the awardsinformation centre1998 accepted nominationsprevious winnershall of fameparticipate in the 1998 competition





































Melbourne Football Club



















Welcome to the AFR/Telstra Australian Internet Awards 1998


previous winners


line.jpg (2372 bytes)


The AFR/Telstra Australian Internet Awards 1997

Interest in the Awards increased 300% in 1997 and the winners were announced at a black tie ceremony held in the Grand Ballroom of the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Melbourne.

The AFR/Telstra Australian Internet Awards 1996

The Australian Financial Review/Telstra Australian Internet Awards was launched in 1996. The event was held at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney.

envelsm.gif (2613 bytes)  And the Winners were...

winners Australian Internet Hall of Fame

1996 Geoff Huston

winners Most Popular Australian Web Site - by public vote

1997 Melbourne Football Club

1996 Gerry Pauley's Australian Stocks and Shares

winners Advertising and/or Public Relations Site

1997 MG Garage

1996 Euro RSCG Ball Partnership

winners Arts and Entertainment Site

1997 Geekgirl

1996 Byte This

winners Commercial Site

1997 Commonwealth Bank

winners Community and/or Special Interest Site

1997 Russian Speaking Community of Melbourne

1996 Waterwatch Victoria

winners E-commerce Site

1996 Worldwide Travel Shopper

winners Educational Site

1997 Primary Education Site: Rocheldale State School (QLD)
1996 Primary Education Site: Rocheldale State School (QLD)

1997 Secondary Education Site: Marsden State High School (QLD)
1996 Secondary Education Site: Waterwatch (VIC)

1997 Tertiary Education Site: Tafe Transport of dangerous goods (NSW)
1996 Tertiary Education Site: La Trobe University (VIC)

1996 Overall Best Education Site: Rochdale State School (QLD)

winners Games Site

1997 Hotgames

1996 Interactive originals (Cyberspyder)

winners Government Site

1997 The Long Paddock

1996 Naturebase

winners Industry Sector Site

1997 Australian Wine Internet Venue

1997 Nice and Easy Plumbing

1996 Gilbert & Tobin

winners Innovative Content

1997 Woolworths

winners Special Achievement Award

1996 ISYS/Odyssey Development

winners Internet Software

1997 Jellybean Chat

1996 Sausage Software

Category.gif (1146 bytes)

winners Investment and/or Financial Site

1997 Your Mortgage Magazine

1996 Print Super (Printing Industry Super Fund)

winners Lifestyle and/or Travel Site

1997 Qantas

1996 Ansett

winners Media Site

1997 ABC Online

1996 ABC Online

winners Personal Web Page

1997 Fischer West

1996 Bassaum Aoun

winners Professional Services Site

1997 NSW Multicultural Health Communication

1996 Australasian Legal Information Institute

winners Scientific Site

1997 Nova - Science in the News

1996 Australia Telescope - National Facility

winners Search Engine/Catalogue/Online Email Service

1997 Ganggang - Australian Shareware Guide

winners Site for Children (up to 15 years)

1997 Trishans page of Oz (Trishan Ponnamperuma)

1996 Alex's Scribbles - National Faculty

winners Sports Site

1997 Australian Rugby League Site

1996 Fish Internet

winners Use of Multimedia

1997 Ox Sox: A Solution for Lost Socks

1996 Gary Venter Architect


navigation bar