GRAND PRIX OF MALAYSIA

BULLETIN No4

RACE FACTS AND INCIDENTS

Cristiano da Matta is forced to start from the pitlane because of problems with his race car while Jacques Villeneuve's BAR fails to depart for the parade lap.

- * Lap 1: At the start of the race Fernando Alonso goes into the lead with a fast-starting David Coulthard trying to grab second from Jarno Trulli with Michael Schumacher right with them. Further back Giancarlo Fisichella is left on the grid after stalling while trying to take up his correct position on the grid. Heinz-Harald Frentzen is also left behind. In the second corner Michael Schumacher runs into Trulli and punted the Italian off. Behind them Antonio Pizzonia runs into the back of Juan Pablo Montoya. Jos Verstappen runs into the back of Pizzonia. The order after all this is Alonso ahead of Coulthard, Nick Heidfeld, Kimi Raikkonen, Jenson Button, a delayed Rubens Barrichello, Olivier Panis, a fast-starting Justin Wilson, Ralf Schumacher and Mark Webber. At the end of the lap Alonso is 2.4 seconds ahead. Montoya, Pizzonia and Verstappen all pit. All three cars are repaired but all fall out of contention.
- * Lap 2: Alonso sets the fastest of the race and increases his lead over Coulthard and Heidfeld. Further back Michael Schumacher passes Ralf Firman to take 11th place.
- * Lap 3: Coulthard drops out with an electrical problem, leaving Alonso being chased by Raikkonen, who has overtaken Heidfeld in the course of the lap The gap between first and second is 5.9 seconds. Michael Schumacher pits and gets a new front wing and fuel. He rejoins in 14th place.
- * Lap 4: The gap at the front stabilises. Ralf Schumacher and Webber pass Wilson to move up to seventh and eighth.
- * Lap 5: Barrichello and Panis overtake Button to move up to fourth and fifth places. Further back the recovering Trulli overtakes Wilson to move to ninth.
- * Lap 8: After a period of stability Raikkonen begins to close on Alonso, setting the fastest lap of the race.
- * Lap 9: Barrichello attacks Heidfeld for third place while further back Trulli overtakes Webber for eighth position. Michael Schumacher comes into the pits for a drive through penalty for causing an avoidable accident.
- * **Lap 10:** Raikkonen sets another fastest lap closes the gap to Alonso to 4.2 seconds. Barrichello passes Heidfeld for third place.
- * Lap 11: Verstappen is the first man to stop.
- * Lap 12: Fifth-placed Panis comes into the pits. He rejoins but the car stops almost immediately.
- * Lap 13: Fourth-placed Heidfeld comes into the pits and has a slow stop and so drops to 11th. Justin Wilson also pits and drops from ninth to 13th.
- * Lap 14: Alonso comes into the pits and Raikkonen moves into the lead, with an advantage of 14 seconds over Barrichello, who is a similar distance ahead of Button. Alonso rejoins in fourth place.
- * Lap 15: Seventh-placed Webber pits. There is a problem and Webber is 13th before be is able to rejoin.

- * Lap 16: Trulli comes into the pits and so falls from sixth place to ninth.
- * Lap 17: The next man to stop is Jenson Button, who drops from third place to fifth. Also pitting are da Matta, who is running seventh, and tenth placed Frentzen. Heinz-Harald has a slow stop. Further back Webber begins to recover and passes Wilson for 12th place. The top six is now Raikkonen, Barrichello, Alonso, Ralf Schumacher, Button and Firman.
- * Lap 19: Raikkonen pits for the first time. Barrichello moves into the lead. Further back Pizzonia pits.
- * Lap 21: Trulli tries to pass Firman for seventh he gets ahead but Firman retakes the position when Trulli goes wide.
- * Lap 22: Barrichello, Ralf Schumacher and Firman all pit. The Jordan driver loses time when the car stalls. He falls back to 12th. Raikkonen is back in the lead with a nine second advantage over Alonso, who is being chased by Barrichello, lapping quickly on new tyres. Ralf Schumacher is fourth with Button fifth and Trulli sixth.
- * Lap 26: Michael Schumacher, who is running in eighth place, comes into the pits and drops back to 10th place.
- * Lap 33: The second pit stops begin with Cristiano da Matta coming into the pits. He falls from eighth to 11th.
- * Lap 34: Button and Heidfeld both pit. Jenson falls behind Trulli while Heidfeld drops to ninth place.
- * Lap 35: Alonso pits fro a second time and Raikkonen's lead over Barrichello moves to 20 seconds. Seventh-placed Webber also stops but this is to retire with a mechanical problem. Frentzen stops for his second pit stop. Wilson also stops and rejoins without losing 13th place.
- * Lap 36: Trulli stops again but his stop goes wrong and he loses more time. This drops him behind Button.
- * Lap 38: Barrichello stops but is able to hold on to his second place.
- * Lap 40: Raikkonen comes into the pits and rejoins still over 20 seconds in the lead. Ralf Schumacher also pits but retains fourth place.
- * Lap 41: Michael Schumacher overtakes Trulli and Button to move up to fifth place. Further back Wilson retires with a mechanical problem.
- * Lap 43: Michael Schumacher pits and falls back behind Button and Trulli once again. Pizzonia spins into retirement while running in 12th place.
- * Lap 48: Da Matta comes in for a third pit stop, a move which drops him behind the battling Firman and Frentzen. He is guickly back on their tail.
- * Lap 50: Trulli is pressuring Button, trying to get fifth place, but he spins. He comes under pressure from Michael Schumacher.
- * Lap 56: Kimi Raikkonen wins his first race well clear of Rubens Barrichello while Fernando becomes the first Spaniard to be on the podium since Fon de Portago was second at the British GP in 1956. Ralf Schumacher is fourth, the last man unlapped. On the last lap Trulli and M Schumacher are both able to pass Button to finish fifth and sixth, while Frentzen is able to scramble ahead of Firman to grab ninth place.