

PETER COURTNEY PRESIDENT OREGON SENATE

KAREN MINNIS SPEAKER OREGON HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, July 19, 2005 CONTACT:_

Sen. President's Office: Tanya Gross (503) 986-1605 Speaker's Office: Charles Deister (503) 986-1200

HOUSE VOTES TO CREATE PUBLIC COMMISSION ON THE LEGISLATURE

Citizen commission will examine Legislature; make recommendations to improve it

SALEM – The House today approved legislation creating a Public Commission on the Oregon Legislature to review the Legislature's operations and make recommendations for improvements to the 74th Legislative Assembly when it convenes in 2007. Senate Bill 1084 creates a 30-member commission to review all aspects of Oregon's legislative branch of government including the timing, frequency, and length of sessions, legislative procedures, and the adequacy of legislative facilities and staffing.

"It's been more than 30 years since the last Commission on the Legislature met and made recommendations that fundamentally improved Oregon's representative government," said House Speaker Karen Minnis (R-Wood Village) who co-sponsored the measure with Senate President Peter Courtney. "It's my hope this commission will help make the Legislature more responsive to the needs of Oregonians."

"The legislative branch was designed to be the most accessible and responsive branch of government, but it has been damaged over the years. This new commission will recommend ways to strengthen the legislative branch so it can more effectively meet the needs of the people," said Senate President Peter Courtney (D-Salem/Gervais/Woodburn).

The Commission plans to hold a number of public meetings across the state during the 2005-06 interim to review, evaluate, and begin developing recommendations for improving the operations of Oregon's legislative branch of government. The Commission will receive staff support from the Legislative Administration Committee and has been appropriated \$70,000 for staff and expenses.

State Rep. Jeff Kropf (R-Sublimity), who carried the bill on the House floor today said, "This is a great opportunity to improve the branch of government closest and most accessible to Oregonians. Previous commissions have helped make Oregon's Legislature better and I expect no less from this effort."

The members of the Commission will be:

Dave Barrows, lobbyist

State Rep. Deborah Boone (D-Cannon Beach)

Daniel Bernstine, president, Portland State University

Frank Brawner, retired lobbyist

Bridget Burns, member Oregon State Board of Higher Education

Jane Cease, former legislator who served on the 1974 Commission on the Legislature

Carolyn Chambers, president, Chambers Communications Corporation

David Frohnmayer, president, University of Oregon

Mark Garber, publisher, Gresham Outlook

Sen. Avel Gordly (D-Portland)

Hasso Hering, editor, Albany Democrat-Herald

Tim Hibbits, pollster

Jim Hill, former state treasurer and legislator

Barbara Karmel, management consultant

Rep. Wayne Krieger (R-Gold beach)

Ginny Lang, lobbyist and staff member of the 1974 Commission on the Legislature

John Lattimer, former legislative fiscal officer

Susan Leeson, retired justice of the Oregon Supreme Court

Hans Linde, professor, Willamette University College of Law

Greg Merten, former manager of Hewlett Packard, Inkjet Printer Division

Sen. Frank Morse (R-Albany/Corvallis)

Delores Pigsley, chair of the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians

Laura Pryor, Gilliam County judge

Raul Ramirez, Marion County sheriff

Gretchen Schuette, president, Chemeketa Community College

Connie Seeley, chief of staff, Senate President Peter Courtney

Kerry Tymchuk, state director, Sen. Gordon Smith (R-Oregon)

Gary Wilhelms, former legislator and chief of staff, House Speaker Karen Minnis

Carl Wilson, former legislator

Junki Yoshida, president, Yoshida Foods International

This press release and an archive of past releases issued by the Speaker's Office are available on the web at: http://www.leg.state.or.us/house/speaker/home.htm.