APPENDIX B

## CHRONOLOGY OF COMMAND: CINCINNATI ENGINEER DISTRICT, 1871-1946

William Milnor Roberts, U. S. Civil Engineer, established the Office of Ohio River Improvement at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1866. Colonel William E. Merrill, Corps of Engineer, took command of the Office of Ohio River Improvement on June 17, 1870; and on June 1, 1871, this office was transferred to Cincinnati, Ohio, where Colonel Merrill served as Cincinnati District Engineer until 1891. The Office of Ohio River Improvement, responsible for the open-channel project for navigation improvement on the Ohio, became commonly known as the First Cincinnati District to distinguish from the Second Cincinnati District, which had charge of projects for the improvement of streams tributary to the Ohio. The Second Cincinnati District was amalgamated with the First Cincinnati District and Huntington Engineer District in 1922. Effective January 1, 1947, the functions and geographic area of responsibility of the First Cincinnati District was reassigned to Huntington and Louisville Engineer Districts. The official chronology of command (which omits some officers who served on a temporary, or acting, basis) for the First Cincinnati District is listed below:

William E. Merrill, COL 1871-1891

Daniel W. Lockwood, MAJ	1891-1892
Amos Stickney, MAJ	1892-1896
W. H. Heuer, MAJ	1896-1897
William H. Bixby, MAJ	1897-1902
Garrett J. Lydecker, COL	1902-1904
E. H. Ruffner, COL	1904-1906
James G. Warren, MAJ	1906-1906
William T. Rossell, COL	1906-1909
James G. Warren, MAJ	1909-1910
John C. Oakes, MAJ	1910-1910
Henry Jervey, COL	1910-1915
George R. Spalding, MAJ	1915-1916
Robert R. Ralston, MAJ	1916-1917
Lansing H. Beach, COL	1917-1917
Robert R. Jones, ASST ENGR	1917-1919
Earl I. Brown, COL	1919-1921
E. N. Johnston, LTC	1921-1923
A. K. B. Lyman, MAJ	1923-1926
Roger G. Powell, LTC	1926-1931
James D. Cleary, CPT	1931-1932
Charles L. Hall, LTC	1932-1936
D. O. Elliott, LTC	1936-1939
Fred T. Bass, MAJ	1939-1942
B. F. Vandervoort, COL	1942-1942
Joseph E. Gill, LTC	1942-1942
Jesse H. Veal, LTC	1942-1943
Ralph J. Griffin, LTC	1943-1944
F. A. Muhlenberg, LTC	1944-1945
Paschal N. Strong, COL	1945-1946
George N. Kibler, LTC	1946-1946
A. M. Neilson, COL	1946-1946