## Lieutenant Governor

Office: Room 2315, State Capitol, P.O. Box 94863, Lincoln, NE 68509-4863, phone (402) 471-2256, e-mail address — rsheehy@notes.state.ne.us, Web site — http://www.nebraska.gov/home/LtGov

Lieutenant Governor: Richard J. Sheehy

Statutory Reference: Nebraska Constitution, Article IV, Section 1

**Salary:** \$60,000

The Nebraska Constitution of 1875 made the first provision for a lieutenant governor. By law, the lieutenant governor:

- presides over the Legislature
- acts as governor when the governor is out of the state or incapacitated
- becomes governor in case of a vacancy or when the governor is permanently incapacitated
  - performs duties assigned by the governor

Nebraska's lieutenant governor also serves as director of homeland security for the state, chairman of the Nebraska Information Technology Commission and chairman of the Governor's Homeland Security Policy Group. He also serves on the national Homeland Security Advisory Council.

Before 1971, the office of lieutenant governor was part-time except during the biennial legislative session. When the Legislature began meeting annually, the office became full-time.

In 1962, voters approved a constitutional amendment providing that the lieutenant governor would be elected to a four-year term beginning in 1966. Before then, lieutenant governors were elected to two-year terms. From 1974 until 2002, the governor and lieutenant governor, by constitutional amendment, secured nominations at the primary election in their respective parties, then ran in the general election on one ticket from the same political party. Beginning in 2002, gubernatorial candidates choose their nominee for lieutenant governor after winning their respective parties' primary elections.

Nebraska's constitution of 1875 provided that the lieutenant governor receive twice the compensation of a state senator. The lieutenant governor's salary advanced from \$6 per day during the session of the 1875 Legislature to \$7,500 per year in 1969. The lieutenant governor's salary was increased to \$25,000 per year in 1975, to \$32,000 in 1979, to \$40,000 in 1987, to \$47,000 in 1991 and to \$60,000 in 2003.

## Nebraska Lieutenant Governor, 2005

## RICHARD J. SHEEHY

Home Address: 1115 Oswego Ave., Hastings, NE 68901

Office Address: Room 2315, State Capitol, P.O. Box 94863, Lincoln, NE 68509-4863, phone (402) 471-2256

Appointed Governor: Jan. 24, 2005

Political Party: Republican

Biography: Born Oct. 3, 1959, in Hastings. Graduate of St. Cecilia High School; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; and Central Community College (paramedic certificates). Married Connie Sheehy on Sept. 3, 1983; two children: Maggie and Joel. Former: Market general manager, Rural/Metro Ambulance, 1987-present; emergency medical technician-paramedic, 1984-present; paramedic field supervisor, 1984-87; emergency medical technician-ambulance, 1982-84. Member: Nebraska Rural Health Association; Nebraska State Trauma Advisory Board; Mary Lanning Hospital Foundation Board; board of directors, Crane Meadows; executive committee, Cottonwood Festival; Hastings Noon Rotary. Former member: mayor, City of Hastings; Hastings City Council; chairman, Hastings Chamber of Commerce; president, Hastings Sertoma Club; board member, Hastings YMCA; local housing authority board; National League of Cities; FEMA Disaster Response Team.

## Nebraska Lieutenant Governors, 1877-2005

Othman A. Abbott (R) <sup>1</sup>	Walter H. Jurgensen (D)
H. H. Shedd (R) 1885-1889	Roy W. Johnson (R) 1943-1947
George D. Meiklejohn (R)	Robert B. Crosby (R)
Robert E. Moore (R)	Dwight W. Burney (R)
E. A. Gilbert (F)	John E. Everroad (R) 1967-1971 Frank Marsh (R) 1971-1975
Edmund G. McGilton (R)	Gerald T. Whelan (D)
Samuel R. McKelvie (R) 1913-1915	Donald F. McGinley (D) 1983-1987
James Pearson (D)	William E. Nichol (R)
Pelham A. Barrows (R)	Kim M. Robak (D)
George A. Williams (R)	David Heineman (R)

Political affiliation: R=Republican; D=Democrat; F=Fusion (composed of Populists and Democrats).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Died May 2, 1911.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Elected to fill unexpired term. In office Nov. 8, 1938, to Jan. 5, 1939.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>Died Sept. 24, 1955.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Resigned.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Appointed to finish term of Maxine Moul, who resigned. Elected in 1994.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Resigned to become a regional director for the Federal Emergency Management Agency.<sup>7</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> Appointed to finish term of David I. Maurstad, who resigned.

<sup>9</sup> Resigned.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> Appointed Jan. 24, 2004, to finish term of David Heineman, who resigned.