

150 SCHOOL ROAD - POST OFFICE BOX 7 FRISCO, CO 80443 (970) 668-3011 FAX (970) 668-0361 DENVER LINE 303-629-6988

DISTRICT WEBSITE: HTTP://SUMMIT.K12.CO.US

BOARD OF EDUCATION

MR. JAY BRUNVAND, PRESIDENT

Ms. Christine Scanlan, Vice President

MR. STUART ADAMS. TREASURER

MR. ROBERT BOWERS, SECRETARY

MR. JON KREAMELMEYER, DIRECTOR

Ms. Erin Major, Director

Ms. Sheila Groneman, director

MILLIE HAMNER, Ph.D., SUPERINTENDENT

Board of Education Meeting / Retreat

November 10, 2005 @ The Keystone Center 1628 Sts. Johns Road, Keystone, CO 80435 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.**MINUTES**

Coffee and Conversation 8:00 – 8:30 A.M.

Call to Order / Roll Call 8:30 A.M.

Mr. Jay Brunvand, Vice President called the retreat / business meeting to order at 8:40 A.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Erin Major

> **Christine Scanlan** Jon Kreamelmeyer Sheila Groneman Stuart Adams **Bob Bowers Jav Brunvand**

Others present included: Millie Hamner, Dan Huenneke, Karen Mack, Karen Mason, Rebecca Wilson, Robin Ziperman, Karen Dickey and Dick Lyons.

Board Operations and Election of Officers

Kreamelmever/Bowers: Motion to nominate Jay Brunvand for the position of President, carried

VOTE: Scanlan Ave

> Kreamelmever Ave Groneman Ave **Adams** Ave **Bowers** Ave **Brunvand Abstain** Major Ave

Major/Adams: Motion to nominate Christine Scanlan for the position of Vice President, carried

VOTE: Kreamelmeyer Ave

> Groneman Aye Adams Aye **Bowers** Aye **Brunvand** Aye Major Ave Scanlan **Abstain**

Bowers/Scanlan: Motion to nominate Stuart Adams for the position of Treasurer, carried

VOTE: Groneman Aye

> Adams **Abstain Bowers** Ave

Brunvand Aye
Major Aye
Scanlan Aye
Kreamelmeyer Aye

Aye

Kreamelmeyer/Major: Motion to nominate Bob Bowers for the position of Secretary, carried

VOTE: Adams Aye
Bowers Abstain
Brunvand Aye
Major Aye
Scanlan Aye
Kreamelmeyer Aye

Groneman

The Board looked over the current Committee Assignments. The following list was generated from their discussions and agreed upon by board members:

SUMMIT SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1 BOARD OF EDUCATION COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

2005 - 2006	
COMMITTEES	Current member
District Accountability Committee	Jon Kreamelmeyer
Support Staff Advisory Committee	Jay Brunvand
	Stuart Adams
Mountain B.O.C.E.S.	Christine Scanlan
Summit Leadership Forum	Bob Bowers
Summit Youth Health Advisory Board	Sheila Groneman
Summit Prevention Alliance	Jon Kreamelmeyer
School to Career/Business Education Alliance	Erin Major
Negotiations Committee/Contract Maintenance	Jay Brunvand
	Christine Scanlan
Facilities Planning Committee	Stuart Adams
	Bob Bowers
Health Insurance Committee	Jay Brunvand
Headstart Advisory Council	ON HOLD
Legislative Network Representative	Christine Scanlan
Special Education Vision Team	Christine Scanlan
Early Childhood Options	Erin Major
ELA Vision Team	Sheila Groneman
ACE Vision Team	Stuart Adams
SCTC	Jon Kreamelmeyer
High School Reform	
 Graduation 	Stuart Adams
 Academics 	Christine Scanlan
 Climate 	Erin Major
 Transitions 	Bob Bowers
Calendar Committee	Erin Major
Character Education Team	Erin Major
	J

Ms. Sheila Groneman suggested they hold off appointing a person to the Headstart Advisory Council since they may be filling this with the Early Childhood Options Board.

The following items were discussed in the work session portion of the agenda: school calendar, caring learners, International Baccalaureate program, district's financial picture, construction updates, all day kindergarten, revisions to the district's strategic plan, and legal advice by Dick Lyons, school district's attorney.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:20 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,
Ms. Karen Mack, Secretary to the Board
Mr. Jay Brunvand, Board President