The Canadian Horse Racing HALL OF FAME

Our History

In the winter of 1973 a group of "racetrackers" attending the annual meeting of the National Association of Canadian Race Tracks in Edmonton came to the conclusion that the industry had been negligent in its failure to properly honour its pioneers and horses, as well as the contemporary heroes of Canadian racing.

These individuals - writers, broadcasters, publicists and officials from both the thoroughbred and standardbred industry — proclaimed that it was time to pay homage to the people who had built and established the roots of horse racing in Canada. Recognition of their achievements, accomplishments and dedication to the sport during the past century was overdue. It didn't happen overnight. Three years later, in 1976, Canada's Horse Racing Hall of Fame was founded when 44 individuals — horses, builders, jockeys, drivers, trainers, standardbreds and thoroughbreds — were enshrined.

For 20 years this was a Hall of Fame without a "home." Each year new inductees were added to an honour list that would grow to more than 200 members.

However, on August 22, 1997, the dream of those "racetrackers" of the early 1970's — Bruce Walker, John Ferguson, Elman Guttormson, Pat McMahon, Buckets Fleming, Gary Alles, Albert Trottier, Raymond Benoit, Archie McDonald and Louis Cauz — finally became a reality when the Canadian Racing Hall of Fame gained a permanent site at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto.

The site is provided without cost by The Ontario Jockey Club and is located at the westend entrance.

Tom Gorman, president in 1997, in his address at the opening ceremony, noted, "that it was a tremendously important day for Canadian horse racing. The thought and effort put into creating this permanent site reflects the similar dedication, hard work, ethics and success achieved by today's honoured inductees as they join an unparalleled list of people and horses who have set the standards of excellence."

In 2000, the Hall of Fame unveiled a 44-foot mural depicting a pictorial history of horse racing from the Maritimes to British Columbia.

A new category - Legends - was introduced honouring horses, jockeys, trainers and builders whose achievements occurred prior to 1950.

Archives & Memorabilia

The Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame is most interested in obtaining pictures, paintings and other Canadian racing memorabilia. The displays change often and materials can either be donated or loaned to the Hall. Such contributors will be acknowledged in our publications and will add significantly to the archives and history of racing while providing interesting exhibits for visitors. So search those libraries, attics, basements, closets and albums and share your pleasures with other racing enthusiasts. Among the artifacts we currently possess are such items as:

- Admission ticket and mutuel betting sheet from the 1920 Man o' War-Sir Barton Match Race at Kenilworth Park in Windsor.
- First Triple Crown Trophy awarded Sir Barton in 1919 to Montreal owner Commander J.K.L. Ross.
- Race programs dating back to 1880's.
- Bust of E.P. Taylor.
- Trophies won by Armbro Flight, Armstrong Bros.
- Silks and boots worn by Ron Turcotte and Sandy Hawley.
- Silks and tropies won by Col. R.S. (Sam) McLaughlin's Parkwood Stable.
- King's and Queen's Plate trophies.
- Trophies and awards won by Ron Waples
- Bronzed Shoes worn by 2000 Hambletonian winner Yankee Paco, helmet worn by driver Trevor Ritchie during the historic moment and trainer Doug McIntosh's jacket.
- Shoes worn by 1863 Queen's Plate winner Touchstone and trophy won by jockey William Small

The Canadian Horse Racing HALL OF FAME



2000 Inductees

Thoroughbreds: Kennedy Road

Trainers: John Passero

<u>Builders:</u> George Gardiner Michael MacCormac

Standardbreds: Apaches Fame Balanced Image Countess Adios

For further details about the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame, contact: Louis Cauz, Managing Director (416) 239-6009/675-3993 x2399

Hall of Fame Honour Roll (Thoroughbreds)

THOROUGHBREDS

1976 **Bunty Lawless** Duchess Of York George Royal Horometer Inferno Joey Kingarvie La Prevoyante Nijinsky II Northern Dancer Shepperton Sir Barton Victoria Park 1977 **Bull Page** Chop Chop Gallant Kitty Nearctic Youville 1978 Canadiana 1979 The Minstrel 1980 Flaming Page 1981 Fanfreluche 1982 Major Presto New Providence 1983 Arise Ciboulette 1984 Langcrest 1986 Frost King Sunny's Halo 1987 Northernette 1988 **Deputy Minister** 1989 E Day Vice Regent 1990 Belle Geste 1992 Afleet 1993 Overskate With Approval 1995 Dance Smartly Glorious Song 1996 Terror Yellow Rose 1997 No Class 1998 Sky Classic 1999 Izvestia 2000 Kennedy Road

JOCKEYS

1976 Johnny Longden Smokey Saunders George Woolf 1977 Avelino Gomez Chris Rogers 1979 Pat Remillard 1980 Ron Turcotte Hedley Woodhouse 1982 John (Red) Pollard 1983 Hugo Dittfach 1984 Jim Fitzsimmons 1986 Sandy Hawley 1988 Don MacBeth 1990 Charles (Chick) Lang 1991 Herb Lindberg 1993 Jeff Fell Dave Gall 1997 **Robin Platts** 1998 R.B. (Bobby) Watson 1999 Don Seymour

TRAINERS

1978 Lucien Laurin 1979 Joseph (Yonnie) Starr 1980 Gordon J. (Pete) McCann 1981 Jim Bentley F.H. Merrill Jr. 1982 Ted Mann 1984 **Duke Campbell** Art Warner 1985 Harry Giddings 1987 A.I. (Butch) Taylor 1995 Lou Cavalaris Jr. 1996 James White 1997 Gil Rowntree 1998 G.M. (Gord) Huntley 1999 Roger Attfield Jerry Meyer 2000 John Passero

4

1976 J. Elgin Armstrong William Hendrie Jean-Louis Levesque Col. Dan MacKinnon Maurice Michaud T.C. Patteson J. K. L. Ross Earl Rowe Joseph E. Seagram Jim Speers Austin C. Taylor E.P. Taylor 1977 Max Bell Lou Davies Jack Diamond T.P. Gorman G.C. Hendrie **Bill Herbert** S.J. Langill R.S. McLaughlin Adrien Miron Samuel Perlman George (Judge) Schilling Conn Smythe Gerard Veilleux Ben White 1978 George Callbeck Bert Cameron Georges Giguere Sam Randall 1979 J.W. Brown Capt. Stanley Harrison 1980 A.M. (Abe) Orpen 1981 H. Allan Dickenson Dr. Brad H. Gunn Nat Rav Katherine Langdon Wilks 1982 Herbert E. Hatch Jack Stafford Lee Williams 1983 Scotty Kennedy Raymond Lemay Jim Wright 1984 E.D. Adams Jim Coleman

BUILDERS

Cameron J.D. Fraser John J. Mooney 1985 **Bill Beasley Raymond Benoit** John T. Cruickshank William J. Connelly Leslie Ehrlick Joe Thomas 1986 Lucien Bombardier Gabe Trahan 1987 Lew James Jack Short 1988 G. Sydney Halter 1989 Larry Regan Walter Sprague 1990 Jack Graham Jack H. Kenney 1991 S.T. Bigelow C.F.W. Burns Lloyd Chisholm Milt Dunnell Claire Smith Max Webster D.G. Willmot 1992 Donald (Buckets) Fleming 1993 **Charles Baker** Ed Bradley Merv Peters 1995 Dr. J. Glen Brown 1996 Charles Taylor John White 1997 Michael Burns 1998 John Grant E.L. (Ernie) Samuel 1999 Dr. Roly Armitage George Frostad Eric Whebby 2000 George Gardiner Michael MacCormac