--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/Winkler As it appears live September 27, 2020 1:22:38 PM UTC

Showing posts with label Winkler. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Winkler. Show all posts

Friday, 9 November 2012

Mind if I Read Your Mind? - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver - Ghost Buddy 2

Mind If I read Your Mind?
Ghost Buddy 2
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545298889
ISBN 9780545298834
eISBN 9780545469500


Winkler and Oliver are an amazing writing team and this new series is a great read. This second book is a direct progression on the first. Hoover Porterhouse is learning how to help Billy Broccoli and Billy is gaining some confidence and learning about who he really wants to be.

This story focuses more on the growing friendship between Billy and Porter, and on Billy's growing friendships at school. It is about growing and growing up. It is amazing how, when we start to like something, losing it can cause us angst. Both of these boys, or really a ghost and his boy, feel that way about each other at different points in the story. Can they overcome their hurt and sense of betrayal and work together again?

Another wonderful read by an amazing pair of authors. Hop on board and give the Ghost Buddy books a try.













 

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Ghost Buddy Books:

1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Sunday, 16 September 2012

Zero To Hero - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver - Ghost Buddy 1

Zero To Hero
Ghost Buddy 1
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545298872
ISBN 9780545298827
eISBN 9780545392525


I must admit I am a big fan of this writing team. When I found out they had launched a new series with Scholastic I was overjoyed. But once I found out more about the new series I was a little nervous. A story about a ghost roommate could go either way. I should not have been worried. If the rest of the series is as good as this book, we are in for some amazing reads.

In this first book we are introduced to Billy Broccoli and Hoover Porterhouse. Billy has moved because his mother has remained. Billy has never been the most popular and starting at a new school where his mother is principal does not look like it will begin well. But the weekend before school starts he meets Hoover; Hoover has been a ghost for 99 years. And he only has one year left to pass Ghost School or he will be stuck on his family's piece of property for his entire afterlife. But for some strange reason Billy and Porter hit it off, and when things start going bad for Billy at school, Porter steps in.

This was a great story, in part about bullying, friendship, blended families, and all about growing up. It was a great fun read and I look forward to more books in the series.









Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Ghost Buddy Books:

1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Wednesday, 21 July 2010

A Tale Of Two Tales - Hank Zipzer Book 15 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

A Tale Of Two Tales
Hank Zipzer Book 15
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443782


In the last year I have read or reread the 17 books in this series. These are wonderful books about a young boy learning to live with his learning difficulties. He has a form of dyslexia. They are written in part from the personal experience of Henry Winkler's own life. They are fun reads, light and easy. Each book in the series is enjoyable, and always entertaining.

In this book, Hank enters his dog Cheerio in the school mascot contest. He teams up with his best friends, Ashley and Frankie, to train the dog before the judging. As usual, Hank messes things up, but not only does he learn his lesson, he also discovers what good friends he has. This is another great book in an excellent series.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Monday, 10 May 2010

A Brand New Me - Hank Zipzer Book 17 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

A Brand New Me!
Hank Zipzer Book 17
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448452104


Hank Zipzer, the world's greatest underachiever, is back at it again. In this seventeenth book in the series, we again encounter Hank towards the end of a school year, and again Hank is in the position of not finishing. This time it is because he has failed to complete his community service requirement. The biggest difference between this book and earlier books in the series is that Hank starts to see something in himself, some potential for something other than failure. He realizes this with the help of Mr. Rock, the school music teacher who helps him explore this new side. Soon he is practicing monologues, improv, and characterization. He has set his goals on auditioning for the Professional School of Performing Arts. Yet, as usual, he needs to convince his father to let him try out, and if he gets it, to go. Hank is desperate to succeed as his two best friends are going to the Enhanced Science program, and he does not want to be left without them or something special himself.

These books are very well written. In the last year I have read or re-read 16 of the 17 in the series. They keep my attention, and are fun and enjoyable to read. The humour is age appropriate. As someone with dyslexia, these stories do an amazing job of capturing the experience of living with, and learning to deal with, learning disabilities. They are great reads just as books, but for young people with learning disabilities or people close to them, they will provide encouragement and support also.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Monday, 15 February 2010

The Life of Me (Enter at Your Own Risk) - Hank Zipzer Book 14 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

The Life of Me (Enter at Your Own Risk)
Hank Zipzer Book 14
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443768

Out of the 16 books available in the Zipzer series, this is now my favourite for a few reasons. First, Hank really begins to accept his learning disability; he also chooses to seek extra help for it. Now true, there is a female interest that draws him to that option but when a young person chooses reading gym over Tae Kwon Do, you know something serious is up. Hank has his first crush and Zoe is in the reading gym also. Hank also tries to keep this change in after-school activities a secret from his dad. But best of all Hank learns how to describe his life with his learning challenges and how it feels to live and struggle with them day in and day out. In learning to admit he has a problem and really working on it, Hank learns how to communicate his struggles and feelings that have been pent up for years.

