (Col 1:24) 

I offer these meditations on the Stations of the Cross in the hope that all who use them will draw closer to our blessed Lord who loves each one of us in our weakness and frailty. Through walking the way to Calvary with Christ may we be brought to the glory of his resurrection.”

And that is what he has crafted is an excellent devotion for us to use personally, or corporately. 

The chapters in this volume are:
Introduction 
Tree of Paradise 
First Station 
Second Station 
Third Station 
Fourth Station 
Fifth Station 
Sixth Station 
Seventh Station 
Eighth Station 
Ninth Station 
Tenth Station 
Eleventh Station 
Twelfth Station 
Thirteenth Station 
Fourteenth Station

This volume likesome other versions contains a fifteenth station a reflection on the Resurrection. A sample meditation is:

Sixth Station
Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

P. (Kneeling) We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you.
C. Because by your holy cross you have redeemed the world.

“Without beauty, without majesty we saw him, no looks to attract our eyes; despised and rejected, a man of sorrows and familiar with suffering.” (Is 53:2-4)

Veronica, moved with pity for the despised and suffering Christ, steps forward and wipes his face with a towel. Her act of kindness and great compassion would never be forgotten.

Reflection
Lord Jesus, in the midst of your suffering and distress you found someone to take pity on you. Veronica had the courage to reach out to you in your affliction. May we never fail to feel the sufferings of others, and seek to lighten their burden. Make us compassionate as our heavenly Father is compassionate, for he is close to the afflicted and broken-hearted.
C. I love you, Jesus, my love above all things. I repent with my whole heart of having offended you. Never permit me to separate myself from you again. Grant that I may love you always and then do with me what you will.

Our Father…Hail Mary...Glory be…”

And this volume has artwork between each of the stations. The artwork is by Josef Piens Cooreman and Rene de Cramer. And in the eBook they are full color prints. It is an excellent version of the way. I am thankful I have it and will use it over.

Another excellent resource from the Catholic Truth Society!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Link to other Lent Resources.






Saturday, 21 March 2020

Stations of the Cross - Saint John Henry Cardinal Newman

Stations of the Cross
St. John Henry Cardinal Newman
TAN Books
ISBN 9781505116816
ASIN B084ZVKNXC



This lent I have read and compared two different editions of Stations of the Cross by Saint John Henry Newman. This is one of three new editions of works from this saint. And it is an excellent version. The other two volumes that were released at the same time are Meditations on Mary, Our Mother and Prayers Before The Eucharist. If they are as good as this volume, we are in for some great reads. But back to this volume. There is only one image in this volume it is The Crucifixion by Gustave Dore. 

This book is a completely new typeset. The chapters are:

Editor’s Introduction
Prayers Before The Stations Of The Cross
The First Station
The Second Station
The Third Station
The Fourth Station
The Fifth Station
The Sixth Station
The Seventh Station
The Eighth Station
The Ninth Station
The Tenth Station
The Eleventh Station
The Twelfth Station
The Thirteenth Station
The Fourteenth Station
Final Prayers

We are told in the introduction:

“As our world gets busier, less supernatural, and more complicated, Catholics need, more and more, to take just a small amount of time to focus on the supernatural, and with great simplicity. Thus, we have provided the text of St. John Henry Cardinal Newman’s Stations of the Cross, adapted from the book of his meditations.”


And also:

“These meditations on the Stations of the Cross were written for his parishioners in the Birmingham Oratory Church, who were far from erudite scholars. Their education was minimal, and their available time even less, and they loved Newman all the more for the simple and easy way in which he led them to deeper devotion.

Thus, in our time, these meditations can aid us with the simple and singular focus on Christ’s passion and our own failings which contributed to it. We have given them slight editing for modern English as well as having added additional prayers to round out the work. May all who avail themselves of these meditations draw grace from the deep meditation.”


One of the things I love about this edition is that the Responses and prayers at with each station. So that you do not need to constantly flip back and forth. I also appreciated the grounded-ness mentioned in the introduction. This is a simple humble way of the cross. But one that will draw us in, either in personal, communal, or corporate praying of the stations. The main part of the reflection is very similar to other editions by Newman. Only some slight changing of language to make it more accessible.

This is a wonderful little volume that will enrich your experience of Lent, of throughout the year as you take time to reflect on the stations. Both the eBook and physical editions are beautifully set. And it is a book I can highly recommend!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan!

Reviews of other books by John Henry Newman:
Stations of the Cross

Meditations on Mary, Our Mother 
Prayers Before The Eucharist
...

CTS books about Newman:
John Henry Newman: Lead Kindly Light -Dr. Raymond Edwards
Newman His Life and Legacy – Fr. Ian Ker
John Henry Newman Apostle to the Doubtful - Meriol Trevor and Leonie Caldecott
Newman Prayer Book - The Birmingham Oratory (ed)
The Mind of Cardinal Newman: From His Own Writings - Charles Stephen Dessain 

Daily Christian Living with John Henry Newman

CTS Books by John Henry Newman:
Meditations on Stations of the Cross
Christ upon the Waters - CTS Onefifties Book 3


Reviews of other books about Newman:
Take Five: Meditations with John Henry Newman -  Mike Aquilina and Juan Velez






Thursday, 2 May 2019

Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints - J.B. Midgley

Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
J.B. Midgley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860824166
eISBN 9781784694296
ASIN B073H1693R
CTS Booklet D682



This year during holy week I worked through a different version of the Stations of the cross each day. Most I has read before, some were new. This volume was not only a new version but it also had a second part of the book the Via Lucis - The Way of the Resurrection, I can be honest and admit I had not yet encountered this devotion, and I found it fascinating. And it is one I will be looking into further. This is an excellent book, and great spiritual resource.

