Quick Jump: Vol./No: Page:

Journal of the Physical Society of Japan
Vol. 75 No. 10, October, 2006, 104302 (10 pages)
URL : http://jpsj.ipap.jp/link?JPSJ/75/104302/
DOI : 10.1143/JPSJ.75.104302

Improved Frequency Measurement of a One-Dimensional Optical Lattice Clock with a Spin-Polarized Fermionic 87Sr Isotope

Masao Takamoto1,2, Feng-Lei Hong1,3*, Ryoichi Higashi1,2, Yasuhisa Fujii1,3, Michito Imae1,3 and Hidetoshi Katori1,2**

1CREST, Japan Science and Technology Agency, 4-1-8 Honcho Kawaguchi, Saitama 332-0012
2Department of Applied Physics, Graduate School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-8656
3National Metrology Institute of Japan (NMIJ), National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8563

(Received August 6, 2006; Accepted August 23, 2006; Published October 10, 2006)

We demonstrate a one-dimensional optical lattice clock with a spin-polarized fermionic isotope designed to realize a collision-shift-free atomic clock with neutral atom ensembles. To reduce systematic uncertainties, we developed both Zeeman shift and vector light-shift cancellation techniques. By introducing both an H-maser and a global positioning system (GPS) carrier phase link, the absolute frequency of the 1S0(F=9/2)–3P0(F=9/2) clock transition of the 87Sr optical lattice clock is determined as 429,228,004,229,875(4) Hz, where the uncertainty is mainly limited by that of the frequency link. The result indicates that the Sr lattice clock will play an important role in the scope of the redefinition of the “second” by optical frequency standards.

KEYWORDS: atomic clock, spin polarization, fermionic isotope, collision-shift, optical lattice, global positioning system (GPS), carrier phase link, absolute frequency measurement, light shift, redefinition of the “second”

*E-mail: f.hong@aist.go.jp
**E-mail: katori@amo.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp

PDF[full text PDF] (738K) [Table of Contents] [Previous Article] [Next Article]