What is remarkable about this book, and the series as a whole, is the ability by the authors to capture the essence of struggling with a learning disability. I was diagnosed in grade 2 because of a very persistent teacher, but many people are now being diagnosed in college, university and even in the workforce. I know many people who were not diagnosed in school and feel the way Hank does, but they did not know why. These books, even though written for children, are excellent for anyone struggling with learning disabilities, no matter their age. For they will help them see it is not just them and in Hank will see a mirror of some of their own experiences. These books are wonderfully written and are also fun to read. I highly recommend them.


Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Tuesday, 29 December 2009

Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm on My Way Mom! - Hank Zipzer Book 16 Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm on My Way Mom!
Hank Zipzer Book 16

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada

ISBN 9780448443805


You would think after 14 books I would be bored with a book about a young boy with dyslexia. Yet I am not; I actually anticipate the new books as they come out. I do not always read them in order but find that each stands well on its own. In the beginning of this tale, Hank is feeling the pinch of preparing to share a room with his new little brother who is on the way. The Zipzer parents decide to give Hank and his sister Emily a trip before the new sibling arrives. So Stanley takes the two skiing in Vermont. While on the slopes they get the call - Randi has gone into labour.

The trip to the hospital is no easy matter. A giant storm is blowing in. Yet how can you not have fun traveling with the Zipzers by car, in a boxcar with horses, in a van full of Chinese acrobats, dogsled and yes, as the title says, even by dump truck. This is one of the best of the books in the series, and bound to be great fun for children of all ages.

As an aside, I recently lent these books to a manager at work. He read the first one, and his daughter is now reading him the rest. They loved them. He described them as just enough humour to keep a child interested, without being over the top or inappropriate and also engaging enough for an adult. I could not agree more. These really are great books for the whole family.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Wednesday, 25 November 2009

Holy Enchilada! - Hank Zipzer Book 6 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Holy Enchilada!
Hank Zipzer Book 6

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 0448433532


What kind of trouble can Hank Zipzer get into when his school is hosting a multi-cultural day? All kinds. In this segment
of the adventures of Hank, his friends and family the Zipzers, are selected to host a visiting international student. Yoshi Morimoto and his Father are from PS87's sister school in Tokyo and are
visiting schools in America. The visit coincides with PS87's multicultural day.

The prob
lems begin when the gang, Hank, Frankie, Ashley and Yoshi try to make enchiladas and the task of reading the recipe falls on Hank. With his dyslexia he struggles with the fractions, and the enchiladas end up with a lot of zing. Once again Hank learns that telling the truth is the best way to go. A good story in a great series.


Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Monday, 23 November 2009

Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me! - Hank Zipzer Book 13 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
Hank Zipzer Book 13

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443744

As much as I love this series, some of the inconsistencies in the story line are starting to get to me. I have documented in other reviews inconsistencies regarding Hank's statements of his best mark in school. This time it is something different. In this one the principal of PS87 is talking outside the school to Hank's grandfather about peer tutoring and how it might be good for Hank with his learning difficulties. However in book 11, The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down Hank goes through peer tutoring to improve his marks so he can be in the school play. These are great books especially for children with learning disabilities. Yet these story line inconsistencies are starting to detract from the strength of individual books.

In this one Hank learns that his parents are having another baby. All he can see is how this is going to ruin his life, starting with his birthday party that very weekend. Hank makes two major decisions in this book. First he decides that looking after a pet might help him learn how to help with a baby, so his Grandfather papa Pete buys him a Mexican red-knee tarantula named Rosa. He soon finds out a tarantula can cause all kinds of difficulties especially in a pizza parlour. He also decides to throw himself a birthday party, but neither of his best friends can come because they made commitments to go with Hank's mom to look at baby carriages.

This is another fun light adventure in the Hank Zipzer series.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Thursday, 19 November 2009

The Zippity Zinger - Hank Zipzer Book 4 by: Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

The Zippity Zinger
Hank Zipzer Book 4
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 0448431939


What does any child fear? Looking like a fool in public. Han
k loves baseball but he doesn't think he can play very well, and even with his grandfather wanting to spend time helping him hone his skills he doesn't want to try out for the school Olympiad. PS87 is having their annual Olympiad and the students are divided into two
teams - team Yellow and team Blue. There are three events - Brain Buster Trivia, Softball and Triple C, Clean and Clutter Free. Hank had signed up for the 3C but while practicing with his Grandpa starts throwing wicked pitches. Unfortunately he thinks it is because of his sister's red socks with pink monkeys. He believes they are lucky socks.

