

JUSTPAC Is The Political Action Committee of the Illinois Civil Justice League

FOR RELEASE: October 16, 2006 Contact: Ed Murnane

847-222-9673

ICJL Endorses 37 Judicial Candidates

CHICAGO – The Illinois Civil Justice League has announced its 2006 judicial endorsements. The endorsements include candidates for open seats and sitting judges who are seeking retention.

The ICJL endorses candidates whose performance on the court or whose qualifications as a candidate indicate a philosophy of fairness and no obligation to outside influences. Candidates, including sitting judges, must have completed the ICJL judicial candidate questionnaire to be considered for endorsement. ICJL endorsements are made through JUSTPAC, the ICJL's political action committee.

The 2006 endorsement list includes five candidates for the Appellate Court and 32 for circuit court seats.

Candidate responses to the ICJL questionnaire and other information about judicial candidates may be viewed online at: www.IllinoisJudges.net.

FOR APPELLATE COURT:

First District: Joy Cunningham (D) Endorsed

First District: Leslie South (D) Yes for Retention

Third District: Michael Powers (R) Endorsed

Fourth District: James Knecht (R) Yes for Retention

Fifth District: Stephen McGlynn (R) Endorsed

FOR CIRCUIT COURT (Cook County)

Circuitwide: Martin Agran (R) Yes for Retention

Circuitwide: Thomas Chiola (D) Yes for Retention

Circuitwide: Margaret O'Mara Frossard (D) Yes For Retention

Circuitwide: Joyce Murphy Gorman (D) Yes for Retention

Yes for Retention Circuitwide: James Henry (D) Yes for Retention Circuitwide: Stuart Palmer (D) Circuitwide: Thomas David Roti (D) Yes for Retention Circuitwide: Yes for Retention Joseph Urso (D) Circuitwide: Yes for Retention James Varga (D) Twelfth Subcircuit: Don Sampen (R) Endorsed

FOR CIRCUIT COURT (Downstate)

Second Circuit: James Wexstten (D) Yes for Retention

Second Circuit: Brian Shinkle (R) Endorsed Second Circuit: Matthew Hartrich (R) Endorsed Third Circuit: James Hackett (R) Endorsed Third Circuit: Donald Weber (R) Endorsed Fourth Circuit: Kimberly Koester (R) Endorsed Fourth Circuit: Kevin Parker (R) Endorsed

Fourth Circuit: Ron Spears (D) Yes for Retention
Fourth Circuit: John Coady (D) Yes for Retention
Eighth Circuit: David Slocum (R) Yes for Retention

Ninth Circuit: Steve Bordner (R) Endorsed

Tenth Circuit: Stuart Borden (R) Yes for Retention

Twelfth Circuit: Edward Petka (R) Endorsed

Seventeenth Circuit: Ed Prochaska (R) Endorsed

Sixteenth Circuit: Philip DiMarzio (R) Yes for Retention
Sixteenth Circuit: R. Peter Grometer (R) Yes for Retention
Sixteenth Circuit: Donald Hudson (R) Yes for Retention
Eighteenth Circuit: Ann Jorgensen (R) Yes for Retention

Twentieth Circuit William Norton (R) Endorsed
Twentieth Circuit Paul Evans (R) Endorsed

Twentieth Circuit: Milton S. Wharton (D) Yes for Retention
Twenty-First Circuit: Kendall Wenzelman (R) Yes for Retention