George Mason University
Board of Visit
BOV Bylaws
BOV Schedule
Edwin Meese III, Rector
W. Scott McGeary, Vice Rector
Dorothy Gray, Secretary

  David Anderson
Mel Chaskin
Sidney O. Dewberry
Edwin J. Feulner, Jr.
Richard Fink
James Hazel
John Herrity
Manuel H. Johnson
Robert Scott LaRose
James C. Miller III
Leonard M. Pomata
Gary Shapiro
Sudhakar Shenoy
Brendan McMurrer, Student Rep.
Saweda Bright, Student Alternate

The Board of Visitors (BOV) of George Mason University was Virginia Sealcreated in April 1972 by an act of the General Assembly when the un iversity became an independent institution. The board is a corporate body serving under the leadership of a rector, vice rector, and secretary. The 16 members of the board are appointed by the governor of Virginia on a rotating basis to serve four-year te rms. A student representative (nonvoting member) is appointed by the Board of Visitors each year at the May meeting to serve a one-year term.

Without limiting the generality of its powers, the Board of Visitors exercises its authority principally in policy-making and oversight. With the exception of meetings convened in executive session, meetings of the Board of Visitors and its committees are open to the public. The board recognizes as official observers three senators appointed by the chair of the Faculty Senate to be its liaison representatives.

Take a look at the current bylaws, and the BOV schedule for the 2001-2002 academic year.

See: Board Agendas, Minutes and Other Matters

BOV Contact:

If you would like to contact the Board of Visitors,
you may send an email to or call
the Secretary, pro tem, of the Board at 703-993-8703.

Site Design: ElectronicPublications
Update: 6/19/02