>Read more Museum News
>Read more by SFM

It's Official! Inductees Named for 2005 Hall of Fame Class
by SFM | Museum News | Read more Museum News >>>

The Stars Align at the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame: Steven Spielberg, Philip K. Dick, Chesley Bonestell and Ray Harryhausen Represent SFM�s First Hall of Fame Class

SFM�s four new inductees will earn a place in history alongside such Hall of Fame science fiction icons as Mary Shelley, Ursula K. Le Guin and Isaac Asimov

The Hall of Fame Class of 2005
Steven Spielberg, Philip K. Dick, Chesley Bonestell, Ray Harryhausen

SEATTLE (March 24, 2005) - The Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame (SFM) has named legends Steven Spielberg, Philip K. Dick, Chesley Bonestell and Ray Harryhausen as inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. The class of 2005 will be honored during the first-ever induction ceremony at the Hall of Fame's new home at the Science Fiction Museum on Friday, May 6, 2005.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame honors the lives, work and ongoing legacies of science fiction's greatest creators. Founded in 1996, the Hall of Fame was relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at Kansas University to its permanent home at SFM in 2004. The Science Fiction Museum & Hall of Fame Induction is sponsored by Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP and Foster, Pepper & Shefelman PLLC.

The Hall of Fame �Academy,� consisting of SFM members, submitted nominations in February. Then, an induction committee comprised of award-winning SF authors, artists, editors, publishers and masters of special effects, chose the final Class of 2005 inductees. While only literary creators were honored previously, beginning this year, nominees were accepted for a broadened range of creative endeavors.

"We are excited to induct this extraordinary line-up of individuals whose contributions have truly shaped the field of science fiction," said Robert Santelli, EMP/SFM Artistic Director and chair of the Hall of Fame executive committee. "And, we are thankful for the enthusiasm and support from our esteemed induction committee and valued members."

SFM�s Class of 2005 will honor the following luminaries who have shaped this genre in the following designated categories:

Film, Television and Media:
Steven Spielberg is one of the most artistically celebrated directors of all time. He has won three Oscars, three Emmy Awards, two Golden Globes and Lifetime Achievement Awards from the American Film Institute and Directors Guild. His best-known science fiction films include E.T. the Extra Terrestrial, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, and Jurassic Park.

Philip K. Dick is considered one of the most important figures in 20th-century American science fiction. Often credited as the forefather of cyberpunk, Dick's novels and stories have inspired some of Hollywood's best science fiction films, including Blade Runner, Total Recall and Minority Report. Philip K. Dick passed away in 1982 at age 54.

Chesley Bonestell is the most influential creator of photo-realistic astronomical art. During the 1950's, his work often appeared in magazines including Life and Collier's Magazine, inspiring the careers of countless astronomers, scientists and artists. His special-effects matte paintings for films such as Destination Moon and War of the Worlds inspired the creation of the Chesley Award, which honors achievement in science fiction and fantasy art. Bonestell passed away in 1986 at the age of 98.

Ray Harryhausen is one of the greatest stop-motion animators in film history, whose creations were born of metal armatures and synthetic flesh. His work has amazed audiences for five decades, from his early work in The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms to his later classics Jason and the Argonauts and Clash of the Titans. In 1992 Harryhausen was presented with an honorary Academy Award for his lifetime achievement.

Each year, the Hall of Fame inducts up to four individuals on the basis of their continued excellence and long-time contributions to science fiction. Currently the Hall of Fame honors 36 inductees, including such well-known figures as Ursula K. Le Guin, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Sir Arthur C. Clarke, Samuel R. Delany, Jules Verne, and H.G. Wells.

As part of the induction, a new display featuring personal artifacts and video footage from each inductee will be added to the existing Hall of Fame exhibit. The new inductees will also be featured in laser-etched images on the translucent, glowing Hall of Fame display.

�I�m delighted to receive this award,� said Harryhausen upon hearing of his induction, �I�m happy that my work has inspired a number of professionals as well as fans and am grateful for this honor. Thank you!�

Tickets for the induction ceremony are $85 and are available for purchase on March 29 for members and April 1 for the general public. The evening includes a seated ceremony, dinner and after-party. For information, please see our calendar.