General Histories | Encyclopedias
and Handbooks | Bibliographies | Newspapers
Biographical Sources | Indexes | Atlases | Statistics
Cambridge History of Africa.
An eight volume, chronologically arranged history of the continent. Chapters are written by authorities in each field. Each volume is illustrated and accompanied by diagrams, tables, and a bibliography. Volumes are: (1) Earliest times - c.500 BC, (2) c.500 BC - AD 1050, (3) c.1050 - c.1600, (4) c.1600 - c.1790, (5) c.1790 - c.1870, (6) c.1870 - c.1905, (7) c.1905 - c.1940, and (8) c.1940 - c.1975.
Some volumes on Reserve.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / DT 20 .C28
General History of Africa.
Published by UNESCO, it is accompanied by a set of Studies and Documents. Each volume is indexed and accompanied by a bibliography. Volumes are: (1) Methodology and African prehistory, (2) Ancient civilizations of Africa, (3) Africa from the seventh to the eleventh century, (4) Africa from the twelfth to the sixteenth century, (5) Africa from the sixteenth to the eighteenth century, (6) Africa in the nineteenth century until the 1880s, (7) Africa under colonial domination 1880-1935, and (8) Africa since the Ethiopian war 1935-1975.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / DT 20 .G45 1981
Africa: A Voyage of Discovery.
1984, videorecording. Written and presented by Basil Davidson, in association with the Nigerian Television Authority. 4 videocassettes, 456 min.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / RESERVE / VIDEO / FLOOR 1 / DT 20 .A37 1984
1986, videorecording. Written and presented by Ali A. Mazrui. Originally broadcast on PBS.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / RESERVE / VIDEO / FLOOR 1 / DT 14 .A38 1986
The African Experience : An Introduction.
1994. Written by Vincent Khapoya.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / DT 20 .K47 1994
Issued by the US Government, the country studies are detailed book length publications on the nations of the world. For the nations of Africa the library has the following country studies: Algeria, Angola, Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Egypt, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Tunisia, Zaire, Zambia.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / US GOVT PUBLICATIONS / FLOOR 2 / D 101.22:550
Encyclopedia of the Third World.
Fourth edition. Offers an overview of the 122 nations defined by the author as being the Third World. Criteria for inclusion are the status of the economy and the nation's cultural orientation. An article is provided for each nation and includes a map and the crest.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / HC 59.7 .K87 1992
Europa World Year Book.
Annual service providing and describing current statistics on nations and major international organizations of the world. For each nation there is an introductory essay including a brief history followed by a statistical survey with geographic, financial, economic, and social data. Latest in Reference.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / JN 1 .E85
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / JN 1 .E85
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
Published in 1968, is "...designed to complement but not to supplement its predecessor" of 1932, both landmark works. Signed articles deal with concepts, principles, and methods rather than the historical or descriptive aspects of the ideas covered. Biographies are limited to about 600 persons.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / H 40 .A2 I5
Political Risk Yearbook.
Service intended primarily for potential investors, analyzing political climates in countries. Separate volumes (with slightly different call numbers) for: Asia and the Pacific, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, North and Central America, South America, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Western Europe.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / JC 330.2 .P82
Yearbook of the United Nations.
Annual service providing previous year's activity of the UN. Divided into two parts: the UN, and Intergovernmental Organizations Related to the UN. Arrangement is topical with an essay on each topic. References votes and related documents (full text of which is sometimes included). Includes name, subject, and resolutions indexes. Our volumes begin with 1947, the most recent being kept in Reference.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / JX 1977 .A37 Y4
Annual publication since 1984. Includes books, chapters of books, and articles on the social sciences, environmental sciences, humanities, and arts in Africa. Most recent year is kept in Reference. Subscription cancelled after 1993.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / DT 3 .Z913
African Historical Dictionaries. (Series)
Started publication in the 1970's and now includes almost fifty titles. Includes books, maps, a chronology, a list of acronyms, a brief glossary, and a bibliography. Call number varies.
World Bibliographical Series. (Series)
Series of annotated bibliographies, each devoted to a modern nation; includes references to all aspects of life and culture of the nation covered. Includes an introductory essay and a national map in each volume. Coverage is restricted to English language works. We have titles for most African countries. Call number varies.
Index to the Christian Science Monitor.
Contains newspaper indexing for the coverage of foreign affairs. 1960-1994.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / AI 21 .C55
New York Times Index.
Very detailed with many cross references and with synopses of articles. Each entry provides page, column, and date. Dates provided can serve as a guide for conducting research in other newspapers as well.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / AI 21 .N45
Official Index to the Times Newspaper.
Index to the Times of London, now published in an alphabetical format similar to that of the New York Times Index. Covers the period 1906 to date. Our microfilm holdings of the newspaper run from 1861 to date.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / AI 21 .T46
Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper.
