Home Visiting Whats On News
Research Education Corporate

The Museum announced today (15/10/05 ), the names of those lucky players and managers who are to be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2005. The selection panels decision is sure to cause great debate amongst football fans the length and breadth of the country.

This year will see a further 8 players and 2 managers Inducted into the Hall of Fame at a ‘Gala Awards Ceremony', which is being held on Thursday 20th November, at the Lowry Hotel in Manchester and is supported by the Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA).

The selection panel, including the likes of Sir Alex Ferguson, Sir Tom Finney, Sir Bobby Robson, Nat Lofthouse, Viv Anderson and Mark Lawrenson have once again chosen some outstanding individuals for Induction.

Mark Bushell from the National Football Museum said: “This is the Hall of Fame's fourth year and it is now firmly established as THE football awards ceremony. We're delighted that this year Bert Trautmann, Jack Charlton, Colin Bell, Ian Wright, Ryan Giggs, Howard Kendall and Debbie Bampton will be able to join us for the awards as will an array of past Inductees including Sir Alex Ferguson, Dave Mackay and Sir Bobby Charlton.”

Steven Broomhead, Chief Executive of the Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA) who are the headline sponsor of the Hall of Fame event, said: “The NWDA is pleased to support the prestigious Hall of Fame awards, which celebrate England's rich sporting heritage. England's Northwest is the birthplace of professional football making it the perfect location for the National Football Museum and it's Hall of Fame. I am particularly excited about this year's inductees, all of whom have made an outstanding contribution to English Football.”

As a lasting souvenir of the Hall of Fame, the Museum has produced a beautifully illustrated book, entitled Footballs Greatest Heroes: The National Football Museum Hall of Fame , published by Robson Books.

Ray Stubbs and the team on BBC televisions Final Score programme exclusively announced the 2005 inductees live on air on Saturday (15/10/05)

2005 Inductee Biographies
*Coming soon*

Howard Kendall

Walter Winterbottom

Colin Bell

Ian Wright

Ryan Giggs

John Barnes

Jack Charlton

Bert Trautmann

Alex James