Home >> Sikh History >>Sikh Warriors
The Sikh Light Infantry

Regimental Centre: Fatehgarh, Uttar Pradesh.

Regimental Insignia: A sharp-edged Quoit, or Chakra, used by the Sikhs in combat, mounted with a Kirpan, the
Sikh dagger.

Motto: Deg Teh Fateh (Prosperity in Peace and Victory in War).

Battle Cry: Bole So Nihal, Sat Sri Akal (He who cries God is Truth, is ever Happy).

Regimental Battalions: 1st Battalion, 2nd Battalion, 3rd Battalion, 4th Battalion, 5th Battalion, 6th Battalion, 7th Battalion, 8th Battalion, 9th Battalion, 10th Battalion, 11th Battalion, 12th Battalion, 13th Battalion , 14th Battalion 15th Battalion, 16th Battalion, 17th Battalion, 18th Battalion

Battle Honours: OP Hill, Kalidhar, Fatehpur and Parbat Ali.

Honours & Awards: 1 Ashok Chakra, 5 Maha Vir Chakras, 6 Kirti Chakras, 23 Vir Chakras, 13 Shaurya Chakras, 82
Sena Medals, 4 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, 8 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 3 Yudh Seva Medals, 17 Vishisht Seva Medals,
49 Mention-in-Despatches and 122 COAS's Commendation Cards.

  The Sikh Light Infantry finds its origins in the Sikh Pioneers raised in 1857. Sikh Pioneers were used in various military campaigns in India and abroad, and highly regarded for their determined resolve to complete the assigned tasks against all opposition. The Sikh Pioneers were later merged into the Sappers and Miners. World War II and its need for additional troops saw the rise of Mazhabi and Ramdasia Sikhs as a regiment in 1941. The designation was changed to the Sikh Light Infantry in 1944.
  In view of its linkages with the Pioneers, the Sikh Light Infantry received its earlier seniority after the Sikh Regiment. The Sikh Light Infantry draws its man power from the Mazhabi and Ramdasia elements amongst the Sikhs. They had long formed part of the armies of the Sikhs' Tenth Guru and in later Khalsa armies. The regiment has produced one Army Chief, General Ved Prakash Malik (10th Sikh LI).

Courtesy: Bharat Rakshak.com



©1999-2003 Gateway to Sikhism, All Rights Reserved