Precedes and overlaps with the Official Index to the Times Newspaper. An alphabetical listing with no additional information. CENTRAL LIBRARY / BOOKS / AI 21 .T5
Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
Second edition. Covers more than 3,200,000 persons in over 350 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, and works of literary criticism. Entries may appear under several spellings because names are cited as given in the source used. Kept up to date with supplements.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / CT 214 .B56
Online access available on the Stand-Alone computers.
Alphabetical listing of persons, living or dead, who had articles or books written about them in the more than 1,500 books and journals written here. Covers the period 1946 to date. Also indexes obituaries from the New York Times. Works of collective biography are fully analyzed.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / CT 100 .Z925
Online access available through MavInfo.
Monthly publication (except August). Covers the period 1940 to the present. Averages three to four hundred biographies annually of persons prominently featured in the news of the year. Each article is accompanied by a portrait and references to more information. Obituary section includes earlier subjects who died during the year.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / CT 100 .C8
New York Times Obituaries Index 1858-1968.
Listing of more than 353,000 dead people whose passing was noted in the Times; with an updating volume for the years 1969-1980. A name may not appear if the death was not natural. There may be more than one entry if there was a controversy, such as a dispute over a will.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / CT 213 .N47
Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
- Web Access UTA
Only - FirstSearch /Supplemental)
Annual author and subject index. Contains three indexes: subject, source (meaning author), and citation. Access is by subject or author, the source entry gives the full bibliographical citation as well as the bibliography accompanying the article. 1976-1995.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / AI 3 .A63
Arranged by periods, broad categories, and then by countries with cross references. Divided into two parts: Part A - 1775-1914, and Part B - 1914 to date.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / D 299 .H5
Online access available on MavInfo.
Index to Black Periodicals.
"...an index to Afro-American periodicals of general and scholarly interest." Includes reviews covering drama, motion pictures, music, and records, as well as books.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / MINORITY CULTURES COLLECTION / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / AI 3 .O41
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1881.
Subject index to 479 American and British periodicals. Items with no subject are entered by first word of title. Personal names appear as subjects or when the name is an author with a book under review. Most books reviewed are entered under subject. Entries do not give inclusive paging or date but the year can be found by using the chronological conspectus. Most titles included are of a general nature.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / AI 3 .P7
Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin. - Web Access (UTA Only - FirstSearch/Supplemental)
Index including books, pamphlets, government documents, and the publications of private, semi-private, and public organizations, as well as periodical articles. Arranged by subject, and lately also has an author index. Began publication in 1915 and has a cumulative index for 1915-1974.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / H 83 .Z968
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
Index to popular and general literature providing access to approximately 125 periodicals.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / AI 3 .R48
Social Sciences Citation Index.
Beginning with the 1956-1965 cumulation, this companion to the Arts and Humanities Citation Index and the Science Citation Index provides access to journal articles and, increasingly, to books in the social sciences.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / H 50 .Z986
Online access available through MavInfo.
Social Sciences Index.
Arranged by author and subject with a listing of book reviews. Disciplines covered include political science, geography, anthropology, and history. We also have its predecessor the Social Science and Humanities Index, and its companion set, the Humanities Index.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / H 1 .S6
Atlas of the Arab World.
We have the 1991 English edition of this work, which was originally published in France. This atlas sets North Africa in its Arabic and Mediterranean context.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / MAP ROOM / FLOOR 2 / G 1785 .F3 1991
Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans.
In thirteen chapters, with maps accompanied by text and illustrations, this atlas describes African Americans. Students of Africa itself should especially consult chapters one and three. Chapter one describes human origins, the ancient history of Africa, African cultures, the colonized continent, and modern Africa. Chapter three is on African resistance to slavery. Both chapters have detailed maps. The atlas is accompanied by a bibliography and an index.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / MINORITY CULTURES COLLECTION / FLOOR 2 / E 185 .A8 1991
Historical Atlas of Africa.
Consists of maps in color accompanied by text and illustrations. Describes Africa from its remote past, through the time of human origins, to decolonization in the second half of the twentieth century.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / MAP ROOM / FLOOR 2 / G 2446 .S1 H5 1985
International Historical Statistics Africa and Asia.
Covers population, agriculture, industry. Contents describe, by nation and time period, all the available quantifiable aspects of nations of Africa and Asia. Data are not usually available for the first half of the 19th century or earlier. Most recent data are for 1975.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / HA 4675 .M55 1982
Annual compilation of statistics for nations of the world and for selected international organizations. Most current statistics are obtained either from the nation under discussion or from the UN. Each nation has a brief entry for its history, government, and social, cultural, and economic data. We have 1865, and 1894 to 1997.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / JA 51 .S7
Statistical Reference Index.
Compilation of statistics on any subject. Data are from private sector sources. There is a corresponding set for US government issued statistics. Includes two volumes: the Index and Abstracts. The Index has been cumulated for 1980-1995, and the set is kept current with monthly updates. We have many of the items indexed, and also have the corresponding collections of data on microfiche.
CENTRAL LIBRARY / REFERENCE / FLOOR 2 / HA 214 .S73
Online access available through MavInfo.
UTA Libraries Online