The FinkThe tradition known as WrestleMania was born on March 31, 1985, at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The first match in WrestleMania history was Tito Santana against the Executioner. Santana would compete in the first nine WrestleMania events.

The first title change in WrestleMania history saw the Iron Sheik and Nikolai Volkoff defeat Barry Windham and Mike Rotundo for the World Tag Team Championship. Also at the first WrestleMania, Wendy Richter defeated Leilani Kai for the Women’s Championship.

The main event at the first WrestleMania saw Hollywood Hogan and Mr. T team up against Roddy Piper and Paul Orndorff.

King Kong Bundy defeated S.D. Jones in just nine seconds at WrestleMania. That record would stand for almost 10 years, until Diesel defeated Bob Backlund to win the WWE Championship in just six seconds (not at WrestleMania). Coincidentally, both of those matches took place at Madison Square Garden.

Ring announcer Howard Finkel began his WrestleMania iron-man streak at the first WrestleMania. Finkel is the only performer to appear at every WrestleMania.

At the first WrestleMania, Andre the Giant and Big John Studd competed in a $15,000 body slam match. After Andre slammed Studd, he won the $15,000 – which he attempted to throw out to the MSG crowd before Studd’s manager, Bobby Heenan, snuck up behind him and stole the money back.

Rock and roll megastar Cyndi Lauper seconded Wendi Richter to the ring for her Women’s Championship match against Leilani Kai.

Leilani Kai was the Women’s Champion at the very first WrestleMania at Madison Square Garden. Leilani would return to MSG nine years later for WrestleMania X, when she challenged Alundra Blayze for that very same title.

The first WrestleMania was the first of four WrestleManias in New York. The following year, WrestleMania 2 was held at the Nassau Coliseum on Long Island. In 1994, WrestleMania X again emanated from Madison Square Garden. MSG also hosted WrestleMania XX in 2004.