COSTUME DESIGNERS GUILD ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF ITS SIXTH ANNUAL COSTUME DESIGNERS GUILD AWARDS

BEVERLY HILLS, Feb. 22—The Costume Designers Guild (CDG) announced winners in five categories of theatrical films, television and commercials of its 2004 Excellence in Costume Design Awards. The Sixth Annual CDG Awards were presented yesterday at a black-tie banquet from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Anjelica Huston was mistress of ceremonies of the Awards for the fifth time. Presiding over the event was CDG President Dr. Deborah Nadoolman Landis. CDG officer Mary Rose supervised the Guild's awards competition.

Honorary awards were presented to Holly Hunter (Invicta Distinguished Actor Award) and to Costume Designers James Acheson (Bulgari Career Achievement Award for Film) and to Noel Taylor (Career Achievement Award for Television). Also honored with the Lacoste President's Award were Tzetzi Ganev and Tomas Velasco. In addition, the following were inducted into the Guild's Hall of Fame: Robert Kalloch, Bernard Newman, Howard Greer and Richard Hornung.

Winners for 2004 Excellence in Costume Design Awards are:

Excellence in Film, Contemporary
A Mighty Wind -- DURINDA WOOD

Excellence in Film, Period/Fantasy

Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King -- NGILA DICKSON

Excellence in Television , Contemporary Sex And The City -- PATRICIA FIELD

Excellence in Television, Period/Fantasy
Carnivale -- RUTH MYERS (Pilot) and TERRY DRESBACH (Series)

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design Bacardi & Cola -- NANCY STEINER

Automotive sponsor Cadillac helped presenters arrive in style – in sleek black and silver Cadillac Escalades. Presenters of this year's awards were Julie Andrews, Annette Bening, Jeff Bridges, Jamie Lee Curtis, Geena Davis, Chi McBride, Rachel Griffiths, Kelly Lynch, Catherine Hardwicke, Charles Nelson Reilly, Brittany Snow,

Steve Valentine, and Tom Verica. Celebrities and dignitaries attending as guests included: Alex Kingston, Bai Ling, Jonathan Lipnicki, Benito Martinez, Rona Mitra, Parminder Nagra, Jacqueline Obradors, Sam Raimi, Elisabeth Rohm, Rhea Seahorn, and Thomas A. Short (President-IATSE)

Each winner of a CDG award received a work-of-art silver statuette, from the famed Italian jewelers Bulgari. The award, one of the most sought-after statuettes in the world of awards, was designed by CDG member David LeVey who describes it as "an amorphous swirl of fabric resolving into a draped human figure of idealized female beauty." The statuettes reflect a mixture of neo-classicism and 1940's Hollywood glamour.

CDG's Executive Director is James J. Casey Jr.. Sponsors of this year's CDG Awards included Bulgari, Anne Cole Collection, Invicta Watch Group, Lacoste, Daily Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Premiere, and Los Angeles Confidential Magazine. This year's awards were produced by **j**LINE Productions (www.jlineproductions.com) and Executive Producer JL Pomeroy.

###

For photos from the 6th Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, please contact: Getty Images

Roxanne Motamedi

310-998-2739 or e-mail: roxanne.motamedi@gettyimages.com

website: www.gettyimages.com/entertainment