The description of this volume is:

"In addition to the well-known fourteen Stations of the Cross (or via crucis), this booklet includes the more recently popularised fourteen Stations of the Resurrection (via lucis). Intended to preserve a living memory of Jesus' words and actions from his Passion until Pentecost, this combined devotion is further enriched by the prayers and thoughts of the saints and others who have gone before us."

The book has a short introduction that in part contains the following:

"John Paul II - via crucis
Through the weakness of a humiliated and despised man, God manifested his omnipotence. Jesus, the Innocent One, by freely accepting to go to the extreme of obedience to his Father who had sent him, became the witness of God's boundless love for all humanity. The mystery of our salvation is accomplished in the silence of Good Friday when a man, abandoned by all, bearing the weight of our sufferings, was delivered up to death on a Cross, his arms wide open in the gesture of embracing every man and woman. Could greater love be shown? A mystery that is difficult to grasp, a mystery of infinite love! A mystery that inaugurates the new and transfigured world of the Kingdom. On this cross, death has been overcome; from the death of the Son of God made man, life has sprung. His fidelity to the Father's divine plan of love has not been in vain, it has led to the resurrection.

Benedict XVI - via lucis
Christ's Resurrection...if we may borrow the language of the theory of evolution,...is the greatest "mutation"; absolutely the most crucial leap into a totally new dimension that there has ever been in the long history of life and its development: a leap into a completely new order which does concern us...What does it mean for us, for the whole world and for me personally? Above all: what happened? Jesus is no longer in the tomb. He is in a totally new life. But how could this happen? What forces were in operation?... His death was an act of love. It is clear that this event...is a qualitative leap in the history of "evolution"... How can this event effectively reach me and draw my life upwards towards itself? The answer, perhaps surprising at first but totally real, is: this event comes to me through faith and Baptism."


And then it immediately moves into the prayers of the stations.

Fourteen Stations of the Cross - via crucis
1. Jesus is condemned to death
2. Jesus takes up His Cross
3. Jesus falls the first time
4. Jesus meets His Mother
5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry the Cross
6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
7. Jesus falls the second time
8. The women of Jerusalem weep for Our Lord
9. Jesus falls the third time
10. Jesus is stripped of His garments and offered gall
11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross
12. Jesus dies on the Cross
13. Jesus is taken down from the Cross and laid in the arms of His Mother
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

Each station has the usual prayers, and also several quotes from Saints, Popes, and other Christian leaders. This was a moving version of this devotion. Some of the quotes are very piercing. I love this devotion to begin with and this is an excellent version. Then it moves on to the via lucis.

Fourteen Stations of the Resurrection - via lucis
1. Jesus rises from the dead
2. The disciples find the empty tomb
3. The risen Lord appears to Mary Magdalen
4. The risen Lord appears to two disciples on the road to Emmaus
5. The risen Lord reveals himself at the breaking of bread
6. The risen Lord appears to his disciples
7. The risen Lord gives the power to forgive sins
8. The risen Lord confirms the faith of Thomas
9. The risen Lord meets his disciples on the shore of Galilee
10. The risen Lord confers primacy on Peter
11. The risen Lord entrusts to his disciples the mission to the world
12. The risen Lord ascends to the Father
13. Waiting for the Holy Spirit with Mary the mother of Jesus
14. The risen Lord sends the Spirit promised to the disciples

A sample of one of the stations is:

"12. The risen Lord ascends to the Father

V. We adore you Lord and praise you
R. Because by your death and resurrection you give life to the world

Reading from Holy Scripture

They asked 'Lord, has the time come? Are you going to restore the kingdom to Israel?' He replied, 'It is not for you to know times or dates that the Father has decided by his own authority, but you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you, and then you will be my witnesses…indeed to the ends of the earth'. As he said this he was lifted up while they looked on, and a cloud took him from their sight…suddenly two men in white were standing near them and they said, 'Why are you men from Galilee standing here looking into the sky? Jesus who has been taken up from you into heaven, this same Jesus will come back in the same way as you have seen him go there.'(Ac 1:6-11)

St Leo the Great

We are blessed because Our Lord, having provided for everything concerning the preaching of the Gospel and the mysteries of the New Covenant, went up to Heaven before the eyes of the disciples. Our Redeemer's visible presence has passed into the Sacraments. Our faith is nobler and stronger because sight has been replaced by doctrine whose authority is accepted by believing hearts that are enlightened from on high.

Blessed John XXIII

The Lord's Ascension and final return to His father is the fulfilment of His promises, a surety for all to whom He has promised to prepare a place in Heaven and be with the Trinity for ever. He encourages us not to be hampered by temporal concerns but to trust the will of God that draws us heavenward.

St Teresa Benedicta of the Cross

Our Lord remains present in the Tabernacle, not for His own sake but for ours. It is His delight to be with 'the children of men'. He understands what we are and our need for His personal nearness.

St John Fisher

Lord,…clothed with the new garment of immortality, you entered the Holy of Holies that is Heaven. Before the throne of your heavenly Father, you show the Blood of great price that you have poured out for all sinners. This sacrifice is so pleasing and acceptable to God that He cannot but take pity on us, and show mercy to all who are truly repentant.

Prayer

Father in Heaven, our minds were prepared for the coming of your Kingdom when you took Christ beyond our sight so that we might seek Him in His glory. May we follow where He has led and find our hope in His glory.

Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory be to the Father etc."


This is an excellent little devotional booklet. I am very blessed to have encountered the Fourteen Stations of the Resurrection - via lucis. And know it is a devotion I will use often. This will be a booklet I used yearly, going forward. And may pull out from time to time throughout the year to pray.

This is another excellent resource from the Catholic Truth Society. A Devotional book that will bless you, and those you pray this with.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

All reviews of Stations of the Cross.


Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...