Of Kappa Alpha Theta Sorority


In 1837, the Methodist Church established Indiana Asbury (now DePauw University) in Greencastle Indiana. 

Indiana Asbury officially opened its doors to women in 1867, but not without great uproar from the male students.  The first woman students at Indiana Asbury were looking for ways to make friends and find support and encouragement for their academic pursuits.  They were reviled by their teachers, taunted by their classmates, and ignored by their girlhood friends who did the "right" thing and attended conservatories for girls.  It took these brave three years to found Kappa Alpha Theta, the first Greek-letter Fraternity for women.

To be sure, there were societies for women before 1867, and some of these had secret rituals with badges, passwords, mottoes, and other symbols.  But in 1870, Theta became the first women's Greek-letter fraternity because its primary founder, Bettie Locke, wanted full membership in a male fraternity.  When the men asked her to wear their fraternity badge as a "mascot," she responded, "If you won't initiate me into your fraternity, I'll start my own." Thus Kappa Alpha Theta was established on January 27, 1870.  In 2005 Kappa Alpha Theta celebrated its 135th anniversary.

Bettie Locke Hamilton         Alice Allen Brant          Bettie Tipton Lindsey        Hannah Fitch Shaw

Famous Alpha Thetas

Jenna Welch Bush

Alpha Theta
First Daughter

Famous Thetas

Laura Welch Bush

Beta Simga (SMU)
First Lady

Lynne Vincent Cheney

Beta Omega (Colorado College)
Vice President Cheney's wife

Sarah Clarke

Beta (Indiana)

Joan Ganz Cooney

Beta Delta (Arizona)
Founder of Children's Television Workshop

Sheryl Crow

Alpha Mu (Missouri)

Tillie Kidd Fowler

Delta Zeta (Emory)
US House of Representatives

Amy Grant

Alpha Eta (Vanderbilt)

Nancy Landon Kassebaum

Kappa (Kansas)

Jean Martin Marzollo

Gamma Zeta (U Conn)
Author of books (including I Spy)

Rue McClanahan

Gamma Tau (Tulsa)

Mary Kay Place

Gamma Tau (Tulsa)

Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Psi (Wisconsin)

Kerry Strug

Beta Xi (UCLA)

All information above has been taken from Kappa Alpha Theta's national website at www.KappaAlphaTheta.org