Soon however, his sister is looking for them for her own part in the Olympiad. His sister Emily is a brain, and always knows way more on a topic than most people would care to know.
Hank on the other hand, struggles in school because of his dyslexia and has a low self image because of his consistent struggles and failures. Once Emily is looking for the socks, he struggles with the idea of hiding them from her. He has already committed to pitching in the Olympiad but does the right thing and gives her back her lucky socks. Can he still pitch? Will his yellow team win? Read to find out. This is yet another good book in this great series.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Saturday, 31 October 2009

Barfing in the Backseat: How I survived my family road trip - Hank Zipzer Book 12 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Barfing in the Backseat:
How I survived my family road trip

Hank Zipzer Book 12
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443287


The more I read this series the more I love it. Few series could hold my attention past 3 or 4 books yet this one is doing an admirable job. Not only am I excited about reading the books I have not finished yet, I am looking forward to those not yet published. Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver do an amazing job of capturing the angst, struggles and feelings of a young student struggling with a learning disability. I have said it before but reading parts of these books is like reading segments from my own childhood and my personal struggles with dyslexia.


In this segment of Hank's journey, the family is taking a road trip over the Christmas Holidays. Each member gets to choose a stop along the way. Hank's father, Stanley, started it all by wanting to go to the National Crossword championship. His mother, Randi, chose an organic bee farm; his sister a science museum, and Hank chose a roller coaster park. It looked like it would be a great vacation. Then on the last day of school he is handed a homework pack to help give him an advantage after the break. Once his father finds out about it, Hank's problems begin; he must complete it or he cannot go to the roller coaster park. But vacation and travel and hotels are so much fun he keeps putting it off, then he accidentally leaves it behind at one of the hotels. Hank tries to jump through all kinds of hoops to keep his parents from knowing he lost the package but in the end realized, maybe too late, that the truth is always the best plan.

This is another great book in an awesome series.


Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Thursday, 29 October 2009

The Night I Flunked My Field Trip - Hank Zipzer Book 5 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
Hank Zipzer Book 5

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 0448433524

As someone with a dual form of dyslexia, I can really relate to these books. Hank's feelings of inadequacy, his desire to hide his disability, and his heightened level of self-consciousness are
all things I can relate to. I wish these books had been around when I was younger. It's the day of the 4th grade field trip. The students are about to spend the night on a tall ship, The Pilgrim Spirit. But Hank's mind, that doesn't always work the way he wants, has once again forgotten something - his permission slip. His teacher gives him an hour to get it to the school. Fortunately his grandfather papa Pete was able to retrieve the signed slip and get it to the school.

Once Hank's class arrives at the ship they realize another 4th grade class from a different school is joining them on the ship. Hank has many adventures on the ship, but the worst is when he takes over his watch at 4am and realizes the ship is adrift, and the crew that has been bossing the students around all evening are no help for they are just actors playing a role. Hank discovers he has Papa Pete's cell phone. Can he save the day? Can he provide leadership to 2 fourth grade classes? Read and find out.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Tuesday, 1 September 2009

The Curtain Went Up, and My Pants Fell Down - Hank Zipzer Book 10 by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

The Curtain Went Up, and My Pants Fell Down
Hank Zipzer Book 11
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448442679

This is a great series, it does an amazing job of capturing the experience of living and growing up with learning disabilities. Henry Winkler admits that he himself has a form of dyslexia. However this is the second book with a glaring continuity error, and it is beginning to bother me. In Book 10 My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail it states that Hank never got above C's he says that his "grades have only ever traveled to C-ville and parts south". In this book on p.3 Hank states that "A C-Minus was a step up for me. I usually live in D-Ville." Yet in book 8 Summer School? What Genius Thought That Up? He got an A+ on his oral presentation. There is also a second incident in this book whwre he states he never
got A's. The continuity error being missed a second time by editors and proof readers is disappointing. However setting that aside this is another wonderful adventure for Hank and his friends at PS 87(Public School 87).

