Subscribe to our weekly updates by email
Receive our weekly updates by email


For information on booking Austin Poets for your event, please contact Mike Henry via e-mail.

APS community needs your help. Find out how.

is held every Wednesday night at Ego's
510 S. Congress, 474-7091
Sign-up at 7:30 pm, slam at 8 pm.
Hosted by Mike Henry
Read about the Austin Slam or Get map & directions


Read the weekly Slammaster Update
Feb 21 - Mon - Sidekicks slam Hosted by Christopher Lee, $100 in prizes..  Sidekicks - 110 E. Riverside Dr.. 8:00pm.
Feb 23 - Wed - New Sh*t Slam Only poems that have *never* been performed allowed. This is consistently one of our biggest weekday shows of the year, so sign up early. Remember: only stuff you have never performed. So if you bring up your chapbook and say it's new, forget about it.  Ego's - 301 S. Congress. 8:00pm.
Check out the newest member of the Austin slam scene, The Slam Attic, UT Austin's very own slam club. Special thanks to Slam Channel, where you can download many awesome videos of slam performances, for their continued support.

     How does the Austin Poetry Slam work?

  1. Anyone can perform -- sign-up starts at 7:30 p.m. First come, first served. Twelve poets maximum.
  2. Poets step up to the mic and perform one poem of their own construction, any style or subject. No props, costumes, musical accompaniment, or animal acts are allowed. Three minute time limit.

  3. A group of five judges selected from the audience scores each poem on a scale of 0.0 - 10.0, considering both content and performance. High and low scores are dropped, middle three added together (so a perfect score would be 30.0).
  4. High scores advance to 2nd and 3rd round, everybody has a lot of fun, and at the end three poets win cash prizes. The Points are NOT the Point, the Point is Poetry.

For more information contact

Austin Poetry Slam is supported in part by a grant from the Writers' League of Texas, the Texas Commission on the Arts, and the City of Austin under the auspices of the Austin Arts Commission.

© 2004