

## **Supplement to:**

## INDONESIA Population & Administrative Divisions PCGN, October 2003

This Supplement provides a brief update to the PCGN October 2003 document, to include the new first-order administrative divisions of *Provinsi Irian Jaya Barat* and *Provinsi Sulawesi Barat*.

There are now 33 first-order administrative divisions in Indonesia.

Note that this Supplement is not a comprehensive replacement for the October 2003 document.

**June 2005** 

© Crown Copyright 2005

<u>First-Order Admin Division</u> (short form in <b>bold type</b> )	Indonesian Abbreviation	Admin Centre & Co-ordinates	
Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam	NAD	Banda Aceh	0533N 9519E
Propinsi <b>Bali</b>		Denpasar	0839S 11513E
Propinsi Banten		Serang	0606S 10608E
Propinsi Bengkulu		Bengkulu	0348S 10216E
Provinsi Gorontalo		Gorontalo	0032N 12303E
Provinsi <b>Irian Jaya Barat</b> <sup>1</sup>	Irjabar	Manokwari	0052S 13405E
Daerah Khusus Ibukota <b>Jakarta</b> Raya	DKI Jakarta	Jakarta	0610S 10649E
Propinsi <b>Jambi</b>		Jambi	0136S 10337E
Propinsi Jawa Barat	Jabar	Bandung	0654S 10737E
Propinsi <b>Jawa Tengah</b>	Jateng	Semarang	0658S 11025E
Propinsi <b>Jawa Timur</b>	Jatim	Surabaya	0714S 11245E
Propinsi Kalimantan Barat	Kalbar	Pontianak	0002S 10920E
Propinsi Kalimantan Selatan	Kalsel	Banjarmasin	0320S 11435E
Propinsi Kalimantan Tengah	Kalteng	Palangkaraya	0212S 11350E
Propinsi Kalimantan Timur	Kaltim	Samarinda	0030S 11709E
Propinsi Kepulauan Bangka Belitung <sup>2</sup>		Pangkalpinang	0208S 10608E
Propinsi <b>Kepulauan Riau</b>	Kepri	Tanjungpinang	0055N 10427E
Propinsi Lampung	_	Tanjungkarang	-Telukbetung <sup>3</sup>
_			0527S 10516E
Propinsi <b>Maluku</b>		Ambon	0343S 12812E
Propinsi Maluku Utara		Ternate <sup>4</sup>	0048N 12724E
Propinsi <b>Nusa Tenggara Barat</b>	NTB	Mataram	0835S 11607E
Propinsi Nusa Tenggara Timur	NTT	Kupang	1010S 12335E
Provinsi <b>Papua</b>		Jayapura	0232S 14042E
Propinsi <b>Riau</b>		Pekanbaru	0032N 10127E
Provinsi <b>Sulawesi Barat</b> <sup>5</sup>	Sulbar	Mamuju	0240S 11853E
Propinsi Sulawesi Selatan	Sulsel	Makassar <sup>6</sup>	0507S 11924E
Propinsi Sulawesi Tengah	Sulteng	Palu	0054S 11951E
Propinsi Sulawesi Tenggara	Sultenggara	Kendari	0358S 12234E
Propinsi Sulawesi Utara	Sulut	Manado	0129N 12450E
Propinsi Sumatera Barat	Sumbar	Padang	0057S 10021E
Propinsi Sumatera Selatan	Sumsel	Palembang	0255S 10445E
Propinsi Sumatera Utara	Sumut	Medan	0335N 9840E
Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta	DI Yogya	Yogyakarta	0748S 11022E

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> For details concerning this province, see the following page. <sup>2</sup> Most frequently seen simply as Propinsi **Bangka Belitung**.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Bandar Lampung is the commonly used name for the twin towns Tanjungkarang-Telukbetung plus the adjacent settlement of Panjang; Bandar Lampung is frequently seen as the admin centre name.

<sup>4</sup> There is a plan to move the admin centre to Sofifi 0044N 12733E.

<sup>5</sup> Created in September 2004 from part of Propinsi Sulawesi Selatan, it appears to comprise five second-

order administrative divisions: Majene, Mamasa, Mamuju, Mamuju Utara, Polewali Mandar.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Known as Ujung Pandang from 1971 to 1999.

## Provinsi Irian Jaya Barat

Law 45/1999 of September 1999 proposed the division of the then existing *Propinsi Irian Jaya* into three separate provinces<sup>7</sup>:

Provinsi Irian Jaya Barat (= West Irian Jaya), with its centre at Manokwari 0052S 13405E Provinsi Irian Jaya Tengah (= Central Irian Jaya), with its centre at Timika 0447S 13632E Provinsi Irian Jaya Timur (= East Irian Jaya), with its centre at Jayapura 0232S 14042E.

This proposal was not immediately implemented, however, and instead a subsequent Law 21/2001 of November 2001 renamed the entire province as *Provinsi Papua*, granting it "Special Autonomy" as one single unit. But a yet further law, Presidential Instruction 1/2003 of January 2003, on the Acceleration of the Division of Papua, then attempted to enforce the threefold division of the province envisaged in 1999. This attempt met stiff resistance in Papua itself, where it was seen as an attempt by Jakarta at a divide-and-rule policy. Papuans appear to prefer their autonomy to be as a single unit. At the time of compiling the PCGN document *Indonesia: Population & Administrative Divisions* (October 2003), the balance of neutral opinion was that Law 21/2001 superseded Law 45/1999; that the two laws were incompatible; and that Presidential Instruction 1/2003 was therefore of dubious legality. Hence the 2003 PCGN document shows one single *Provinsi Papua*.

Nevertheless, ceremonies were held in Manokwari (February 2003) and Timika (August 2003) to mark the supposed establishment of the provinces of *Irian Jaya Barat* and *Irian Jaya Tengah* respectively<sup>8</sup>. And international election observers on the ground in September 2004 claimed that *Irian Jaya Barat*, at least, was operating as a functioning province. Then in November 2004 the Constitutional Court of Indonesia affirmed Law 45/1999 as invalid, given the subsequent enactment of Law 21/2001. As part of that same ruling, however, the Constitutional Court (in a majority decision) saw fit to accept as lawful the *de facto* reality of *Provinsi Irian Jaya Barat* because, as the Court's Chief Justice later explained, the process of establishing the province's administrative institutions had been completed. The Speaker of the House of Representatives likened the province to an illegitimate child; it had been created in a not altogether legal manner, but the reality of its existence could not be denied.

Hence the balance has shifted since the time of the PCGN document in 2003, and it would now appear appropriate to regard *Provinsi Irian Jaya Barat*, formed from part of the territory of *Provinsi Papua*, as the 33<sup>rd</sup> first-order administrative division of Indonesia. It appears to comprise three second-order administrative divisions: Fak-Fak, Manokwari, and Sorong.

P C G N June 2005

© Crown Copyright 2005

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Note that the spelling of the Bahasa Indonesia loan-word for "province" has changed over the years. For many years the term was spelt *propinsi*, but for those first-order administrative units created since December 2000 the term has been given as *provinsi* in the legal documents of creation. Dictionaries used to give *provinsi* as a variant form of *propinsi*, but it seems that what was the variant may now have become the preferred spelling (though the attached map of Sulawesi Barat labels it a *propinsi*).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> Note the reversion to a use of "Irian Jaya" rather than "Papua" in these titles. Note too that Presidential Instruction 1/2003 considered the remainder of the area as *Provinsi Papua*, rather than a renamed *Provinsi Irian Jaya Timur*.