Media Release Communiqué aux médias Medien-Mitteilung

Date: 18/02/99

Chemin de la Redoute 54 Case postale CH-1260 Nyon 2 Telephone ++41 22 994 45 59 Telefax ++41 22 994 44 90 www.uefamedia.co info@uefa.com

Union des associations européennes de football



No. 16 - 1999

Sixty clubs on starting grid for UEFA Intertoto Cup

Teams from 46 of UEFA's 51 member associations to take part in 1999 tournament

A meeting of the Committee for the UEFA Intertoto Cup, held in Geneva, offered conclusive proof of the growing popularity of the competition. A total of 60 berths have been made available on the starting grid, but demand for additional places is so high that no fewer than 13 national associations have been put on a standby list. They would be allowed to enter one additional club, should any of the original 60 starters withdraw.

At the meeting, chaired by UEFA vice-president Senes Erzik, it was agreed to allow 14 member associations to enter two clubs apiece, with teams from the top eight countries in UEFA's coefficient ranking granted the privilege of direct access to the second or third round of the competition. This means that one of the two teams from Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Portugal, England and Turkey will enter at the second-round and the other will go directly into the third round. The Netherlands, who would also have enjoyed the same privilege, have only entered one team.

National associations are required to name their representatives in the UEFA Intertoto Cup by midday on Tuesday 1 June 1999. If domestic competitions have not been concluded, only teams which have no chance of qualifying for other European club competitions can be entered.

The draw for the first three rounds will be made before the exact identities of the clubs are known. It will take place behind closed doors at UEFA's headquarters in Nyon at 12.00 on Thursday 15 April 1999. In this draw, clubs will be seeded in accordance with the UEFA coefficient ranking. However, there will be no seeded teams in the draw for the semi-final and final rounds, which will be made on Monday 12 July.

The number of participants per country and the stage at which they will enter the competition are indicated as follows:

Participants in First Round (40 clubs):

Sweden, Norway, Czech Republic (two clubs each), Greece, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Switzerland, Poland, Romania, Croatia, Cyprus, Israel, Hungary, Georgia, Slovakia, Latvia, Slovenia, Finland, Belarus, Israel, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Lithuania, Moldova, Northern Ireland, Wales, Yugoslavia, Estonia, Malta, Republic of Ireland, Armenia,Luxembourg, Faroe Islands, Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina.(one club each).

Participants in Second Round (32 clubs):

Directly qualified for Second Round: Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Portugal, England, Turkey, Greece, Austria, Russia, Belgium, Denmark (one club each). And 20 winners from First Round.

Participants in Third Round (24 clubs)

Directly qualified for Third Round: Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, England and Turkey (one club each)

And 16 winners from Second Round.