Fuente Osmeña at 70's
Fuente Osmeña at present
The Law creating the
City of Cebu
President Manuel L. Quezon (seated) signs the law creating the City of Cebu. Standing from the left, Congressman Buenaventura Rodriguez, Pedro Gil, Tomas Alonzo, Speaker Gil, Montilla, Agustin Kintanar, Mariano Jesus Cuenco, Vicente Rama and Secretary Quirino.
        On October 20, 1934, Commonwealth Act. No. 58
creating the City of Cebu was approved. Authored by the
late Senator Vicente Rama (who also served as Cebu's
second City Mayor), Commonwealth Act No. 58 provided
for the granting of the Charter of the City of Cebu.

     On February 4, 1937, the City of Cebu was inaugurated.
The Secretary of Interior, Hon. Elpidio Quirino, represented
President Manuel L. Quezon in the inaugural ceremonies.
Quirino administered the oath of office to the newly
appointed City Mayor and Members of the Municipal Board.
Former Provincial Treasurer of Cebu, Hon. Alfredo V. Jacinto
was sworn into office as the first Mayor of Cebu. Along with
Mayor Jacinto, the following city councilors were sworn into
office by Secretary Quirino: Councilors Manuel Roa
(the first President of the Municipal Board), Regino Mercado,
Felipe Pacaña, Jose Fortich, Diego Canizares, Jose P.
Nolasco, Leandro A. Tojong and Dominador J. Abella.
        Republic Act No. 244, which was approved on June 12, 1948, provided for the position of
Vice Mayor of the City of Cebu. The Vice Mayor was appointed by the President of the Philippines
and must be confirm then by the Commission on Appointments. First to be appointed Vice Mayor,
by virtue of the provisions of R.A. No. 244, was Hon. Arsenio Villanueva who took his oath of office
on July 16, 1948.

         Second appointed Vice Mayor - Hon. Carlos J. Cuizon, on April 9, 1953.Third appointed
Vice Mayor - Hon. Florentino D. Tecson on January 28, 1954.

    One of the most significant amendment to the chater of the City of Cebu (C.A. No. 58)
came with the approval of Republic Act No. 1243 on June 7, 1955. This particular amendment
provided for the election at large, by the qualified voters of the city in conformity with the
provision of the Revised Election Code; of the City Mayor and Vice Mayor.

     The first election of the City Mayor and Vice Mayor was held during the general election of
the provincial and municipal officials on November 8, 1955. Chosen as Cebu City's first elected
City Mayor was the Hon. Sergio Osmeña Jr. with Hon. Ramon Duterte as the first duly-elected
Vice Mayor.

      Another very significant amendment to the City Charter, the most significant one in fact, is
provided for in Republic Act. No. 3857, otherwise known as the "Revised Charter of the City of
Cebu R.A. No.3857"approved on June 10, 1964.
  CebucityGov™ is the official Cebu City Government Web Site.
5th Floor Annex Building, M.C. Briones Street, Cebu City, Philippines
Tel. No.:(6332) 412-1859, Fax: (6332) 256-2528 or e-mailto: