[forum] Invitation for public discussion about the future of X

XFree86 BOD forum@XFree86.Org
Thu, 20 Mar 2003 00:10:31 -0500

This is an invitation for anyone and everyone with an interest in X,
XFree86, and related technologies and their future to participate in a
public and open discussion.  Any topics are open to discussion, from
those related to administrative and management issues through to technical

A new mailing list has been created to provide an open forum for this
discussion.  To subscribe, go to
<http://www.xfree86.org/mailman/listinfo/forum/>.  The list is unmoderated,
and you don't need to subscribe to the list in order to post to it.  An
archive of the list is available at
<http://www.xfree86.org/pipermail/forum/>.  This announcement has
been blind-copied to all of the XFree86 public lists, but please
send followups to the new forum@xfree86.org list.

It has been brought to the attention of the XFree86 Core Team that one
of its members, Keith Packard, has been actively (but privately) seeking
out support for a fork of XFree86 that would be led by himself.  He is
also in the process of forming a by-invitation-only group of vested
interests to discuss privately concerns he has about XFree86 and the
future of X.  He has consistently refused to even disclose these concerns
within the context of the XFree86 Core Team, which makes his membership
of that team unviable.  As a consequence, Keith Packard is no longer a
member of the XFree86 Core Team.

The leaders of the XFree86 project feel that discussing the future of
XFree86 and related technologies within a closed group of vested interests
is contrary to the spirit of openness and community involvement that
many of those vested interests claim to espouse.  Instead, the involvement
of everyone in a truly open discussion is welcomed by The XFree86
Project, and we invite everyone to express their thoughts, opinions and
concerns freely in this open forum.  We look forward to hearing and
responding to them.

The XFree86 Project BOD

David Dawes
Robin Cutshaw
Marc Evans
Rich Murphey
Jon Tombs
David Wexelblat