  1. Th. Udem, J. Reichert, R. Holzwarth and T. W. Hansch: Phys. Rev. Lett. 82 (1999) 3568[APS].
  2. D. J. Jones, S. A. Diddams, J. K. Ranka, A. Stentz, R. S. Windeler, J. L. Hall and S. T. Cundiff: Science 288 (2000) 635[Science].
  3. S. A. Diddams, Th. Udem, J. C. Bergquist, E. A. Curtis, R. E. Drullinger, L. Hollberg, W. M. Itano, W. D. Lee, C. W. Oates, K. R. Vogel and D. J. Wineland: Science 293 (2001) 825[Science].
  4. E. Peik, B. Lipphardt, H. Schnatz, T. Schneider, Chr. Tamm and S. G. Karshenboim: Phys. Rev. Lett. 93 (2004) 170801[APS].
  5. H. S. Margolis, G. P. Barwood, G. Huang, H. A. Klein, S. N. Lea, K. Szymaniec and P. Gill: Science 306 (2004) 1355[Science].
  6. W. H. Oskay, S. A. Diddams, E. A. Donley, T. M. Fortier, T. P. Heavner, L. Hollberg, W. M. Itano, S. R. Jefferts, M. J. Delaney, K. Kim, F. Levi, T. E. Parker and J. C. Bergquist: Phys. Rev. Lett. 97 (2006) 020801[APS].
  7. G. Wilpers, T. Binnewies, C. Degenhardt, U. Sterr, J. Helmcke and F. Riehle: Phys. Rev. Lett. 89 (2002) 230801[APS].
  8. C. W. Oates, E. A. Curtis and L. Hollberg: Opt. Lett. 25 (2000) 1603.
  9. F. Pereira Dos Santos, H. Marion, S. Bize, Y. Sortais, A. Clairon and C. Salomon: Phys. Rev. Lett. 89 (2002) 233004[APS].
  10. H. Katori: in Proc. 6th Symp. Frequency Standards and Metrology, ed. P. Gill (World Scientific, Singapore, 2002) p. 323.
  11. H. Katori, M. Takamoto, V. G. Pal'chikov and V. D. Ovsiannikov: Phys. Rev. Lett. 91 (2003) 173005[APS].
  12. M. Takamoto, F.-L. Hong, R. Higashi and H. Katori: Nature 435 (2005) 321[CrossRef].
  13. H. Katori, T. Ido and M. Kuwata-Gonokami: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 68 (1999) 2479[IPAP].
  14. J. McKeever, J. R. Buck, A. D. Boozer, A. Kuzmich, H.-C. Nagerl, D. M. Stamper-Kurn and H. J. Kimble: Phys. Rev. Lett. 90 (2003) 133602[APS].
  15. M. Takamoto and H. Katori: Phys. Rev. Lett. 91 (2003) 223001[APS].
  16. A. Brusch, R. L. Targat, X. Baillard, M. Fouche and P. Lemonde: Phys. Rev. Lett. 96 (2006) 103003[APS].
  17. Z. W. Barber, C. W. Hoyt, C. W. Oates, L. Hollberg, A. V. Taichenachev and V. I. Yudin: Phys. Rev. Lett. 96 (2006) 083002[APS].
  18. A. D. Ludlow, M. M. Boyd, T. Zelevinsky, S. M. Foreman, S. Blatt, M. Notcutt, T. Ido and J. Ye: Phys. Rev. Lett. 96 (2006) 033003[APS].
  19. R. Le Targat, X. Baillard, M. Fouche, A. Brusch, O. Tcherbakoff, G. D. Rovera and P. Lemonde: physics/0605200[e-print arXiv].
  20. R. H. Dicke: Phys. Rev. 89 (1953) 472[APS].
  21. T. Mukaiyama, H. Katori, T. Ido, Y. Li and M. K. Gonokami: Phys. Rev. Lett. 90 (2003) 113002[APS].
  22. K. Gibble and B. J. Verhaar: Phys. Rev. A 52 (1995) 3370[APS].
  23. S. Gupta, Z. Hadzibabic, M. W. Zwierlein, C. A. Stan, K. Dieckmann, C. H. Schunck, E. G. M. van Kempen, B. J. Verhaar and W. Ketterle: Science 300 (2003) 1723[Science].
  24. M. W. Zwierlein, Z. Hadzibabic, S. Gupta and W. Ketterle: Phys. Rev. Lett. 91 (2003) 250404[APS].
  25. H. Katori, H. Kunugita and T. Ido: Phys. Rev. A 52 (1995) R4324[APS].
  26. C. Orzel, M. Walhout, U. Sterr, P. S. Julienne and S. L. Rolston: Phys. Rev. A 59 (1999) 1926[APS].
  27. B. DeMarco, J. L. Bohn, J. P. Burke, Jr., M. Holland and D. S. Jin: Phys. Rev. Lett. 82 (1999) 4208[APS].
  28. F.-L. Hong, M. Takamoto, R. Higashi, Y. Fukuyama, J. Jiang and H. Katori: Opt. Express 13 (2005) 5253.
  29. H. Katori, M. Takamoto, R. Higashi and F.-L. Hong: presented at Quantum Electronics and Laser Science Conf. 2006, Long Beach, CA, 21–26 May, 2006.
  30. T. Ido and H. Katori: Phys. Rev. Lett. 91 (2003) 053001[APS].
  31. L.-S. Ma, P. Jungner, J. Ye and J. L. Hall: Opt. Lett. 19 (1994) 1777.
  32. S. G. Porsev and A. Derevianko: J. Exp. Theor. Phys. 102 (2006) 195.
  33. D. J. Wineland and W. M. Itano: Phys. Rev. A 20 (1979) 1521[APS].
  34. E. Peik, T. Schneider and Chr. Tamm: J. Phys. B 39 (2006) 145[IoP STACKS].
  35. F.-L. Hong, S. A. Diddams, R. Guo, Z.-Y. Bi, A. Onae, H. Inaba, J. Ishikawa, K. Okumura, D. Katsuragi, J. Hirata, T. Shimizu, T. Kurosu, Y. Koga and H. Matsumoto: J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 21 (2004) 88.
  36. W. Lewandowski, J. Azoubib and W. J. Klepczynski: Proc. IEEE 87 (1999) 163.
  37. K. M. Larson and J. Levine: IEEE Trans. Ultrason. Ferroelectr. Freq. Control 46 (1999) 1001.
  38. Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (BIPM), Circular T, No. 221 and 222, http://www1.bipm.org/en/scientific/tai/time_ftp.html.
  39. S. G. Porsev and A. Derevianko: physics/0602082[e-print arXiv].
  40. W. Happer and B. S. Marthur: Phys. Rev. 163 (1967) 12[APS].
  41. J. Ye, J.-L. Peng, R. J. Jones, K. W. Holman, J. L. Hall, D. J. Jones, S. A. Diddams, J. Kitching, S. Bize, J. C. Bergquist, L. W. Hollberg, L. Robertsson and L.-S. Ma: J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 20 (2003) 1459.

Quick Search:

Author: Title/Abstract: Vol./No:


Copyright (c) 2006 The Physical Society of Japan

Contact Information