In this story Hank wants' to try out for the role of the King of Siam, in the school's adaptation of the play Anna and the King, but he has just flunked a math test and started peer tutoring. His father only allows him to try out for the play if he agrees he will get a B+ on his next math test. If he does not achieve this mark and has got a spot in the play, he will have to drop out. As we can tell from the title it sounds like he made it but how many trials does he have to overcome to make it. Follow Hank as he get's to know Heather Payne as both a peer tutor and friend, and maybe Hank can teach Heather a thing or two, read and find out.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Sunday, 23 August 2009

My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard - Hank Zipzer Book 9 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
Hank Zipzer Book 9

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448437491


What do you do when you discover you love something but most people do not understand it, or they think it is lame? Well if you're Hank Zipzer you try to hide it. It's the beginning of the 5th grade and Hank has joined the soccer team, but he's not very good, and does not really enjoy it. Then his grandfather takes him to a
Ping-Pong Emporium, and not only does Hank like it, he can actually see some skill developing. But when he tries to feel out his friends on the subject of Ping-Pong they leave the impression it is lame, and the school bully McKelty mocks it the most. So he tries to hide his newfound love of the sport Ping-Pong.

Unfortunately he loves Ping-Pong so much he keeps skipping soccer practice to play; when his father finds out he gets a big lecture. His father lets him know he does not think Ping-pong is a real sport and he is disappointed in Hank for letting his soccer team down by not following through on his commitment.

The story comes to a head when at PS 87's Parade of Athletes, McKelty mocks a kindergarten kid about Ping-Pong and makes him cry. Little Sam Chin will try again if Hank will play with him, but to do so will be to admit his love for the sport. Can he overcome his fear of ridicule? Can he change his father's attitude about Ping-Pong? Can he rise above and help Sam? Read and find out why being a Ping-Pong wizard helps Hank with more than just developing hand-eye co-ordination.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Sunday, 9 August 2009

Summer School! What Genius Thought That Up! - Hank Zipzer Book 8 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver


Summer School! What Genius Thought That Up!
Hank Zipzer Book 8
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada

ISBN
9780448437392

Our last adventure found Hank making it out of the fourth grade but only if he attends summer school, to strengthen his academic skills. This book begins the first day of summer school. And while
Hank will still get to walk to and from school with his best friends Ashley and Frankie, they were participating in the Junior Explorer's program and Hank was stuck back in the classroom with 10 other fourth and fifth graders. While he sits in class he can watch the junior explorers prepare for a luau.

Hank desperately wants to attend the luau, but his father has set a condition - Hank must get an A on his assignment on Friday, a presentation on a person that they admire. Mr. Rock the music teacher who is leading summer school suggests that Hank does his on Albert Einstein. Papa Pete takes him to the NYC Library to get a library card and a slew of books. The interesting thing is Hank begins to have fun learning; he also reads for fun. But can he get his A and be able to go to the party? Read and find out.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Saturday, 1 August 2009

My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat - Hank Zipzer Book 10 by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat
Hank Zipzer Book 10
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448438788

In this adventure Hank finally has had enough of Nick McKelty. The school bully has gone too far. During the school Halloween Parade, Nick mocks a kid in kindergarten, and makes everybody laugh at Hank but the topper is he mocks Hank's younger sister and her friend Robert. With the help of grandfather he comes up with a plan to create a haunted house and get revenge on McKelty.


With the help of his best friends Ashley and Frankie, they set about transfor
ming the family living room into a haunted house of horrors. They test it on two other schoolmates and McKelty arrives just before their parents close up shop. But will their plans and work really scare the school bully? You need to read this to find out.

This is a great series about a young boy with a learning disability. It really captures the experiences of someone with those struggles. My only complaint about this book is the first inconsistency in the series and it is a big one. On p.15 Hank says his books have never gone above the C's range, yet in book 7, Summer School? What Genius Thought That Up?, he achieves an A+ for his presentation. He says his grades have only ever traveled to C-ville and parts south. It is a great line but doesn't match the other books. It's a little disappointing but not enough to stop me reading the book or the series.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Tuesday, 21 July 2009

I Got a "D" in Salami - Hank Zipzer Book 2 by: Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

I Got a "D" in Salami
Hank Zipzer Book 2
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 0448431637


It's the end of the school year and Hank Zipzer is back in trouble again. Not only did he get three D's on his report card, he managed to get the whole report card mixed into a sample batch of his mother's soy salami.
Oh me, oh my, what a pickle for Hank and for his mother's deli The Crunch Pickle. At first Hank does not think this is such a bad thing because he believes the batch of Salami is bound for the garbage can, but then he discovers it is heading to a tasting for an owner of a grocery chain. Salami full of report card cannot taste very good. He has to do something but does not know what.

In this book Hank is diagnosed with learning challenges. He also admits it to himself and others. It is also the beginning of a plan to develop strategies to help him overcome his disability. This is another great adventure for the Zipzer, and will be for you and your children also.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets