# **Faculty Honors**

2004-2005

**ANTHROPOLOGY** 

James Enloe Collegiate Teaching Award

**ART & ART HISTORY** 

Robert Bork Faculty Scholar

Robert Bork American Council of Learned Societies, Frederick Burkhardt Fellowship for

Recently Tenured Scholars

Robert Bork American Philosophical Society, Sabbatical Fellowship

Julie Hochstrasser American Council of Learned Societies, Frederick Burkhardt Fellowship for

Recently Tenured Scholars

Julie Hochstrasser Faculty Scholar

Dorothy Johnson Camargo Foundation, Resident Fellowship

Christopher Roy Elizabeth M. Stanley Faculty Fellow of African Art History

John Beldon Scott Elizabeth M. Stanley Professor of the Arts

**BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES** 

Erin E Irish American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow

**CHEMISTRY** 

Leonard MacGillivray American Crystallographic Association, Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award

Leonard MacGillivray Dean's Scholar

CINEMA & COMPARATIVE LITERATURE

Rick Altman Udine International Film Studies Conference, Limina Award

**COMMUNICATION STUDIES** 

Steven W Duck National Communication Association, Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

Kristine L Fitch Western States Communication Association, B. Aubrey Fisher Article Award

**COMPUTER SCIENCE** 

Kasturi Varadarajan Dean's Scholar

**CREATIVE WRITING** 

Cole Swensen PEN Center USA Literary Award for Translation

**ENGLISH** 

Ed Folsom President & Provost Award for Teaching Excellence

Cheryl T Herr National Endowment for the Humanities, Research Fellowship

Christopher Merrill Kostas Kyriazis Foundation, Kostas Kyriazis Award

Laura Rigal Collegiate Teaching Award

Claire Sponsler National Endowment for the Humanities, Research Fellowship

Douglas Trevor Dean's Scholar

Douglas Trevor University of Iowa Press, Iowa Short Fiction Award

**GEOSCIENCE** 

Jonathan Adrain Geological Association of Canada, Paleontology Division, Pikaia Award

Christoper Brochu Collegiate Teaching Award

Mark K Reagan Faculty Scholar

**HISTORY** 

Kenneth J Cmiel 2005 Presidential Lecture

Michael Hogan F. Wendell Miller Professor

Sarah Hanley American Society for Legal History, Edwin Surrency Prize

Paula A Michaels Faculty Scholar

H. Glenn Penny Southern Historical Association, European Section, Charles Smith Award

**MATHEMATICS** 

Frauke Bleher Faculty Scholar

Raul E Curto Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

William A Kirk Maria Curie-Skłodowska University, Doctor Honoris Causa

Yi Li Hunan Normal University, Xiao-Xiang Professor of Mathematics

David C Manderscheid M. L. Huit Faculty Award

Yangbo Ye Shandong University, Li-Ching Professorship

**MUSIC** 

Christine Getz Dean's Scholar

David Gompper American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, ASCAPLU\$ Award

### **PHILOSOPHY**

Thomas Williams Center for the Philosophy of Religion, University of Notre Dame, Plantinga

Fellowship

Thomas Williams Collegiate Teaching Award

### PHYSICS & ASTRONOMY

William Daughton National Science Foundation, Faculty Early Career Development Award

Donald A Gurnett American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Fellow

Philip Kaaret Faculty Scholar

Robert L Mutel Phillip G. Hubbard Award for Outstanding Education

### POLITICAL SCIENCE

Vicki Hesli Global Scholar

Douglas Madsen Collegiate Teaching Award

Peverill Squire Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

#### **PSYCHOLOGY**

Shaun Vecera Collegiate Teaching Award

Edward A Wasserman Society of Experimental Psychologists, Member

David B Watson F. Wendell Miller Professor

## **SOCIAL WORK**

Mercedes Bern-Klug John A. Hartford Foundation, Hartford Faculty Scholar

Susan Schechter Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service

## SPEECH PATHOLOGY & AUDIOLOGY

Richard R Hurtig Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service

Ingo R Titze German Association of Otolaryngologists, Wullstein Lecture