

## THURINGOWA LIBRARY HERITAGE SERVICES

## **INFORMATION SHEET NUMBER 10** CHRONOLOGICAL LIST OF CHAIRMEN AND MAYORS

Year	Name	Year	Name
1880	William Aplin	1908	Joseph Hodel
1881	William Aplin	1909	Joseph Hodel
1882	F. Gordon	1910	Henry Abbot
1883	James Miller then	1911	Henry Abbot
	Arthur Bundock	1912	Joseph Hodel
1884	William Clayton to August	1913	Joseph Hodel
	then Arthur Bundock	1914	Edward Crowder or Joseph Hodel
1885	Arthur Bundock	1915	Joseph Hodel
1886	Arthur Bundock	1916	Edward Crowder
1887	Arthur Bundock	1917	William Ireland
1888	Frederick Johnson	1918	William Ireland
1889	Frederick Johnson	1919	William Ireland
1890	Joseph Hodel	1920-1929*	James Cummins
1891	Joseph Hodel to March then	1930-1948	Charles Wordsworth
	Frederick Johnson	Mar 49-May 49	James Kelso
1892	Joseph Hodel	1949-1960	W.H.F. Wordsworth
1893	Joseph Hodel	1961-1966	J. R. Brabon
1894	Joseph Hodel	1967-1969	William DeCourcey
1895	Joseph Hodel	1970-1973	J. R. Brabon
1896	Joseph Hodel	1973	William DeCourcey
1897	Joseph Hodel	1976-1985	Dan Gleeson
1898	Robert Mawby	1986	Dan Gleeson – Mayor**
1899	Robert Mawby	1988	Dan Gleeson - Mayor
1900	Frederick Johnson	1991-2004	Les Tyrell Mayor*
1901	Joseph Hodel	2004-	Les Tyrell Mayor
1902	Joseph Hodel		
1903	Joseph Hodel		
1904	Joseph Hodel		
1905	Joseph Hodel		
1906	Joseph Hodel		
1907	Joseph Hodel		

- \* From 1921, chairmen were elected for three year terms by the constituency; prior to this they were elected yearly by fellow councilors.
- \*\* Thuringowa was declared a city in 1986, thus Dan Gleeson became the first Mayor. Thuringowa was originally a Divisional Board, then under the 1902 *Local Authorities Act,* it became a Shire. Under its configuration, initially, as a Divisional Board and then, as a Shire Council, it was led by a Chairman.



Phone: 4773 8500 Email: library@thuringowa.qld.gov.au Website: http://library.thuringowa.qld.gov.au